DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the Request for Continued Examination (RCE) filed on 07/20/2026.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 07/20/2026 has been entered.
Claims 37-55 are pending
Claims 37, 48 and 54-55 are amended
Claims 1-36 are canceled
Claims 37-55 remain rejected.
Claim Objections
Claims 37-47 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 37 recites the limitation, “…control message subsequent to said excluding, re-selecting, by the transmitting UE, a second resource.” However, the phrase, “control message” appears to be an error since the corresponding claim 54 recites, “…excluding, by the transmitting UE, the selected first resource based on the additional information or control message.” Hence the above recited limitation in claim 37 is taken to mean, “…subbsequent to said excluding, re-selecting, by the transmitting UE, a second resource”;
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 37-39 and 42-55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by PAN et al. (US 20240015755 A1), hereinafter referenced as Pan.
Regarding claims 37 and 54, Pan teaches a method implemented by a transmitting user equipment (UE), configured for device-to-device, D2D, communication in a wireless communication network (Para. [0002]-Pan discloses methods and systems for cast type and coordination based inter-user equipment (UE) operation for new radio (NR) Sidelink. Para. [0008-0009]-Pan discloses an apparatus including a non-transitory memory including instructions stored thereon. The apparatus also includes a processor operably coupled to the non-transitory memory configured to execute a set of instructions. The instructions include sensing plural devices in a group to provide sidelink coordination ... a method including a step of evaluating a coordination type of plural devices. The coordination type is scheduled for one of the plural devices and the coordination type is assisted for another one of the plural devices. The method also includes a step of obtaining transmission and reception resources for the plural devices. The method further includes a step of determining the transmission and reception resources are dedicated or shared among the plural devices based on the coordination type),
the transmitting UE is arranged to autonomously select resources for transmitting data over a D2D communication link (Para. [0177]-Pan discloses transmitting UE ..., UE may autonomously select the resource for transmission. Fig. 17, Para. [0220]-Pan discloses architectures are provided to enable inter-UE coordination ... V2X with NR sidelink ... UE B may be a transmitting UE and multiple UE As may be the receiving UEs), the method comprising:
receiving, by the transmitting UE, from a coordinating UE, a first control message using inter-UE coordination (Para. [0145]-Pan discloses Coordinator UE (e.g., coordinator type UE, coordinating UE, coordinating type UE) may be a UE which providing coordination information or signaling to other UEs. For example, coordinator UE may be a UE providing scheduling information to a scheduled UE or may provide assistance information to an assisted UE. Para. [0259-0260]-Pan discloses UE A may set TX/RX indicator to TX for the scheduling information and time/freq resources in SCI {Sidelink Control Information} format may be interpreted for transmission at UE B ... UE A may send a single (aggregated) SCI, PSCCH or scheduling information to transmitting UE B),
the first control message comprising an indication of resources available for a data transmission (Para. [0209]-Pan discloses UE A may provide resource availability including periodic resource and/or aperiodic resource to UE B to assist its resource selection. In addition, UE A may provide resource availability including periodic resource and/or aperiodic resource to UE B to assist its resource reselection. Para. [0145]-Pan discloses coordinator UE may be a UE providing scheduling information to a scheduled UE or may provide assistance information to an assisted UE. Para. [0259-0260]-Pan discloses UE A may set TX/RX indicator to TX for the scheduling information and time/freq resources in SCI {Sidelink Control Information} format may be interpreted for transmission at UE B);
selecting, by the transmitting UE based on the indication of available resources, a first resource for transmitting data over the D2D communication link to the coordinating UE (Para. [0209]-Pan discloses UE A may provide resource availability including periodic resource and/or aperiodic resource to UE B to assist its resource selection. Para. [0177]-Pan discloses transmitting UE ..., UE may autonomously select the resource for transmission. Fig. 17, Para. [0220]-Pan discloses architectures are provided to enable inter-UE coordination ... V2X with NR sidelink ... UE B may be a transmitting UE and multiple UE As may be the receiving UEs);
prior to transmitting said data over the D2D communication link to the coordinating UE obtaining new information comprising at least one of: additional information indicative of a conflict with the first resource (Para. [0232]-Pan discloses [0232] UE A may provide assistance information to a UE B. For example, the assistance information may indicate the presence of expected and/or potential resource conflict on the resources that is indicated by UE B e.g., by UE B's SCI and/or the presence of detected resource conflict on the resources that is indicated by UE B e.g., by UE B's SCI. Para. [0140]-Pan discloses Reserved resources in the selection window with SL-RSRP above a threshold are excluded from being candidates by the sensing UE, with the threshold set according to the priorities of the traffic of the sensing and transmitting UEs. Para. [0302]-Pan discloses UE B may exclude resource(s) overlapping with the non-preferred resource set for its resource selection and/or re-selection. Para. [0252]-Pan discloses Multiple UE Bs may transmit to a single UE A. UE A may provide assistance information to multiple UE Bs to assist UE B's transmission. Assistance information may include a set of resources and additional other information ... Multiple UE Bs may share same resources or resource pools. UE Bs may perform sensing and autonomously select resources. Collision may happen. Fig. 17, Para. [0220]-Pan discloses architectures are provided to enable inter-UE coordination ... V2X with NR sidelink ... UE B may be a transmitting UE and multiple UE As may be the receiving UEs); and
a control message from the coordinating UE comprising updated resources (Fig. 6, Para. [0171]-Pan discloses both the first stage and second stage SCI for UE A's reception may be sent to UE B as part of the scheduling information. In this case, UE B may decode both SCI and interpret them as reception parameters for UE A. UE B may use them for transmission with proper update if needed);
