DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group/Species I (claims 27-31 and 37-41) in the reply filed on 01/30/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the special technical feature should be consider as , “whether a second network node comprised in the communications network accepts to serve wireless devices of a first type”. This is not found persuasive because, as indicated before, the invention is generally related to "handling of Redcap UE acceptance during inter-node mobility". The term “device of first type” is a broad term and can be considered as a UE to be able operate on or handover to/from NR and/or E-UTRAN/UTRAN. Claims does not specify what “device of first type” is.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 11/10/2023 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Remarks
The present Office Action is based upon the Applicant’s amendment filed on 01/30/2026. Claims 27-46 are now pending in the present application. Claim(s) 32-36 and 42-46 is/are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 27-31 and 37-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. -US 20130170347 A1- (hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 27, Zhang discloses a method, performed by a first network node, for handling wireless devices, the first network node operating in a communications network and the method comprising (FIG. 7, for source eNB):
determining whether or not a second network node comprised in the communications network accepts to serve wireless devices of a first type (FIG. 6 and FIG. 7, par. 0183, 0186-0189 for steps 702, 704 and 705, “704: The target eNB sends a handover request response message to the source eNB… 705: The target eNB sends a handover reject message to the source eNB”); and
performing a first action based on a result of the determination (FIG. 6 and
FIG 7, par. 0189, “The target eNB may also add a time parameter to the handover reject message. When receiving the time parameter, the source eNB may re-initiate a handover request after a corresponding delay period, which is not limited here.”).
Regarding claim 28, as applied to claim 27 above, Zhang discloses wherein the determining is based on whether or not the first network node receives an indication from one of the second network node and a first wireless device comprised in the communications network, wherein the indication indicates whether or not the second network node accepts to serve wireless devices of the first type, and wherein the determining is based on the received indication (par. 0193, “when the target eNB rejects the handover request of the source eNB, the target eNB sends a handover reject message to the source eNB, and carries a reject reason and a time parameter in the handover reject message, so that the source eNB acquires the reject reason and re-initiates, according to the time parameter, a handover request after a corresponding delay period.”).
Regarding claim 29, as applied to claim 28 above, Zhang discloses wherein at least one of: the indication is updatable ;one or more third conditions to which the indication is subject are updatable; the indication is specific to one or more of a cell, a frequency, a tracking area code, a Public Land Mobile Network, and a type of Radio Access Technology; the indication is based on one or more features supported by a first wireless device of the first type; the indication is based on the one or more features, the one or more features comprising whether or not the first wireless device supports 1 Receive branch or antenna port or 2 Receive branches or antenna ports; the indication further indicates one or more cells where the wireless devices of the first type are able to be served or not served; the indication indicates whether or not the second network node accepts to serve wireless devices of the first type by one of: bits presence; and a value of the indication; the wireless devices of the first type are limited in one or more features with respect to wireless devices of a second type; the wireless devices of the first type are Reduced Capability, RedCap, User Equipments (UEs); and the first action is at least one of: refraining from handing over a wireless device of the first type to the second network node; handing over the wireless device of the first type to the second network node based on one or more second conditions; and configuring one or more measurements in the wireless device of the first type accordingly (par. 0193, “when the target eNB rejects the handover request of the source eNB, the target eNB sends a handover reject message to the source eNB, and carries a reject reason and a time parameter in the handover reject message, so that the source eNB acquires the reject reason and re-initiates, according to the time parameter, a handover request after a corresponding delay period.”).
Regarding claim 30, as applied to claim 28 above, Zhang discloses wherein the first network node a first radio access network node, and the second network node is a second radio access network node, and wherein the receiving of the indication is performed according to at least one of: in an interface between the second network node and the first network node; when the interface is set up; in a message received after the interface has been set up; in one of a Served Cell Information NR IE and a Neighbour Information NR IE; in a response to a request from the first network node; with the proviso that the first network node supports wireless devices of the first type; in a handover request message; in a response to a message retrieving a UE context; in a handover procedure; and during a dual connectivity procedure (par. 0173, “701: A source eNB sends a handover request message to a target eNB”; par. 0193, “when the target eNB rejects the handover request of the source eNB, the target eNB sends a handover reject message to the source eNB, and carries a reject reason and a time parameter in the handover reject message… ”).
Regarding claim 31, as applied to claim 28 above, Zhang discloses receiving the indication from one of the second network node and the first wireless device; sending a further indication to the first wireless device or another wireless device, wherein the further indication configures one or more measurements in the first wireless device of the first type according to the received indication; and receiving a third indication from one of the second network node and the first wireless device or another wireless device, the third indication updating the first indication on whether or not the second network node accepts to serve wireless devices of the first type, and wherein the determining and the performing are repeated based on the received third indication (FIG. 7, par. 0183, 0186-0189 for steps 702, 704 and 705, “704: The target eNB sends a handover request response message to the source eNB… 705: The target eNB sends a handover reject message to the source eNB”).
Regarding claim 37, Zhang discloses a first network node for handling wireless devices, the first network node operating in a communications network and configured to (FIG. 7, for source eNB):
determine whether or not a second network node configured to be comprised in the communications network accepts to serve wireless devices of a first type (FIG. 6 and FIG. 7, par. 0183, 0186-0189 for steps 702, 704 and 705, “704: The target eNB sends a handover request response message to the source eNB… 705: The target eNB sends a handover reject message to the source eNB”); and
perform a first action based on a result of the determination (FIG. 6 and FIG 7, par. 0189, “The target eNB may also add a time parameter to the handover reject message. When receiving the time parameter, the source eNB may re-initiate a handover request after a corresponding delay period, which is not limited here”).
Regarding claims 38-41, as applied to claim 37 above, the claim is rejected for the same reason(s) as set forth claims 28-31 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
PAN et al. -US 20230413039 A1- disclose COMMUNICATION METHOD AND COMMUNICATION APPARATUS.
Xin et al. -US 20220417811 A1- disclose Communication Method And Device.
/ALLAHYAR KASRAIA N/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642