DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to Applicant’s reply filed August 18, 2026. This action is made final.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-2, 4, 7, 11-12, 17 and 19 are amended.
Claim status is currently pending and under examination for claims 1-20 of which independent claims are 1, 11 and 19.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments regarding the art rejections are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The following are the references relied upon in the rejections below:
T. Nathezhtha and V. Yaidehi, "Cloud Insider Attack Detection Using Machine Learning," 2018 International Conference on Recent Trends in Advance Computing (ICRTAC), Chennai, India, 2018, pp. 60-65, doi: 10.1109/ICRTAC.2018.8679338.
Thapa, K. Naresh Kumar, and Nandhini Duraipandian. "Malicious traffic classification using long short-term memory (LSTM) model." Wireless Personal Communications 119.3 (2021): 2707-2724.
Claims 1-6, 8-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nathezhtha / Thapa.
Regarding Claim 1, Nathezhtha teaches:
A categorizing device (32) for categorizing a new user (U1) in an information technology system (10) ((P. 60, Abstract) “proposed ILSTM not only identifies an anomaly node but also finds whether a misbehaving node is a broken node or a new user node or a compromised node using the calculated trust factor. The proposed model not only detects the attack accurately but also reduces the false alarm in the cloud network”
A computer (‘categorizing device’) is implied by using an ILSTM model to classify new user nodes.),
the categorizing device (32) comprising a processor (40) acting on computer instructions (44) whereby said categorizing device (32) is operative to (A computer (‘categorizing device’) is implied by using an ILSTM model, which further implies a processor executing computer instructions.):
obtain user behaviour data of at least one known user of the system, which at least one known user is similar to the new user (U1) ((P. 63, Sec. IV, ¶3) “The details in the comparable users database is used to find whether the new user is malicious node or not. The model compares the behavior of similar users with the newly joined user and their transactions until the necessary personal behavior data is produced by the new entity”);
provide the user behaviour data of the at least one known user as comparable user behaviour data (CUBD) for application in … a cell (93) of a long short-term memory architecture provided for the new user (U1) ((P. 62, Sec. III, ¶3) “A concatenation layer (Bi) does not exists in LSTM. The concatenation layer is added to this state which provides additional information about the comparable cell state, using these values the new user node can be classified as either malicious node or a normal node, the value of Bi is calculated”
(P. 62, Sec. III, Last Paragraph) “In ILSTM, when the states of the user lack, it compares the transaction of the user with the data of other similar users and also analyzes the transaction history of the user to categorize a normal user from an attacker. So the comparable user behavior data is also recorded and stored in a memory cell along with their transaction history so that a compromised user can easily be identified even if the compromised node is a newly joined user”);
and obtain a categorization (CAT) of the new user (U1), which categorization has been made based on an output (Bt) of the similar user gate layer (100) resulting from said application of the comparable user behaviour data (CUBD) in the cell (93) of the long short-term memory architecture ((P. 62, Sec. III, ¶3) “A concatenation layer (Bi) does not exists in LSTM. The concatenation layer is added to this state which provides additional information about the comparable cell state, using these values the new user node can be classified as either malicious node or a normal node, the value of Bi is calculated using equation (4) …
B
i
=
σ
(
W
B
t
(
c
o
t
-
1
,
o
i
t
+
b
B
t
)
”
(P. 62, Sec. III, Last Paragraph) “an ILSTM is proposed with Bi which gives some additional information about the broken nodes. In ILSTM, when the states of the user lack, it compares the transaction of the user with the data of other similar users and also analyzes the transaction history of the user to categorize a normal user from an attacker. So the comparable user behavior data is also recorded and stored in a memory cell along with their transaction history so that a compromised user can easily be identified even if the compromised node is a newly joined user.”
A concatenation layer
B
i
is added to a second gate (input gate), see (P. 61-62, Sec. III, Last Paragraph), to compare transaction history of new users and similar users, and uses a sigmoid function
σ
to produce an output
B
i
, therefore layer
B
i
is a similar user gate layer. The output value of Layer
B
i
(output
B
i
) can be used to classify new users as malicious or normal, therefore categorization of a new user is based on an output
B
i
of the similar user gate layer resulting from applying comparable user behavior data (‘CUBD’) in a memory cell of an ILSTM.).
