DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s after final response filed 06/16/2026 and supplemental response filed on 08/26/2026 have been entered. Applicant’s responses overcome prior claim objections and claim rejections under 35 USC § 112(b). Therefore, the corresponding objections and rejections are withdrawn. Claims 30, 32, 34, 35, 37-39, 41-43, 46, and 47 are pending.
Allowable Subject Matter
The indicated allowability in the Advisory Action mailed 07/28/2026 of claims 30, 32, 34, 35, 37-39, 41-43, 46, and 47 is withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference(s). Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 30, 32, 34, 35, 37-39, 41, 46, and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Panzner et al. (US 2024/0073789), hereinafter “Panzner”, in view of Tseng et al. (US 2021/0377844), hereinafter “Tseng”.
Regarding claims 30, 46, Panzner teaches:
A method performed by a user equipment for receiving system information messages from a wireless network or a user equipment (UE) for receiving system information messages from a wireless network, the method or the UE comprising:
a transmitter and receiver (see Panzner, Fig. 2, par. [0105]: The apparatus 50 may further comprise an antenna 59 connected to the radio interface circuitry 52 for transmitting radio frequency signals generated at the radio interface circuitry 52 to other apparatus(es) and for receiving radio frequency signals from other apparatus(es)); and
processing circuitry operatively coupled to the transmitter and receiver and configured (see Panzner, Fig. 2, par. [0103]: The apparatus 50 may comprise a controller 56 or processor for controlling the apparatus 50. The controller 56 may be connected to memory 58 which in embodiments of the invention may store both data and/or may also store instructions for implementation on the controller 56. The controller 56 may further be connected to codec circuitry 54 suitable for carrying out coding and decoding of audio and/or video data or assisting in coding and decoding carried out by the controller 56) to:
receive at least one segment of a segmented system information block (SIB) in a first cell, via the receiver (see Panzner, Fig. 8, par. [0150]: In phase 802, a UE is connected to a cell, ‘cell 1’ hosted by a gNB and the UE receives segment numbers #34, #35 and #36 of a SIB12 message from the gNB);
receive at least one other segment of the SIB in a second cell, via the receiver (see Panzner, Fig. 8, par. [0152]: The gNB hosting the new cell may determine non-received SIB message segments, in this example #37 and #38 and to transmit the non-received segments that have not been received by the UE. In this example the gNB hosting the new cell may start to transmit the non-received segments from segment #37 onwards. The non-received segments may be determined to be the segments of SIB12 that have a segment number that is greater than the segment number of the last segment received by the UE; in this case, the new cell corresponds to the second cell);
However, Panzner does not teach:
determine, based on information received from the wireless network, whether the at least one segment of the SIB received in the first cell can be concatenated with the at least one other segment of the SIB received in the second cell, wherein the information comprises a first segment area identifier associated with the at least one segment of the SIB received in the first cell and a second segment area identifier associated with the at least one other segment of the SIB received in the second cell, and wherein said determining comprises determining that the at least one segment of the SIB received in the first cell can be concatenated with the at least one other segment of the SIB received in the second cell in response to determining the first segment area identifier matches the second segment area identifier; and
concatenate the at least one segment received in the first cell with the at least one other segment received in the second cell, to form the SIB, or discard the at least one segment received in the first cell, depending on said information;
wherein the method further comprises receiving, in association with the first segment area identifier and second segment area identifier, a list of one or more SIBs to which the first segment area identifier and second segment area identifier apply.
