This office action is in response to remarks filed on 05/04/2026.
Claims 1-25 and 29 are pending and presented for examination.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 12, 13, and 15, 16, 17, 18, , 19, 20, 29 are objected to because of the usage of the slash symbol "/". It is suggested that the word “or” be used instead of a symbol slash "/", for example, "at least one A or B."
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 8, 13-15, 17-20, 22, 25, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byun et al (US11089601B2) (hereinafter "Byun") in view of Wu et al (US20230345331A1) (hereinafter "Wu").
Regarding claim 1, Byun discloses a method performed by a first network node in communication with a second network node, wherein the second network node has been requested or is being requested to send measurements and/or predictions available at the second network node to the first network node, the method comprising (Col. 14, Ln. 23-28: Referring to FIG. 13, in step S1310, a BS1 may transmit to a BS2 a resource status request message. The resource status request message may be transmitted to request for a load measurement result of the BS2. The resource status request message may include an indicator of requesting for a measurement result per slice.).
Byun fails to disclose a method comprising: receiving, from the second network node, a first message comprising a first indication that sending of measurements and/or predictions from the second network node to the first network node is to be paused, delayed, resumed, or stopped.
However, Wu discloses a method comprising: receiving, from the second network node, a first message comprising a first indication that sending of measurements and/or predictions from the second network node to the first network node is to be paused, delayed, resumed, or stopped ([0009] Optionally, to enable the first network device to control measurement behavior of the second network device more flexibly, the first network device may further indicate the second network device to stop periodic measurement, for example, indicate the second network device to stop periodic measurement by indicating that a measurement period is 0. Optionally, the first network device may also indicate, by using a dedicated message, to stop periodic measurement.).
Byun and Wu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of communicating between base stations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Byun with Wu to create a method comprising: receiving, from the second network node, a first message comprising a first indication that sending of measurements and/or predictions from the second network node to the first network node is to be paused, delayed, resumed, or stopped.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to coordinate operations between base stations.
Regarding claim 3, Byun discloses the method, wherein the first message further comprises a second indication of one or more measurements and/or predictions to which the first indication applies (Col. 35, Ln. 1-3: if supported, stop measurements and terminate the reporting for indicated cells or beams or reference signals, in case the message includes an indication set to "partial stop"; or - if supported, add cells or beams or reference signals to the measurements initiated in a previous Resource Information Request, in case the message includes an indication set to "add".).
Regarding claim 4, Byun discloses the method, wherein the first message further comprises a third indication of one or more reporting objects associated with one or more measurements and/or predictions to which the first indication applies (Col. 10, Ln. 38-47: Referring to FIG. 7, in step S710, a BS1 may transmit to a BS2 a load information message or a new message. The load information message or the new message may include a slice ID and a load and interference coordination information per slice. The load and interference coordination information per slice may include at least any one of UL interference overload indication per slice, UL high interference information per slice, relative narrowband Tx power per slice, ABS information per slice, and CoMP information per slice).
Regarding claim 5, Byun fails to disclose the method, wherein the one or more reporting objects comprise one or more of: a network node, one or more cells, one or more SSB Indexes, one or more SSB Areas, one or more S-NSSAIs or Slices, one or more/ CSI-RS coverage areas, one or more Tracking Areas/Tracking Area Lists/PLMNs.
However, Wu discloses the method, wherein the one or more reporting objects comprise one or more of: a network node, one or more cells, one or more SSB Indexes, one or more SSB Areas, one or more S-NSSAIs or Slices, one or more/ CSI-RS coverage areas, one or more Tracking Areas/Tracking Area Lists/PLMNs ([0023] Optionally, in some possible implementations of the first aspect or the second aspect, the measurement period information, the event information triggering the resource status report, the overload threshold information, the reporting period information, and the measured object information may be at a base station (node) granularity, a cell granularity, a beam granularity, a slice granularity, or a BWP granularity.).
Byun and Wu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of communicating between base stations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Byun with Wu to create the method, wherein the one or more reporting objects comprise one or more of: a network node, one or more cells, one or more SSB Indexes, one or more SSB Areas, one or more S-NSSAIs or Slices, one or more/ CSI-RS coverage areas, one or more Tracking Areas/Tracking Area Lists/PLMNs.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to coordinate operations between base stations.
Regarding claim 6, Byun discloses the method, wherein the first message comprises one or more first measurements and/or predictions (Col. 14, Ln. 23-28: Referring to FIG. 13, in step S1310, a BS1 may transmit to a BS2 a resource status request message. The resource status request message may be transmitted to request for a load measurement result of the BS2. The resource status request message may include an indicator of requesting for a measurement result per slice.).
