This is a non-final office action. Claims 54-75 were considered.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) filed on 11/09/2023 is in compliance with the provision of 37 VFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Oath/Declaration
The oath/declaration filed on 11/09/2023 was received and reviewed by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to communication filed on 11/09/2023.
a. Claims 1-53 are canceled.
b. Claims 54-75 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 54-59, 61-67 and 69-75 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/ (a)(2) as being anticipated by Dao et al. (US 20190261260 A1, hereinafter Dao).
Regarding claim 54, Dao teaches a method for delivering Session Management (SM) or User Equipment (UE) policy in a 3GPP core network comprising the following steps performed by a first network node:
sending, to a second network node, a request for delivering the SM or the UE policy ([65-66]: The AF sends the first request to the NEF for a UE group, the UE group context is created in the NEF. The AF 425 sends 401 an AF request, wherein this request carries information of member UEs of a particular UE group.), wherein the request indicates a subscription to the outcome of the SM or the UE policy delivery (Fig. 14 and [65]: When a first control plane function, for example the AMF, SMF or PCF, subscribes to the NEF for the notification service for relevant events or actions in relation to a particular UE group, the UE group context is created in the NEF. [192-193]: AF Subscription for Event Monitoring (event exposure), information on subscribed services of CP NFs; CP NF IDs that the S-NEF subscribed their services: SMF ID, PCF ID, UDM ID, AMF ID, and others and event filters (for bulk subscription).); and
receiving, from the second network node, an outcome of the SM or the UE policy delivery ([67, 192-194]: The required output from UE context update function is a result indication, for example success or not success, and in some embodiments an optional output can be a cause or external UE ID or both.).
Regarding claim 55, Dao teaches the method according to claim 54.
Dao teaches wherein the first network node is an Application Function (AF) node (Fig. 4(425) and [65]: The AF sends the first request to the NEF for a UE group), and the second network node is a Network Exposure Function (NEF) node (Fig. 4(424) and [65]: The AF sends the first request to the NEF for a UE group).
Regarding claim 56, Dao teaches the method according to claim 55.
Dao teaches wherein the delivery is of a UE policy ([71]: The PCF 421 may generate in step 408 new UE related policy and UE group related policies by using the information provided by the UDM/UDR 422.), and the request is sent to the NEF node (Fig. 4(424, 425) and [65]: The AF sends the first request to the NEF for a UE group) and includes
service specific parameters to be provisioned in the 3GPP core network ([59, 65]: The control plane 306 may be composed of control plane functions (CPF) 316. In a 3GPP compliant network, some control plane functions 316A have functions defined by standards);
service description for identifying a service which the service specific parameters are applied to ([70]: The message 407 may include the internal group ID, application ID, PFD or packet filter sets for both uplink (UL) and downlink (DL) directions, authorized QoS parameters for the member UEs (such as maximum bit rate (MBR), maximum flow bit rate (MFBR), guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR), session-aggregated maximum bit rate (session-aggregated maximum bit rate (AMBR)), packet delay budget (PDB)), and for the UE group (e.g. UE group-AMBR), charging policy (e.g. UE group-based charging in which the charging is applied to all UEs in the UE group as a whole, not for individual UEs));
target UE(s) indicating a UE or a group of UEs which the service specific parameters shall be delivered to by a Policy Control Function (PCF) node ([71]: The PCF 421 may generate in step 408 new UE related policy and UE group related policies by using the information provided by the UDM/UDR 422. The PCF 421 subsequently transits 409 a policy update notification to the SMF 420, which currently serve UEs of UE group, wherein the policy update notification is indicative of the UE group context); and
subscription to a notification on an outcome of UE policy delivery procedure as the outcome of configuring the UE policy ([73]: The UE context may include the UE IDs of UEs in the group, and other related information from the service subscription information. The UDM (or UDR) 506 sends 514 to the PCF 504 a message as a UE group policy creation/modification/deletion request. The message may include UE group ID, UE IDs of UE group, service subscription information).
Regarding claim 57, Dao teaches the method according to claim 55.
