This office action is in response to application filed on 01/21/2024.
Claims 1-25 and 29 are pending and rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/21/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-11, 13-15, 17-25, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byun et al (US11089601B2) (hereinafter "Byun") in view of Da Silva et al (WO2020167198A1) (hereinafter "Da Silva").
Regarding claim 1, Byun discloses a method performed by a first network node in communication with a second network node, wherein the second network node has been requested or is being requested to send measurements and/or predictions available at the second network node to the first network node, the method comprising (Col. 14, Ln. 23-28: Referring to FIG. 13, in step S1310, a BS1 may transmit to a BS2 a resource status request message. The resource status request message may be transmitted to request for a load measurement result of the BS2. The resource status request message may include an indicator of requesting for a measurement result per slice.).
Byun fails to disclose a method comprising: receiving, from the second network node, a first message comprising a first indication that sending of measurements and/or predictions from the second network node to the first network node is to be paused, delayed, resumed, or stopped.
However, Da Silva discloses a method comprising: receiving, from the second network node, a first message comprising a first indication that sending of measurements and/or predictions from the second network node to the first network node is to be paused, delayed, resumed, or stopped (Pg. 35, Ln. 28-29 and Pg. 36, Ln. 1-2: If the eNB1 receives the RESOURCE Information UPDATE message, which includes an indication to stop reporting for one or more cells or beams, the eNB1 should initialise the Resource Information Reporting Initiation procedure (see 8.3.6 above) to remove all or some of the corresponding cells or beams from the measurement.).
Byun and Da Silva are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of communicating between base stations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Byun with Da Silva to create a method comprising: receiving, from the second network node, a first message comprising a first indication that sending of measurements and/or predictions from the second network node to the first network node is to be paused, delayed, resumed, or stopped.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to coordinate operations between base stations.
Regarding claim 3, Byun discloses the method, wherein the first message further comprises a second indication of one or more measurements and/or predictions to which the first indication applies (Col. 35, Ln. 1-3: if supported, stop measurements and terminate the reporting for indicated cells or beams or reference signals, in case the message includes an indication set to "partial stop"; or - if supported, add cells or beams or reference signals to the measurements initiated in a previous Resource Information Request, in case the message includes an indication set to "add".).
Regarding claim 4, Byun discloses the method, wherein the first message further comprises a third indication of one or more reporting objects associated with one or more measurements and/or predictions to which the first indication applies (Col. 10, Ln. 38-47: Referring to FIG. 7, in step S710, a BS1 may transmit to a BS2 a load information message or a new message. The load information message or the new message may include a slice ID and a load and interference coordination information per slice. The load and interference coordination information per slice may include at least any one of UL interference overload indication per slice, UL high interference information per slice, relative narrowband Tx power per slice, ABS information per slice, and CoMP information per slice).
Regarding claim 5, Byun fails to disclose the method, wherein the one or more reporting objects comprise one or more of: a network node, one or more cells, one or more SSB Indexes, one or more SSB Areas, one or more S-NSSAIs or Slices, one or more/ CSI-RS coverage areas, one or more Tracking Areas/Tracking Area Lists/PLMNs.
However, Da Silva discloses the method, wherein the one or more reporting objects comprise one or more of: a network node, one or more cells, one or more SSB Indexes, one or more SSB Areas, one or more S-NSSAIs or Slices, one or more/ CSI-RS coverage areas, one or more Tracking Areas/Tracking Area Lists/PLMNs (Pg. 36, Ln. 4-6: Figure 15 illustrates an exemplary tabular encoding for the resource information reported between two network nodes, such as shown in Figure 14. In particular, this figure illustrates the exemplary embodiments of reporting resources available per SSB. Pg. 38, Ln. 2-6: In some embodiments, the resource information request can also identify one or more of the following for which resource information is requested: one or more specific beams or specific groups of beams associated with the target node; one or more cells associated with the specific beams or specific groups of beams; one or more of the first types; one or more specific types of traffic; and one or more specific network slices.).