excluding, by the transmitting UE, the selected first resource based on the additional information or control message (Para. [0305]-Pa discloses UE A may determine that expected and/or potential resource conflict occurs on the resource(s) if other UE's reserved resource(s) that are identified by UE-A may be fully or partially overlapping with resource(s) indicated by UE-B's SCI in time only or both time and frequency. Para. [0303-0304]-Pan discloses the presence of expected or potential resource conflict on the resources that is indicated by UE B and/or the presence of detected resource conflict on the resources that is indicated by UE B e.g., by UE B's SCI, may be used for inter-UE coordination information signalling. Such information signaling may be transmitted to UE B from UE A ... UE B may use inter-UE coordination information to determine its own resource selection and/or re-selection ... UE A may detect the expected and/or potential resource conflict(s) on resource indicated by UE B, e.g., by UE B's SCI. UE A may send inter-UE coordination information to UE-B ... UE B may determine resource(s) to be selected or re-selected based on the received coordination information. Para. [0302]-Pan discloses UE B may exclude resource(s) overlapping with the non-preferred resource set for its resource selection and/or re-selection. UE B may select or reselect resource(s) to be used for its transmission and for its resource selection and/or re-selection in case the resource(s) may be fully or partially overlapping with the non-preferred resource set)
subsequent to said excluding, re-selecting, by the transmitting UE, a second resource for transmitting said data over the D2D communication link to said coordinating UE (Para. [0302]-Pan discloses UE B may exclude resource(s) overlapping with the non-preferred resource set for its resource selection and/or re-selection. UE B may select or reselect resource(s) to be used for its transmission and for its resource selection and/or re-selection in case the resource(s) may be fully or partially overlapping with the non-preferred resource set. UE A may determine any resource(s) as set of resource(s) preferred for UE B's transmission if resource(s) excluding those resource overlapping with reserved resource(s) of other UE that is identified by UE A whose RSRP measurement may be larger than a predefined, (pre-) configured or indicated RSRP threshold. UE A may determine any resource(s) as the set of resource(s) preferred for UE-B's transmission if resource(s) excluding time slot(s) where UE A may not expect to perform sidelink reception from UE B in case UE A may be the intended receiver of UE-B); and
performing, by the transmitting UE, said transmitting of said data using said second resource (Fig. 6, Para. [0171]-Pan discloses both the first stage and second stage SCI for UE A's reception may be sent to UE B as part of the scheduling information. In this case, UE B may decode both SCI and interpret them as reception parameters for UE A. UE B may use them for transmission with proper update if needed. UE B may transmit only PSSCH according to these parameters including all information regarding decoding PSSCH at UE A, e.g., parameters for HARQ, MCS, NDI, etc).
Regarding claim 38, Pan teaches the method in accordance with claim 37,
Pan further teaches the indication of resources available for the data transmission comprises one of: one or more allowed resources for the data transmission; and one or more non-preferred or disallowed resources (Para. [0301]-Pan discloses for one inter-UE coordination type or scheme, a set of resources that is preferred for UE B's transmission and/or a set of resources that is non-preferred for UE B's transmission may be used for inter-UE coordination information signalling. Such information signaling may be transmitted to UE B from UE A).
Regarding claim 39, Pan teaches the method of claim 37,
Pan further teaches the transmitting UE receives control messages from multiple coordinating UEs (Para. [0220]-Pan discloses UE B may be a transmitting UE and multiple UE As may be the receiving Ues … to configuring or indicating a portion of UEs to provide assistance information; to enable mixed types of coordination including to configure some UEs to provide assistance information and some UEs to provide scheduling information; to enable multi-type operation including to configure UEs to provide both scheduling information and assistance information ... oordination signaling from multiple inter-UEs (e.g., multiple UE A) may be handled and processed) and
selects a resource indicated in one of the control messages as the first resource (Para. [0209]-Pan discloses UE A may provide resource availability including periodic resource and/or aperiodic resource to UE B to assist its resource selection. Para. [0177]-Pan discloses transmitting UE ..., UE may autonomously select the resource for transmission. Fig. 17, Para. [0220]-Pan discloses architectures are provided to enable inter-UE coordination ... V2X with NR sidelink ... UE B may be a transmitting UE and multiple UE As may be the receiving UEs. Para. [0138]-Pan discloses elect resources to be used for the initial transmission of a later transport block, in which case the resources are indicated in an SCI scheduling a current transport block), and
said step of selecting the first resource comprises any of: selecting a resource which is common in all the received control messages; selecting a resource that is common to a maximum number of the received control messages; selecting a resource randomly among one of the received control messages; selecting a resource indicated in a latest of the received control messages; selecting a resource based at least in part on priorities of the coordinating UEs from which the control messages are received; and selecting a resource based at least in part on a previous request sent by the transmitting UE to one of the coordinating UEs (Para. [0155-0156]-Pan discloses if the scheduled type UE has higher priority, then UE A may initially determine the scheduled resource (X) for scheduled UE B. UE A may then determine the set of resource (Y) for UE C. UE C may perform transmission based on the set of resource indicated from UE A ... The two sets of resources may be common or dedicated. Para. [0170]-Pan discloses the control fields time resource assignment and frequency resource assignment may indicate up to N time/freq resources, e.g., N may be two or three. N may also be more than three. Depending on whether transmitting and/or receiving scheduling is enabled or not, N may be configured to support it. In addition, depending on the number of transmitting and/or receiving UEs that is enabled, N may be configured to support the maximum number of transmitting and/or receiving UEs. Para. [0162]-Pan discloses random resource selection in a resource pool that is configured or preconfigured … UE performing random selection. Para. [0209]-Pan discloses UE A may provide resource availability including periodic resource and/or aperiodic resource to UE B to assist its resource selection. Para. [0148]-Pan discloses priority may be assigned or associated with each subset of resources. UE A may provide the set of resources, subset of resources and associated priority with each subset to UE B. UE B may consider the resource information including priority associated with resource subsets when selecting the resources and making the transmission).