Tseng, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
determine, based on information received from the wireless network, whether the at least one segment of the SIB received in the first cell can be concatenated with the at least one other segment of the SIB received in the second cell, wherein the information comprises a first segment area identifier associated with the at least one segment of the SIB received in the first cell and a second segment area identifier associated with the at least one other segment of the SIB received in the second cell, and wherein said determining comprises determining that the at least one segment of the SIB received in the first cell can be concatenated with the at least one other segment of the SIB received in the second cell in response to determining the first segment area identifier matches the second segment area identifier (see Tseng, par. [0083]: Some aspects of the present implementations may further identify the UE and/or RAN behaviour during (or after) a cell reselection process and when the stored SIB segments are associated with a specific systemInformationAreaID. Under such circumstances, in some implementations, the UE may store and assemble the SIB segments received from different cells if the same SIB (e.g., and the same SIB segmentation approach) is used within the cells (e.g., that provide the same systemInformationAreaID in the DL control signaling for the target SIB), and see pars. [0084-0086]: The UE, in some such implementations, may check the validity of SIB segments after the cell (re)selection procedure (or upon the reception of SIB1/SIB segments from the (intra-frequency/inter-frequency/inter-RAT/inter-system) neighbouring/target cell). In some implementations, after receiving a new SIB segment, a UE may determine that the stored SIB segments are still valid if the associated {areaScope} of the stored segments is stored, and the ({valueTag}, {systemInformationAreaID}) of the stored SIB segments are the same as the ({valueTag}, {systemInformationAreaID}) of the received SIB segment. The UE may receive the system information from the serving (or target/neighbouring or newly selected) cell (e.g., by reading the si-SchedulingInfo of SIB1, which is broadcast by the serving (or target/neighbouring or newly selected) cell). Additionally, the UE may try to receive other SIB segments by monitoring the broadcasting system information from the newly selected serving cell. In such a case, the UE may assemble the complete target SIB by combining the SIB segments received from two or more selected serving cells; in this case, determining whether to assemble new SIB segments with stored SIB segments from different cells based on identity information corresponds to the limitation); and
concatenate the at least one segment received in the first cell with the at least one other segment received in the second cell, to form the SIB, or discard the at least one segment received in the first cell, depending on said information (see Tseng, pars. [0085-0087]: a UE may determine that the stored SIB segments are still valid if the associated {areaScope} of the stored segments is stored, and the ({valueTag}, {systemInformationAreaID}) of the stored SIB segments are the same as the ({valueTag}, {systemInformationAreaID}) of the received SIB segment. The UE may receive the system information from the serving (or target/neighbouring or newly selected) cell (e.g., by reading the si-SchedulingInfo of SIB1, which is broadcast by the serving (or target/neighbouring or newly selected) cell). Additionally, the UE may try to receive other SIB segments by monitoring the broadcasting system information from the newly selected serving cell. In such a case, the UE may assemble the complete target SIB by combining the SIB segments received from two or more selected serving cells. Conversely, a UE may discard the stored SIB segments (and the stored information associated with the stored SIB segments) if the UE determines that the stored SIB segments are invalid for the current serving cell. For example, if the ({valueTag}, {systemInformationAreaID}) of the stored SIB segments are not the same as the ({valueTag}, {systemInformationAreaID}) of the received system information, the UE may discard the stored SIB segments and subsequently store the SIB segments (and the information associated with the stored SIB segments) received from the newly selected serving cell; in this case, assembling new SIB segments with stored SIB segments or discarding stored SIB segments based on identity information corresponds to the claimed concatenating or discarding based on information);
wherein the method further comprises receiving, in association with the first segment area identifier and second segment area identifier, a list of one or more SIBs to which the first segment area identifier and second segment area identifier apply (see Tseng, par. [0046]: the SIB signaling may include identical data that are transmitted by more than one cell in the RAN. As such, in some implementations, a cell may further indicate that a SIB signaling (e.g., a V2X-SIB) may be area-specific. The cell may make such an indication by configuring a particular parameter, such as an area scope parameter (e.g., areaS cope), associated with the SIB (e.g., set the parameter areaScope=true). In addition, a system information area ID parameter (e.g., systeminformationAreaID) may be configured (e.g., to the UE) to be associated with the SIB. As a result, the UE may be able to determine whether the stored SIB is still valid (e.g., to the serving cell) by checking these parameters (e.g., valuetag, areaScope and systeminformationAreaID) received from the serving cell(s) after (or during) a cell (re)selection procedure; in this case, cells indicate to the UE information regarding identities and associated SIB (corresponding to a list of one or more SIBs to which the area identifiers apply).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method or UE of Panzner with the segment area identifiers used for determining whether to concatenate or discard of Tseng with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of increasing the efficiency of SIB segment management (see Tseng, par. [0005]).
