DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to response to application 18/289322 filed on 11/02/23.
Summary of claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Oath/Declaration
The oath/declaration filed on November 02, 2023 is acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grace et al. (U.S Pub. No. 2020/0238844).
As to claims 1, the prior art teaches a modular charging station (see fig 3 paragraph 0036), comprising:
at least one lane module (see fig 3 paragraph 0050) comprising a roof module (see fig 3 paragraph 0052) and at least two vertical support columns coupling the roof module to ground (see fig 3 paragraph 0050-052);
a switch gear configured to receive alternating current voltage from a power grid (see fig 3-5 paragraph 0039-0043 and paragraph 0048-0050);
a power unit configured to convert the alternating current voltage to a direct current voltage (see fig 5 paragraph 0039 and 0051);
and at least one power dispenser coupled to the power unit and configured to supply the direct current voltage to a commercial vehicle, wherein at least the power unit is arranged on the roof module (see fig 3-7 paragraph 0051-0055).
As to claim 2 and 13, the prior art teaches wherein the switch gear is arranged on the roof module and the switch gear and power unit are in different housings (see fig 3-5 paragraph 0038-0041 and paragraph 0049-0053).
As to claim 3 and 14 the prior art teaches further comprising: at least one power line coupling the power unit to the at least one power dispenser, wherein the roof module includes an opening for the at least one power line, the at least one power line passes from the roof module through at least one of the at least two vertical support columns, and the at least one of the at least two vertical support columns includes an opening at a bottom portion opposite of the roof module so that the at least one power line exits the at least one of the at least two vertical support columns and is coupled to the at least one power dispenser (see fig 3-7 paragraph 0053-0057).
As to claim 4 and 15, the prior art teaches further comprising:
a cooling unit arranged on the roof module (see fig 3-5 paragraph 0036-0040);
cooling lines coupling the cooling unit to the at least one power dispenser, wherein the cooling lines pass through the opening in the roof module, the at least one of the at least two vertical support columns and exits at the bottom portion of the at least one of the at least two vertical support columns and is coupled to the at least one power dispenser (see fig 3-5 paragraph 0055-0058).
As to claim 5 and 16 the prior art teaches wherein the switch gear is arranged on the roof module, and the switch gear and power unit are an integrated component arranged in a common housing (see fig 3-5 paragraph 0038-0045).
As to claim 6 and 17, the prior art teaches further comprising: at least one power line coupling the power unit to the at least one power dispenser, wherein the roof module includes an opening for the at least one power line, the at least one power line passes from the roof module through at least one of the at least two vertical support columns, and the at least one of the at least two vertical support columns includes an opening at a bottom portion opposite of the roof module so that the at least one power line exits the at least one of the at least two vertical support columns and is coupled to the at least one power dispenser (see fig 3-8 paragraph 0056-0060).
As to claim 7 and 18, the prior art teaches further comprising:
a cooling unit arranged on the roof module (see fig 3-5 paragraph 0036-0040);
cooling lines coupling the cooling unit to the at least one power dispenser, wherein the cooling lines pass through the opening in the roof module, the at least one of the at least two vertical support columns and exits at the bottom portion of the at least one of the at least two vertical support columns and is coupled to the at least one power dispenser (see fig 3-5 paragraph 0054-0059).
As to claim 8 the prior art teaches further comprising: first and second roof end modules, which are respectively configured for attachment to opposite ends of the roof module of the at least one lane module (see fig 3-5 paragraph 0059-0062).
As to claim 9 the prior art teaches further comprising: a transformer coupled to the switch gear and configured to reduce a voltage of the alternating current voltage to a lower alternating current voltage, wherein the transformer is integrated with the power unit (see fig 3-5 paragraph 0045-0053).
As to claim 10 the prior art teaches wherein the at least one power dispenser is arranged on the roof module (see fig 3-5 paragraph 0040-0046).
As to claim 11, the prior art teaches wherein the roof module has a top and four lateral sides having sheathing enclosing the roof module (see fig 3-5 paragraph 0034-0038).
As to claim 12, the prior art teaches a method for producing a modular charging station, the method comprising:
installing at least one lane module, comprising a roof module and at least two vertical support columns, by affixing the at least two vertical support columns to ground and affixing the roof module on top of the at least two vertical support columns (see fig 3 paragraph 0050-052);
arranging at least a power unit on the roof module, wherein the power unit converts an alternating current voltage to a direct current voltage (see fig 3-7 paragraph 0051-0055);
installing at least one power dispenser on the ground and underneath the roof module (see fig 3-5 paragraph 0052-0054);
electrically coupling the power unit and the at least one power dispenser to each other (see fig 3-5 paragraph 0054-0058);
electrically coupling a switch gear to the power unit (see fig 3-5 paragraph 0039-0043 and paragraph 0048-0050);
and electrically coupling the switch gear to a power grid so that the switch gear receives alternating current voltage from the power grid and provides the alternating current voltage to the power unit (see fig 3-5 paragraph 0037-0042 and paragraph 0049-0056).
As to claim 19 the prior art teaches further comprising: attaching first and second roof end modules to first and second ends of the roof module, respectively (see fig 1-4 paragraph 0035-0039).
As to claim 20, the prior art teaches further comprising:
detaching the first roof end module from the first end of the roof module (see fig 1-5 paragraph 0028-0031);
installing a second lane module adjacent to the at least one lane module, wherein the second lane module comprises a second roof module and at least one second vertical support column and wherein the installation of the second lane module includes attaching the second lane module to the first end of the roof module of the at least one lane module and supporting the second roof module on one of the at least two vertical support columns of the at least one lane module (see fig 2-6 paragraph 0030-0036);
and attaching the first roof end module to an end of the roof module of the second lane module that is opposite of an end of the roof module of the second lane module that is affixed to the first end of the roof module of the at least one lane module (see fig 2-7 paragraph 0039-0043).
Conclusion
/BINH C TAT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2851