DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakagawa et al. (“Nakagawa”) (US Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0165865) in view of Grobe et al. (“Grobe”) (US Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0336655).
Regarding claim 1, Nakagawa discloses an optical filter module comprising a photodetector (fig. 1 the detection element of receiving unit 112 and paragraphs 0027-0028 in light of fig. 2 receiving unit 211 and paragraphs 0039 and 0045), a tunable optical filter (fig. 1 element 111 and paragraph 0027), and processing circuitry (fig. 1 element 114 and paragraphs 0031-0032), wherein the photodetector is configured to receive a downstream signal from a transceiver of a fixed wavelength, and wherein the processing circuitry is configured to decode information relating to the fixed wavelength from the downstream signal and set the optical filter at the fixed wavelength (paragraph 0036 in light of paragraph 0032, the first wavelength is a fixed wavelength sent by element 10). Nakagawa discloses an overlay signal for the upstream transmission, the overlay signal indication information (figs. 4 and 5 and paragraphs 0077-0083), but does not specify the modulation format for the downstream control signal. Grobe discloses using a pilot signal on downstream transmission (paragraph 0033), including using the pilot signal to coordinate delays, to avoid interference, among plural ONUs that will be tuning their communication wavelength settings (paragraph 0135). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a low speed overlay modulation format for the downstream signal, in view of the low speed overlay modulation for the upstream signal, since this modulation allows for management and control communication without requiring a dedicated channel or interrupting or reconfiguring underlying data/payload signals. Note: the recitation that the overlay signal indicates a wavelength of an optical data signal is non-limiting intended use. The apparatus and/or overlay signal is not physically or functionally changed by specifying particular information that the physical waveform is abstractly representing.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Nakagawa and Grobe discloses the optical filter module according to claim 1, wherein the information relating to the fixed wavelength is coded in the frequency of the overlay signal, or coded in digital information provided in the channel of the overlay signal (Nakagawa: paragraph 0036, the permission notification to use the first wavelength, i.e., the fixed wavelength, is used for setting the wavelength variable filter to the first wavelength).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Nakagawa and Grobe discloses the optical filter module according to claim 1, wherein the tunable optical filter is one of a transmitting-side tunable optical filter and a receiving-side tunable optical filter (Nakagawa: fig. 1 element 111 on receiving side of transmission 100).
Regarding claim 5, Nakagawa discloses a method for enabling self-tuning at an optical filter module, wherein the optical filter module comprises a photodetector (fig. 1 the detection element of receiving unit 112 and paragraphs 0027-0028 in light of fig. 2 receiving unit 211 and paragraphs 0039 and 0045), a tunable optical filter (fig. 1 element 111 and paragraph 0027), and processing circuitry (fig. 1 element 114 and paragraphs 0031-0032), the method comprising: receiving, by the photodetector, a downstream signal from a transceiver of a fixed wavelength, decoding, by the processing circuitry, information relating to the fixed wavelength from the downstream signal, and setting, by the processing circuitry, the tunable optical filter at the fixed wavelength (paragraph 0036 in light of paragraph 0032, the first wavelength is a fixed wavelength sent by element 10). Nakagawa discloses a low speed overlay signal for the upstream transmission (figs. 4 and 5 and paragraphs 0077-0083), but does not specify the modulation format for the downstream control signal. Grobe discloses using a pilot signal on downstream transmission (paragraph 0033), including using the pilot signal to coordinate delays, to avoid interference, among plural ONUs that will be tuning their communication wavelength settings (paragraph 0135). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a low speed overlay modulation format for the downstream signal, in view of the low speed overlay modulation for the upstream signal, since this modulation allows for management and control communication without requiring a dedicated channel or interrupting or reconfiguring underlying data/payload signals.
Regarding claim 6, Nakagawa discloses a remote unit for communication with a main unit in an optical communication system, the remote unit comprising: one or more receiving-side tunable optical filters (fig. 1 element 111 and paragraph 0027); one or more transceivers, wherein each of the one or more transceivers is of a fixed wavelength, and each of the one or more transceivers corresponds to a respective receiving-side tunable optical filter (fig. 1, the pair of 112 RX and 113 TX reads on transceiver, paragraph 0026, and fig. 2 and paragraph 0054); and a photodetector configured to receive a down signal (fig. 1 the detector element of receiving unit 112 and paragraphs 0027-0028 in light of fig. 2 receiving unit 211 and paragraphs 0039 and 0045); and processing circuitry configured to decode information relating to the fixed wavelength from the downstream signal and set the one or more receiving-side tunable optical filters at the fixed wavelength (paragraph 0036 in light of paragraph 0032, the first wavelength is a fixed wavelength sent by element 10). Nakagawa discloses a low speed overlay signal for the upstream transmission (figs. 4 and 5 and paragraphs 0077-0083), but does not specify the modulation format for the downstream control signal. Grobe discloses using a pilot signal on downstream transmission (paragraph 0033), including using the pilot signal to coordinate delays, to avoid interference, among plural ONUs that will be tuning their communication wavelength settings (paragraph 0135). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a low speed overlay modulation format for the downstream signal, in view of the low speed overlay modulation for the upstream signal, since this modulation allows for management and control communication without requiring a dedicated channel or interrupting or reconfiguring underlying data/payload signals.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 7-13 are allowable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 23 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive with respect to claim 1 and 4.
Regarding claim 1, the recitation that the overlay signal indicates a wavelength of an optical data signal is non-limiting intended use. The apparatus and/or overlay signal is not physically or functionally changed by specifying particular information that the physical waveform is abstractly representing.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATHAN M CORS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634