Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/17/2026. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On page 8 of response applicant argues that Lee does not each, “a first NF node receiving a request from a second NF node”. The examiner respectfully disagrees. First, let’s stablish that Lee does contain nodes Network Nodes ¶[0053] “network 200 may include network nodes” there are no other details in the claim language as to what is meant by the word “function” actually does since there are no details with regards to this in the claim language. The word “nodes” imply multiples and anything in Lee can then be a ”Node”. Anything in Lee requesting data of the EU from a second Node can be interpreted as such. Fig.1 and 5, 3GPP network contains multiple nodes and as seen in fig.7 requesting data from the EU and AMF 222 can be considered a second node. However just by the network in fig.1 or 5 which contain in ¶[0053] 3GPP network contains multiple nodes, anything requesting data from the EU reads on this limitation.
Regarding, retrieving the data of the UE including an AAA server FQDN (Lee, ¶[0171] "The DN-AAA server 500 may transmit an application layer address (e.g., a URI) of an edge enabler server that the UE 100 accesses via an application layer or a domain address (FQDN) for generating an application layer address to the SMF 200 through the UE identifier and the policy and the configuration information of the DN-AAA server 500." The DN-AAA server transmits and the UE 100 access via FQDN in the same manner as the application);” This limitation is being interpreted as retrieving the data of the EU which has been addressed above and including in that retrieving AAA server and it is access via a domain address (FQDN), the EU has access to this AAA server via FQDN therefore this reads on this limitation. The having of the Nodes of calling the nodes something different is not patentable subject matter. Lee contains Nodes and they communicate with how the current application is claiming. Lee has 3GPP which includes “nodes” see ¶[0053] “network nodes” in fig.1 200. Then Lee further has UE in 100, which communicates via applications, which are then represent AAA server, with the layer of FQDN, which a domain address (FQDN), which represent AAA server via FQDN as seen EU communicating with servers UE application 320 for example. And then providing the data of the EU including the including an AAA server FQDN, is then anything back being communicating from any node in the 3GGP network or that other network in fig.1 of the UE 320 which would also read on the claimed limitation either way giving the broadness of the claimed subject matter.
On pages 10-11 applicant argues with regards to claim 13 and the limitations: “Dependent Claim 13 is Patentable Dependent claim 13 recites, "providing an authentication request for the UE to the AAA server at one of the IP address in the set of AAA server IP addresses.". The examiner respectfully disagrees. As noted by applicant ¶[0200] “1) A list of available edge application programs and configuration information required for the UE 100 in the edge application programs. For example, a DNS server address, the IP address of an edge application program, and an FQDN or a URL may be included.” The edge application programs would be part of a communication of the over all. Meaning, fig.5 for example has the 1-2 DN- authentication request via the EU. And ¶[0171] “[0171] The DN-AAA server 500 may transmit an application layer address (e.g., a URI) of an edge enabler server that the UE 100 accesses via an application layer or a domain address (FQDN) for generating an application layer address to the SMF 200 through the UE identifier and the policy and the configuration information of the DN-AAA server 500.
[0172] The DN-AAA server 500 may transmit edge data network configuration information of the UE 100. The edge network configuration information may be the same as that described in the first embodiment.” The edge network maybe configured in the same manner and the programs can be used therefore the IP address would then be used. Furthermore at least one IP address would have to be used in this connection. For these reasons the same rejection applies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-18, 20, 22-23, 26, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee (US 2022/0191090).