However, Nathezhtha does not teach applying comparable user behavior data in a similar user gate layer of a cell, which is taught by Thapa:
provide the user behaviour data of the at least one known user as comparable user behaviour data (CUBD) for application in a similar user gate layer (100) of a cell (93) of a long short-term memory architecture provided for the new user (U1) ((P. 2714, Sec. 4) “LSTM extracts the temporal information from the traffic flow to analyze the behavior data of a network and predicts an application is malicious or not. … LSTM analysis the network traffic and confirms the deviation in the normal traffic, a malware suspect is raised. The forget gate stores such abnormal dependencies for a very long time. Analyzing and detecting malware using LSTM is precise, since the LSTM is highly adaptable for networks with dynamic behavior. Here, the LSTM works as a classifier which differentiates the normal behavior with abnormal behavior and detects the existence of malware based on the increased abnormality.”
(P. 2711, Sec. 3.1) “Long Short Term Memory (LSTM) is an advancement of Recurrent Neural Network (RNN). RNN is the first deep learning algorithm to retain the input state of users. … A piece of information about the previous data might give a variant information in behavior analysis of a network. … LSTM network prediction is based on both long term and short-term dependencies, which increases the prediction accuracy in time series data. STM network retains both input and output state of users. LSTM approach is highly adaptable for the analysis on timeseries data with time lags of unknown size.”
(P. 2712, Sec. 3.2) “LSTM is a three layer model with loop like structure which can add, delete and modify data easily. … The next layer has input gate and candidate state gate.”
(P. 2712, Sec. 3.4) “Input gate uses the cell state retained as necessary information.”
A forget gate of an LSTM stores (retains) user behavior data (network traffic) that is determined to be abnormal behavior. A layer of the LSTM has an input gate that uses cell state retained as necessary information, therefore the input gate uses retained abnormal behavior of users (and therefore the layer with the input gate is a ‘similar user gate layer’ of a cell). Abnormal behavior of users is compared to a current user’s behavior to determine if the current user’s behavior deviates from (is similar to) normal behavior, therefore retained abnormal behavior is ‘comparable user behavior data’ for application (use) in a similar user gate layer (layer with an input gate).);
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the detection system of Nathezhtha with the technique disclosed by Thapa to have a gate layer use retained user behavior data. By having a gate layer use retained user behavior data, a gate layer can use both long-term and short-term user behavior data to learn historical patterns that can be used to better classify new user data, thereby increasing classification accuracy.
Regarding Claims 2 and 12, the combined detection system of Nathezhtha / Thapa teaches:
The categorizing device (32) according to claim 1, wherein the similar user gate layer (100) operates on the comparable user behaviour data (CUBD) and on a previous cell output (ht-1) of the cell (93) associated with a previous point in time (Nathezhtha discloses (P. 62, Sec. III, ¶3) “the value of Bi is calculated using equation (4) …
B
i
=
σ
(
W
B
t
(
c
o
t
-
1
,
o
i
t
+
b
B
t
)
”
Nathezhtha discloses (P. 62, Sec. III, ¶6) “
c
o
t
=
o
g
t
*
t
a
n
h
(
C
S
t
)
…
c
o
t
is the current output value”
Concatenation layer
B
i
uses
c
o
t
-
1
(previous cell output) as its input, therefore layer
B
i
(‘similar user gate layer’) operates on a previous cell output
c
o
t
-
1
of a cell associated with a previous point in time (t-1).
Thapa discloses (P. 2714, Sec. 4) “LSTM extracts the temporal information from the traffic flow to analyze the behavior data of a network and predicts an application is malicious or not. … LSTM analysis the network traffic and confirms the deviation in the normal traffic, a malware suspect is raised. The forget gate stores such abnormal dependencies for a very long time”
(P. 2712, Sec. 3.4) “Input gate uses the cell state retained as necessary information.”
A forget gate of an LSTM stores (retains) user behavior data (network traffic) that is determined to be abnormal behavior. A layer with an input gate (‘similar user gate layer’) uses cell state retained as necessary information, therefore the layer with the input gate uses (operates on) retained abnormal behavior of users (‘comparable user behavior data’).).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combined detection system of Nathezhtha / Thapa with the technique disclosed by Thapa to have a gate layer use retained user behavior data. By having a gate layer use retained user behavior data, a gate layer can use both long-term and short-term user behavior data to learn historical patterns that can be used to better classify new user data, thereby increasing classification accuracy.