Dao teaches wherein the delivery is of a UE Route Selection Policy (URSP) ([71]: The PCF 421 may also send other messages (not shown in FIG. 4) to other network entities such as the AMF (that currently serve UEs of UE group) to update access and mobility policies, to the UE for UE route selection policy (URSP)), and the request is sent to the NEF node ([66]: the NEF is preconfigured to serve a particular UE group and the AF can send a request to the NEF in order to initiate the NEF transmitting a request to set up a UE group context) and includes: service description for identifying an AF ([63]: The UE group context is created in control plane functions which can include the AMF, SMF, PCF, UDM, UDR, NEF, NSSF, NRF, and the application function (AF));
service parameters on application guidance for URSP determination; a UE, a group of UEs or any UE which the request is associated with; and subscription to a notification on an outcome of URSP delivery procedure as the outcome of configuring the SM or the UE policy ([66]: the AF 425 sends 401 an AF request, wherein this request carries information of member UEs of a particular UE group. The request may include a transaction ID to represent this request, and information including one or more of: an external group identifier to identify the UE group, a list of external UE IDs or GPSI (Generic Public Subscription Identifier), a packet filter set or Packet Flow description (PFD) to identify downlink traffic intended to one or some or all UEs of UE group (e.g. application server IP address(es) or IP prefixes), port numbers, QoS information (e.g. maximum bit rate for each UE, maximum aggregated bit rate of all UEs, packet delay budget, packet error rate), DNAI (data network access identifier)).
Regarding claim 58, Dao teaches the method according to claim 57.
Dao teaches wherein the service parameters consist of a list of rules that associate an application traffic descriptor with requested features for PDU session(s) used by an application traffic ([110]: If the UE belongs to a UE group and this UE is the first UE requesting PDU session establishment, the SMF establishes a PDU-CAN shared session with the PCF and gets the default PCC rules for the PDU shared session).
Regarding claim 59, Dao teaches the method according to claim 58.
Dao teaches wherein the service parameters including: an application traffic descriptor corresponding to URSP Traffic Descriptor ([73]: The PCF 504 creates a UE group context. The UE group context may include UE group ID, UE IDs, and UE group policies such as QoS policy, charging policy, network slice selection policy, UE traffic routing policy (such as UE route selection policy (URSP))); and
one or more sets of Route selection parameters, each corresponds to: (DNN, S-NSSAI) provided by the first network node or determined by the second network node based on an AF Identifier ([170]: Parameter mapping of AF-service-identifier and 5GC information (DNN, S-NSSAI) (for example edge computing applications)); a default Route selection precedence value to be used for an application traffic when Route selection precedence with a corresponding spatial validity condition is not provided ([170]: Parameter mapping of AF-service-identifier and a list of DNAI(s) and routing profile ID(s) (edge computing)); route selection precedence with the corresponding spatial validity condition that indicates where the Route selection parameters are applied ([197]: Parameter mapping of AF-service-identifier and a list of DNAI(s) and routing profile ID(s), parameter mapping of external application identifier to the corresponding application identifier known at the PFDF (PFD management)).
Regarding claim 61, Dao teaches a first network node for delivering Session Management (SM) or User Equipment (UE) policy in a 3GPP core network, comprising: at least one processor; and a memory containing program code executable by the at least one processor, whereby execution of the program code by the at least one processor causes the first network node to: send, to a second network node, a request for delivering the SM or the UE policy ([65-66]: The AF sends the first request to the NEF for a UE group, the UE group context is created in the NEF. The AF 425 sends 401 an AF request, wherein this request carries information of member UEs of a particular UE group.), wherein the request indicates a subscription to the outcome of the SM or the UE policy delivery (Fig. 14 and [65]: When a first control plane function, for example the AMF, SMF or PCF, subscribes to the NEF for the notification service for relevant events or actions in relation to a particular UE group, the UE group context is created in the NEF. [192-193]: AF Subscription for Event Monitoring (event exposure), information on subscribed services of CP NFs; CP NF IDs that the S-NEF subscribed their services: SMF ID, PCF ID, UDM ID, AMF ID, and others and event filters (for bulk subscription).); and
receive, from the second network node, an outcome of the SM or the UE policy delivery ([67, 192-194]: The required output from UE context update function is a result indication, for example success or not success, and in some embodiments an optional output can be a cause or external UE ID or both.).
Regarding claim 62, Dao teaches the first network node according to claim 61.
wherein the first network node is an Application Function (AF) node (Fig. 4(425) and [65]: The AF sends the first request to the NEF for a UE group), and the second network node is a Network Exposure Function (NEF) node (Fig. 4(424) and [65]: The AF sends the first request to the NEF for a UE group).