Regarding claim 8, Byun fails to disclose the method, wherein the first network node and the second network node are either: comprised within the same communication system or comprised within different communication systems.
However, Wu discloses the method, wherein the first network node and the second network node are either: comprised within the same communication system or comprised within different communication systems ([0122] It should be noted that the first network device and the second network device in the foregoing embodiments of this application may be of a same standard (RAT) or different standards, or the first network device and the second network device may belong to a same system or different systems.).
Byun and Wu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of communicating between base stations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Byun with Wu to create the method, wherein the first network node and the second network node are either: comprised within the same communication system or comprised within different communication systems.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to coordinate operations between base stations.
Regarding claim 13, Byun discloses the method, further comprising receiving the first message responsive to transmitting a third message to the second network node, wherein the third message comprises a request that the second network node send measurements and/or predictions to the first network node (Col. 14, Ln. 23-28: Referring to FIG. 13, in step S1310, a BS1 may transmit to a BS2 a resource status request message. The resource status request message may be transmitted to request for a load measurement result of the BS2. The resource status request message may include an indicator of requesting for a measurement result per slice.).
Regarding claim 14, Byun fails to disclose the method, further comprising receiving a fourth message in response to transmitting the third message to the second network node, wherein the fourth message acknowledges or refuses the request of the third message.
However, Wu discloses the method, further comprising receiving a fourth message in response to transmitting the third message to the second network node, wherein the fourth message acknowledges or refuses the request of the third message ([0117] If the second network device accepts the mobility parameter change request of the first network device, the second network device may indicate, to the first network device by using the fourth message, that the second network device accepts the mobility parameter change request of the first network device, for example, accepts the event information of the first mobility parameter change, where the fourth message may be, for example, a mobility change response message. Optionally, the fourth message may include a third identifier, and the third identifier and the first identifier may be a same identifier.).
Byun and Wu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of communicating between base stations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Byun with Wu to create the method, further comprising receiving a fourth message in response to transmitting the third message to the second network node, wherein the fourth message acknowledges or refuses the request of the third message.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to coordinate operations between base stations.
Regarding claim 15, Byun discloses a method performed by a second network node in communication with a first network node, wherein the second network node has been requested or is being requested to send measurements and/or predictions available at the second network node to the first network node, the method comprising (Col. 14, Ln. 23-28: Referring to FIG. 13, in step S1310, a BS1 may transmit to a BS2 a resource status request message. The resource status request message may be transmitted to request for a load measurement result of the BS2. The resource status request message may include an indicator of requesting for a measurement result per slice.)
Byun fails to disclose a method, further comprising: transmitting, to the first network node, a first message comprising a first indication that sending of measurements and/or predictions from the second network node to the first network node is to be paused, delayed, resumed, or stopped.
However, Wu discloses the method, further comprising: transmitting, to the first network node, a first message comprising a first indication that sending of measurements and/or predictions from the second network node to the first network node is to be paused, delayed, resumed, or stopped ([0009] Optionally, to enable the first network device to control measurement behavior of the second network device more flexibly, the first network device may further indicate the second network device to stop periodic measurement, for example, indicate the second network device to stop periodic measurement by indicating that a measurement period is 0. Optionally, the first network device may also indicate, by using a dedicated message, to stop periodic measurement.).
Byun and Wu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of communicating between base stations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Byun with Wu to create the method, further comprising: transmitting, to the first network node, a first message comprising a first indication that sending of measurements and/or predictions from the second network node to the first network node is to be paused, delayed, resumed, or stopped.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to coordinate operations between base stations.
Regarding claim 17, Byun discloses the method, wherein the first message further comprises: a second indication of one or more measurements and/or predictions to which the first indication applies (Col. 35, Ln. 1-3: if supported, stop measurements and terminate the reporting for indicated cells or beams or reference signals, in case the message includes an indication set to "partial stop"; or - if supported, add cells or beams or reference signals to the measurements initiated in a previous Resource Information Request, in case the message includes an indication set to "add".).
Regarding claim 18, Byun discloses the method, wherein the first message further comprises a third indication of one or more reporting objects associated with one or more measurements and/or predictions to which the first indication applies (Col. 10, Ln. 38-47: Referring to FIG. 7, in step S710, a BS1 may transmit to a BS2 a load information message or a new message. The load information message or the new message may include a slice ID and a load and interference coordination information per slice. The load and interference coordination information per slice may include at least any one of UL interference overload indication per slice, UL high interference information per slice, relative narrowband Tx power per slice, ABS information per slice, and CoMP information per slice).
