DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of receipt of Information Disclosure Statements (PTO-1449) filed 01/19/2024 and 01/29/2025. An initialed copy is attached to this Office Action.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 5 recites “target display means” instead of “display” as amended throughout the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hayashi et al. (USPG Pub No. 2001/0043309), hereinafter “Hayashi”.
Regarding claim 1, Hayashi discloses a target presentation device (1) for presenting a target to a subject eye (E) (see Fig. 1, Paragraph 27, Line 2), the target presentation device (1) comprising: controller (40) configured to set a display format (46) of a visual acuity value of an examination target used in an examination of the subject eye (see Fig. 7, Paragraph 55, Paragraph 56, Lines 11-13), based on an operation signal (see Figs. 7, 8, Paragraph 59, Lines 6-14); and an output means (2) configured to output a target to be presented to the subject eye (E) (Paragraph 28, Lines 3-5), based on the visual acuity value represented in the display format set by the controller (Paragraph 59, lines1-14).
Regarding claim 2, Hayashi discloses wherein the examination target used in the examination of the subject eye includes a plurality of targets having different visual acuity values (see Fig. 4, Paragraphs 36-38), and that the controller (40) is further configured to set the visual acuity values of the plurality of targets to have a predetermined step, based on the display format (see Figs. 9-12, Paragraphs 67-70).
Regarding claim 3, Hayashi discloses wherein that the controller (40) is further configured to change the predetermined step to a step different from the predetermined step, based on an operation signal (see Figs. 9-12, Paragraphs 67-70, 82).
Regarding claim 4, Hayashi discloses wherein the examination target used in the examination of the subject eye includes a plurality of targets having different visual acuity values (see Fig. 4, Paragraphs 36-38), and that the controller (40) is further configured to set the visual acuity values of the plurality of targets to have any step, based on an operation signal, the visual acuity values being represented in the display format (see Figs. 7, 9-12, Paragraphs 67-70).
Regarding claim 5, Hayashi discloses wherein that the controller (40) is further configured to add a target having a new visual acuity value represented in the display format (46), based on an operation signal (see Figs. 7, 8, Paragraphs 56-61).
Regarding claim 6, Hayashi discloses wherein that the controller (40) is further configured to set (via 42) a type of the examination target, based on an operation signal (see Figs. 7, 8, Paragraphs 56, 59).
Regarding claim 14, Hayashi discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium (38) storing a target presentation program used in a target presentation device (1) for presenting a target to a subject eye (E) (see Figs. 1, 8, Paragraph 27, Line 2, Paragraph 62, Lines 6-8), wherein the target presentation program comprises instructions which, when the program is executed by a processor of the target presentation device (1) (Paragraph 62, Lines 6-8), cause the target presentation device to perform: a format setting step of setting a display format (46) of a visual acuity value of an examination target used in an examination of the subject eye (see Fig. 7, Paragraph 55, Paragraph 56, Lines 11-13), based on an operation signal (see Figs. 7, 8, Paragraph 59, Lines 6-14); and an output step of outputting (via 2) a target to be presented to the subject eye (E) (Paragraph 28, Lines 3-5), based on the visual acuity value represented in the display format set in the format setting step (Paragraph 59, lines1-14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9, 12, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi (USPG Pub No. 2001/0043309) in view of Kani (JP 2006-246992 A).
Regarding claim 7, Hayashi discloses the claimed invention, but does not specify wherein the output means is a display configured to display the target, that the controller is further configured to cause the display to display the target, and the controller is further configured to acquire a display size in which the target is displayed on the display to cause the display to display the target in the acquired display size, based on the visual acuity value input from a visual acuity value setting screen corresponding to the display format. In the same field of endeavor, Kani discloses wherein the output means is a display (14) configured to display the target (see Figs. 2, 4), that the controller is further configured to cause the display to display the target (see Figs. 1, 2), and the controller is further configured to acquire a display size in which the target is displayed on the display to cause the display to display the target in the acquired display size (see Pg. 16, Paragraphs 1-6 of translation provided), based on the visual acuity value input from a visual acuity value setting screen corresponding to the display format (see Pg. 16, Paragraphs 1-6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the device of Hayashi with wherein the output means is a display configured to display the target, that the controller is further configured to cause the display to display the target, and the controller is further configured to acquire a display size in which the target is displayed on the display to cause the display to display the target in the acquired display size, based on the visual acuity value input from a visual acuity value setting screen corresponding to the display format of Kani for the purpose of obtaining more accurate results of a visual acuity examination (Abstract).
Regarding claim 8, Hayashi and Kani teach the device set forth above for claim 7, Kani further discloses wherein that the controller is further configured to (see Figs. 2, 5, 7): randomly align a plurality of targets in a straight line in at least one of a column direction and a row direction to generate a first target group displayed on an identical screen of the display (see Figs. 5, 7, Pg. 15, Paragraph 8 – Pg. 16, Paragraph 4), cause the display to display the first target group generated by the controller (see Figs. 5, 7, Pg. 15, Paragraph 8 – Pg. 16, Paragraph 4), and randomly align the plurality of targets to set the targets adjacent to each other to have different contents (see Figs. 5, 7, Pg. 15, Paragraph 8 – Pg. 16, Paragraph 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the target presentation device of Hayashi with the teachings of Kani for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claim 7.