Regarding claim 63, Dao teaches a method for delivering Session Management (SM) or User Equipment (UE) policy in a 3GPP core network, comprising the following steps performed by a first network node:
receiving, from a second network node, a request for delivering the SM or the UE policy ([65-66]: The AF sends the first request to the NEF for a UE group, the UE group context is created in the NEF. The AF 425 sends 401 an AF request, wherein this request carries information of member UEs of a particular UE group.), wherein the request indicates a subscription to the outcome of the SM or the UE policy delivery (Fig. 14 and [65]: When a first control plane function, for example the AMF, SMF or PCF, subscribes to the NEF for the notification service for relevant events or actions in relation to a particular UE group, the UE group context is created in the NEF. [192-193]: AF Subscription for Event Monitoring (event exposure), information on subscribed services of CP NFs; CP NF IDs that the S-NEF subscribed their services: SMF ID, PCF ID, UDM ID, AMF ID, and others and event filters (for bulk subscription).);
receiving, from a third network node, an outcome of the SM or the UE policy delivery ([67]: An authentication and authorization procedure 402 is initiated between the AF 425, NEF 424, AUSF 423 and UDM 422 or UDR or both. During procedure 402, either the UDM or UDR may assign an internal group ID, which is mapped to the external group ID.); and
forwarding the outcome of the SM or the UE policy delivery to the second network node ([67, 192-194]: Upon completion of the authentication and authorization procedure 402, the NEF 424 transmits 403 an AF request response which may indicate that the control plane is setting up the UE group context.).
Regarding claim 64, Dao teaches the method according to claim 63.
Dao teaches wherein the first network node is a Network Exposure Function (NEF) node (Fig. 4(424) and [65]: The AF sends the first request to the NEF for a UE group), the second network node is an Application Function (AF) node (Fig. 4(425) and [65]: The AF sends the first request to the NEF for a UE group), and the third network node is a Policy Control Function (PCF) node (Fig. 4(421) and [71]: The PCF 421 may send a request to the UDM and/or UDR to provide the data of Internal group ID. The PCF 421 may generate in step 408 new UE related policy and UE group related policies by using the information provided by the UDM/UDR 422).
Regarding claim 65, Dao teaches the method according to claim 64.
Dao teaches wherein the step of forwarding comprises: performing information mapping from a notification on the outcome of the SM or the UE policy delivery sent from the third network node so as to determine the AF node that subscribed to the notification ([212]: In step 1605, the T-NEF 1650 may subscribe to the exposure event notification services of CP functions, such as PCF 1610, UDM 1620, AMF 1630, or SMF 1640 for example as previously described with reference in FIG. 15.); and sending the notification to the AF node ([214]: In step 1607a, the CAPIF Core function 1665 may send a message, e.g. event notification, to the subscribed AF 1670 to inform the unavailability of the S-NEF 1650 and the information of replacement T-NEF 1660, such as the ID or IP address of the T-NEF 1660.).
Regarding claim 66, Dao teaches the method according to claim 64.
Dao teaches wherein the delivering is used for service specific parameter provision and the outcome of delivering the SM or the UE policy is an outcome of UE policy delivery procedure, the method further comprising: upon receiving the request, storing information of the request in a Unified Data Repository (UDR) node for being used by the third network node ([67-68]: The NEF 424 subsequently selects 404 the UDM/UDR 422 for the setting up of the UE group context. The NEF 424 sends 405 an application data update request indicative of the UE group context to the UDM/UDR 422).
Regarding claim 67, Dao teaches the method according to claim 64.
Dao teaches wherein the delivery is of a UE Route Selection Policy (URSP), and the outcome of delivering the SM or the UE policy is an outcome of URSP delivery procedure, the method further comprising: upon receiving the request, complementing missing service parameters in the request based on local configuration ([66]: the AF 425 sends 401 an AF request, wherein this request carries information of member UEs of a particular UE group. The request may include a transaction ID to represent this request, and information including one or more of: an external group identifier to identify the UE group, a list of external UE IDs or GPSI (Generic Public Subscription Identifier), a packet filter set or Packet Flow description (PFD) to identify downlink traffic intended to one or some or all UEs of UE group (e.g. application server IP address(es) or IP prefixes), port numbers, QoS information (e.g. maximum bit rate for each UE, maximum aggregated bit rate of all UEs, packet delay budget, packet error rate), DNAI (data network access identifier)).