Regarding claim 42, Pan teaches the method of claim 37, further comprising:
Pan further teaches transmitting, by the transmitting UE, control information responsive to excluding the first resource (Para. [0138-0139]-Pan discloses the mode 2 sensing procedure may select and then reserve resources for a variety of purposes reflecting that NR V2X introduces Sidelink HARQ in support of unicast and groupcast in the physical layer. It may reserve resources to be used for a number of blind (re-)transmissions or HARQ-feedback-based (re-)transmissions of a transport block, in which case the resources are indicated in the SCI(s) scheduling the transport block ... The first-stage SCIs transmitted by UEs on PSCCH indicate the time-frequency resources in which the UE will transmit a PSSCH. These SCI transmissions are used by sensing UEs to maintain a record of which resources have been reserved by other UEs in the recent past),
the control information comprises any of: an indication that the transmitting UE excluded the first resource (Para. [0138-0139]-Pan discloses the mode 2 sensing procedure may select and then reserve resources for a variety of purposes reflecting that NR V2X introduces Sidelink HARQ in support of unicast and groupcast in the physical layer. It may reserve resources to be used for a number of blind (re-)transmissions or HARQ-feedback-based (re-)transmissions of a transport block, in which case the resources are indicated in the SCI(s) scheduling the transport block ... The first-stage SCIs transmitted by UEs on PSCCH indicate the time-frequency resources in which the UE will transmit a PSSCH. These SCI transmissions are used by sensing UEs to maintain a record of which resources have been reserved by other UEs in the recent past); and
a request for alternative resources to a coordinating UE (Para. [0211-0212]-Pan discloses UE B may request such assistance information from UE A ... UE B may request assistance information before the procedure, e.g., for sensing procedure, for candidate resource selection, for resource selection procedure, for resource reevaluate procedure, or for resource reselection procedure including resource reservation procedure, or combination of them. Para. [0307]-Pan discloses UE A may be triggered by UE B's explicit request to transmit inter-UE coordination information. UE B may provide to UE A some information in explicit request signal, e.g., number of sub-channels to be used for control and data e.g., PSSCH/PSCCH transmission in a slot, starting and ending time location of resource selection window, resource reservation interval, priority value to be used for control and data e.g., PSCCH/PSSCH transmission, or the like).
Regarding claim 43, Pan teaches the method in accordance with claim 42,
Pan further teaches re-selecting comprises re-selecting the second resources from alternative resources indicated in an additional control message received responsive to said request for alternative resources (Para. [0211-0212]-Pan discloses UE B may request such assistance information from UE A. Alternatively, UE A may send periodic assistance information to UE B. UE A may send periodic assistance information or aperiodic information to UE B based on indicated, predefined and/or pre-configured condition(s), criteria and/or rule(s) ... UE B may request assistance information before the procedure, e.g., for sensing procedure, for candidate resource selection, for resource selection procedure, for resource reevaluate procedure, or for resource reselection procedure including resource reservation procedure, or combination of them).
Regarding claim 44, Pan teaches the method of claim 37,
Pan further teaches the step of re-selecting the second resource comprises any of: re-selecting the second resource from alternative resources indicated in a second control message received from a different UE than the first control message (Para. [0302]-Pan discloses UE B may exclude resource(s) overlapping with the non-preferred resource set for its resource selection and/or re-selection. UE B may select or reselect resource(s) to be used for its transmission and for its resource selection and/or re-selection in case the resource(s) may be fully or partially overlapping with the non-preferred resource set. UE A may determine any resource(s) as set of resource(s) preferred for UE B's transmission if resource(s) excluding those resource overlapping with reserved resource(s) of other UE that is identified by UE A whose RSRP measurement may be larger than a predefined, (pre-) configured or indicated RSRP threshold ... UE A may determine any resource(s) as the set of resource(s) that is preferred for UE-B's transmission if resource(s) may satisfy the traffic requirements of UE B. Para. [0259-0260]-Pan discloses UE A may set TX/RX indicator to TX for the scheduling information and time/freq resources in SCI {Sidelink Control Information} format may be interpreted for transmission at UE B ... UE A may send a single (aggregated) SCI, PSCCH or scheduling information to transmitting UE B. Para. [0130]-Pan discloses PSSCH transmits the second-stage SCI and the SL-SCH transport channel. The second-stage SCI carries information needed to identify and decode the associated SL-SCH); and
re-selecting the second resource from alternative resources indicated in a second control message received from the same coordinating UE at a different point in time as the first control message (Para. [0302]-Pan discloses UE B may exclude resource(s) overlapping with the non-preferred resource set for its resource selection and/or re-selection. UE B may select or reselect resource(s) to be used for its transmission and for its resource selection and/or re-selection in case the resource(s) may be fully or partially overlapping with the non-preferred resource set ... UE A may determine any resource(s) as the set of resource(s) that is not preferred for UE B's transmission if reserved resource(s) of other UE that is identified by UE-A from other UEs' SCI e.g., priority field and RSRP measurement. Para. [0259-0260]-Pan discloses UE A may set TX/RX indicator to TX for the scheduling information and time/freq resources in SCI {Sidelink Control Information} format may be interpreted for transmission at UE B ... UE A may send a single (aggregated) SCI, PSCCH or scheduling information to transmitting UE B. Para. [0130]-Pan discloses PSSCH transmits the second-stage SCI and the SL-SCH transport channel. The second-stage SCI carries information needed to identify and decode the associated SL-SCH).