Regarding claim 9, Hayashi and Kani teach the device set forth above for claim 8, Kani further discloses wherein the first target group includes the plurality of targets having an identical first visual acuity value (see Figs. 5, 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the target presentation device of Hayashi with the teachings of Kani for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claim 7.
Regarding claim 12, Hayashi and Kani teach the device set forth above for claim 8, Kani further discloses wherein the target is a target having an orientation, and the controller is further configured to set the targets to have different orientations (see Figs. 5, 7, Pg. 15, Paragraph 5, Paragraph 8 – Pg. 16, Paragraph 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the target presentation device of Hayashi with the teachings of Kani for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claim 7.
Regarding claim 13, Hayashi further discloses wherein the target is a character target or a numerical symbol target (see Fig. 4), and the controller is further configured to set the targets to have different characters or different numerical symbols (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 15, Hayashi discloses the claimed invention, but does not specify wherein the target presentation program further comprises instructions which, when the program is executed by the processor of the target presentation device, cause the target presentation device to perform: a generation step of randomly aligning a plurality of targets in a straight line in at least one of a column direction and a row direction to generate a first target group displayed on an identical screen of display; and a display control step of causing the display to display the first target group generated in the generation step, and in the generation step, the plurality of targets are randomly aligned to set the targets adjacent to each other are set to have different contents. In the same field of endeavor, Kani discloses wherein the target presentation program further comprises instructions which, when the program is executed by the processor of the target presentation device (see Figs. 2, 5, 7), cause the target presentation device to perform: a generation step of randomly aligning a plurality of targets in a straight line in at least one of a column direction and a row direction to generate a first target group displayed on an identical screen of display (see Figs. 5, 7, Pg. 15, Paragraph 8 – Pg. 16, Paragraph 4); and a display control step of causing the display to display the first target group generated in the generation step (see Figs. 5, 7, Pg. 15, Paragraph 8 – Pg. 16, Paragraph 4), and in the generation step, the plurality of targets are randomly aligned to set the targets adjacent to each other are set to have different contents (see Figs. 5, 7, Pg. 15, Paragraph 8 – Pg. 16, Paragraph 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the medium of Hayashi with wherein the target presentation program further comprises instructions which, when the program is executed by the processor of the target presentation device, cause the target presentation device to perform: a generation step of randomly aligning a plurality of targets in a straight line in at least one of a column direction and a row direction to generate a first target group displayed on an identical screen of display; and a display control step of causing the display to display the first target group generated in the generation step, and in the generation step, the plurality of targets are randomly aligned to set the targets adjacent to each other are set to have different contents of Kani for the purpose of obtaining more accurate results of a visual acuity examination (Abstract).
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi (USPG Pub No. 2001/0043309) in view of Kani (JP 2006-246992 A) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Lesmes (USPG Pub No. 2019/0038125).
Regarding claim 10, Hayashi and Kani disclose the claimed invention, but do not specify wherein the controller is further configured to acquire a switching signal for switching the first target group displayed on the target display means, randomly align the plurality of targets in a straight line in at least one of a column direction and a row direction to generate a second target group displayed on the identical screen of the display, based on the switching signal from the controller, switch a display of the display from the first target group to the second target group, and set the targets to have different contents, in a case where an order of alignment of the plurality of targets forming the second target group is identical to an order of alignment of the plurality of targets forming the first target group, and a display position of the target in the second target group overlaps a display position of the target in the first target group. In the same field of endeavor, Lesmes discloses wherein the controller is further configured to acquire a switching signal for switching the first target group displayed on the target display means (Paragraphs 344, 348), randomly align the plurality of targets in a straight line in at least one of a column direction and a row direction to generate a second target group displayed on the identical screen of the display (see Figs. 11A-13C), based on the switching signal from the controller, switch a display of the display from the first target group to the second target group (see Figs. 11A-13C), and set the targets to have different contents (see Figs. 11A-13C, Paragraph 10), in a case where an order of alignment of the plurality of targets forming the second target group is identical to an order of alignment of the plurality of targets forming the first target group (see Figs. 11A-13C, Paragraph 10), and a display position of the target in the second target group overlaps a display position of the target in the first target group (see Figs. 11A-13C). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the device of Hayashi and Kani with wherein the controller is further configured to acquire a switching signal for switching the first target group displayed on the target display means, randomly align the plurality of targets in a straight line in at least one of a column direction and a row direction to generate a second target group displayed on the identical screen of the display, based on the switching signal from the controller, switch a display of the display from the first target group to the second target group, and set the targets to have different contents, in a case where an order of alignment of the plurality of targets forming the second target group is identical to an order of alignment of the plurality of targets forming the first target group, and a display position of the target in the second target group overlaps a display position of the target in the first target group of Lesmes for the purpose of providing an improved method of obtaining more accurate and precise visual acuity results (Paragraphs 5, 6).
Regarding claim 11, Hayashi, Kani and Lesmes teach the device set forth above for claim 10, Kani further discloses wherein the second target group includes at least one of the plurality of targets having the identical first visual acuity value and the plurality of targets having a second visual acuity value different from the identical first visual acuity value (Pg. 15, Paragraph 8 – Pg. 16, Paragraph 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the target presentation device of Hayashi and Lesmes with the teachings of Kani for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claim 7.
Prior Art Citations
Hirayama (USPG Pub No. 2012/0249951) is being cited herein to show a target presentation device relevant to the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/MAHIDERE S SAHLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 1/10/2026