The preliminary amendment filed 1/19/2024 has been entered.
Claims 1-7, 29-37, 65-67 and 71-73 are pending.
Claims 8-28, 38-64, 68-70 and 74-76 are cancelled.
Claims 1-7, 29-37, 65-67 and 71-73 rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 71-73 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because Claim 71 recites: “A computer program comprising instructions for causing an apparatus to perform” (emphasis added). A “computer program comprising instructions” of Claim 71 is a data structure, and this causes Claims 71-73 to be directed to a data structure, where a data structure is non-statutory subject matter, and as a result, Claims 71-73 are directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 29-37, 65-67 and 71-73 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tsuboi et al. (Pub. No.: US 20230040973 A1), hereafter referred to as Tsuboi.
In regard to Claim 1, Tsuboi teaches An apparatus (terminal apparatus, Para. 217, FIG. 7) comprising at least one processor (processing unit 502, Para. 763, FIG. 5); and at least one memory including computer program code (Programs or the information handled by the programs are temporarily loaded into a volatile memory, Para. 859); the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to perform: enabling dual active protocol stack, DAPS, handover (the make before break-handover (MBB-HO) may be interpreted as a Dual Active Protocol Stack (DAPS) handover, Para. 278), comprising: receiving DAPS (a scheme (Dual Active Protocol Stack (DAPS)) for simultaneous presence of two protocol stacks for a single cell group, Para. 28) handover (FIG. 7 is a diagram illustrating an example of processing related to handover in EUTRA, Para. 42, FIG. 7. An example of processing related to handover in the EUTRA using FIG. 7, Para. 210, FIG. 7) configuration information (FIG. 15 is a diagram illustrating an example of an ASN.1 notation included in a message related to reconfiguration of RRC connection in E-UTRA, Para. 50, FIGS. 7, 15. FIG. 15 is an example of an ASN.1 notation expressing any or all of the fields and information elements related to a radio bearer configuration, the ASN.1 notation being included in a message related to reconfiguration of RRC connection in E-UTRA in FIG. 4, Para. 138, FIGS. 4, 7, 15. The Source eNB may send the terminal apparatus a first RRC connection reconfiguration message (RRCConnectionReconfiguration message) (step S707), Para. 217, FIG. 7) comprising information indicating one or more bearers that are to be released (In FIG. 15, an information element represented by RadioResourceConfigDedicated may be an information element used for configuration, change, release, or the like of the radio bearer, Para. 151, FIG. 15. An information element represented by DRB-ToReleaseList and included in the information elements represented by RadioResourceConfigDedicated may include information indicating one or more DRB identities to be released, Para. 157, FIGS. 7, 15).
Tsuboi teaches maintaining the one or more bearers (in a case that make before break-handover (Make-Before-Break HO (MBB-HO)) is configured by the first RRC connection reconfiguration message, the terminal apparatus receives the first RRC connection reconfiguration message and then maintains connection with the Source eNB at least until the Target eNB performs the first uplink transmission, Para. 218, FIG. 7. In a case that the terminal apparatus receives a UE contention resolution identity MAC control element from the Target eNB, the handover procedure of the terminal apparatus completes (step S711), Para. 224, FIG. 7) during a random-access procedure (The PRACH may be used for indicating synchronization (timing adjustment) for uplink transmission, Para. 103, FIG. 7. In a case that RACH-less handover is not configured by the first RRC connection reconfiguration message, the terminal apparatus performs synchronization with the Target eNB and uses a random access channel to access the cell used as a target, Para. 220. In a case that no RACH-less handover is configured by the first RRC connection reconfiguration message, the Target eNB returns information of uplink allocation and timing advance to the terminal apparatus (step S710), Para. 221, FIG. 7) with a target access node (Target Enb, Para. 221, FIG. 7).