Byun and Da Silva are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of communicating between base stations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Byun with Da Silva to create the method, wherein the one or more reporting objects comprise one or more of: a network node, one or more cells, one or more SSB Indexes, one or more SSB Areas, one or more S-NSSAIs or Slices, one or more/ CSI-RS coverage areas, one or more Tracking Areas/Tracking Area Lists/PLMNs.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to coordinate operations between base stations.
Regarding claim 6, Byun discloses the method, wherein the first message comprises one or more first measurements and/or predictions (Col. 14, Ln. 23-28: Referring to FIG. 13, in step S1310, a BS1 may transmit to a BS2 a resource status request message. The resource status request message may be transmitted to request for a load measurement result of the BS2. The resource status request message may include an indicator of requesting for a measurement result per slice.).
Regarding claim 7, Byun fails to disclose the method, wherein the first message is signaled via one of XnAP, X2AP, E1AP, F1AP, W1AP and comprises one of: an XnAP resource state update message, an X2AP resource status update message, an X2AP EN-DC resource status update message, an F1AP resource status update message, and an E1AP resource status update message.
However, Da Silva discloses the method, wherein the first message is signaled via one of XnAP, X2AP, E1AP, F1AP, W1AP and comprises one of: an XnAP resource state update message, an X2AP resource status update message, an X2AP EN-DC resource status update message, an F1AP resource status update message, and an E1AP resource status update message (Pg. 34, Ln. 8-13: The following is exemplary text specifying resource information reporting functionality that is suitable for inclusion in a 3GPP specification, such as 3GPP TS 36.423 that specifies the X2-AP interface between eNBs in an LTE RAN (or between gNBs that support the X2 interface). Nevertheless, skilled persons will readily comprehend that, with suitable modifications, such text could also be included in other 3GPP specifications, such as for the Xn interface between gNBs in an NG-RAN.).
Byun and Da Silva are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of communicating between base stations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Byun with Da Silva to create the method, wherein the first message is signaled via one of XnAP, X2AP, E1AP, F1AP, W1AP and comprises one of: an XnAP resource state update message, an X2AP resource status update message, an X2AP EN-DC resource status update message, an F1AP resource status update message, and an E1AP resource status update message.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to coordinate operations between base stations.
Regarding claim 8, Byun fails to disclose the method, wherein the first network node and the second network node are either: comprised within the same communication system or comprised within different communication systems.
However, Da Silva discloses the method, wherein the first network node and the second network node are either: comprised within the same communication system or comprised within different communication systems (Pg. 34, Ln. 8-13: The following is exemplary text specifying resource information reporting functionality that is suitable for inclusion in a 3GPP specification, such as 3GPP TS 36.423 that specifies the X2-AP interface between eNBs in an LTE RAN (or between gNBs that support the X2 interface). Nevertheless, skilled persons will readily comprehend that, with suitable modifications, such text could also be included in other 3GPP specifications, such as for the Xn interface between gNBs in an NG-RAN.).
Byun and Da Silva are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of communicating between base stations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Byun with Da Silva to create the method, wherein the first network node and the second network node are either: comprised within the same communication system or comprised within different communication systems.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to coordinate operations between base stations.
Regarding claim 9, Byun fails to disclose the method, wherein the first message is received over one of a direct signaling connection between the first network node and the second network node or an indirect signaling connection between the first network node and the second network node.
However, Da Silva discloses the method, wherein the first message is received over one of a direct signaling connection between the first network node and the second network node or an indirect signaling connection between the first network node and the second network node (Pg. 34, Ln. 8-13: The following is exemplary text specifying resource information reporting functionality that is suitable for inclusion in a 3GPP specification, such as 3GPP TS 36.423 that specifies the X2-AP interface between eNBs in an LTE RAN (or between gNBs that support the X2 interface). Nevertheless, skilled persons will readily comprehend that, with suitable modifications, such text could also be included in other 3GPP specifications, such as for the Xn interface between gNBs in an NG-RAN.).
Byun and Da Silva are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of communicating between base stations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Byun with Da Silva to create the method, wherein the first message is received over one of a direct signaling connection between the first network node and the second network node or an indirect signaling connection between the first network node and the second network node.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to coordinate operations between base stations.
