DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 16 be found allowable, claim 15 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. With regard to claims 1 and 16, although the claims are drawn to methods of calibrating non-invasive measurement information, the body of the claim refers to “personalizing the continuous biometric information to the non-invasive biometric information” which generally implies (“personalizing… to…”) that the continuous data is being adjusted to better correspond with the non-invasive data, whereas the preamble (“calibrating the non-invasive biometric information”) would be based upon updating the mapping of the non-invasive data relative to the invasive value. As such, it is unclear whether the body of the claim properly aligns with the indication of the preamble.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6 – 8, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (USPGPub 2019/0110751 – cited by Applicant). Lee discloses a method of calibrating non-invasive biometric information [0073], the method comprising:
measuring continuous biometric information of a user by a continuous biometric information measurement device in which a part of a sensor is inserted into a body of the user and measures biometric information of the user over a certain period of time ([0073]: a change amount of bio-information is obtained through blood collection over time);
measuring non-invasive biometric information of the user for the certain period of time using a non-invasive biometric information measurement device that measures the biometric information of the user at a distance away from or in contact with skin of the user ([0050]); and
learning by personalizing the continuous biometric information corresponding to the non-invasive biometric information to the user by comparing the continuous biometric information with the non-invasive biometric information measured for the certain period of time ([0073], [0110], [0111]).
Furthermore, Lee teaches details consistent with dependent claims 2 and 6 - 8, as disclosed by Figs. 1, 7 and 10 and paragraphs [0050]-[0084].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 - 5, 9, 10 and 12 - 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, as applied to claims 1, 2, 6 – 8, and 11 above. Lee teaches a calibration method, as discussed. As such, Lee teaches all of the features of the claimed invention except for incorporating known pattern recognition and event detection analysis, as well as repeating/updating the calibration, as needed. However, it has generally been held to be within the skill level of the art to modify a method to incorporate known processing/calibration techniques associated with monitoring of physiological parameters, and thus, without a showing of unexpected results or criticality it would have been obvious to have modified Lee accordingly.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Lee teaches a method of calibration. Applicant cites several additional calibration arrangements and Heinonen et al. (USPN 5,840,020) teach an a further calibration updating process. However, the prior art does not teach or suggest a method of calibrating that includes comparing event information and increase/decrease patterns from both non-invasive and continuous biometric information for learning by personalizing the information, along with acquiring additional event and increase/decrease patterns for calibrating the additional information, in combination with the other claimed steps.
Claims 16 - 22 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Conclusion
/ERIC F WINAKUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791