In regard to Claim 2, Tsuboi teaches the DAPS (a scheme (Dual Active Protocol Stack (DAPS)) for simultaneous presence of two protocol stacks for a single cell group, Para. 28) handover (FIG. 7 is a diagram illustrating an example of processing related to handover in EUTRA, Para. 42, FIG. 7. An example of processing related to handover in the EUTRA using FIG. 7, Para. 210, FIG. 7) configuration information (FIG. 15 is a diagram illustrating an example of an ASN.1 notation included in a message related to reconfiguration of RRC connection in E-UTRA, Para. 50, FIGS. 7, 15. FIG. 15 is an example of an ASN.1 notation expressing any or all of the fields and information elements related to a radio bearer configuration, the ASN.1 notation being included in a message related to reconfiguration of RRC connection in E-UTRA in FIG. 4, Para. 138, FIGS. 4, 7, 15. The Source eNB may send the terminal apparatus a first RRC connection reconfiguration message (RRCConnectionReconfiguration message) (step S707), Para. 217, FIG. 7) comprises an indication that the one or more bearers are to be maintained (in a case that make before break-handover (Make-Before-Break HO (MBB-HO)) is configured by the first RRC connection reconfiguration message, the terminal apparatus receives the first RRC connection reconfiguration message and then maintains connection with the Source eNB at least until the Target eNB performs the first uplink transmission, Para. 218, FIG. 7. In a case that the terminal apparatus receives a UE contention resolution identity MAC control element from the Target eNB, the handover procedure of the terminal apparatus completes (step S711), Para. 224, FIG. 7) during the random-access procedure (The PRACH may be used for indicating synchronization (timing adjustment) for uplink transmission, Para. 103, FIG. 7. In a case that RACH-less handover is not configured by the first RRC connection reconfiguration message, the terminal apparatus performs synchronization with the Target eNB and uses a random access channel to access the cell used as a target, Para. 220. In a case that no RACH-less handover is configured by the first RRC connection reconfiguration message, the Target eNB returns information of uplink allocation and timing advance to the terminal apparatus (step S710), Para. 221, FIG. 7) with the target access node (Target Enb, Para. 221, FIG. 7).
In regard to Claim 3, Tsuboi teaches the at least one memory and the computer program code (Programs or the information handled by the programs are temporarily loaded into a volatile memory, Para. 859) configured to, with the at least one processor (processing unit 502, Para. 763, FIG. 5), cause the apparatus to perform: releasing the one or more bearers (In FIG. 15, an information element represented by RadioResourceConfigDedicated may be an information element used for configuration, change, release, or the like of the radio bearer, Para. 151, FIG. 15. An information element represented by DRB-ToReleaseList and included in the information elements represented by RadioResourceConfigDedicated may include information indicating one or more DRB identities to be released, Para. 157, FIGS. 7, 15) after the random-access procedure (The PRACH may be used for indicating synchronization (timing adjustment) for uplink transmission, Para. 103, FIG. 7. In a case that RACH-less handover is not configured by the first RRC connection reconfiguration message, the terminal apparatus performs synchronization with the Target eNB and uses a random access channel to access the cell used as a target, Para. 220. In a case that no RACH-less handover is configured by the first RRC connection reconfiguration message, the Target eNB returns information of uplink allocation and timing advance to the terminal apparatus (step S710), Para. 221, FIG. 7) with the target access node is completed (In a case that the terminal apparatus receives a UE contention resolution identity MAC control element from the Target eNB, the handover procedure of the terminal apparatus completes (step S711), Para. 224, FIG. 7).
In regard to Claim 4, Tsuboi teaches releasing the one or more bearers (In FIG. 15, an information element represented by RadioResourceConfigDedicated may be an information element used for configuration, change, release, or the like of the radio bearer, Para. 151, FIG. 15. An information element represented by DRB-ToReleaseList and included in the information elements represented by RadioResourceConfigDedicated may include information indicating one or more DRB identities to be released, Para. 157, FIGS. 7, 15) comprises releasing one or more internal bearer configurations and/or resources and/or stopping transmission and/or reception on the one or more bearers (In response to receiving a UE context release message, the Source eNB can release resources associated with radio and a C-plane related to the UE context (step S718), Para. 231, FIG. 7).
In regard to Claim 5, Tsuboi teaches maintaining the one or more bearers comprises maintaining one or more internal bearer configurations and/or resources (in a case that make before break-handover (Make-Before-Break HO (MBB-HO)) is configured by the first RRC connection reconfiguration message, the terminal apparatus receives the first RRC connection reconfiguration message and then maintains connection with the Source eNB at least until the Target eNB performs the first uplink transmission, Para. 218, FIG. 7. In a case that the terminal apparatus receives a UE contention resolution identity MAC control element from the Target eNB, the handover procedure of the terminal apparatus completes (step S711), Para. 224, FIG. 7) and/or receiving and/or transmitting on the one or more bearers (In FIG. 15, an information element represented by RadioResourceConfigDedicated may be an information element used for configuration, change, release, or the like of the radio bearer, Para. 151, FIG. 15).
