DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/06/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, 8, 10, 11, 13, 14, 16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (“Huang”) (WO 2021/007833).
In regards to claim 1, Huang teaches t method performed by an Integrated Access and Backhaul (See FIG. 2 wherein the IAB node may be taught as the Relay node), IAB, node for spatial domain simultaneous operation with a parent IAB-node and a child IAB-node or a wireless communication device, WCD (See ¶0119 in view of FIG. 2 and 4 wherein the spatial domain simultaneous operation may be taught as the FD mode [Full-Duplex Network]), the method comprising:
transmitting reference signals in reference transmit beams (See ¶0152); and
receiving a beam restriction configuration related to the reference transmit beams, the beam restriction configuration comprising information that indicates a set of restricted beams for simultaneous spatial domain operation (See ¶0158).
In regards to claim 2, Huang teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the set of restricted beams consists of one or more beams that are restricted from being used by a Distributed Unit, DU, of the IAB-node together with a current serving beam of a Mobile Termination, MT, of the IAB-node for simultaneous spatial domain operation (See ¶0069 and 0160-0161).
In regards to claim 5, Huang fails to teach the method of claim 1 further comprising, upon receiving the beam restriction configuration:
identifying a need for communicating with a child IAB-node or a wireless communication device (See ¶0150);
determining a serving beam towards the child IAB-node or the wireless communication device based on the beam restriction configuration (See ¶0150);
scheduling resources for one or more operations towards the child IAB-node or the wireless communication device (See ¶0161-0162); and
transmitting or receiving data to or from the child IAB-node or the wireless communication device on the scheduled resources using the determined serving beam (See ¶0161-0162).
In regards to claim 6, Huang teaches the method of claim 5 wherein the scheduled resources are resources that are available for use by the DU subject to control by the CU or resources that are always available for use by the DU (See ¶0157 wherein it is noted that the resources are determined, thus controlled, by the parent node which corresponds to the claimed CU).
In regards to claim 8, Huang teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the reference signals comprise
synchronization signal blocks, SSBs;
channel state information reference signals, CSI-RSs;
sounding reference signals, SRSs; or
any combination thereof (See ¶0152).
In regards to claim 10, Huang teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the beam restriction configuration is received from the parent IAB-node or the CU (See ¶0158).
In regards to claim 11, Huang teaches an Integrated Access and Backhaul, IAB (See FIG. 2 wherein the IAB node may be taught as the Relay node), node for spatial domain simultaneous operation with a parent IAB-node and a child IAB-node or a wireless communication device, WCD (See ¶0119 in view of FIG. 2 and 4 wherein the spatial domain simultaneous operation may be taught as the FD mode [Full-Duplex Network]), the IAB-node comprising processing circuitry configured to cause the IAB-node to:
transmit reference signals in reference transmit beams (See ¶0152); and
receive a beam restriction configuration related to the reference transmit beams, the beam restriction configuration comprising information that indicates a set of restricted beams for simultaneous spatial domain operation (See ¶0158).
In regards to claim 13, Huang teaches a method performed by a parent Integrated Access and Backhaul, IAB (See FIG. 2 wherein the IAB node may be taught as the Relay node), node for communicating with an IAB-node capable of spatial domain simultaneous operation, the method comprising:
receiving reference signals in reference transmit beams from an IAB-node using a serving receive beam (See ¶0152);
determining a set of restricted beams for spatial domain simultaneous operation; and signaling a configuration to the IAB-node, the configuration comprising information that indicates the set of restricted beams (See ¶0158).
In regards to claim 14, Huang teaches the method of claim 13 wherein the set of restricted beams consists of one or more beams that are restricted from being used by a Distributed Unit, DU, of the IAB-node together with a current serving beam of a Mobile Termination, MT, of the IAB-node for simultaneous spatial domain operation (See ¶0069 and 0160-0161).
In regards to claim 16, Huang teaches the method of claim 13 wherein the reference signals comprise
synchronization signal blocks, SSBs;
channel state information reference signals, CSI-RSs;
sounding reference signals, SRSs; or
any combination thereof (See ¶0152).
In regards to claim 18, Huang teaches a parent Integrated Access and Backhaul, IAB (See FIG. 2 wherein the IAB node may be taught as the Relay node), node for communicating with an IAB-node capable of spatial domain simultaneous operation, the parent IAB-node comprising processing circuitry (See ¶0176 and 0183) configured to cause the parent IAB-node to:
receive reference signals in reference transmit beams from an IAB-node using a serving receive beam (See ¶0136-0137 and 0152);
determine a set of restricted beams for spatial domain simultaneous operation (See ¶0137, 0142, 0144 and 0158); and
signal a configuration to the IAB-node, the configuration comprising information that indicates the set of restricted beams (See ¶0158).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (“Huang”) (WO 2021/007833) in view of ZTE et al. (“ZTE”) (“Enhancements to the IAB resource multiplexing”, 3GPP Draft, R1-2103497, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), MOBILE COMPETENCE CENTRE; vol. RAN WG1, no. e-Meeting, 20210412 – 20210420, 7 April 2021, XP 052178217), as submitted by applicant.
In regards to claim 3, Huang fails to explicitly teach the method of claim 1 further comprising, prior to transmitting the reference signals in the reference transmit beams, transmitting a capability report to an associated central unit, CU, wherein the capability report comprises information that indicates a capability of the IAB-node for spatial domain simultaneous operation.