As per claim 1, Lee teaches, a method for data retrieval of a UE in a 5GC (Lee, ¶[0033] FIG. 7 illustrates a procedure in which a UE obtains LADN information through a registration procedure in a 5GC network” this represents a method for data retrieval as ¶[0254] “FIG. 17 illustrates a case in which a core network 930 is a 5GC, and the core network may include an SMF 931, a PCF 932, and a UDM/authentication server function (AUSF) 933.” And a UDM/authentication server is a given key part of data retrieval), the method being performed by a first NF node , the method comprising: (Lee, ¶[0047] “In the following description, a base station is an entity that allocates resources to terminals, and may be at least one of a gNode B, an eNode B, a Node B, a base station (BS), a wireless access unit, a base station controller, and a node on a network A terminal may include a user equipment (UE), a mobile station (MS), a cellular phone, a smartphone, a computer, or a multimedia system capable of performing communication functions. In the disclosure, a downlink (DL) may refer to a radio transmission path via which a base station transmits a signal to the terminal, and an uplink (UL) may refer to a radio transmission path via which a terminal transmits a signal to a base station.” And ¶[0053] “[0053] When the 3GPP network 200 includes an EPC as a core network, the 3GPP network 200 may include network nodes corresponding to a 5GC.” This represents a first node) obtaining a request for data of the UE from a second NF node (Lee, ¶ [0055] Network functions illustrated in FIG. 1 may be defined as follows. ¶ [0056] 3GPP network 300: May include a 3GPP radio access network and a core network.” NF is network function and ¶[0053] “the 3GPP network 200 may include network nodes corresponding to a 5GC.” 200 3GPP network 200 includes multiple nodes); retrieving the data of the UE including an AAA server FQDN (Lee, ¶ [0171] “The DN-AAA server 500 may transmit an application layer address (e.g., a URI) of an edge enabler server that the UE 100 accesses via an application layer or a domain address (FQDN) for generating an application layer address to the SMF 200 through the UE identifier and the policy and the configuration information of the DN-AAA server 500.” The DN-AAA server transmits and the UE 100 access via FQDN in the same manner as the application); and providing the data of the UE including the AAA server FQDN towards the second NF node ( Lee, ¶[0171] “layer or a domain address (FQDN) for generating an application layer address to the SMF 200 through the UE identifier and the policy and the configuration information of the DN-AAA server 500.” EU data identifier represents providing the data of the UE and AAA server “the policy and the configuration information of the DN-AAA” and (FQDN) for generating an application layer address represents FQDN towards the second NF node, as 200 has multiple nodes which would represent the second NF node).
As per claim 3, Lee teaches, the method according to claim 1, wherein the method is performed as part of a PDU session establishment procedure for the UE (Lee, ¶[0137] “In the 5GC, the edge data network corresponds to one data network, and the UE can access the edge data network through a PDU session connection.” This represents the method is performed as part of a PDU session establishment procedure for the UE PDU session connection as disclosed by Lee).
As per claim 4, Lee teaches, the method according to claim 1, wherein the request for data is a request for Session Management Subscription Data Retrieval for the UE (Lee, ¶ [0276] “In operation 1110, a UE 101 performs authentication with an authentication/authorization server using a user identifier or a generic public subscription identifier (GPSI: Identifier for identifying a subscriber).” And ¶[0014] “Accordingly, various functions are being developed based on a structure in which a mobility management function and a session management function are separated in order to address complexity in function/implementation of a core device in charge of a control plane and to improve scalability in signaling load.” Represents that these session management can be in part, part of the identifying the subscriber).
As per claims 6 and 20, Lee teaches, the method according to claim 1, wherein the data of the UE is provided either in a DnnConfiguration object or in a 5gVnGroupData object (Lee, ¶[0097] “The DN for Internet access refers to a default PDN connection in an EPC architecture, and may be a DNN specified in DNN information stored in a local configuration of the UE or a USRP rule having a match-all traffic descriptor among policies received through a URSP in the 5GC.” This represents Dnn configuration).
As per claims 8 and 22, Lee teaches, the method according to claim 1, wherein the first NF node is a UDM node and wherein the second NF node is an SMF node (Lee, ¶[0240] “For this service, an edge enabler server 310 may interwork with the UDM 723.” And ¶ [0052] “a session management function (SMF),” all in fig.1, 200 inside which includes multiple nodes).