Regarding Claims 3 and 13, the combined detection system of Nathezhtha / Thapa teaches:
The categorizing device (32) according to claim 2, wherein the similar user gate layer (100) is a sigmoid gate layer (Nathezhtha discloses (P. 62, Sec. III, ¶3) “the value of Bi is calculated using equation (4) …
B
i
=
σ
(
W
B
t
(
c
o
t
-
1
,
o
i
t
+
b
B
t
)
”).
Regarding Claims 4 and 14, the combined detection system of Nathezhtha / Thapa teaches:
The categorizing device (32) according to claim 2, wherein the categorization (CAT) is based on a temporary trustworthiness indicator (TTI) for the new user (U1) (Nathezhtha discloses (P. 63, Sec. IV, ¶4-5) “Since the model is trained automatically there might be lack of data for a new user, to avoid unwanted alert generation for new user, node whose time is lesser than the number of training days i.e. when threshold value is lesser than G and ut is lesser than T, a temporary trust factor is calculated as given below
If the equation (9) produces a positive value then it is considered to be a normal user behavior … if ttf is around 0 then it is considered to be a broken node if the value of ttf is negative an anomaly detection alarm is raised to the server”),
which temporary trustworthiness indicator is based on the output (Bt) of the similar user gate layer (100) (Nathezhtha discloses Equation 9 for calculating a temporary trust factor uses an output
B
i
. See (P. 62, Sec. III, ¶3) describing an output
B
i
of the concatenation layer
B
i
is calculated using a sigmoid function.).
Regarding Claims 5 and 15, the combined detection system of Nathezhtha / Thapa teaches:
The categorizing device (32) according to claim 2, being further operative to obtain personal user behaviour data (PUBD) of the new user (U1) and provide the personal user behaviour data (PUBD) for application in said cell (93) (Nathezhtha discloses (P. 61, Sec. II, Last Paragraph) “The proposed model automatically trains itself based on both the behavioral process of a user personal data and comparable user data. … The ILSTM approach is used to predict the behavior of a user based on the behavior data”
Nathezhtha discloses (P. 62, Sec. III, ¶3) “The next layer is an input gate (igt) and a tanh layer (Ci) which decides about the information stored in the cell. The input gate is responsible to decide whether the information needs to be updated or not. The information is updated based on the value produced from equation (2) …
”
(P. 62, Sec. III, ¶6) “cot-1 is the previous input, cit is the input value”),
said application comprising applying the personal user behaviour data (PUBD) in an input gate layer (96) and a new candidate state layer (98) of the cell (93) (Nathezhtha discloses (P. 62, Sec. III, ¶3) “The next layer is an input gate (igt) and a tanh layer (Ci) which decides about the information stored in the cell. The input gate is responsible to decide whether the information needs to be updated or not … the tanh layer creates a new value that updates the old cell state into a new cell state(equation (3)). tanh layer is a vector of new candidate value. …
”
Input information (input value cit) is applied to an input gate and tanh layer (‘new candidate state layer’).)
and combining an output (it) of the input gate layer (96) with an output (Ct) of the new candidate state layer (98) and with the output (Bt) of the similar user gate layer (100) in order to obtain a cell output (ht) (Nathezhtha discloses (P. 62, Sec. III, ¶3) “the tanh layer creates a new value that updates the old cell state into a new cell state(equation (3)). … A concatenation layer (Bi) does not exists in LSTM. The concatenation layer is added to this state which provides additional information about the comparable cell state … the value of Bi is calculated using equation (4)”
Nathezhtha discloses (P. 62, Sec. III, ¶4) “The value of the current state (CSt) is computed by multiplying the forget gate value with the value of the old state (CSt-1) and adding the multiplied value of input gate and tanh layer”
(P. 62, Sec. III, ¶6) “
c
o
t
=
o
g
t
*
t
a
n
h
(
C
S
t
)
…
c
o
t
is the current output value”
An output
B
i
of concatenation layer
B
i
(‘similar user gate layer’) is added to new cell state (current state CSt). Current state CSt is computed by adding the multiplied value of input gate and tanh layer, therefore current state CSt combines an output of an input gate layer with an output of a new candidate state layer (tanh layer) with an output of a similar user gate layer. The current state CSt is used to calculate output value
c
o
t
(‘cell output’).).