Regarding claim 10, Byun fails to disclose the method, wherein the first network node, the second network node and a third network node each comprise one of: a RAN node, a gNB, eNB, en-gNB, ng-eNB, gNB-CU, gNB-CU-CP, gNB-CU-UP, gNB-DU, eNB-CU, eNB-CU-CP, eNB-CU-UP, eNB-DU, IAB-nodes, IAB-donors, IAB-donor-CU, IAB-donor-CU-CP, IAB-donor-CU-UP, IAB-donor-DU, IAB-MT, O-CU, O-CU-CP, O-CU-UP, O-DU, O-RU, O-eNB.
However, Da Silva discloses the method, wherein the first network node, the second network node and a third network node each comprise one of: a RAN node, a gNB, eNB, en-gNB, ng-eNB, gNB-CU, gNB-CU-CP, gNB-CU-UP, gNB-DU, eNB-CU, eNB-CU-CP, eNB-CU-UP, eNB-DU, IAB-nodes, IAB-donors, IAB-donor-CU, IAB-donor-CU-CP, IAB-donor-CU-UP, IAB-donor-DU, IAB-MT, O-CU, O-CU-CP, O-CU-UP, O-DU, O-RU, O-eNB (Pg. 36, Ln. 21-25: The exemplary method can be performed by a source node (e.g., base station, eNB, gNB, etc. or component thereof, such as a gNB-CU or gNB-DU) in the RAN, serving one or more user equipment (UEs, e.g., wireless devices, MTC devices, NB-IoT devices, modems, etc. or components thereof) with one or more beams and/or cells, such as illustrated in other figures described herein.).
Byun and Da Silva are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of communicating between base stations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Byun with Da Silva to create the method, wherein the first network node, the second network node and a third network node each comprise one of: a RAN node, a gNB, eNB, en-gNB, ng-eNB, gNB-CU, gNB-CU-CP, gNB-CU-UP, gNB-DU, eNB-CU, eNB-CU-CP, eNB-CU-UP, eNB-DU, IAB-nodes, IAB-donors, IAB-donor-CU, IAB-donor-CU-CP, IAB-donor-CU-UP, IAB-donor-DU, IAB-MT, O-CU, O-CU-CP, O-CU-UP, O-DU, O-RU, O-eNB.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to coordinate operations between base stations.
Regarding claim 11, Byun fails to disclose the method, wherein the first network node and the second network node comprise two functions of a radio access node in a distributed architecture.
However, Da Silva discloses the method, wherein the first network node and the second network node comprise two functions of a radio access node in a distributed architecture (Pg. 31, Ln. 15-19: Various exemplary embodiments can also be used in a 5G network in which each RAN node (e.g., gNB) has functionality split between a central unit (CU) and one or more distributed units (DUs), such as shown in Figure 4. In such embodiments, the functionality of the Resource Information Request/Response/Update procedures discussed above can also be distributed among DU and CU.).
Byun and Da Silva are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of communicating between base stations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Byun with Da Silva to create the method, wherein the first network node and the second network node comprise two functions of a radio access node in a distributed architecture.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to coordinate operations between base stations.
Regarding claim 13, Byun discloses the method, further comprising receiving the first message responsive to transmitting a third message to the second network node, wherein the third message comprises a request that the second network node send measurements and/or predictions to the first network node (Col. 14, Ln. 23-28: Referring to FIG. 13, in step S1310, a BS1 may transmit to a BS2 a resource status request message. The resource status request message may be transmitted to request for a load measurement result of the BS2. The resource status request message may include an indicator of requesting for a measurement result per slice.).
Regarding claim 14, Byun fails to disclose the method, further comprising receiving a fourth message in response to transmitting the third message to the second network node, wherein the fourth message acknowledges or refuses the request of the third message.
However, Da Silva discloses the method, further comprising receiving a fourth message in response to transmitting the third message to the second network node, wherein the fourth message acknowledges or refuses the request of the third message (Pg. 35, Ln. 15-17: If eNB2 is capable to provide all requested resource information, it shall initiate the measurement as requested by eNB1, and respond with the RESOURCE INFORMATION RESPONSE message. If eNB2 is capable to provide some but not all of the requested resource information and an indication of partial success is present in the RESOURCE INFORMATION REQUEST message, it shall initiate the measurement for the admitted measurement objects.).