Regarding claim 45, Pan teaches the method of claim 14,
Pan further teaches the second control messages comprise: one or more alternative resources for transmitting of said data (Para. [0130]-Pan discloses PSSCH transmits the second-stage SCI and the SL-SCH transport channel. The second-stage SCI carries information needed to identify and decode the associated SL-SCH, as well as control for HARQ procedures, and triggers for CSI feedback, etc. SL-SCH carries the TB of data for transmission over SL. Para. [0171]-Pan discloses time resource and frequency resources that are indicated in SCI fields time resource assignment and frequency resource assignment should be used for transmission for PSSCH ... both the first stage and second stage SCI for UE A's reception may be sent to UE B as part of the scheduling information), and
the transmitting UE selects the second resource from the alternative resources indicated in the control message (Para. [0130]-Pan discloses PSSCH transmits the second-stage SCI and the SL-SCH transport channel. The second-stage SCI carries information needed to identify and decode the associated SL-SCH. Para. [0149]-Pan discloses If indicator is “0”, then “priority” is not enforced for resource selection and UE B may have flexibility to select different priority including second high priority or lower priority resources. Priority may be applied to subsets among the first set or second set of resources. (See also Para. [0196])); and
one or more non-preferred or disallowed resources (Para. [0306]-Pan discloses inter-UE coordination request signal may include a set or subset of resources for determining suitable resources, e.g., the preferred or non-preferred resources for UE B's transmission ... UE may assist UE B and/or UE A for transmission and/or reception by inter-UE coordination information, assistance information or the like. The 1.sup.st stage SCI, the 2.sup.nd stage SCI, MAC CE, RRC or the like may be used to carry inter-UE coordination information), and
the transmitting UE selects, as the second resource, a resource not indicated in the control message (Para. [0154]-Pan discloses UE A may send a set of resources to UE C to be used for UE C's transmission. This may be subset 2. UE C may perform sensing based on the subset of resources indicated by UE A. In addition, UE C may also perform sensing based on the set of resources which UE C is configured but not indicated by UE A).
Regarding claim 46, Pan teaches the method of claim 37, further comprising:
Pan further teaches prior to the step of excluding, transmitting, by the transmitting UE, a reservation message reserving the first resource for transmitting data over the D2D communication link (Para [0302-0303]-Pan discloses reserved resource(s) of other UE that is identified by UE-A from other UEs' SCI e.g., priority field and RSRP measurement …. UE B may transmit PSCCH and/or PSSCH with SCI indicating the reserved resource to be used for its transmission. UE B may receive inter-UE coordination information from UE A indicating expected and/or potential resource conflict(s) for the reserved resource(s). UE B may use inter-UE coordination information to determine its own resource selection and/or re-selection).
Regarding claim 47, Pan teaches the method of claim 37,
Pan further teaches re-selecting comprises reselecting said second resource among said updated resources in said control message from said coordinating UE (Para [0302-0303]-Pan discloses UE B may transmit PSCCH and/or PSSCH with SCI indicating the reserved resource to be used for its transmission. UE B may receive inter-UE coordination information from UE A indicating expected and/or potential resource conflict(s) for the reserved resource(s). UE B may use inter-UE coordination information to determine its own resource selection and/or re-selection. Para. [0304]-Pan discloses UE B may determine resource(s) to be selected or re-selected based on the received coordination information. UE B may select or reselect resource(s) that are reserved for its own transmission when expected and/or potential resource conflict on the resource(s) is indicated. (See also Para. [0212])).
Regarding claims 48 and 55, Pan teaches a method implemented by a coordinating user equipment (UE), configured for device-to-device (D2D), communication with a transmitting UE in a wireless communication network (Para. [0002]-Pan discloses methods and systems for cast type and coordination based inter-user equipment (UE) operation for new radio (NR) Sidelink. Para. [0008-0009]-Pan discloses an apparatus including a non-transitory memory including instructions stored thereon. The apparatus also includes a processor operably coupled to the non-transitory memory configured to execute a set of instructions. The instructions include sensing plural devices in a group to provide sidelink coordination ... a method including a step of evaluating a coordination type of plural devices. The coordination type is scheduled for one of the plural devices and the coordination type is assisted for another one of the plural devices. The method also includes a step of obtaining transmission and reception resources for the plural devices. The method further includes a step of determining the transmission and reception resources are dedicated or shared among the plural devices based on the coordination type),
the transmitting UE is arranged to autonomously select resources for transmitting data over a D2D communication link (Para. [0177]-Pan discloses transmitting UE ..., UE may autonomously select the resource for transmission. Fig. 17, Para. [0220]-Pan discloses architectures are provided to enable inter-UE coordination ... V2X with NR sidelink ... UE B may be a transmitting UE and multiple UE As may be the receiving UEs), the method comprising:
determining, by the coordinating UE, that said transmitting UE is to use a first resource for a data transmission over the D2D communication link to the coordinating UE (Para. [0145]-Pan discloses Coordinator UE (e.g., coordinator type UE, coordinating UE, coordinating type UE) may be a UE which providing coordination information or signaling to other UEs. For example, coordinator UE may be a UE providing scheduling information to a scheduled UE or may provide assistance information to an assisted UE. Para. [0259-0260]-Pan discloses UE A may set TX/RX indicator to TX for the scheduling information and time/freq resources in SCI {Sidelink Control Information} format may be interpreted for transmission at UE B ... UE A may send a single (aggregated) SCI, PSCCH or scheduling information to transmitting UE B);
prior to receiving said data over the D2D communication link from the transmitting UE, determining, by the coordinating UE, that there is a conflict with said first resource (Para. [0232]-Pan discloses [0232] UE A may provide assistance information to a UE B. For example, the assistance information may indicate the presence of expected and/or potential resource conflict on the resources that is indicated by UE B e.g., by UE B's SCI and/or the presence of detected resource conflict on the resources that is indicated by UE B e.g., by UE B's SCI. Para. [0140]-Pan discloses Reserved resources in the selection window with SL-RSRP above a threshold are excluded from being candidates by the sensing UE, with the threshold set according to the priorities of the traffic of the sensing and transmitting UEs. Para. [0302]-Pan discloses UE B may exclude resource(s) overlapping with the non-preferred resource set for its resource selection and/or re-selection. Para. [0252]-Pan discloses Multiple UE Bs may transmit to a single UE A. UE A may provide assistance information to multiple UE Bs to assist UE B's transmission. Assistance information may include a set of resources and additional other information ... Multiple UE Bs may share same resources or resource pools. UE Bs may perform sensing and autonomously select resources. Collision may happen. Fig. 17, Para. [0220]-Pan discloses architectures are provided to enable inter-UE coordination ... V2X with NR sidelink ... UE B may be a transmitting UE and multiple UE As may be the receiving UEs); and