Regarding claim 32, the combination of Panzner in view of Tseng teaches the method.
Panzner does not teach, but Tseng teaches:
wherein the first segment area identifier and second segment area identifier are included in SIB1 messages received from the first and second cells, respectively (see Tseng, Fig. 2A, par. [0073]: UE 220 may receive (or be configured with) a first value tag (e.g., value tag (y), VT(y)) by base station 210. The first value tag (y) may be associated with target SIBx. The UE may receive this value tag/areaScope/systemInformationAreaID from the base station through DL control signaling (e.g., through RRC signaling, such as RRCReconfiguration message with the information element ‘dedicatedSIB1-Delivery’, which is configured to transmit SIB1 to the UE via UE-specific RRC signaling). Please also note this field has the same values as the corresponding configuration in the broadcasting SIB1) or through SI broadcasting (e.g., SIB1), and see par. [0075]: In stage 204 of FIG. 2B, UE 220 may receive (or be configured with) a second value tag (e.g., value tag (z), VT(z)) by base station 210. The second value tag (z) may also be associated with target SIBx (e.g., the value tag may change because the SIB version may have been updated by this time). UE 220 may receive this new value tag from the base station through DL control signaling (e.g., through RRC signaling) or through SI broadcasting (e.g., SIB1), and see par. [0080]: a UE may (re)select a serving/selected cell (e.g., such that the cellidentity parameter received from the new serving/selected cell may be different from the stored cellidentity parameter associated with the stored SIB segments) on a target frequency associated with a specific service (e.g., V2X-service) and the parameter {areaScope} may not be present in the stored SIB segments. Under such a circumstance, the UE may discard all of the stored SIB segments with their corresponding stored {PLMN-Identity or NPN-Identity}, {valueTag}, {areaScope} (if present), and {systemInformationAreaID} (if present) associated with the stored SIB segments; in this case, identity and area information is received via SIB1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Panzner with the segment area identifiers being included in SIB1 messages of Tseng with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of increasing the efficiency of SIB segment management (see Tseng, par. [0005]).
Regarding claim 34, the combination of Panzner in view of Tseng teaches the method.
Panzner does not teach, but Tseng teaches:
wherein the method comprises receiving, from the wireless network, an indication that an identifier or field included in each SIB1 is to be reused as a segment area identifier (see Tseng, Fig. 3B, pars. [0103-0104]: in action 380, process 300B may receive a value tag associated with the target SIB or the target SIB segment(s) when the UE is staying at the same serving cell during the SIB segments reception procedure or the UE has just started receiving the SIB segment(s) of the target SIB (e.g., when the UE has not stored any SIB segment of the target SIB yet). In action 390, process 300B may determine whether a corresponding value tag (e.g., which is transmitted via the currently received SIB1 of the serving cell) of the target SIB/SIB segments is the same as the corresponding value tag of the stored SIB segment(s), and see Fig. 2A, par. [0073]: UE 220 may receive (or be configured with) a first value tag (e.g., value tag (y), VT(y)) by base station 210. The first value tag (y) may be associated with target SIBx. The UE may receive this value tag/areaScope/systemInformationAreaID from the base station through DL control signaling (e.g., through RRC signaling, such as RRCReconfiguration message with the information element ‘dedicatedSIB1-Delivery’, which is configured to transmit SIB1 to the UE via UE-specific RRC signaling). Please also note this field has the same values as the corresponding configuration in the broadcasting SIB1) or through SI broadcasting (e.g., SIB1); in this case, receiving information associated with the target SIB triggers the use of a stored value tag, corresponding to receiving an indication that an identifier is to be reused).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Panzner with the receiving an indication of reusing an identifier of Tseng with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of increasing the efficiency of SIB segment management (see Tseng, par. [0005]).