Byun and Da Silva are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of communicating between base stations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Byun with Da Silva to create the method, further comprising receiving a fourth message in response to transmitting the third message to the second network node, wherein the fourth message acknowledges or refuses the request of the third message.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to coordinate operations between base stations.
Regarding claim 15, Byun discloses a method performed by a second network node in communication with a first network node, wherein the second network node has been requested or is being requested to send measurements and/or predictions available at the second network node to the first network node, the method comprising (Col. 14, Ln. 23-28: Referring to FIG. 13, in step S1310, a BS1 may transmit to a BS2 a resource status request message. The resource status request message may be transmitted to request for a load measurement result of the BS2. The resource status request message may include an indicator of requesting for a measurement result per slice.)
Byun fails to disclose a method, further comprising: transmitting, to the first network node, a first message comprising a first indication that sending of measurements and/or predictions from the second network node to the first network node is to be paused, delayed, resumed, or stopped.
However, Da Silva discloses the method, further comprising: transmitting, to the first network node, a first message comprising a first indication that sending of measurements and/or predictions from the second network node to the first network node is to be paused, delayed, resumed, or stopped (Pg. 35, Ln. 28-29 and Pg. 36, Ln. 1-2: If the eNB1 receives the RESOURCE Information UPDATE message, which includes an indication to stop reporting for one or more cells or beams, the eNB1 should initialise the Resource Information Reporting Initiation procedure (see 8.3.6 above) to remove all or some of the corresponding cells or beams from the measurement.).
Byun and Da Silva are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of communicating between base stations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Byun with Da Silva to create the method, further comprising: transmitting, to the first network node, a first message comprising a first indication that sending of measurements and/or predictions from the second network node to the first network node is to be paused, delayed, resumed, or stopped.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to coordinate operations between base stations.
Regarding claim 17, Byun discloses the method, wherein the first message further comprises: a second indication of one or more measurements and/or predictions to which the first indication applies (Col. 35, Ln. 1-3: if supported, stop measurements and terminate the reporting for indicated cells or beams or reference signals, in case the message includes an indication set to "partial stop"; or - if supported, add cells or beams or reference signals to the measurements initiated in a previous Resource Information Request, in case the message includes an indication set to "add".).
Regarding claim 18, Byun discloses the method, wherein the first message further comprises a third indication of one or more reporting objects associated with one or more measurements and/or predictions to which the first indication applies (Col. 10, Ln. 38-47: Referring to FIG. 7, in step S710, a BS1 may transmit to a BS2 a load information message or a new message. The load information message or the new message may include a slice ID and a load and interference coordination information per slice. The load and interference coordination information per slice may include at least any one of UL interference overload indication per slice, UL high interference information per slice, relative narrowband Tx power per slice, ABS information per slice, and CoMP information per slice).
Regarding claim 19, Byun fails to disclose the method wherein the one or more reporting objects comprise one or more of: a network node, one or more cells, one or more SSB Indexes, one or more SSB Areas, one or more S-NSSAIs or Slices, one or more CSI-RS coverage areas, one or more Tracking Areas/Tracking Area Lists/PLMNs.
However, Da Silva discloses the method wherein the one or more reporting objects comprise one or more of: a network node, one or more cells, one or more SSB Indexes, one or more SSB Areas, one or more S-NSSAIs or Slices, one or more CSI-RS coverage areas, one or more Tracking Areas/Tracking Area Lists/PLMNs (Pg. 36, Ln. 4-6: Figure 15 illustrates an exemplary tabular encoding for the resource information reported between two network nodes, such as shown in Figure 14. In particular, this figure illustrates the exemplary embodiments of reporting resources available per SSB. Pg. 38, Ln. 2-6: In some embodiments, the resource information request can also identify one or more of the following for which resource information is requested: one or more specific beams or specific groups of beams associated with the target node; one or more cells associated with the specific beams or specific groups of beams; one or more of the first types; one or more specific types of traffic; and one or more specific network slices.).