responsive to said determining, sending, by the coordinating UE, control information to the transmitting UE (Para. [0145]-Pan discloses Coordinator UE (e.g., coordinator type UE, coordinating UE, coordinating type UE) may be a UE which providing coordination information or signaling to other UEs. For example, coordinator UE may be a UE providing scheduling information to a scheduled UE or may provide assistance information to an assisted UE. Para. [0259-0260]-Pan discloses UE A may set TX/RX indicator to TX for the scheduling information and time/freq resources in SCI {Sidelink Control Information} format may be interpreted for transmission at UE B ... UE A may send a single (aggregated) SCI, PSCCH or scheduling information to transmitting UE B),
the control information indicates one or more available resources (Para. [0209]-Pan discloses UE A may provide resource availability including periodic resource and/or aperiodic resource to UE B to assist its resource selection. In addition, UE A may provide resource availability including periodic resource and/or aperiodic resource to UE B to assist its resource reselection. Para. [0177]-Pan discloses transmitting UE ..., UE may autonomously select the resource for transmission. Fig. 17, Para. [0220]-Pan discloses architectures are provided to enable inter-UE coordination ... V2X with NR sidelink ... UE B may be a transmitting UE and multiple UE As may be the receiving UEs. Para. [0145]-Pan discloses coordinator UE may be a UE providing scheduling information to a scheduled UE or may provide assistance information to an assisted UE. Para. [0259-0260]-Pan discloses UE A may set TX/RX indicator to TX for the scheduling information and time/freq resources in SCI {Sidelink Control Information} format may be interpreted for transmission at UE B); and
receiving the data transmission from the transmitting UE on a second resource selected by the transmitting UE from the available resource (Para. [0303]-Pan discloses the presence of expected or potential resource conflict on the resources {Corresponding to first resource prior to receiving said data over the D2D communication link} that is indicated by UE B and/or the presence of detected resource conflict on the resources that is indicated by UE B e.g., by UE B's SCI, may be used for inter-UE coordination information signalling. Such information signaling may be transmitted to UE B from UE A ..., the presence of expected or potential resource conflict on the resources that are indicated by UE B may be transmitted to UE B from UE A ... UE B may receive the inter-UE coordination information from UE-A and may use it for resource selection or re-selection {Corresponding to second resource}. The feature may be enabled, disabled or controlled by configuration or pre-configuration. A UE B may transmit PSCCH and/or PSSCH {Corresponding to the data transmission from the transmitting UE on a second resource selected} with SCI indicating the reserved resource to be used for its transmission {Corresponding to the data transmission from the transmitting UE on a second resource selected}. UE B may receive inter-UE coordination information from UE A indicating expected and/or potential resource conflict(s) for the reserved resource(s). UE B may use inter-UE coordination information to determine its own resource selection and/or re-selection. Para. [0208]-Pan discloses if there is aperiodic traffic with a high priority occupying the resource, UE B may reevaluate resource and reselect resources. UE B may again reserve up to N resources. Before the transmission, UE B may check if there is any aperiodic traffic certain time before that transmission again. If it is ok to transmit, then UE B may transmit accordingly. Before the next transmission in next reserved resource, UE B may check if resource need to be reselected or not. If not, UE B may continue to transmit. If yes, UE B may reselect the resource and reserve up to N resources again. Such procedure may repeat).
Regarding claim 49, Pan teaches the method in accordance with claim 48,
Pan further teaches said step of determining that said transmitting UE is to use a resource for transmitting data comprises: receiving, by the coordinating UE, a reservation from the transmitting UE of a first resource for said transmitting data (Para [0302-0303]-Pan discloses reserved resource(s) of other UE that is identified by UE-A from other UEs' SCI e.g., priority field and RSRP measurement …. UE B may transmit PSCCH and/or PSSCH with SCI indicating the reserved resource to be used for its transmission. UE B may receive inter-UE coordination information from UE A indicating expected and/or potential resource conflict(s) for the reserved resource(s). UE B may use inter-UE coordination information to determine its own resource selection and/or re-selection).
Regarding claim 50, Pan teaches the method in accordance with claim 49,
Pan further teaches the reservation comprises a mode indication indicative of a first mode of resource selection for selecting the first resource (Para. [0299]-Pan discloses iInformation could be of different type(s) including scheduling type information or assistance type information for inter-UE coordination for mode 2. Para. [0132-0138]-Pan discloses Resource Allocation Modes … Mode 2 may be for UE autonomous resource selection. Its basic structure is of a UE sensing, within a (pre-)configured resource pool, where resources are not in use by other UEs with higher-priority traffic and may choose an appropriate amount of such resources for its own transmissions ... The mode 2 sensing procedure may select and then reserve resources for a variety of purposes reflecting that NR V2X introduces Sidelink HARQ in support of unicast and groupcast in the physical layer. Para. [0160]-Pan discloses UE A may determine the signaling type based on coordination type. Fig. 16, Para. [0033]-Pan discloses coordination signaling type dependent assistance for sensing and resource (re-)selection procedure. (See also Para. [0217])), and
the mode indication comprises any of: an indication that the resource selection mode for selecting the first resource used a reduced amount of sensing results (Para. [0306]-Pan discloses SCI may indicate the type of resource allocation scheme, e.g., partial sensing based, the random resource selection, or full sensing or the like. Para. [0162]-Pan discloses random resource selection in a resource pool that is configured or preconfigured with different sensing and resource allocation schemes such as partial sensing, full sensing and random resource selection, a priority threshold value or a range of priority levels may be (pre-)configured for the resource pool, resource set or resource subset); and
an indication that full sensing-based resource selection was used for selecting the first resource (Para. [0306]-Pan discloses SCI may indicate the type of resource allocation scheme, e.g., partial sensing based, the random resource selection, or full sensing or the like. Para. [0162]-Pan discloses random resource selection in a resource pool that is configured or preconfigured with different sensing and resource allocation schemes such as partial sensing, full sensing and random resource selection, a priority threshold value or a range of priority levels may be (pre-)configured for the resource pool, resource set or resource subset).