Regarding Claims 6 and 16, the combined detection system of Nathezhtha / Thapa teaches:
The categorizing device (32) according to claim 5, wherein the categorization (CAT) is based on a regular trustworthiness indicator (TI) of the user (U1) (Nathezhtha discloses (P. 63, Sec. IV, ¶2) “All the cloud users are assigned a trust factor (tf) … if the trust factor is greater than G (G is the threshold fixed by a service provider to identify an authorized user) then it is assumed to be a normal user activity else an anomaly detection suspicion is raised”),
which regular trustworthiness indicator (TI) is determined based on the cell output (ht) and the similar user gate layer output (Bt) (Nathezhtha discloses (P. 63, Sec. IV, ¶3) “
t
f
=
c
o
t
+
B
i
+
t
l
t
… The trust factor is calculated by taking the output value cot and comparable user’s behavior data (Bi) and the threshold of transaction history value of the user node(tlt). … If the trust factor of the user is greater than G then the user is considered to be a normal user, if the tf is lesser than G then the user is suspected to be an abnormal node”
See (P. 62, Sec. III, ¶3) describing an output
B
i
of the concatenation layer
B
i
(‘similar user gate layer’) is calculated using a sigmoid function.).
Regarding Claim 8, the combined detection system of Nathezhtha / Thapa teaches:
The categorizing device (32) according to claim 1, wherein the categorization (CAT) is a categorization of the new user as a normal user, as a broken user or as a malicious user (Nathezhtha discloses (P. 60, Abstract) “The proposed ILSTM not only identifies an anomaly node but also finds whether a misbehaving node is a broken node or a new user node or a compromised node using the calculated trust factor”).
Regarding Claims 9 and 18, the combined detection system of Nathezhtha / Thapa teaches:
The categorizing device (32) according to claim 1, being further operative to perform an activity in the information technology system (10) based on the categorization (CAT) (Nathezhtha discloses (P. 63, Sec. IV, ¶1) “The output value reduces from 1 when a value reaches to 0 it can either be a broken node or a malicious node. In this case, the recorded transaction history of the user is referred. If the transaction value (tlt) contains positive value then the node is referred to be a legal but broken node. If the output value is -1 then a malicious insider existence is confirmed. Fig.3 shows the detection and alert generation of a compromised user”
See Figure 3 on P. 63 depicting an alert is generated after a user is classified as anomalous (malicious).).
Regarding Claim 10, the combined detection system of Nathezhtha / Thapa teaches:
The categorizing device (32) according to claim 1, wherein said at least one known user that is similar to the new user is a user having the same quality of service in the information technology system (10) (Nathezhtha discloses (P. 63, Sec. IV, ¶3) “The trust factor is calculated by taking the output value cot and comparable user’s behavior data (Bi) and the threshold of transaction history value of the user node(tlt). … The transaction value(tlt) is calculated based on the number of transactions made by the user in the cloud. It takes the number of file uploads, downloads and data transfer rate by a single user. … the threshold value is calculated based on comparing a user’s transaction with the other user’s transaction belonging to the same domain”
(P. 65, Sec. V, Last Paragraph) “Based on the similarity of the behavior and transaction value the node is classified as either malicious or normal node”
The data transfer rates of a new user and other users belonging to the same domain are compared to determine a trust factor. Data transfer rates measure the speed a user can upload or download data from a cloud server, therefore a low or high data transfer rate indicates the quality of a user’s connection to a cloud server (and therefore a data transfer rate is a measurement of quality of service).).
Regarding Claim 11, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. The difference in scope being:
A method of categorizing a new user (U1) in an information technology system (10), the method ((P. 60, Abstract) “proposed ILSTM not only identifies an anomaly node but also finds whether a misbehaving node is a broken node or a new user node or a compromised node using the calculated trust factor. The proposed model not only detects the attack accurately but also reduces the false alarm in the cloud network”).
Regarding Claim 19, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. The difference in scope being:
A computer program … the computer program comprising computer program code (44) which when run by a processor (40) of a categorizing device (32), causes the categorizing device (32) to ((P. 60, Abstract) “proposed ILSTM not only identifies an anomaly node”
A computer (‘categorizing device’) is implied by using an ILSTM model to classify nodes, which further implies a processor executing computer program code.).