As per claim 9, Lee teaches, a method for data retrieval of a UE in a 5GC, the method being performed by a second NF node (Lee, ¶[0053] “[0053] When the 3GPP network 200 includes an EPC as a core network, the 3GPP network 200 may include network nodes corresponding to a 5GC.” This represents a first node nodes therefore there is a second node), the method comprising: providing a request for data of the UE towards a first NF node (Lee, ¶[0047] “In the following description, a base station is an entity that allocates resources to terminals, and may be at least one of a gNode B, an eNode B, a Node B, a base station (BS), a wireless access unit, a base station controller, and a node on a network A terminal may include a user equipment (UE), a mobile station (MS), a cellular phone, a smartphone, a computer, or a multimedia system capable of performing communication functions. In the disclosure, a downlink (DL) may refer to a radio transmission path via which a base station transmits a signal to the terminal, and an uplink (UL) may refer to a radio transmission path via which a terminal transmits a signal to a base station.” And ¶[0053] “[0053] When the 3GPP network 200 includes an EPC as a core network, the 3GPP network 200 may include network nodes corresponding to a 5GC.” This represents a first node); and obtaining the data of the UE including an AAA server FQDN from the first NF node (Lee, ¶[0171] “layer or a domain address (FQDN) for generating an application layer address to the SMF 200 through the UE identifier and the policy and the configuration information of the DN-AAA server 500.” EU data identifier represents providing the data of the UE and AAA server “the policy and the configuration information of the DN-AAA” and (FQDN) for generating an application layer address represents FQDN towards the second NF node, as 200 has multiple nodes which would represent the first NF node, as there is no direct link expressed in the claim language, as to which defines first and second node).
As per claim 10, Lee teaches, the method according to claim 9, further comprising: authenticating the data of the UE with an AAA server, wherein the AAA server is determined based on the AAA server FQDN (Lee, ¶ [0276] “In operation 1110, a UE 101 performs authentication with an authentication/authorization server using a user identifier or a generic public subscription identifier (GPSI: Identifier for identifying a subscriber).” This represents the authenticating of the data).
As per claim 11, Lee teaches, the method according to claim 10, wherein determining the AAA server comprises retrieving a set of AAA server IP addresses from a DNS server by providing the AAA server FQDN to the DNS server (Lee, ¶ [0200] “1) A list of available edge application programs and configuration information required for the UE 100 in the edge application programs. For example, a DNS server address, the IP address of an edge application program, and an FQDN or a URL may be included.” retrieving a set of AAA server IP addresses).
As per claim 12, Lee teaches, the method according to claim 9, wherein the method further comprises: storing a mapping between the AAA server FQDN and each IP address in the set of AAA server IP addresses (Lee, ¶ [0200] “1) A list of available edge application programs and configuration information required for the UE 100 in the edge application programs. For example, a DNS server address, the IP address of an edge application program, and an FQDN or a URL may be included.” each IP address in the set of AAA server IP addresses as it gathers it for IP).
As per claim 13, Lee teaches, the method according to claim 11, wherein the method further comprises: providing an authentication request for the UE to the AAA server at one of the IP addresses in the set of AAA server IP addresses (Lee, ¶ [0200] “1) A list of available edge application programs and configuration information required for the UE 100 in the edge application programs. For example, a DNS server address, the IP address of an edge application program, and an FQDN or a URL may be included.” retrieving a set of AAA server IP addresses” and ¶ [0201] “2) A protocol for efficient network transmission with an edge application program and configuration information therefor, for example, TCP or UDP preference, IP version information, and HTTP protocol version information, may be included. In addition, configuration information for transport protocol optimization, for example, initial TCP CWND size information, may be further included.” This represents UE to the AAA server at one of the IP addresses in the set of AAA server IP addresses, since there is IP configuration happening in the edge network).
As per claim 14, Lee teaches, the method according to claim 9, wherein the authentication request is for secondary authentication and authorization for the UE (Lee, ¶[0254] “FIG. 17 illustrates a case in which a core network 930 is a 5GC, and the core network may include an SMF 931, a PCF 932, and a UDM/authentication server function (AUSF) 933.” And ¶[0044] “[0044] FIG. 18 is a signal flowchart according to an authentication, configuration, and discovery procedure according to a centralized management MNO configuration according to the disclosure; and” showing 1110 first authentication request and then 1120 showing second authentication request).