Regarding claim 51, Pan teaches the method in accordance with claim 48,
Pan further teaches the step of determining that said transmitting UE is to use a resource for transmitting data comprises: sending, to the transmitting UE, a first control message indicating one or more resources for said transmitting data (Para. [0145]-Pan discloses Coordinator UE (e.g., coordinator type UE, coordinating UE, coordinating type UE) may be a UE which providing coordination information or signaling to other UEs. For example, coordinator UE may be a UE providing scheduling information to a scheduled UE or may provide assistance information to an assisted UE. Para. [0259-0260]-Pan discloses UE A may set TX/RX indicator to TX for the scheduling information and time/freq resources in SCI {Sidelink Control Information} format may be interpreted for transmission at UE B ... UE A may send a single (aggregated) SCI, PSCCH or scheduling information to transmitting UE B).
Regarding claim 52, Pan teaches the method in accordance with claim 48,
Pan further teaches said step of sending comprises: sending, to the transmitting UE, a second control message indicating a second resource for said transmitting data (Para. [0130]-Pan discloses PSSCH transmits the second-stage SCI and the SL-SCH transport channel. The second-stage SCI carries information needed to identify and decode the associated SL-SCH, as well as control for HARQ procedures, and triggers for CSI feedback, etc. SL-SCH carries the TB of data for transmission over SL. Para. [0171]-Pan discloses time resource and frequency resources that are indicated in SCI fields time resource assignment and frequency resource assignment should be used for transmission for PSSCH ... both the first stage and second stage SCI for UE A's reception may be sent to UE B as part of the scheduling information. Para. [0302]-Pan discloses UE B may exclude resource(s) overlapping with the non-preferred resource set for its resource selection and/or re-selection. UE B may select or reselect resource(s) to be used for its transmission and for its resource selection and/or re-selection in case the resource(s) may be fully or partially overlapping with the non-preferred resource set ... UE A may determine any resource(s) as the set of resource(s) that is not preferred for UE B's transmission if reserved resource(s) of other UE that is identified by UE-A from other UEs' SCI e.g., priority field and RSRP measurement. Para. [0259-0260]-Pan discloses UE A may set TX/RX indicator to TX for the scheduling information and time/freq resources in SCI {Sidelink Control Information} format may be interpreted for transmission at UE B ... UE A may send a single (aggregated) SCI, PSCCH or scheduling information to transmitting UE B. Para. [0130]-Pan discloses PSSCH transmits the second-stage SCI and the SL-SCH transport channel. The second-stage SCI carries information needed to identify and decode the associated SL-SCH).
Regarding claim 53, Pan teaches the method in accordance with claim 48,
Pan further teaches said step of determining that there is a conflict with said resource for transmitting data comprises obtaining additional information (Para. [0232]-Pan discloses [0232] UE A may provide assistance information to a UE B. For example, the assistance information may indicate the presence of expected and/or potential resource conflict on the resources that is indicated by UE B e.g., by UE B's SCI and/or the presence of detected resource conflict on the resources that is indicated by UE B e.g., by UE B's SCI. Para. [0140]-Pan discloses Reserved resources in the selection window with SL-RSRP above a threshold are excluded from being candidates by the sensing UE, with the threshold set according to the priorities of the traffic of the sensing and transmitting UEs. Para. [0302]-Pan discloses UE B may exclude resource(s) overlapping with the non-preferred resource set for its resource selection and/or re-selection. Para. [0252]-Pan discloses Multiple UE Bs may transmit to a single UE A. UE A may provide assistance information to multiple UE Bs to assist UE B's transmission. Assistance information may include a set of resources and additional other information ... Multiple UE Bs may share same resources or resource pools. UE Bs may perform sensing and autonomously select resources. Collision may happen),
the additional information is obtained by any of: the coordinating UE by means of sensing (Para. [0033]-Pan discloses coordination signaling type dependent assistance for sensing and resource (re-)selection procedure. Para. [0252]-Pan discloses assistance information may include a set of resources and additional other information. Multiple UE Bs may use separate resources or resource pools. Multiple UE Bs may share same resources or resource pools. UE Bs may perform sensing and autonomously select resources. Collision may happen. Para. [0302]-Pan discloses UE B's resource(s) to be used for its transmission resource selection and/or re-selection may be based on both UE B's sensing result and the received coordination information);
the coordinating UE in a grant from another UE (Para. [0172-0175]-Pan discloses Unified Inter-UE Coordination and Type Adaptation … scheduled type may avoid or mitigate collision which may provide further enhancement to reliability. A scheduling type may be referred to scheduling grant, or the like. Para. [0132-0135]-Pan discloses Resource Allocation Modes ... resource allocation mode 1 provides ... grants of periodic sidelink resources configured semi-statically by RRC ... A Sidelink configured grant may be such that it is configured once and may be used by the UE immediately, until it is released by RRC signaling (known as Type 1). A UE is allowed to continue using this type of sidelink configured grant when beam failure or physical layer problems occur in NR Uu until a RLF detection timer expires, before falling back to an exception resource pool);
the coordinating UE by receiving a resource set from other UE (Para. [0305]-Pan discloses UE A may determine that expected and/or potential resource conflict occurs on the resource(s) if other UE's reserved resource(s) that are identified by UE-A may be fully or partially overlapping with resource(s) indicated by UE-B's SCI in time only or both time and frequency);
the coordinating UE in a reservation from another UE (Para. [0305]-Pan discloses UE A may determine that expected and/or potential resource conflict occurs on the resource(s) if other UE's reserved resource(s) that are identified by UE-A may be fully or partially overlapping with resource(s) indicated by UE-B's SCI in time only or both time and frequency); and
physical layer measurements (Para. [0302]-Pan discloses UE A may determine any resource(s) as set of resource(s) preferred for UE B's transmission if resource(s) excluding those resource overlapping with reserved resource(s) of other UE that is identified by UE A whose RSRP measurement may be larger than a predefined, (pre-) configured or indicated RSRP threshold ... UE A may determine any resource(s) as the set of resource(s) that is not preferred for UE B's transmission if reserved resource(s) of other UE that is identified by UE-A from other UEs' SCI e.g., priority field and RSRP measurement).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 40-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PAN et al. (US 20240015755 A1), hereinafter referenced as Pan, in view of KO et al. (US 20230199724 A1), hereinafter referenced as Ko.