Regarding claim 19, Byun fails to disclose the method wherein the one or more reporting objects comprise one or more of: a network node, one or more cells, one or more SSB Indexes, one or more SSB Areas, one or more S-NSSAIs or Slices, one or more CSI-RS coverage areas, one or more Tracking Areas/Tracking Area Lists/PLMNs.
However, Wu discloses the method wherein the one or more reporting objects comprise one or more of: a network node, one or more cells, one or more SSB Indexes, one or more SSB Areas, one or more S-NSSAIs or Slices, one or more CSI-RS coverage areas, one or more Tracking Areas/Tracking Area Lists/PLMNs ([0023] Optionally, in some possible implementations of the first aspect or the second aspect, the measurement period information, the event information triggering the resource status report, the overload threshold information, the reporting period information, and the measured object information may be at a base station (node) granularity, a cell granularity, a beam granularity, a slice granularity, or a BWP granularity.).
Byun and Wu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of communicating between base stations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Byun with Wu to create the method wherein the one or more reporting objects comprise one or more of: a network node, one or more cells, one or more SSB Indexes, one or more SSB Areas, one or more S-NSSAIs or Slices, one or more CSI-RS coverage areas, one or more Tracking Areas/Tracking Area Lists/PLMNs.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to coordinate operations between base stations.
Regarding claim 20, Byun discloses the method, wherein the first message comprises one or more first measurements and/or predictions (Col. 14, Ln. 23-28: Referring to FIG. 13, in step S1310, a BS1 may transmit to a BS2 a resource status request message. The resource status request message may be transmitted to request for a load measurement result of the BS2. The resource status request message may include an indicator of requesting for a measurement result per slice.).
Regarding claim 22, Byun fails to disclose the method, wherein the first network node and the second network node are either: comprised within the same communication system; or comprised within different communication systems.
However, Wu discloses the method, wherein the first network node and the second network node are either: comprised within the same communication system; or comprised within different communication systems ([0122] It should be noted that the first network device and the second network device in the foregoing embodiments of this application may be of a same standard (RAT) or different standards, or the first network device and the second network device may belong to a same system or different systems.).
Byun and Wu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of communicating between base stations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Byun with Wu to create the method, wherein the first network node and the second network node are either: comprised within the same communication system; or comprised within different communication systems.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to coordinate operations between base stations.
Regarding claim 29, Byun discloses a second network node in communication with a first network node, wherein the second network node has been requested or is being requested to send measurements and/or predictions available at the second network node to the first network node, the second network node comprising (Col. 14, Ln. 23-28: Referring to FIG. 13, in step S1310, a BS1 may transmit to a BS2 a resource status request message. The resource status request message may be transmitted to request for a load measurement result of the BS2. The resource status request message may include an indicator of requesting for a measurement result per slice.):
processing circuitry configured to transmit, to the first network node, a first message comprising a first indication that sending of measurements and/or predictions from the second network node to the first network node is to be paused, delayed, resumed, or stopped (Col. 16, Ln. 10-11: A first base station 1610 includes a processor 1611, a memory 1612 and a transceiver 1613.).
Byun fails to disclose a method, wherein the first network node and the second network node comprise two functions of a radio access node in a distributed architecture.
However, Wu discloses the method, wherein the first network node and the second network node comprise two functions of a radio access node in a distributed architecture ([0055] Alternatively, the access network device may be a radio controller, a central unit (central unit, CU), and/or a distributed unit (distributed unit, DU) in a cloud radio access network (cloud radio access network, CRAN) scenario, or the network device may be a relay station, a vehicle-mounted device, a network device in a future evolved PLMN network, or the like.).
Byun and Wu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of communicating between base stations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Byun with Wu to create the method, wherein the first network node and the second network node comprise two functions of a radio access node in a distributed architecture.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to coordinate operations between base stations.
Claims 2, 12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byun in view of Wu, and further in view of 3GPP et al (WO2020167198A1) (hereinafter "3GPP").
Regarding claim 2, Byun, as modified by Wu, fails to disclose the method, wherein the first message further comprises a reason for pausing, delaying, resuming or stopping the sending of measurements and/or predictions from the second network node to the first network node.
However, 3GPP discloses the method, wherein the first message further comprises a reason for pausing, delaying, resuming or stopping the sending of measurements and/or predictions from the second network node to the first network node (Pg. 4: If any of the requested measurements cannot be initiated, NG-RAN node2 shall send the RESOURCE STATUS FAILURE message with an appropriate cause value.).