Regarding claim 69, Dao teaches the first network node for delivering Session Management (SM) or User Equipment (UE) policy in a 3GPP core network, comprising: at least one processor; and a memory containing program code executable by the at least one processor, whereby execution of the program code by the at least one processor causes the first network node to:
receive, from a second network node, a request for delivering the SM or the UE policy ([65-66]: The AF sends the first request to the NEF for a UE group, the UE group context is created in the NEF. The AF 425 sends 401 an AF request, wherein this request carries information of member UEs of a particular UE group.), wherein the request indicates a subscription to the outcome of the SM or the UE policy delivery (Fig. 14 and [65]: When a first control plane function, for example the AMF, SMF or PCF, subscribes to the NEF for the notification service for relevant events or actions in relation to a particular UE group, the UE group context is created in the NEF. [192-193]: AF Subscription for Event Monitoring (event exposure), information on subscribed services of CP NFs; CP NF IDs that the S-NEF subscribed their services: SMF ID, PCF ID, UDM ID, AMF ID, and others and event filters (for bulk subscription).);
receive, from a third network node, an outcome of the SM or the UE policy delivery ([67]: An authentication and authorization procedure 402 is initiated between the AF 425, NEF 424, AUSF 423 and UDM 422 or UDR or both. During procedure 402, either the UDM or UDR may assign an internal group ID, which is mapped to the external group ID.); and
forward the outcome of the SM or the UE policy delivery to the second network node ([67, 192-194]: The required output from UE context update function is a result indication, for example success or not success, and in some embodiments an optional output can be a cause or external UE ID or both.).
Regarding claim 70, Dao teaches the first network node according to claim 69.
Dao teaches wherein the first network node is a Network Exposure Function (NEF) node (Fig. 4(424) and [65]: The AF sends the first request to the NEF for a UE group), the second network node is an Application Function (AF) node (Fig. 4(425) and [65]: The AF sends the first request to the NEF for a UE group), and the third network node is a Policy Control Function (PCF) node (Fig. 4(421) and [71]: The PCF 421 may send a request to the UDM and/or UDR to provide the data of Internal group ID. The PCF 421 may generate in step 408 new UE related policy and UE group related policies by using the information provided by the UDM/UDR 422).
Regarding claim 71, Dao teaches a method for delivering Session Management (SM) or User Equipment (UE) policy in a 3GPP core network, comprising the following steps performed by a first network node:
detecting whether an event related to the SM or the UE policy delivery occurs ([132]: If the SMF interacted with the PCF in step 821c or 822a, the SMF 808 notifies 829 the PCF 814 whether the PCC decision could be enforced or not by invoking Nsmf_EventExposure_Notify service operation.); if the event occurs, generating a notification on an outcome of the SM or the UE policy delivery ([132]: The SMF can notify entities that have subscribed to user location information related with PDU session change.), particularly wherein the method further comprises
receiving, from a second network node or a third network node, a request for delivering the SM or the UE policy ([65-66]: The AF sends the first request to the NEF for a UE group, the UE group context is created in the NEF. The AF 425 sends 401 an AF request, wherein this request carries information of member UEs of a particular UE group.), wherein the request indicates a subscription to the outcome of the SM or the UE policy delivery (Fig. 14 and [65]: When a first control plane function, for example the AMF, SMF or PCF, subscribes to the NEF for the notification service for relevant events or actions in relation to a particular UE group, the UE group context is created in the NEF. [192-193]: AF Subscription for Event Monitoring (event exposure), information on subscribed services of CP NFs; CP NF IDs that the S-NEF subscribed their services: SMF ID, PCF ID, UDM ID, AMF ID, and others and event filters (for bulk subscription).); and
sending the notification to the second network node or the third network node ([67, 192-194]: Upon completion of the authentication and authorization procedure 402, the NEF 424 transmits 403 an AF request response which may indicate that the control plane is setting up the UE group context.).
Regarding claim 72, Dao teaches the method according to claim 71.
Dao teaches wherein the first network node is a Policy Control Function (PCF) node (Fig. 4(421) and [71]: The PCF 421 may send a request to the UDM and/or UDR to provide the data of Internal group ID. The PCF 421 may generate in step 408 new UE related policy and UE group related policies by using the information provided by the UDM/UDR 422), the second network node is an Application Function (AF) node (Fig. 4(425) and [65]: The AF sends the first request to the NEF for a UE group), and the third network node is a Network Exposure Function (NEF) node (Fig. 4(424) and [65]: The AF sends the first request to the NEF for a UE group).
Regarding claim 73, Dao teaches the method according to claim 71.