As per claim 15, Lee teaches, the method according to claim 14, wherein, if the AAA server cannot be reached at said one of the IP address in the set of AAA server IP addresses, the request is provided to another one of the IP address in the set of AAA server IP addresses (Lee, ¶[0201] “IP version information” if there is an IP version information AAA server cannot be reached at said one of the IP address as disclosed).
As per claim 16, Lee teaches, the method according to claim 14, wherein providing the request for data is triggered by a previous failed attempt to contact the AAA server (Lee, fig.18 Bootstrapping represents failed attempt and 1020 is then triggered after as seen in the figure).
As per claim 17, Lee teaches, the method according to claim 9, wherein the method is performed as part of a PDU session establishment procedure for the UE (Lee, ¶[0157] “According to FIG. 5, an edge data network generation procedure through a PDU session establishment procedure is performed according to the following operations.” The method is performed as part of a PDU session establishment procedure for the UE as seen in the figure EU and PDU generation procedure through a PDU session).
As per claim 18, Lee teaches, the method according to claim 9, wherein the request for data is a request for Session Management Subscription Data Retrieval for the UE (Lee, ¶[0013] “Second, the 5GC can easily support a network virtualization paradigm by separating a mobility management function and a session management function. In existing 4G LTE, all terminals can receive services from a network through signaling exchange with a single core device called a mobility management entity (MME) that is in charge of registration, authentication, mobility management, and session management functions.” This represents the request for data is a request for Session Management Subscription Data Retrieval for the UE as all the functions are changed according to session management function).
As per claim 23, Lee teaches, a first NF node for data retrieval of a UE in a 5GC (Lee, ¶[0033] FIG. 7 illustrates a procedure in which a UE obtains LADN information through a registration procedure in a 5GC network” this represents a method for data retrieval as ¶[0254] “FIG. 17 illustrates a case in which a core network 930 is a 5GC, and the core network may include an SMF 931, a PCF 932, and a UDM/authentication server function (AUSF) 933.” And a UDM/authentication server is a given key part of data retrieval), the first NF node comprising processing circuitry, the processing circuitry being configured to cause the first NF node to ( (Lee, ¶[0047] “In the following description, a base station is an entity that allocates resources to terminals, and may be at least one of a gNode B, an eNode B, a Node B, a base station (BS), a wireless access unit, a base station controller, and a node on a network A terminal may include a user equipment (UE), a mobile station (MS), a cellular phone, a smartphone, a computer, or a multimedia system capable of performing communication functions. In the disclosure, a downlink (DL) may refer to a radio transmission path via which a base station transmits a signal to the terminal, and an uplink (UL) may refer to a radio transmission path via which a terminal transmits a signal to a base station.” And ¶[0053] “[0053] When the 3GPP network 200 includes an EPC as a core network, the 3GPP network 200 may include network nodes corresponding to a 5GC.” This represents a first node)): obtain a request for data of the UE from a second NF node (Lee, ¶ [0055] Network functions illustrated in FIG. 1 may be defined as follows. ¶ [0056] 3GPP network 300: May include a 3GPP radio access network and a core network.” NF is network function and ¶[0053] “the 3GPP network 200 may include network nodes corresponding to a 5GC.” 200 3GPP network 200 includes multiple nodes); retrieve the data of the UE including an AAA server FQDN (Lee, ¶ [0171] “The DN-AAA server 500 may transmit an application layer address (e.g., a URI) of an edge enabler server that the UE 100 accesses via an application layer or a domain address (FQDN) for generating an application layer address to the SMF 200 through the UE identifier and the policy and the configuration information of the DN-AAA server 500.” The DN-AAA server transmits and the UE 100 access via FQDN in the same manner as the application); and provide the data of the UE including the AAA server FQDN towards the second NF node (Lee, ¶[0171] “layer or a domain address (FQDN) for generating an application layer address to the SMF 200 through the UE identifier and the policy and the configuration information of the DN-AAA server 500.” EU data identifier represents providing the data of the UE and AAA server “the policy and the configuration information of the DN-AAA” and (FQDN) for generating an application layer address represents FQDN towards the second NF node, as 200 has multiple nodes which would represent the second NF node).