Regarding claims 35, 47, Panzner teaches:
A method performed by a network node for providing system information to a user equipment (UE) or a network node for providing system information to a user equipment (UE), the method or the network node comprising:
radio circuitry configured to communicate with the UE (see Panzner, Fig. 10, par. [0160]: The apparatus comprises a processor 1002 and a transceiver 1004. The processor is operatively connected to the transceiver for controlling the transceiver); and
processing circuitry operatively coupled to the radio circuitry and configured (see Panzner, Fig. 10, par. [0160]: The apparatus comprises a processor 1002 and a transceiver 1004. The processor is operatively connected to the transceiver for controlling the transceiver) to:
transmit in at least a first cell, via the radio circuitry, multiple segments of a system information block, SIB (see Panzner, Fig. 8, par. [0150]: In phase 802, a UE is connected to a cell, ‘cell 1’ hosted by a gNB and the UE receives segment numbers #34, #35 and #36 of a SIB12 message from the gNB); and
However, Panzner does not teach:
transmit, via the radio circuitry, information indicating whether segments of the SIB transmitted in the first cell can be concatenated by a UE with one or more segments of the SIB received by the UE in a second cell, wherein the information comprises a first segment area identifier associated with multiple segments of the SIB transmitted in the first cell, such that segments of the SIB received in the first cell can be concatenated with one or more segments of the SIB received in the second cell in the event that the first segment area identifier matches a second segment area identifier received by the UE in the second cell;
wherein the method further comprises transmitting, in association with the first segment area identifier, a list of one or more SIBs to which the first segment area identifier applies.
Tseng, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
transmit, via the radio circuitry, information indicating whether segments of the SIB transmitted in the first cell can be concatenated by a UE with one or more segments of the SIB received by the UE in a second cell, wherein the information comprises a first segment area identifier associated with multiple segments of the SIB transmitted in the first cell, such that segments of the SIB received in the first cell can be concatenated with one or more segments of the SIB received in the second cell in the event that the first segment area identifier matches a second segment area identifier received by the UE in the second cell (see Tseng, par. [0083]: Some aspects of the present implementations may further identify the UE and/or RAN behaviour during (or after) a cell reselection process and when the stored SIB segments are associated with a specific systemInformationAreaID. Under such circumstances, in some implementations, the UE may store and assemble the SIB segments received from different cells if the same SIB (e.g., and the same SIB segmentation approach) is used within the cells (e.g., that provide the same systemInformationAreaID in the DL control signaling for the target SIB), and see pars. [0084-0086]: The UE, in some such implementations, may check the validity of SIB segments after the cell (re)selection procedure (or upon the reception of SIB1/SIB segments from the (intra-frequency/inter-frequency/inter-RAT/inter-system) neighbouring/target cell). In some implementations, after receiving a new SIB segment, a UE may determine that the stored SIB segments are still valid if the associated {areaScope} of the stored segments is stored, and the ({valueTag}, {systemInformationAreaID}) of the stored SIB segments are the same as the ({valueTag}, {systemInformationAreaID}) of the received SIB segment. The UE may receive the system information from the serving (or target/neighbouring or newly selected) cell (e.g., by reading the si-SchedulingInfo of SIB1, which is broadcast by the serving (or target/neighbouring or newly selected) cell). Additionally, the UE may try to receive other SIB segments by monitoring the broadcasting system information from the newly selected serving cell. In such a case, the UE may assemble the complete target SIB by combining the SIB segments received from two or more selected serving cells; in this case, sending information for determining whether to assemble new SIB segments with stored SIB segments from different cells based on identity information corresponds to the limitation);
wherein the method further comprises transmitting, in association with the first segment area identifier, a list of one or more SIBs to which the first segment area identifier applies (see Tseng, par. [0046]: the SIB signaling may include identical data that are transmitted by more than one cell in the RAN. As such, in some implementations, a cell may further indicate that a SIB signaling (e.g., a V2X-SIB) may be area-specific. The cell may make such an indication by configuring a particular parameter, such as an area scope parameter (e.g., areaS cope), associated with the SIB (e.g., set the parameter areaScope=true). In addition, a system information area ID parameter (e.g., systeminformationAreaID) may be configured (e.g., to the UE) to be associated with the SIB. As a result, the UE may be able to determine whether the stored SIB is still valid (e.g., to the serving cell) by checking these parameters (e.g., valuetag, areaScope and systeminformationAreaID) received from the serving cell(s) after (or during) a cell (re)selection procedure; in this case, the cell indicates to the UE information regarding identities and associated SIB (corresponding to a list of one or more SIBs to which the area identifier applies).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method or network node of Panzner with the segment area identifiers used for transmitting information for determining whether to concatenate or discard of Tseng with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of increasing the efficiency of SIB segment management (see Tseng, par. [0005]).