In regard to Claim 6, Tsuboi teaches the at least one memory and the computer program code (Programs or the information handled by the programs are temporarily loaded into a volatile memory, Para. 859) configured to, with the at least one processor (processing unit 502, Para. 763, FIG. 5), cause the apparatus to perform: if the DAPS handover fails (The processing unit 502 of the UE 122 that attempts handover from the handover source to the handover target detects expiry of the first timer (Step S2600). Note that the first timer may be a timer used for detecting a handover failure, Para. 785, FIG. 26), continuing transmission and/or reception on the one or more bearers (In a case that the UE 122 starts re-establishment of RRC connection in a case that the first timer expires, the configuration of the UE 122 may be changed back to the configuration of the handover source. In a case that the first timer expires in a case of a handover to a different RAT, the re-establishment of RRC connection may be performed by selecting a cell of the handover source, Para. 785, FIG. 26).
In regard to Claim 7, Tsuboi teaches continuing transmission and/or reception on the one or more bearers comprises maintaining one or more services on the one or more bearers (the terminal apparatus receives the first RRC connection reconfiguration message and then maintains connection with the Source eNB, Para. 218, FIG. 7).
In regard to Claim 29, Tsuboi teaches An apparatus (Source eNB, Para. 217, FIG. 7) comprising at least one processor (processing unit 602, Para. 765, FIG. 6); and at least one memory including computer program code (Programs or the information handled by the programs are temporarily loaded into a volatile memory, Para. 859); the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to perform: supporting dual active protocol stack, DAPS, handover (in the make before break-handover (Make-Before-Break HO (MBB-HO)), an activated protocol layer may be used. The make before break-handover (MBB-HO) may be interpreted as a Dual Active Protocol Stack (DAPS) handover, Para. 278), comprising: receiving DAPS (a scheme (Dual Active Protocol Stack (DAPS)) for simultaneous presence of two protocol stacks for a single cell group, Para. 28) handover (FIG. 7 is a diagram illustrating an example of processing related to handover in EUTRA, Para. 42, FIG. 7. An example of processing related to handover in the EUTRA using FIG. 7, Para. 210, FIG. 7) configuration information (FIG. 15 is a diagram illustrating an example of an ASN.1 notation included in a message related to reconfiguration of RRC connection in E-UTRA, Para. 50, FIGS. 7, 15. FIG. 15 is an example of an ASN.1 notation expressing any or all of the fields and information elements related to a radio bearer configuration, the ASN.1 notation being included in a message related to reconfiguration of RRC connection in E-UTRA in FIG. 4, Para. 138, FIGS. 4, 7, 15. The Target eNB sends a HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE message to the Source eNB (step S706). The HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE message includes, as an RRC message for performance of handover, Para. 216, FIG. 7. The Source eNB may send the terminal apparatus a first RRC connection reconfiguration message (RRCConnectionReconfiguration message) (step S707), Para. 217, FIG. 7) comprising information indicating one or more bearers that are to be released (In FIG. 15, an information element represented by RadioResourceConfigDedicated may be an information element used for configuration, change, release, or the like of the radio bearer, Para. 151, FIG. 15. An information element represented by DRB-ToReleaseList and included in the information elements represented by RadioResourceConfigDedicated may include information indicating one or more DRB identities to be released, Para. 157, FIGS. 7, 15).
Tsuboi teaches maintaining the one or more bearers (in a case that make before break-handover (Make-Before-Break HO (MBB-HO)) is configured by the first RRC connection reconfiguration message, the terminal apparatus receives the first RRC connection reconfiguration message and then maintains connection with the Source eNB at least until the Target eNB performs the first uplink transmission, Para. 218, FIG. 7. In a case that the terminal apparatus receives a UE contention resolution identity MAC control element from the Target eNB, the handover procedure of the terminal apparatus completes (step S711), Para. 224, FIG. 7) after receipt of the DAPS (a scheme (Dual Active Protocol Stack (DAPS)) for simultaneous presence of two protocol stacks for a single cell group, Para. 28) handover (FIG. 7 is a diagram illustrating an example of processing related to handover in EUTRA, Para. 42, FIG. 7. An example of processing related to handover in the EUTRA using FIG. 7, Para. 210, FIG. 7) configuration information (FIG. 15 is a diagram illustrating an example of an ASN.1 notation included in a message related to reconfiguration of RRC connection in E-UTRA, Para. 50, FIGS. 7, 15. FIG. 15 is an example of an ASN.1 notation expressing any or all of the fields and information elements related to a radio bearer configuration, the ASN.1 notation being included in a message related to reconfiguration of RRC connection in E-UTRA in FIG. 4, Para. 138, FIGS. 4, 7, 15. The Source eNB may send the terminal apparatus a first RRC connection reconfiguration message (RRCConnectionReconfiguration message) (step S707), Para. 217, FIG. 7).