As per claim 26, Lee teaches, a second NF node for data retrieval of a UE in a 5GC (Lee, ¶[0053] “[0053] When the 3GPP network 200 includes an EPC as a core network, the 3GPP network 200 may include network nodes corresponding to a 5GC.” This represents a first node nodes therefore there is a second node), the second NF node comprising processing circuitry, the processing circuitry being configured to cause the second NF node to (Lee, fig.1 showing the circuitry that would be required to have second NF node and showing processing circuitry, and 200 representing the nodes): provide a request for data of the UE towards a first NF node (Lee, ¶[0047] “In the following description, a base station is an entity that allocates resources to terminals, and may be at least one of a gNode B, an eNode B, a Node B, a base station (BS), a wireless access unit, a base station controller, and a node on a network A terminal may include a user equipment (UE), a mobile station (MS), a cellular phone, a smartphone, a computer, or a multimedia system capable of performing communication functions. In the disclosure, a downlink (DL) may refer to a radio transmission path via which a base station transmits a signal to the terminal, and an uplink (UL) may refer to a radio transmission path via which a terminal transmits a signal to a base station.” And ¶[0053] “[0053] When the 3GPP network 200 includes an EPC as a core network, the 3GPP network 200 may include network nodes corresponding to a 5GC.” This represents a first node); and obtain the data of the UE including an AAA server FQDN from the first NF node (Lee, ¶[0171] “layer or a domain address (FQDN) for generating an application layer address to the SMF 200 through the UE identifier and the policy and the configuration information of the DN-AAA server 500.” EU data identifier represents providing the data of the UE and AAA server “the policy and the configuration information of the DN-AAA” and (FQDN) for generating an application layer address represents FQDN towards the second NF node, as 200 has multiple nodes which would represent the first NF node, as there is no direct link expressed in the claim language, as to which defines first and second node).
As per claim 28, Lee teaches, the second NF node according to claim 26, wherein the second NF node is further configured to perform operations comprising: authenticating the data of the UE with an AAA server, wherein the AAA server is determined based on the AAA server FQDN Lee, ¶[0276] “In operation 1110, a UE 101 performs authentication with an authentication/authorization server using a user identifier or a generic public subscription identifier (GPSI: Identifier for identifying a subscriber).” This represents the authenticating of the data).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The limitation which is found in both claims “a first update request from a NEF node, wherein the update request comprises the AAA server FQDN; and providing a second update request to the UDR node with the AAA server FQDN” was not found in the prior art. In particular the second update request to the UDR node with the AAA server FQDN specifically. A close prior art is Baek (US 2022/0337995) mentions most of the components/nodes/steps to be able to achieve the objective in ¶ [0144] “In step 611, the AF/AAA server 640 forwards to the NEF 634 the prepared NPN subscription data to be provided to the UE 620 and the UDM/UDR 633.” However, not part of an update request and further the AAA and not AAA server FQDN. The current application would give added flexibility for different offering different network functions different functionalities via other network functions (NFs).
Conclusion
Note: Delos Reyes (US 2012/0084449) is of particular interest and also reads on the claim language Abstract “A device receives a PDN connection request from a UE, and exchanges, with a HSS, authentication and authorization information associated with the UE. The device also constructs an APN FQDN based on the authentication and authorization information, and sends a query, that includes the APN FQDN, to a DNS server.” More details on what each node is doing and what the sever is actually doing would be helpful to make progress in prosecution. Or more details as in claims 2 and 25 that was not found in the prior art, all of the connections were not found in the prior art and would add that level of detail to place the application in condition of allowance.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SANTIAGO GARCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2673
/SG/