Regarding claim 37, the combination of Panzner in view of Tseng teaches the method.
Panzner does not teach, but Tseng teaches:
wherein the first segment area identifier is included in a SIB1 message transmitted in the first cell (see Tseng, Fig. 2A, par. [0073]: UE 220 may receive (or be configured with) a first value tag (e.g., value tag (y), VT(y)) by base station 210. The first value tag (y) may be associated with target SIBx. The UE may receive this value tag/areaScope/systemInformationAreaID from the base station through DL control signaling (e.g., through RRC signaling, such as RRCReconfiguration message with the information element ‘dedicatedSIB1-Delivery’, which is configured to transmit SIB1 to the UE via UE-specific RRC signaling). Please also note this field has the same values as the corresponding configuration in the broadcasting SIB1) or through SI broadcasting (e.g., SIB1) ; in this case, identity and area information is received via SIB1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Panzner with the segment area identifiers being included in SIB1 messages of Tseng with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of increasing the efficiency of SIB segment management (see Tseng, par. [0005]).
Regarding claim 38, the combination of Panzner in view of Tseng, teaches the method.
Panzner does not teach, but Tseng teaches:
wherein the first segment area identifier corresponds to a predetermined field designated as a segment area identifier (see Tseng, Fig. 2A, par. [0073]: UE 220 may receive (or be configured with) a first value tag (e.g., value tag (y), VT(y)) by base station 210. The first value tag (y) may be associated with target SIBx. The UE may receive this value tag/areaScope/systemInformationAreaID from the base station through DL control signaling (e.g., through RRC signaling, such as RRCReconfiguration message with the information element ‘dedicatedSIB1-Delivery’, which is configured to transmit SIB1 to the UE via UE-specific RRC signaling). Please also note this field has the same values as the corresponding configuration in the broadcasting SIB1) or through SI broadcasting (e.g., SIB1)) and comprises a first portion unique to the network node, among a group of network nodes including the network node (see Tseng, Fig. 2A, par. [0073]: UE 220 may receive (or be configured with) a first value tag (e.g., value tag (y), VT(y)) by base station 210. The first value tag (y) may be associated with target SIBx. The UE may receive this value tag/areaScope/systemInformationAreaID from the base station through DL control signaling (e.g., through RRC signaling, such as RRCReconfiguration message with the information element ‘dedicatedSIB1-Delivery’, which is configured to transmit SIB1 to the UE via UE-specific RRC signaling). Please also note this field has the same values as the corresponding configuration in the broadcasting SIB1) or through SI broadcasting (e.g., SIB1), and see par. [0075]: In stage 204 of FIG. 2B, UE 220 may receive (or be configured with) a second value tag (e.g., value tag (z), VT(z)) by base station 210. The second value tag (z) may also be associated with target SIBx (e.g., the value tag may change because the SIB version may have been updated by this time). UE 220 may receive this new value tag from the base station through DL control signaling (e.g., through RRC signaling) or through SI broadcasting (e.g., SIB1), and see par. [0080]: a UE may (re)select a serving/selected cell (e.g., such that the cellidentity parameter received from the new serving/selected cell may be different from the stored cellidentity parameter associated with the stored SIB segments) on a target frequency associated with a specific service (e.g., V2X-service) and the parameter {areaScope} may not be present in the stored SIB segments. Under such a circumstance, the UE may discard all of the stored SIB segments with their corresponding stored {PLMN-Identity or NPN-Identity}, {valueTag}, {areaScope} (if present), and {systemInformationAreaID} (if present) associated with the stored SIB segments; in this case, identity information from the network node is unique).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Panzner with the predetermined field of Tseng with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of increasing the efficiency of SIB segment management (see Tseng, par. [0005]).