In regard to Claim 30, Tsuboi teaches at least one memory and the computer program code (Programs or the information handled by the programs are temporarily loaded into a volatile memory, Para. 859) configured to, with the at least one processor (processing unit 602, Para. 765, FIG. 6), cause the apparatus to perform: maintaining the one or more bearers (in a case that make before break-handover (Make-Before-Break HO (MBB-HO)) is configured by the first RRC connection reconfiguration message, the terminal apparatus receives the first RRC connection reconfiguration message and then maintains connection with the Source eNB at least until the Target eNB performs the first uplink transmission, Para. 218, FIG. 7) until an indication of DAPS (a scheme (Dual Active Protocol Stack (DAPS)) for simultaneous presence of two protocol stacks for a single cell group, Para. 28) handover (FIG. 7 is a diagram illustrating an example of processing related to handover in EUTRA, Para. 42, FIG. 7. An example of processing related to handover in the EUTRA using FIG. 7, Para. 210, FIG. 7) success is received (In a case that the terminal apparatus receives a UE contention resolution identity MAC control element from the Target eNB, the handover procedure of the terminal apparatus completes (step S711), Para. 224, FIG. 7).
In regard to Claim 31, Tsuboi teaches the at least one memory and the computer program code (Programs or the information handled by the programs are temporarily loaded into a volatile memory, Para. 859) configured to, with the at least one processor (processing unit 602, Para. 765, FIG. 6), cause the apparatus to perform: receiving an indication of DAPS handover success (In a case that the terminal apparatus receives a UE contention resolution identity MAC control element from the Target eNB, the handover procedure of the terminal apparatus completes (step S711), Para. 224, FIG. 7); and releasing the one or more bearers (In FIG. 15, an information element represented by RadioResourceConfigDedicated may be an information element used for configuration, change, release, or the like of the radio bearer, Para. 151, FIG. 15. An information element represented by DRB-ToReleaseList and included in the information elements represented by RadioResourceConfigDedicated may include information indicating one or more DRB identities to be released, Para. 157, FIGS. 7, 15) after receiving the indication (In response to receiving a UE context release message, the Source eNB can release resources associated with radio and a C-plane related to the UE context (step S718), Para. 231, FIG. 7).
In regard to Claim 32, Tsuboi teaches the at least one memory and the computer program code (Programs or the information handled by the programs are temporarily loaded into a volatile memory, Para. 859) configured to, with the at least one processor (processing unit 602, Para. 765, FIG. 6), cause the apparatus to perform: determining that delayed bearer release is to be used (in a case that make before break-handover (Make-Before-Break HO (MBB-HO)) is configured by the first RRC connection reconfiguration message, the terminal apparatus receives the first RRC connection reconfiguration message and then maintains connection with the Source eNB at least until the Target eNB performs the first uplink transmission, Para. 218, FIG. 7) during a DAPS (a scheme (Dual Active Protocol Stack (DAPS)) for simultaneous presence of two protocol stacks for a single cell group, Para. 28) handover procedure (FIG. 7 is a diagram illustrating an example of processing related to handover in EUTRA, Para. 42, FIG. 7. An example of processing related to handover in the EUTRA using FIG. 7, Para. 210, FIG. 7).
In regard to Claim 33, Tsuboi teaches the at least one memory and the computer program code (Programs or the information handled by the programs are temporarily loaded into a volatile memory, Para. 859) configured to, with the at least one processor (processing unit 602, Para. 765, FIG. 6), cause the apparatus to perform: transmitting a DAPS handover request to a target node (The terminal apparatus reports measurement results to the Source eNB, based on reporting conditions (step S702), Para. 212, FIG. 7. A handover request message including information required to prepare for the handover, to a base station apparatus used as a handover destination (Target eNB) (step S704), Para. 214, FIG. 7), the handover request comprising an indication that delayed bearer release is to be used (in a case that make before break-handover (Make-Before-Break HO (MBB-HO)) is configured by the first RRC connection reconfiguration message, the terminal apparatus maintains connection with the Source eNB at least until the Target eNB performs the first uplink transmission, Para. 218, FIG. 7. The terminal apparatus sends an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message (RRCConnectionReconfigurationComplete message) to the Target eNB to confirm handover, Para. 223, FIG. 7. In a case that the terminal apparatus receives a UE contention resolution identity MAC control element from the Target eNB, the handover procedure of the terminal apparatus completes (step S711), Para. 224, FIG. 7. In response to receiving a UE context release message, the Source eNB can release resources associated with radio and a C-plane related to the UE context (step S718), Para. 231, FIG. 7).