Byun and Da Silva are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of communicating between base stations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Byun with Da Silva to create the method wherein the one or more reporting objects comprise one or more of: a network node, one or more cells, one or more SSB Indexes, one or more SSB Areas, one or more S-NSSAIs or Slices, one or more CSI-RS coverage areas, one or more Tracking Areas/Tracking Area Lists/PLMNs.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to coordinate operations between base stations.
Regarding claim 20, Byun discloses the method, wherein the first message comprises one or more first measurements and/or predictions (Col. 14, Ln. 23-28: Referring to FIG. 13, in step S1310, a BS1 may transmit to a BS2 a resource status request message. The resource status request message may be transmitted to request for a load measurement result of the BS2. The resource status request message may include an indicator of requesting for a measurement result per slice.).
Regarding claim 21, Byun fails to disclose the method, wherein the first message is signaled via one of XnAP, X2AP, El AP, Fl AP, W1AP and comprises one of: an XnAP resource state update message, an X2AP resource status update message, an X2AP EN-DC resource status update message, an F1AP resource status update message, and an E1AP resource status update message.
However, Da Silva discloses the method, wherein the first message is signaled via one of XnAP, X2AP, El AP, Fl AP, W1AP and comprises one of: an XnAP resource state update message, an X2AP resource status update message, an X2AP EN-DC resource status update message, an F1AP resource status update message, and an E1AP resource status update message (Pg. 34, Ln. 8-13: The following is exemplary text specifying resource information reporting functionality that is suitable for inclusion in a 3GPP specification, such as 3GPP TS 36.423 that specifies the X2-AP interface between eNBs in an LTE RAN (or between gNBs that support the X2 interface). Nevertheless, skilled persons will readily comprehend that, with suitable modifications, such text could also be included in other 3GPP specifications, such as for the Xn interface between gNBs in an NG-RAN.).
Byun and Da Silva are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of communicating between base stations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Byun with Da Silva to create the method, wherein the first message is signaled via one of XnAP, X2AP, El AP, Fl AP, W1AP and comprises one of: an XnAP resource state update message, an X2AP resource status update message, an X2AP EN-DC resource status update message, an F1AP resource status update message, and an E1AP resource status update message.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to coordinate operations between base stations.
Regarding claim 22, Byun fails to disclose the method, wherein the first network node and the second network node are either: comprised within the same communication system; or comprised within different communication systems.
However, Da Silva discloses the method, wherein the first network node and the second network node are either: comprised within the same communication system; or comprised within different communication systems (Pg. 34, Ln. 8-13: The following is exemplary text specifying resource information reporting functionality that is suitable for inclusion in a 3GPP specification, such as 3GPP TS 36.423 that specifies the X2-AP interface between eNBs in an LTE RAN (or between gNBs that support the X2 interface). Nevertheless, skilled persons will readily comprehend that, with suitable modifications, such text could also be included in other 3GPP specifications, such as for the Xn interface between gNBs in an NG-RAN.).
Byun and Da Silva are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of communicating between base stations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Byun with Da Silva to create the method, wherein the first network node and the second network node are either: comprised within the same communication system; or comprised within different communication systems.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to coordinate operations between base stations.
Regarding claim 23, Byun fails to disclose the method, wherein the first message is transmitted over one of a direct signaling connection between the first network node and the second network node or an indirect signaling connection between the first network node and the second network node.
However, Da Silva discloses the method, wherein the first message is transmitted over one of a direct signaling connection between the first network node and the second network node or an indirect signaling connection between the first network node and the second network node (Pg. 34, Ln. 8-13: The following is exemplary text specifying resource information reporting functionality that is suitable for inclusion in a 3GPP specification, such as 3GPP TS 36.423 that specifies the X2-AP interface between eNBs in an LTE RAN (or between gNBs that support the X2 interface). Nevertheless, skilled persons will readily comprehend that, with suitable modifications, such text could also be included in other 3GPP specifications, such as for the Xn interface between gNBs in an NG-RAN.).