Regarding claim 39, the combination of Panzner in view of Tseng teaches the method.
Panzner does not teach, but Tseng teaches:
wherein the first segment area identifier is specific to the SIB (see Tseng, Fig. 2A, par. [0073]: UE 220 may receive (or be configured with) a first value tag (e.g., value tag (y), VT(y)) by base station 210. The first value tag (y) may be associated with target SIBx. The UE may receive this value tag/areaScope/systemInformationAreaID from the base station through DL control signaling (e.g., through RRC signaling, such as RRCReconfiguration message with the information element ‘dedicatedSIB1-Delivery’, which is configured to transmit SIB1 to the UE via UE-specific RRC signaling). Please also note this field has the same values as the corresponding configuration in the broadcasting SIB1) or through SI broadcasting (e.g., SIB1), and see par. [0075]: In stage 204 of FIG. 2B, UE 220 may receive (or be configured with) a second value tag (e.g., value tag (z), VT(z)) by base station 210. The second value tag (z) may also be associated with target SIBx (e.g., the value tag may change because the SIB version may have been updated by this time). UE 220 may receive this new value tag from the base station through DL control signaling (e.g., through RRC signaling) or through SI broadcasting (e.g., SIB1), and see par. [0080]: a UE may (re)select a serving/selected cell (e.g., such that the cellidentity parameter received from the new serving/selected cell may be different from the stored cellidentity parameter associated with the stored SIB segments) on a target frequency associated with a specific service (e.g., V2X-service) and the parameter {areaScope} may not be present in the stored SIB segments. Under such a circumstance, the UE may discard all of the stored SIB segments with their corresponding stored {PLMN-Identity or NPN-Identity}, {valueTag}, {areaScope} (if present), and {systemInformationAreaID} (if present) associated with the stored SIB segments; in this case, identity information from the network node is unique to the SIB).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Panzner with the specific segment area identifier of Tseng with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of increasing the efficiency of SIB segment management (see Tseng, par. [0005]).
Regarding claim 41, the combination of Panzner in view of Tseng teaches the method.
Panzner does not teach, but Tseng teaches:
wherein the method comprises transmitting an indication that an identifier or field included in the SIB 1 is to be reused as a segment area identifier (see Tseng, Fig. 3B, pars. [0103-0104]: in action 380, process 300B may receive a value tag associated with the target SIB or the target SIB segment(s) when the UE is staying at the same serving cell during the SIB segments reception procedure or the UE has just started receiving the SIB segment(s) of the target SIB (e.g., when the UE has not stored any SIB segment of the target SIB yet). In action 390, process 300B may determine whether a corresponding value tag (e.g., which is transmitted via the currently received SIB1 of the serving cell) of the target SIB/SIB segments is the same as the corresponding value tag of the stored SIB segment(s), and see Fig. 2A, par. [0073]: UE 220 may receive (or be configured with) a first value tag (e.g., value tag (y), VT(y)) by base station 210. The first value tag (y) may be associated with target SIBx. The UE may receive this value tag/areaScope/systemInformationAreaID from the base station through DL control signaling (e.g., through RRC signaling, such as RRCReconfiguration message with the information element ‘dedicatedSIB1-Delivery’, which is configured to transmit SIB1 to the UE via UE-specific RRC signaling). Please also note this field has the same values as the corresponding configuration in the broadcasting SIB1) or through SI broadcasting (e.g., SIB1) in this case, receiving information associated with the target SIB triggers the use of a stored value tag, corresponding to receiving an indication that an identifier is to be reused).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Panzner with the transmitting an indication of reusing an identifier of Tseng with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of increasing the efficiency of SIB segment management (see Tseng, par. [0005]).