Regarding claim 40, Pan teaches the method of claim 37,
Pan fails to teach obtaining additional information indicative of said conflict with the first resource comprises obtaining the additional information by monitoring slots belonging to a sidelink resource pool.
However, Ko teaches obtaining additional information indicative of said conflict with the first resource comprises obtaining the additional information by monitoring slots belonging to a sidelink resource pool (Table 8, Para. [0152]-Ko discloses the UE shall monitor slots which belongs to a sidelink resource pool within the sensing window except for those in which its own transmissions occur. Para. [0162]-Ko discloses UE performing partial sensing or random resource selection (e.g., a power-saving UE) may perform full sensing for a short period of time prior to the selected transmission resource timing (hereinafter referred to as short-term sensing (STS)) in order to avoid resource collision due to aperiodic transmission. For example, since the STS {short-term sensing} is performed before each selected transmission resource).
Pan and Ko are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication systems, dealing with selecting candidate resource during SL DRX Operation in NR V2X.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Pan to incorporate the teachings of Ko on slot monitoring, with a motivation to obtain information indicative of resource conflict, and support vehicle-to-everything (V2X) communication, (Ko, Para. [0003]).
Regarding claim 41, Pan in view of Ko teaches the method in accordance with claim 40,
Pan further teaches said obtaining additional information indicative of said conflict with the first resource comprises any of: performing measurements to obtain the additional information (Para. [0302]-Pan discloses UE A may determine any resource(s) as set of resource(s) preferred for UE B's transmission if resource(s) excluding those resource overlapping with reserved resource(s) of other UE that is identified by UE A whose RSRP measurement may be larger than a predefined, (pre-) configured or indicated RSRP threshold ... UE A may determine any resource(s) as the set of resource(s) that is not preferred for UE B's transmission if reserved resource(s) of other UE that is identified by UE-A from other UEs' SCI e.g., priority field and RSRP measurement. Para. [0252]-Pan discloses Multiple UE Bs may transmit to a single UE A. UE A may provide assistance information to multiple UE Bs to assist UE B's transmission. Assistance information may include a set of resources and additional other information ... Multiple UE Bs may share same resources or resource pools. UE Bs may perform sensing and autonomously select resources. Collision may happen. Para. [0232]-Pan discloses [0232] UE A may provide assistance information to a UE B. For example, the assistance information may indicate the presence of expected and/or potential resource conflict on the resources that is indicated by UE B e.g., by UE B's SCI and/or the presence of detected resource conflict on the resources that is indicated by UE B e.g., by UE B's SCI); and
receiving control information transmitted by another UE in said wireless communication network (Para [0302]-Pan discloses reserved resource(s) of other UE that is identified by UE-A from other UEs' SCI e.g., priority field and RSRP measurement. Para [0146]-Pan discloses multi-type UE may be able to receive scheduling information and assistance information from one or more coordinating UEs. Para [0238]-Pan discloses if UE A is scheduling UE, assistance information from another UE A (e.g., UE A1, UE A2, etc.) could send to UE A too. UE A may schedule UE B from transmission. UE A may also schedule another UE A(s) to send coordination signaling to UE B. UE B may perform some scheduling as well. UE As may send the assistance information to UE B (or another UE As). Para. [0172]-Pan discloses a scheduler UE may delegate the scheduling function to another UE, e.g., a UE B and then assign yet another UE e.g., UE C as an assistant UE),
said control information is a grant or a reservation (Para [0146]-Pan discloses multi-type UE may be able to receive scheduling information and assistance information from one or more coordinating UEs. Para [0302]-Pan discloses reserved resource(s) of other UE that is identified by UE-A from other UEs' SCI e.g., priority field and RSRP measurement).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's Arguments/Remarks, filed on 07/20/2026, with respect to the 35 USC § 102 and 103 rejection of claims 37-55 have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
In the remarks, on page 9, Lines [2-3 and 23-25], Applicant argues that, “…Pan does not disclose re-evaluation and re-selection of resources by the transmitting UE after resources have been selected and before data is transmitted on the first set of resources,” and “…As discussed in the After Final Response, Pan excludes resources from a resource selection window before they are selected for transmission. In Pan, exclusion is part of the process of determining which resources are available for an initial selection,” respectively. Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
In Para. [0302]-Pan discloses UE B may exclude resource(s) overlapping with the non-preferred resource set for its resource selection {Corresponding to the initial selection of resources} and/or re-selection {Corresponding to the selection of resources after receiving indication of potential conflicts as discloses in Para. [0303-0305] of Pan}.
In the remarks, on page 10, Lines [1-4], Applicant argues that, “…Pan does not disclose that a UE first selects a transmission resource, subsequently receives new information indicating a conflict with that already-selected resource, excludes the selected resource from use, and then performs a second resource selection based on the newly obtained information.”