In regard to Claim 34, Tsuboi teaches the DAPS (a scheme (Dual Active Protocol Stack (DAPS)) for simultaneous presence of two protocol stacks for a single cell group, Para. 28) handover (FIG. 7 is a diagram illustrating an example of processing related to handover in EUTRA, Para. 42, FIG. 7. An example of processing related to handover in the EUTRA using FIG. 7, Para. 210, FIG. 7) configuration information (FIG. 15 is a diagram illustrating an example of an ASN.1 notation included in a message related to reconfiguration of RRC connection in E-UTRA, Para. 50, FIGS. 7, 15. FIG. 15 is an example of an ASN.1 notation expressing any or all of the fields and information elements related to a radio bearer configuration, the ASN.1 notation being included in a message related to reconfiguration of RRC connection in E-UTRA in FIG. 4, Para. 138, FIGS. 4, 7, 15. The Source eNB may send the terminal apparatus a first RRC connection reconfiguration message (RRCConnectionReconfiguration message) (step S707), Para. 217, FIG. 7) comprises an indication that the one or more bearers are to be maintained (in a case that make before break-handover (Make-Before-Break HO (MBB-HO)) is configured by the first RRC connection reconfiguration message, the terminal apparatus receives the first RRC connection reconfiguration message and then maintains connection with the Source eNB at least until the Target eNB performs the first uplink transmission, Para. 218, FIG. 7. In a case that the terminal apparatus receives a UE contention resolution identity MAC control element from the Target eNB, the handover procedure of the terminal apparatus completes (step S711), Para. 224, FIG. 7) during a random-access procedure (The PRACH may be used for indicating synchronization (timing adjustment) for uplink transmission, Para. 103, FIG. 7. In a case that RACH-less handover is not configured by the first RRC connection reconfiguration message, the terminal apparatus performs synchronization with the Target eNB and uses a random access channel to access the cell used as a target, Para. 220. In a case that no RACH-less handover is configured by the first RRC connection reconfiguration message, the Target eNB returns information of uplink allocation and timing advance to the terminal apparatus (step S710), Para. 221, FIG. 7) between a terminal node (terminal apparatus, Para. 217, FIG. 7) and a target access node (Target Enb, Para. 221, FIG. 7).
In regard to Claim 35, Tsuboi teaches the DAPS handover configuration information (FIG. 15 is a diagram illustrating an example of an ASN.1 notation included in a message related to reconfiguration of RRC connection in E-UTRA, Para. 50, FIGS. 7, 15. FIG. 15 is an example of an ASN.1 notation expressing any or all of the fields and information elements related to a radio bearer configuration, the ASN.1 notation being included in a message related to reconfiguration of RRC connection in E-UTRA in FIG. 4, Para. 138, FIGS. 4, 7, 15) is received in a handover request acknowledgment (The Target eNB sends a HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE message to the Source eNB (step S706). The HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE message includes, as an RRC message for performance of handover, a container transmitted transparently to the terminal apparatus, Para. 216, FIG. 7. The Source eNB may send the terminal apparatus a first RRC connection reconfiguration message (RRCConnectionReconfiguration message) (step S707), Para. 217, FIG. 7), wherein the handover request acknowledgement is received in response to a DAPS handover request (The terminal apparatus reports measurement results to the Source eNB, based on reporting conditions (step S702), Para. 212, FIG. 7. A handover request message including information required to prepare for the handover, to a base station apparatus used as a handover destination (Target eNB) (step S704), Para. 214, FIG. 7).