Claims 42-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Panzner in view of Tseng, as applied to claims 30, 32, 34, 35, 37-39, 41, 46, and 47 above, and further in view of Byun et al. (US 2018/0338277), hereinafter “Byun”.
Regarding claim 42, the combination of Panzner in view of Tseng teaches the method.
However, the combination of Panzner in view of Tseng does not teach:
wherein the method further comprises receiving the multiple segments of the SIB, or receiving the first segment area identifier, or receiving both the multiple segments of the SIB and the first segment area identifier, from a second network node.
Byun, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the method further comprises receiving the multiple segments of the SIB, or receiving the first segment area identifier, or receiving both the multiple segments of the SIB and the first segment area identifier, from a second network node (see Byun, Fig. 15, pars. [0177-0178]: In step S1503, when the CU receives an on-demand system information indication message or a new message including a system information group or determines to broadcast one or more system information groups, the CU may transmit a message requesting the broadcast of the one or more system information groups to the DU. The message may be a system information broadcast request message or a new message. The message may include information per system information group. For example, the message may include information on a first system information group and information on a second system information group. The information on the first system information group may include at least one of system information group 1, timing information for broadcasting, logical channel-related information, a DU ID, a cell ID, ID, a beam ID, and on-demand system information-related information. The information on the second system information group may include at least one of system information group 2, timing information for broadcasting, logical channel-related information, a DU ID, a cell ID, ID, a beam ID, and on-demand system information-related information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of the combination of Panzner in view of Tseng with the receiving information from a second network node of Byun with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of efficiently managing resources for storing information related to an SIB (see Byun, par. [0124]).
Regarding claim 43, the combination of Panzner in view of Tseng, and further in view of Byun, teaches the method.
The combination of Panzner in view of Tseng, does not teach, but Byun teaches:
wherein the network node is a distributed unit of a base station and the second network node is a central unit of the base station (see Byun, Fig. 15, pars. [0177-0178]: In step S1503, when the CU receives an on-demand system information indication message or a new message including a system information group or determines to broadcast one or more system information groups, the CU may transmit a message requesting the broadcast of the one or more system information groups to the DU. The message may be a system information broadcast request message or a new message. The message may include information per system information group. For example, the message may include information on a first system information group and information on a second system information group. The information on the first system information group may include at least one of system information group 1, timing information for broadcasting, logical channel-related information, a DU ID, a cell ID, ID, a beam ID, and on-demand system information-related information. The information on the second system information group may include at least one of system information group 2, timing information for broadcasting, logical channel-related information, a DU ID, a cell ID, ID, a beam ID, and on-demand system information-related information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of the combination of Panzner in view of Tseng with the receiving information from a central unit of Byun with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of efficiently managing resources for storing information related to an SIB (see Byun, par. [0124]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 30, 32, 34, 35, 37-39, 41-43, 46, and 47 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lee et al. (US 2015/0327155) teaches a user equipment (UE) receives, from a base station, a master system information block indicating that the base station broadcasts both a first set of at least one system information block, and a second set of at least one system information block; and receives the second set of at least one system information block from the base station if the UE is a specific type of UE.
Tavildar et al. (US 2017/0231021) teaches techniques for requesting a system information block (SIB) and providing a SIB response for a user equipment (UE) in a UE-centric wireless communication network.
/C.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419