Regarding Claim 20, the combined detection system of Nathezhtha / Thapa teaches:
A computer program product for categorizing a new user in an information technology system (10), the computer program product comprising a data carrier (128) with said computer program code (44) according to claim 19 (Nathezhtha discloses (P. 60, Abstract) “proposed ILSTM not only identifies an anomaly node but also finds whether a misbehaving node is a broken node or a new user node”
A computer is implied by using an ILSTM model, which further implies a computer program product comprising a hard drive (‘data carrier’) that stores computer program code.).
The following are the references relied upon in the rejections below:
Pastore (US 20220083904 A1)
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nathezhtha / Thapa / Pastore.
Regarding Claims 7 and 17, the combined detection system of Nathezhtha / Thapa teaches:
The categorizing device (32) according to claim 6, wherein the current regular trustworthiness indicator (TI) is formed based on a current sum of the cell output (ht) with a current similar user gate layer output (Bt) ((P. 63, Sec. IV, ¶3) “
t
f
=
c
o
t
+
B
i
+
t
l
t
… The trust factor is calculated by taking the output value cot and comparable user’s behavior data (Bi)”).
However, the combination does not teach categorization that is based on a comparison of a current regular trustworthiness indicator with a middle point between connected centroids of clusters of regular trustworthiness indicators, which is taught by Pastore:
wherein the categorization (CAT) that is based on the regular trustworthiness indicator (TI) is based on a comparison of a current regular trustworthiness indicator (TI) with a middle point (Cm) between connected centroids of clusters of regular trustworthiness indicators ([0073] “the aggregator will combine the two clusters associated with the two centroids 402b and 402c into a single cluster or a single centroid. The aggregator may simply designate the new centroid for placement at a halfway point between the two centroids 402b and 402c. … Thus, the aggregator will provide a total of nine output nodes in the output layer of the deep learning model shown in the embodiment of FIG. 4 … These nine output nodes correspond to the total number of clusters identified by the individual parties or by the individual distributed computing devices, but with that number being reduced by one due to the clusters and their centroids 402b and 402c being considered redundant and being considered to be the same cluster.”
[0061] “For the anomaly detection, a distance from a data point for a new sample to centroids of the other clusters may be measured. The new data point may be considered an anomaly when that distance exceeds a pre-defined threshold. A distance from a data point for a new sample to the closest other known data point of the other clusters may be measured, and the new data point may be considered an anomaly when that distance exceeds a pre-defined threshold.”
An aggregator designates a new centroid for placement at a halfway point between two centroids, therefore this new centroid is a halfway point (middle point) between connected centroids of clusters. The clusters contain data points that are used to classify new data points as anomalies, therefore the data points are trustworthiness indicators (where anomalous data points indicate untrustworthiness and non-anomalous data points indicate trustworthiness). The distance between a new data point (current regular trustworthiness indicator) and the new centroid is calculated to determine if the new point is an anomaly. To calculate the distance between the new point and the new centroid, features of the new point and the new centroid must be directly compared, therefore categorization (whether a new point is anomalous) is based on a comparison between a current regular trustworthiness indicator and a middle point.),
the middle point (Cm) being determined by connecting the centroids of the clusters and identifying a point between the connected centroids ([0073] “the aggregator will combine the two clusters associated with the two centroids 402b and 402c into a single cluster or a single centroid. The aggregator may simply designate the new centroid for placement at a halfway point between the two centroids 402b and 402c.”),
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combined detection system of Nathezhtha / Thapa with the technique disclosed by Pastore to determine a halfway point between centroids. By determining a hallway point between centroids, it can be determined if two clusters are similar and can be merged, thereby reducing the number of clusters used in the classification of anomalies and establishing clear boundaries at which a data point is classified as an anomaly.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yuan et al. ("Insider threat detection with deep neural network.") teaches using an LSTM to extract features from user behavior of a set of K users. The extracted features are then input into a CNN to detect anomalous user behavior.
Sofka (US 20190052656 A1) teaches using an LSTM to classify received network traffic data of a user as malicious or legitimate.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PEDRO J MORALES/Examiner, Art Unit 2124
/MIRANDA M HUANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2124