Dao teaches wherein the delivering is used for service specific parameter provision and the outcome of delivering the SM or the UE policy is an outcome of UE policies delivery procedure ([67-68]: The NEF 424 subsequently selects 404 the UDM/UDR 422 for the setting up of the UE group context. The NEF 424 sends 405 an application data update request indicative of the UE group context to the UDM/UDR 422). ; or wherein the delivery is of a UE Route Selection Policy (URSP), and the outcome of the SM or the UE policy delivery is an outcome of URSP delivery procedure.
Regarding claim 74, Dao teaches a first network node for delivering Session Management (SM) or User Equipment (UE) policy in a 3GPP core network, comprising: at least one processor; and a memory containing program code executable by the at least one processor, whereby execution of the program code by the at least one processor causes the first network node to: detect whether an event related to the SM or the UE policy delivery occurs; if the event occurs, generate a notification on an outcome of the SM or the UE policy delivery, particularly wherein the execution of the program code by the at least one processor further causes the first network node to:
receive from a second network node or a third network node, a request for delivering the SM or the UE policy ([65-66]: The AF sends the first request to the NEF for a UE group, the UE group context is created in the NEF. The AF 425 sends 401 an AF request, wherein this request carries information of member UEs of a particular UE group.), wherein the request indicates a subscription to the outcome of the SM or the UE policy delivery (Fig. 14 and [65]: When a first control plane function, for example the AMF, SMF or PCF, subscribes to the NEF for the notification service for relevant events or actions in relation to a particular UE group, the UE group context is created in the NEF. [192-193]: AF Subscription for Event Monitoring (event exposure), information on subscribed services of CP NFs; CP NF IDs that the S-NEF subscribed their services: SMF ID, PCF ID, UDM ID, AMF ID, and others and event filters (for bulk subscription).); and send the notification to the second network node or the third network node ([67, 192-194]: The required output from UE context update function is a result indication, for example success or not success, and in some embodiments an optional output can be a cause or external UE ID or both.).
Regarding claim 75, Dao teaches the first network node according to claim 74.
Dao teaches wherein the first network node is a Policy Control Function (PCF) node (Fig. 4(421) and [71]: The PCF 421 may send a request to the UDM and/or UDR to provide the data of Internal group ID. The PCF 421 may generate in step 408 new UE related policy and UE group related policies by using the information provided by the UDM/UDR 422), the second network node is an Application Function (AF) node (Fig. 4(425) and [65]: The AF sends the first request to the NEF for a UE group), and the third network node is a Network Exposure Function (NEF) node (Fig. 4(424) and [65]: The AF sends the first request to the NEF for a UE group).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 60 and 68 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dao et al. (US 20190261260 A1, hereinafter Dao) in view of Wu et al. (US 20220110023 A1, hereinafter Wu).
Regarding claim 60, Dao teaches the method according to claim 55.
Dao teaches wherein the delivering is used for any one of: AF influence on traffic routing, and the request is sent to the NEF node or a PCF node ([66]: The AF can send a request to the NEF in order to initiate the NEF transmitting a request to set up a UE group context) and includes:
subscription to a notification on an outcome of Policy Control Charge (PCC) rule installation procedure for user plane reconfiguration as the outcome of configuring the SM or the UE policy ([107]: Subscription data includes the authorized PDU type(s), authorized SSC mode(s), default 5QI/ARP, subscribed session-AMBR, UE group ID, UE group AMBR. The SMF checks whether the UE request is compliant with the user subscription and with local policies); and
an indicator on where the first network node desires to receive the notification ([97]: If an SMF has subscribed to UE location change notification via Namf_EventExposure_Subscribe service operation and if the AMF detects that the UE has moved out the area of interest subscribed by an SMF serving the UE, the AMF invokes Namf_EventExposure_Notify service operation to inform the SMF of the new location information of the UE);
Dao however does not teach setting a Background Data Transfer (BDT) policy for a future AF session, and the request is sent to the NEF node and includes: subscription to a notification on status of the BDT policy as the outcome of configuring the SM or the UE policy; and an indicator on where the first network node desires to receive the notification; or configuring IPTV multicast control, and the request is sent to the NEF node and includes: subscription to a notification on an outcome of PCC rule installation procedure for IPTV configuration as the outcome of configuring the SM or the UE policy; and
an indicator on where the first network node desires to receive the notification.