In a similar endeavor ZTE teaches prior to transmitting the reference signals in the reference transmit beams, transmitting a capability report to an associated central unit, CU, wherein the capability report comprises information that indicates a capability of the IAB-node for spatial domain simultaneous operation (See Section 2.2 Spatial domain wherein an IAB node can report to CU the information about the multiplexing capabilities between the IAB-DU cell and the cells configured on the collocated IAB-MT, which sends the multiplexing capability of the IAB node to its parent node).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of ZTE into Huang because it allows for a report of the multiplexing capabilities of a system, thus allowing for appropriate data to be transmitted and received which would correspond to such capabilities.
In regards to claim 15, Huang fails to teach the method of claim 13 further comprising, prior to receiving the reference signals, receiving information that indicates that the IAB-node is capable of spatial domain simultaneous operation.
In a similar endeavor ZTE teaches further comprising, prior to receiving the reference signals, receiving information that indicates that the IAB-node is capable of spatial domain simultaneous operation (See Section 2.2 Spatial domain wherein an IAB node can report to CU the information about the multiplexing capabilities between the IAB-DU cell and the cells configured on the collocated IAB-MT, which sends the multiplexing capability of the IAB node to its parent node).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of ZTE into Huang because it allows for a report of the multiplexing capabilities of a system, thus allowing for appropriate data to be transmitted and received which would correspond to such capabilities.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (“Huang”) (WO 2021/007833) in view of ZTE et al. (“ZTE”) (“Enhancements to the IAB resource multiplexing”, 3GPP Draft, R1-2103497, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), MOBILE COMPETENCE CENTRE; vol. RAN WG1, no. e-Meeting, 20210412 – 20210420, 7 April 2021, XP 052178217), as submitted by applicant, ZTE et al. (“ZTE2”) (“3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network; NR; Physical layer procedures for control (Release 16)”, 3GPP STANDARD, TECHNICAL SPECIFICATION, 3GPP TS 38.213, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), MOBILE COMPETENCE CENTRE; vol. RAN WG1, no. V16.5.0, 30 March 2021, XP 052000308), as submitted by applicant.
In regards to claim 4, Huang fails to teach the method of claim 3 further comprising, prior to transmitting the reference signals in the reference transmit beams, receiving a Hard, Soft, and Not Available resource configuration from the CU, wherein the Hard, Soft, and Not Available resource configuration is a time domain resource configuration, a frequency domain resource configuration, or a combined time domain and frequency domain resource configuration and indicates which time, frequency, or both time and frequency resources are allowed, conditionally allowed, or disallowed to be used by a Distributed Unit, DU, of the IAB-node.
In a similar endeavor ZTE2 teaches prior to transmitting the reference signals in the reference transmit beams, receiving a Hard, Soft, and Not Available resource configuration from the CU (See Section 14 Integrated access-backhaul operation, and in particular pg. 155 – 156 with regards to reception of hard, soft or unavailable types), wherein the Hard, Soft, and Not Available resource configuration is a time domain resource configuration, a frequency domain resource configuration, or a combined time domain and frequency domain resource configuration and indicates which time, frequency, or both time and frequency resources are allowed, conditionally allowed, or disallowed to be used by a Distributed Unit, DU, of the IAB-node (See Section 14 Integrated access-backhaul operation, this is taken in view of ¶0068 and 0104 of Huang).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of ZTE into Huang because it allows for resource configurations in various manners as taught in at least Section 14 of ZTE between nodes, thus allowing for a more efficient system.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (“Huang”) (WO 2021/007833) in view of ZTE et al. (“ZTE2”) (“3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network; NR; Physical layer procedures for control (Release 16)”, 3GPP STANDARD, TECHNICAL SPECIFICATION, 3GPP TS 38.213, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), MOBILE COMPETENCE CENTRE; vol. RAN WG1, no. V16.5.0, 30 March 2021, XP 052000308), as submitted by applicant.
In regards to claim 7, Huang fails to teach the method of claim 5 further comprising, prior to determining the serving beam, upon receiving an availability indicator for a Soft resource from the parent IAB-node, scheduling the child IAB-node or the wireless communication device even if the determined serving beam is a restricted beam.
In a similar endeavor ZTE2 teaches prior to determining the serving beam, upon receiving an availability indicator for a Soft resource from the parent IAB-node, scheduling the child IAB-node or the wireless communication device even if the determined serving beam is a restricted beam (See Section 14 Integrated access-backhaul operation, and in particular pg. 155 – 156, this is taken in view of ¶0068-0069 of Huang).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of ZTE into Huang because it allows for resource configurations in various manners as taught in at least Section 14 of ZTE between nodes, thus allowing for a more efficient system.
Claim(s) 9 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (“Huang”) (WO 2021/007833) in view of Wu et al. (“Wu”) (U.S. PG Publication No. 2020/0076492).
In regards to claim 9, Huang fails to teach the method of claim 1 wherein receiving the beam restriction configuration comprises receiving the beam restriction configuration via a Medium Access Control, MAC, Control Element, CE.
In a similar endeavor Wu teaches wherein receiving the beam restriction configuration comprises receiving the beam restriction configuration via a Medium Access Control, MAC, Control Element, CE (See ¶0056).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Wu into Huang because it allows for a form of transmission through a specific manner, which may itself allow for improved quality as taught in at least ¶0056.
In regards to claim 17, Huang fails to teach the method of claim 13 wherein signaling the configuration to the IAB-node comprises signaling the configuration to the IAB-node via a Medium Access Control, MAC, Control Element, CE.
In a similar endeavor Wu teaches wherein signaling the configuration to the IAB-node comprises signaling the configuration to the IAB-node via a Medium Access Control, MAC, Control Element, CE (See ¶0056).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Wu into Huang because it allows for a form of transmission through a specific manner, which may itself allow for improved quality as taught in at least ¶0056.
Conclusion
EDEMIO NAVAS JR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2483
/EDEMIO NAVAS JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483