In regard to Claim 36, Tsuboi teaches the at least one memory and the computer program code (Programs or the information handled by the programs are temporarily loaded into a volatile memory, Para. 859) configured to, with the at least one processor (processing unit 602, Para. 765, FIG. 6), cause the apparatus to perform: amending the DAPS (a scheme (Dual Active Protocol Stack (DAPS)) for simultaneous presence of two protocol stacks for a single cell group, Para. 28) handover (FIG. 7 is a diagram illustrating an example of processing related to handover in EUTRA, Para. 42, FIG. 7. An example of processing related to handover in the EUTRA using FIG. 7, Para. 210, FIG. 7) configuration information (FIG. 15 is a diagram illustrating an example of an ASN.1 notation included in a message related to reconfiguration of RRC connection in E-UTRA, Para. 50, FIGS. 7, 15. FIG. 15 is an example of an ASN.1 notation expressing any or all of the fields and information elements related to a radio bearer configuration, the ASN.1 notation being included in a message related to reconfiguration of RRC connection in E-UTRA in FIG. 4, Para. 138, FIGS. 4, 7, 15. The Source eNB may send the terminal apparatus a first RRC connection reconfiguration message (RRCConnectionReconfiguration message) (step S707), Para. 217, FIG. 7) to include an indication that the one or more bearers are to be maintained (in a case that make before break-handover (Make-Before-Break HO (MBB-HO)) is configured by the first RRC connection reconfiguration message, the terminal apparatus receives the first RRC connection reconfiguration message and then maintains connection with the Source eNB at least until the Target eNB performs the first uplink transmission, Para. 218, FIG. 7. In a case that the terminal apparatus receives a UE contention resolution identity MAC control element from the Target eNB, the handover procedure of the terminal apparatus completes (step S711), Para. 224, FIG. 7) during a random-access procedure (The PRACH may be used for indicating synchronization (timing adjustment) for uplink transmission, Para. 103, FIG. 7. In a case that RACH-less handover is not configured by the first RRC connection reconfiguration message, the terminal apparatus performs synchronization with the Target eNB and uses a random access channel to access the cell used as a target, Para. 220. In a case that no RACH-less handover is configured by the first RRC connection reconfiguration message, the Target eNB returns information of uplink allocation and timing advance to the terminal apparatus (step S710), Para. 221, FIG. 7) between a terminal node (terminal apparatus, Para. 217, FIG. 7) and a target access node (Target Enb, Para. 221, FIG. 7).
In regard to Claim 37, Tsuboi teaches the at least one memory and the computer program code (Programs or the information handled by the programs are temporarily loaded into a volatile memory, Para. 859) configured to, with the at least one processor (processing unit 602, Para. 765, FIG. 6), cause the apparatus to perform: transmitting the DAPS handover configuration information (The Source eNB may send the terminal apparatus a first RRC connection reconfiguration message (RRCConnectionReconfiguration message) (step S707), Para. 217, FIG. 7) to at least one terminal node (terminal apparatus, Para. 217, FIG. 7).
In regard to Claim 65, Tsuboi teaches An apparatus (Source eNB, Para. 217, FIG. 7) comprising at least one processor (processing unit 602, Para. 765, FIG. 6); and at least one memory including computer program code (Programs or the information handled by the programs are temporarily loaded into a volatile memory, Para. 859); the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to perform: supporting dual active protocol stack, DAPS, handover (in the make before break-handover (Make-Before-Break HO (MBB-HO)), an activated protocol layer may be used. The make before break-handover (MBB-HO) may be interpreted as a Dual Active Protocol Stack (DAPS) handover, Para. 278), comprising: receiving a DAPS (a scheme (Dual Active Protocol Stack (DAPS)) for simultaneous presence of two protocol stacks for a single cell group, Para. 28) handover (FIG. 7 is a diagram illustrating an example of processing related to handover in EUTRA, Para. 42, FIG. 7. An example of processing related to handover in the EUTRA using FIG. 7, Para. 210, FIG. 7) request (The terminal apparatus reports measurement results to the Source eNB, based on reporting conditions (step S702), Para. 212, FIG. 7) comprising an indication that delayed bearer release is to be used (in a case that make before break-handover (Make-Before-Break HO (MBB-HO)) is configured by the first RRC connection reconfiguration message, the terminal apparatus maintains connection with the Source eNB at least until the Target eNB performs the first uplink transmission, Para. 218, FIG. 7).
Tsuboi teaches determining DAPS (a scheme (Dual Active Protocol Stack (DAPS)) for simultaneous presence of two protocol stacks for a single cell group, Para. 28) handover (FIG. 7 is a diagram illustrating an example of processing related to handover in EUTRA, Para. 42, FIG. 7. An example of processing related to handover in the EUTRA using FIG. 7, Para. 210, FIG. 7) configuration information (FIG. 15 is a diagram illustrating an example of an ASN.1 notation included in a message related to reconfiguration of RRC connection in E-UTRA, Para. 50, FIGS. 7, 15. FIG. 15 is an example of an ASN.1 notation expressing any or all of the fields and information elements related to a radio bearer configuration, the ASN.1 notation being included in a message related to reconfiguration of RRC connection in E-UTRA in FIG. 4, Para. 138, FIGS. 4, 7, 15. The Source eNB may send the terminal apparatus a first RRC connection reconfiguration message (RRCConnectionReconfiguration message) (step S707), Para. 217, FIG. 7) comprising information indicating one or more bearers that are to be released (In FIG. 15, an information element represented by RadioResourceConfigDedicated may be an information element used for configuration, change, release, or the like of the radio bearer, Para. 151, FIG. 15. An information element represented by DRB-ToReleaseList and included in the information elements represented by RadioResourceConfigDedicated may include information indicating one or more DRB identities to be released, Para. 157, FIGS. 7, 15) and an indication that the one or more bearers are to be maintained (in a case that make before break-handover (Make-Before-Break HO (MBB-HO)) is configured by the first RRC connection reconfiguration message, the terminal apparatus receives the first RRC connection reconfiguration message and then maintains connection with the Source eNB at least until the Target eNB performs the first uplink transmission, Para. 218, FIG. 7. In a case that the terminal apparatus receives a UE contention resolution identity MAC control element from the Target eNB, the handover procedure of the terminal apparatus completes (step S711), Para. 224, FIG. 7) during a random-access procedure (The PRACH may be used for indicating synchronization (timing adjustment) for uplink transmission, Para. 103, FIG. 7. In a case that RACH-less handover is not configured by the first RRC connection reconfiguration message, the terminal apparatus performs synchronization with the Target eNB and uses a random access channel to access the cell used as a target, Para. 220. In a case that no RACH-less handover is configured by the first RRC connection reconfiguration message, the Target eNB returns information of uplink allocation and timing advance to the terminal apparatus (step S710), Para. 221, FIG. 7) between a terminal node (terminal apparatus, Para. 217, FIG. 7) and a target access node (Target Enb, Para. 221, FIG. 7).