However, Pan teaches selecting, by the transmitting UE based on the indication of available resources, a first resource for transmitting data over the D2D communication link to the coordinating UE (Para. [0209]-Pan discloses UE A may provide resource availability including periodic resource and/or aperiodic resource to UE B to assist its resource selection. Para. [0177]-Pan discloses transmitting UE ..., UE may autonomously select the resource for transmission. Fig. 17, Para. [0220]-Pan discloses architectures are provided to enable inter-UE coordination ... V2X with NR sidelink ... UE B may be a transmitting UE and multiple UE As may be the receiving UEs); prior to transmitting said data over the D2D communication link to the coordinating UE obtaining new information comprising at least one of: additional information indicative of a conflict with the first resource (Para. [0232]-Pan discloses [0232] UE A may provide assistance information to a UE B. For example, the assistance information may indicate the presence of expected and/or potential resource conflict on the resources that is indicated by UE B e.g., by UE B's SCI and/or the presence of detected resource conflict on the resources that is indicated by UE B e.g., by UE B's SCI. Para. [0140]-Pan discloses Reserved resources in the selection window with SL-RSRP above a threshold are excluded from being candidates by the sensing UE, with the threshold set according to the priorities of the traffic of the sensing and transmitting UEs. Para. [0302]-Pan discloses UE B may exclude resource(s) overlapping with the non-preferred resource set for its resource selection and/or re-selection. Para. [0252]-Pan discloses Multiple UE Bs may transmit to a single UE A. UE A may provide assistance information to multiple UE Bs to assist UE B's transmission. Assistance information may include a set of resources and additional other information ... Multiple UE Bs may share same resources or resource pools. UE Bs may perform sensing and autonomously select resources. Collision may happen. Fig. 17, Para. [0220]-Pan discloses architectures are provided to enable inter-UE coordination ... V2X with NR sidelink ... UE B may be a transmitting UE and multiple UE As may be the receiving UEs); and a control message from the coordinating UE comprising updated resources (Fig. 6, Para. [0171]-Pan discloses both the first stage and second stage SCI for UE A's reception may be sent to UE B as part of the scheduling information. In this case, UE B may decode both SCI and interpret them as reception parameters for UE A. UE B may use them for transmission with proper update if needed).
In the remarks, on page 10, Lines [18-20], Applicant argues that, “…Pan does not disclose sending a control message to the transmitting UE after the first resource has been selected for a data transmission identifying available resource from which the second resource can be selected for the data transmission.” Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
As recited in claim 52 of the incumbent application, PAN et al. (US 20240015755 A1) teaches sending, to the transmitting UE, a second control message indicating a second resource for said transmitting data (Para. [0130]-Pan discloses PSSCH transmits the second-stage SCI and the SL-SCH transport channel. The second-stage SCI carries information needed to identify and decode the associated SL-SCH, as well as control for HARQ procedures, and triggers for CSI feedback, etc. SL-SCH carries the TB of data for transmission over SL. Para. [0171]-Pan discloses time resource and frequency resources that are indicated in SCI fields time resource assignment and frequency resource assignment should be used for transmission for PSSCH ... both the first stage and second stage SCI for UE A's reception may be sent to UE B as part of the scheduling information. Para. [0302]-Pan discloses UE B may exclude resource(s) overlapping with the non-preferred resource set for its resource selection and/or re-selection. UE B may select or reselect resource(s) to be used for its transmission and for its resource selection and/or re-selection in case the resource(s) may be fully or partially overlapping with the non-preferred resource set ... UE A may determine any resource(s) as the set of resource(s) that is not preferred for UE B's transmission if reserved resource(s) of other UE that is identified by UE-A from other UEs' SCI e.g., priority field and RSRP measurement. Para. [0259-0260]-Pan discloses UE A may set TX/RX indicator to TX for the scheduling information and time/freq resources in SCI {Sidelink Control Information} format may be interpreted for transmission at UE B ... UE A may send a single (aggregated) SCI, PSCCH or scheduling information to transmitting UE B. Para. [0130]-Pan discloses PSSCH transmits the second-stage SCI and the SL-SCH transport channel. The second-stage SCI carries information needed to identify and decode the associated SL-SCH).
In the remarks, on page 10, Lines [21-23], Applicant argues that, “…The Advisory Action reproduces lengthy passages from Pan but does not identify where Pan discloses excluding an already-selected resource or where it discloses re-selection of a second resource.” Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
In Para. [0302]-Pan discloses UE B may exclude resource(s) overlapping with the non-preferred resource set for its resource selection {Corresponding to the initial selection of resources} and/or re-selection {Corresponding to the selection of resources after receiving indication of potential conflicts as discloses in Para. [0303-0305] of Pan.}.
Conclusion
Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant`s disclosure.
Dong Hyun Park (US 20230269705 A1)-discloses method of supporting, by a user equipment (UE), sidelink communication in a wireless communication system includes: receiving a coordination request from a transmitting UE (Tx UE); generating a coordination message based on the coordination request; and transmitting the generated coordination message to the Tx UE. Here, the generated coordination message may be generated based on a different type, and a resource used to transmit the coordination message may be configured based on at least one of a pre-configured dedicated resource and a resource determined by sensing…. …Fig. 1-5
Li et al. (US 20210219268 A1)-discloses Methods and systems are disclosed for resource management on Sidelink for vehicle to everything (V2X) scenarios. Example methods and systems for a Resource Structure on Sidelink are disclosed. Control and data channels may be Frequency Division Multiplexed (FDMed) or Time Division Multiplexed (TDMed) with an Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) waveform. Example methods and systems for a Resource Configuration on Sidelink are disclosed. The resource configuration may be statically configured or may be locally configured. Example methods and systems for Assisted Resource Allocation are disclosed. Assisted Sensing may be performed by a group lead or RSU and local scheduling may be performed by a group lead or RSU…. …Fig. 1-5
UZIEL et al. (US 20220248374 A1)-discloses (in Para. [0060]) that the resource selection may exclude resources based on expected conflict with other UE's transmissions … …Fig. 1-2
/OLADIRAN GIDEON OLALEYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2472