Wu teaches setting a Background Data Transfer (BDT) policy for a future AF session, and the request is sent to the NEF node ([253]: The AF determines to deliver a BDT transfer policy as a part of a URSP, or the AF determines that a BDT policy is used for a future PDU session; and then sends the first policy request message to the NEF.) and includes:
subscription to a notification on status of the BDT policy as the outcome of configuring the SM or the UE policy ([265]: The PCF sends a BDT policy response message to the NEF. For example, the BDT policy response message is an Npcf_BDTUEpolicy_Create response. Further, the NEF may send the BDT policy response message to the AF); and
an indicator on where the first network node desires to receive the notification ([253]: The first policy request message includes an external identifier of UE and a BDT reference ID, includes an external identifier of UE and an AF ID, or includes an external identifier of UE, an AF ID, and a BDT reference ID.);
or configuring IPTV multicast control, and the request is sent to the NEF node and includes:
subscription to a notification on an outcome of PCC rule installation procedure for IPTV configuration as the outcome of configuring the SM or the UE policy; and
an indicator on where the first network node desires to receive the notification.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dao to incorporate the teachings of Wu and setting a Background Data Transfer (BDT) policy for a future AF session, and the request is sent to the NEF node and includes: subscription to a notification on status of the BDT policy as the outcome of configuring the SM or the UE policy; and an indicator on where the first network node desires to receive the notification; or configuring IPTV multicast control, and the request is sent to the NEF node and includes: subscription to a notification on an outcome of PCC rule installation procedure for IPTV configuration as the outcome of configuring the SM or the UE policy; and an indicator on where the first network node desires to receive the notification. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order for delivering a BDT policy (Wu, [251]).
Regarding claim 68, Dao teaches the method according to claim 64.
Dao teaches wherein the delivering is used for any one of: AF influence on traffic routing and the outcome of configuring the SM or the UE policy is an outcome of Policy Control Charge (PCC) rule installation procedure for user plane reconfiguration ([110]: If the UE belongs to a UE group and this UE is the first UE requesting PDU session establishment, the SMF establishes a PDU-CAN shared session with the PCF and gets the default PCC rules for the PDU shared session.), the method further comprising: upon receiving the request, storing information of the request in a Unified Data Repository (UDR) node for being used by the third network node ([66-67]: the AF 425 sends 401 an AF request, wherein this request carries information of member UEs of a particular UE group);
Dao however does not teach setting a Background Data Transfer (BDT) policy for a future AF session and the outcome of configuring the SM or the UE policy is status of the BDT policy, the method further comprising: upon receiving the request, storing information of the request in a Unified Data Repository (UDR) node for being used by the third network node; or configuring IPTV multicast control and the outcome of configuring the SM or the UE policy is an outcome of PCC rule installation procedure for IPTV configuration.
Wu teaches setting a Background Data Transfer (BDT) policy for a future AF session and the outcome of configuring the SM or the UE policy is status of the BDT policy ([253]: The AF determines to deliver a BDT transfer policy as a part of a URSP, or the AF determines that a BDT policy is used for a future PDU session; and then sends the first policy request message to the NEF.), the method further comprising:
upon receiving the request, storing information of the request in a Unified Data Repository (UDR) node for being used by the third network node ([256]: the NEF may alternatively store, in an APP-UDR, information in the first policy request message sent by the AF, such that the APP-UDR sends the information to the PCF); or configuring IPTV multicast control and the outcome of configuring the SM or the UE policy is an outcome of PCC rule installation procedure for IPTV configuration.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dao to incorporate the teachings of Wu and setting a Background Data Transfer (BDT) policy for a future AF session and the outcome of configuring the SM or the UE policy is status of the BDT policy, the method further comprising: upon receiving the request, storing information of the request in a Unified Data Repository (UDR) node for being used by the third network node; or configuring IPTV multicast control and the outcome of configuring the SM or the UE policy is an outcome of PCC rule installation procedure for IPTV configuration. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order for delivering a BDT policy (Wu, [251]).
Additional References
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
a. Zhang et al., US 20250063592 A1: TECHNIQUES FOR PROVISIONING UAV-TO-EVERYTHING PARAMETERS.
b. Kopperla et al., US 20220338105 A1: METHOD AND SYSTEM FOR CONTROLLING USER EQUIPMENT POLICY IN WIRELESS NETWORK.
Conclusion
/SUJANA KHAKURAL/Examiner, Art Unit 2453
/KAMAL B DIVECHA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2453