Tsuboi teaches transmitting the DAPS (a scheme (Dual Active Protocol Stack (DAPS)) for simultaneous presence of two protocol stacks for a single cell group, Para. 28) handover (FIG. 7 is a diagram illustrating an example of processing related to handover in EUTRA, Para. 42, FIG. 7. An example of processing related to handover in the EUTRA using FIG. 7, Para. 210, FIG. 7) configuration information (The Source eNB may send the terminal apparatus a first RRC connection reconfiguration message (RRCConnectionReconfiguration message) (step S707), Para. 217, FIG. 7).
In regard to Claim 66, Tsuboi teaches the at least one memory and the computer program code (Programs or the information handled by the programs are temporarily loaded into a volatile memory, Para. 859) configured to, with the at least one processor (processing unit 602, Para. 765, FIG. 6), cause the apparatus to perform: determining the one or more bearers that are to be released (In FIG. 15, an information element represented by RadioResourceConfigDedicated may be an information element used for configuration, change, release, or the like of the radio bearer, Para. 151, FIG. 15. An information element represented by DRB-ToReleaseList and included in the information elements represented by RadioResourceConfigDedicated may include information indicating one or more DRB identities to be released, Para. 157, FIGS. 7, 15).
In regard to Claim 67, Tsuboi teaches the at least one memory and the computer program code (Programs or the information handled by the programs are temporarily loaded into a volatile memory, Para. 859) configured to, with the at least one processor (processing unit 602, Para. 765, FIG. 6), cause the apparatus to perform: transmitting an acknowledgement that DAPS handover configuration information is configured for delayed bearer release (The Source eNB may send the terminal apparatus a first RRC connection reconfiguration message (RRCConnectionReconfiguration message) including a container (mobility control information (mobilityControlInfo)) information element (IE) received from the target eNB (step S707), Para. 217, FIG. 7. Note that in a case that make before break-handover (Make-Before-Break HO (MBB-HO)) is configured by the first RRC connection reconfiguration message, the terminal apparatus receives the first RRC connection reconfiguration message and then maintains connection with the Source eNB at least until the Target eNB performs the first uplink transmission, Para. 218, FIG. 7).
In regard to Claim 71, Tsuboi teaches A computer program comprising instructions (Programs or the information handled by the programs are temporarily loaded into a volatile memory, Para. 859) for causing an apparatus to perform: supporting dual active protocol stack, DAPS, handover (in the make before break-handover (Make-Before-Break HO (MBB-HO)), an activated protocol layer may be used. The make before break-handover (MBB-HO) may be interpreted as a Dual Active Protocol Stack (DAPS) handover, Para. 278), comprising: receiving a DAPS (a scheme (Dual Active Protocol Stack (DAPS)) for simultaneous presence of two protocol stacks for a single cell group, Para. 28) handover (FIG. 7 is a diagram illustrating an example of processing related to handover in EUTRA, Para. 42, FIG. 7. An example of processing related to handover in the EUTRA using FIG. 7, Para. 210, FIG. 7) request (The terminal apparatus reports measurement results to the Source eNB, based on reporting conditions (step S702), Para. 212, FIG. 7) comprising an indication that delayed bearer release is to be used (in a case that make before break-handover (Make-Before-Break HO (MBB-HO)) is configured by the first RRC connection reconfiguration message, the terminal apparatus maintains connection with the Source eNB at least until the Target eNB performs the first uplink transmission, Para. 218, FIG. 7).