Byun and Da Silva are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of communicating between base stations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Byun with Da Silva to create the method, wherein the first message is transmitted over one of a direct signaling connection between the first network node and the second network node or an indirect signaling connection between the first network node and the second network node.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to coordinate operations between base stations.
Regarding claim 24, Byun fails to disclose the method, wherein the first network node, the second network node and a third network node each comprise one of: a RAN node, a gNB, eNB, en-gNB, ng-eNB, gNB-CU, gNB-CU-CP, gNB-CU-UP, gNB-DU, eNB-CU, eNB-CU-CP, eNB-CU-UP, eNB-DU, IAB-nodes, IAB-donors, IAB-donor-CU, IAB-donor-CU-CP, IAB-donor-CU-UP, IAB-donor-DU, IAB-MT, O-CU, O-CU-CP, O-CU-UP, O-DU, O-RU, O-eNB.
However, Da Silva discloses the method, wherein the first network node, the second network node and a third network node each comprise one of: a RAN node, a gNB, eNB, en-gNB, ng-eNB, gNB-CU, gNB-CU-CP, gNB-CU-UP, gNB-DU, eNB-CU, eNB-CU-CP, eNB-CU-UP, eNB-DU, IAB-nodes, IAB-donors, IAB-donor-CU, IAB-donor-CU-CP, IAB-donor-CU-UP, IAB-donor-DU, IAB-MT, O-CU, O-CU-CP, O-CU-UP, O-DU, O-RU, O-eNB (Pg. 36, Ln. 21-25: The exemplary method can be performed by a source node (e.g., base station, eNB, gNB, etc. or component thereof, such as a gNB-CU or gNB-DU) in the RAN, serving one or more user equipment (UEs, e.g., wireless devices, MTC devices, NB-IoT devices, modems, etc. or components thereof) with one or more beams and/or cells, such as illustrated in other figures described herein.).
Byun and Da Silva are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of communicating between base stations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Byun with Da Silva to create the method, wherein the first network node, the second network node and a third network node each comprise one of: a RAN node, a gNB, eNB, en-gNB, ng-eNB, gNB-CU, gNB-CU-CP, gNB-CU-UP, gNB-DU, eNB-CU, eNB-CU-CP, eNB-CU-UP, eNB-DU, IAB-nodes, IAB-donors, IAB-donor-CU, IAB-donor-CU-CP, IAB-donor-CU-UP, IAB-donor-DU, IAB-MT, O-CU, O-CU-CP, O-CU-UP, O-DU, O-RU, O-eNB.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to coordinate operations between base stations.
Regarding claim 25, Byun fails to disclose the method, wherein the first network node and the second network node comprise two functions of a radio access node in a distributed architecture.
However, Da Silva discloses the method, wherein the first network node and the second network node comprise two functions of a radio access node in a distributed architecture (Pg. 31, Ln. 15-19: Various exemplary embodiments can also be used in a 5G network in which each RAN node (e.g., gNB) has functionality split between a central unit (CU) and one or more distributed units (DUs), such as shown in Figure 4. In such embodiments, the functionality of the Resource Information Request/Response/Update procedures discussed above can also be distributed among DU and CU.).
Byun and Da Silva are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of communicating between base stations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Byun with Da Silva to create the method, wherein the first network node and the second network node comprise two functions of a radio access node in a distributed architecture.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to coordinate operations between base stations.
Regarding claim 29, Byun discloses a second network node in communication with a first network node, wherein the second network node has been requested or is being requested to send measurements and/or predictions available at the second network node to the first network node, the second network node comprising (Col. 14, Ln. 23-28: Referring to FIG. 13, in step S1310, a BS1 may transmit to a BS2 a resource status request message. The resource status request message may be transmitted to request for a load measurement result of the BS2. The resource status request message may include an indicator of requesting for a measurement result per slice.):
processing circuitry configured to transmit, to the first network node, a first message comprising a first indication that sending of measurements and/or predictions from the second network node to the first network node is to be paused, delayed, resumed, or stopped (Col. 16, Ln. 10-11: A first base station 1610 includes a processor 1611, a memory 1612 and a transceiver 1613.).