Tsuboi teaches determining DAPS (a scheme (Dual Active Protocol Stack (DAPS)) for simultaneous presence of two protocol stacks for a single cell group, Para. 28) handover (FIG. 7 is a diagram illustrating an example of processing related to handover in EUTRA, Para. 42, FIG. 7. An example of processing related to handover in the EUTRA using FIG. 7, Para. 210, FIG. 7) configuration information comprising information (FIG. 15 is a diagram illustrating an example of an ASN.1 notation included in a message related to reconfiguration of RRC connection in E-UTRA, Para. 50, FIGS. 7, 15. FIG. 15 is an example of an ASN.1 notation expressing any or all of the fields and information elements related to a radio bearer configuration, the ASN.1 notation being included in a message related to reconfiguration of RRC connection in E-UTRA in FIG. 4, Para. 138, FIGS. 4, 7, 15. The Source eNB may send the terminal apparatus a first RRC connection reconfiguration message (RRCConnectionReconfiguration message) (step S707), Para. 217, FIG. 7) indicating one or more bearers that are to be released (In FIG. 15, an information element represented by RadioResourceConfigDedicated may be an information element used for configuration, change, release, or the like of the radio bearer, Para. 151, FIG. 15. An information element represented by DRB-ToReleaseList and included in the information elements represented by RadioResourceConfigDedicated may include information indicating one or more DRB identities to be released, Para. 157, FIGS. 7, 15) and an indication that the one or more bearers are to be maintained (in a case that make before break-handover (Make-Before-Break HO (MBB-HO)) is configured by the first RRC connection reconfiguration message, the terminal apparatus receives the first RRC connection reconfiguration message and then maintains connection with the Source eNB at least until the Target eNB performs the first uplink transmission, Para. 218, FIG. 7. In a case that the terminal apparatus receives a UE contention resolution identity MAC control element from the Target eNB, the handover procedure of the terminal apparatus completes (step S711), Para. 224, FIG. 7) during a random-access procedure (The PRACH may be used for indicating synchronization (timing adjustment) for uplink transmission, Para. 103, FIG. 7. In a case that RACH-less handover is not configured by the first RRC connection reconfiguration message, the terminal apparatus performs synchronization with the Target eNB and uses a random access channel to access the cell used as a target, Para. 220. In a case that no RACH-less handover is configured by the first RRC connection reconfiguration message, the Target eNB returns information of uplink allocation and timing advance to the terminal apparatus (step S710), Para. 221, FIG. 7) between a terminal node (terminal apparatus, Para. 217, FIG. 7) and a target access node (Target Enb, Para. 221, FIG. 7).
Tsuboi teaches transmitting the DAPS (a scheme (Dual Active Protocol Stack (DAPS)) for simultaneous presence of two protocol stacks for a single cell group, Para. 28) handover (FIG. 7 is a diagram illustrating an example of processing related to handover in EUTRA, Para. 42, FIG. 7. An example of processing related to handover in the EUTRA using FIG. 7, Para. 210, FIG. 7) configuration information (The Source eNB may send the terminal apparatus a first RRC connection reconfiguration message (RRCConnectionReconfiguration message) (step S707), Para. 217, FIG. 7).
In regard to Claim 72, Tsuboi teaches instructions for causing an apparatus to perform: determining the one or more bearers that are to be released (In FIG. 15, an information element represented by RadioResourceConfigDedicated may be an information element used for configuration, change, release, or the like of the radio bearer, Para. 151, FIG. 15. An information element represented by DRB-ToReleaseList and included in the information elements represented by RadioResourceConfigDedicated may include information indicating one or more DRB identities to be released, Para. 157, FIGS. 7, 15).
In regard to Claim 73, Tsuboi teaches instructions for causing an apparatus to perform: transmitting an acknowledgement that DAPS handover configuration information is configured for delayed bearer release (The Source eNB may send the terminal apparatus a first RRC connection reconfiguration message (RRCConnectionReconfiguration message) including a container (mobility control information (mobilityControlInfo)) information element (IE) received from the target eNB (step S707), Para. 217, FIG. 7. Note that in a case that make before break-handover (Make-Before-Break HO (MBB-HO)) is configured by the first RRC connection reconfiguration message, the terminal apparatus receives the first RRC connection reconfiguration message and then maintains connection with the Source eNB at least until the Target eNB performs the first uplink transmission, Para. 218, FIG. 7).
Conclusion
Joshua Smith
/J.S./
2-2-2026
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477