Byun fails to disclose a method, wherein the first network node and the second network node comprise two functions of a radio access node in a distributed architecture.
However, Da Silva discloses the method, wherein the first network node and the second network node comprise two functions of a radio access node in a distributed architecture (Pg. 31, Ln. 15-19: Various exemplary embodiments can also be used in a 5G network in which each RAN node (e.g., gNB) has functionality split between a central unit (CU) and one or more distributed units (DUs), such as shown in Figure 4. In such embodiments, the functionality of the Resource Information Request/Response/Update procedures discussed above can also be distributed among DU and CU.).
Byun and Da Silva are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of communicating between base stations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Byun with Da Silva to create the method, wherein the first network node and the second network node comprise two functions of a radio access node in a distributed architecture.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to coordinate operations between base stations.
Claims 2, 12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byun in view of Da Silva, and further in view of 3GPP et al (WO2020167198A1) (hereinafter "3GPP").
Regarding claim 2, Byun, as modified by Da Silva, fails to disclose the method, wherein the first message further comprises a reason for pausing, delaying, resuming or stopping the sending of measurements and/or predictions from the second network node to the first network node.
However, 3GPP discloses the method, wherein the first message further comprises a reason for pausing, delaying, resuming or stopping the sending of measurements and/or predictions from the second network node to the first network node (Pg. 4: If any of the requested measurements cannot be initiated, NG-RAN node2 shall send the RESOURCE STATUS FAILURE message with an appropriate cause value.).
Byun, as modified by Da Silva, and 3GPP are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of measurement reporting.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Byun, as modified by Da Silva, with 3GPP to create the method, wherein the first message further comprises a reason for pausing, delaying, resuming or stopping the sending of measurements and/or predictions from the second network node to the first network node.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to avoid unnecessary signaling.
Regarding claim 12, Byun, as modified by Da Silva, fails to disclose the method, further comprising: responsive to receiving the first message, waiting to receive a second message comprising an indication that sending of measurements and/or predictions from the second network node to the first network node is to be resumed.
However, 3GPP discloses the method, further comprising: responsive to receiving the first message, waiting to receive a second message comprising an indication that sending of measurements and/or predictions from the second network node to the first network node is to be resumed (Pg. 4: For the same Measurement ID, if the initiating NG-RAN node1 does not receive either the RESOURCE STATUS RESPONSE message or the RESOURCE STATUS FAILURE message, the NG-RAN node1 may reinitiate the Resource Status Reporting Initiation procedure towards the same NG-RAN node, provided that the content of the new RESOURCE STATUS REQUEST message is identical to the content of the previously unacknowledged RESOURCE STATUS REQUEST message.).
Byun, as modified by Da Silva, and 3GPP are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of measurement reporting.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Byun, as modified by Da Silva, with 3GPP to create the method, further comprising: responsive to receiving the first message, waiting to receive a second message comprising an indication that sending of measurements and/or predictions from the second network node to the first network node is to be resumed.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to avoid unnecessary signaling.
Regarding claim 16, Byun, as modified by Da Silva, fails to disclose the method, wherein the first message further comprises a reason for pausing, delaying, resuming or stopping the sending of measurements and/or predictions from the second network node to the first network node.
However, 3GPP discloses the method, wherein the first message further comprises a reason for pausing, delaying, resuming or stopping the sending of measurements and/or predictions from the second network node to the first network node (Pg. 4: If any of the requested measurements cannot be initiated, NG-RAN node2 shall send the RESOURCE STATUS FAILURE message with an appropriate cause value.).
Byun, as modified by Da Silva, and 3GPP are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of measurement reporting.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Byun, as modified by Da Silva, with 3GPP to create the method, wherein the first message further comprises a reason for pausing, delaying, resuming or stopping the sending of measurements and/or predictions from the second network node to the first network node.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to avoid unnecessary signaling.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ng et al (WO2019070095A1) discloses a method for improving coexistence performance by measurements in an advanced wireless communication system.
Yaacoub et al (US20150382290A1) discloses methods for dynamically switching a base station in ON/OFF mode by determining traffic load information of BSs and exchanging the traffic load information between BSs.
/D LITTLE/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419