Byun, as modified by Wu, and 3GPP are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of measurement reporting.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Byun, as modified by Wu, with 3GPP to create the method, wherein the first message further comprises a reason for pausing, delaying, resuming or stopping the sending of measurements and/or predictions from the second network node to the first network node.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to avoid unnecessary signaling.
Regarding claim 12, Byun, as modified by Wu, fails to disclose the method, further comprising: responsive to receiving the first message, waiting to receive a second message comprising an indication that sending of measurements and/or predictions from the second network node to the first network node is to be resumed.
However, 3GPP discloses the method, further comprising: responsive to receiving the first message, waiting to receive a second message comprising an indication that sending of measurements and/or predictions from the second network node to the first network node is to be resumed (Pg. 4: For the same Measurement ID, if the initiating NG-RAN node1 does not receive either the RESOURCE STATUS RESPONSE message or the RESOURCE STATUS FAILURE message, the NG-RAN node1 may reinitiate the Resource Status Reporting Initiation procedure towards the same NG-RAN node, provided that the content of the new RESOURCE STATUS REQUEST message is identical to the content of the previously unacknowledged RESOURCE STATUS REQUEST message.).
Byun, as modified by Wu, and 3GPP are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of measurement reporting.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Byun, as modified by Wu, with 3GPP to create the method, further comprising: responsive to receiving the first message, waiting to receive a second message comprising an indication that sending of measurements and/or predictions from the second network node to the first network node is to be resumed.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to avoid unnecessary signaling.
Regarding claim 16, Byun, as modified by Wu, fails to disclose the method, wherein the first message further comprises a reason for pausing, delaying, resuming or stopping the sending of measurements and/or predictions from the second network node to the first network node.
However, 3GPP discloses the method, wherein the first message further comprises a reason for pausing, delaying, resuming or stopping the sending of measurements and/or predictions from the second network node to the first network node (Pg. 4: If any of the requested measurements cannot be initiated, NG-RAN node2 shall send the RESOURCE STATUS FAILURE message with an appropriate cause value.).
Byun, as modified by Wu, and 3GPP are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of measurement reporting.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Byun, as modified by Wu, with 3GPP to create the method, wherein the first message further comprises a reason for pausing, delaying, resuming or stopping the sending of measurements and/or predictions from the second network node to the first network node.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to avoid unnecessary signaling.
Claims 7, 9, 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byun in view of Wu, and further in view of Tamura et al (US20150319805A1) (hereinafter "Tamura").
Regarding claim 7, Byun, as modified by Wu, fails to disclose the method, wherein the first message is signaled via one of XnAP, X2AP, E1AP, F1AP, W1AP and comprises one of: an XnAP resource state update message, an X2AP resource status update message, an X2AP EN-DC resource status update message, an F1AP resource status update message, and an E1AP resource status update message.
However, Tamura discloses the method, wherein the first message is signaled via one of XnAP, X2AP, E1AP, F1AP, W1AP and comprises one of: an XnAP resource state update message, an X2AP resource status update message, an X2AP EN-DC resource status update message, an F1AP resource status update message, and an E1AP resource status update message ([0134] When a condition for the (H)eNB 800 to send X2AP:RESOURCE STATUS UPDATE is satisfied (S315), the (H)eNB 800 sends X2AP:RESOURCE STATUS UPDATE to the X2-GW 120 (Operation S316).).
Byun, as modified by Wu, and Tamura are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of communicating between base stations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Byun, as modified by Wu, with Tamura to create the method, wherein the first message is signaled via one of XnAP, X2AP, E1AP, F1AP, W1AP and comprises one of: an XnAP resource state update message, an X2AP resource status update message, an X2AP EN-DC resource status update message, an F1AP resource status update message, and an E1AP resource status update message.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to coordinate operations between base stations.
Regarding claim 9, Byun, as modified by Wu, fails to disclose the method, wherein the first message is received over one of a direct signaling connection between the first network node and the second network node or an indirect signaling connection between the first network node and the second network node.
However, Tamura discloses the method, wherein the first message is received over one of a direct signaling connection between the first network node and the second network node or an indirect signaling connection between the first network node and the second network node ([0134] When a condition for the (H)eNB 800 to send X2AP:RESOURCE STATUS UPDATE is satisfied (S315), the (H)eNB 800 sends X2AP:RESOURCE STATUS UPDATE to the X2-GW 120 (Operation S316). [0183] According to the ninth example of the present invention, the number of RNA:DIRECT TRANSFERs sent and received between a HNB and a HNB-GW is reduced, whereby it is possible to reduce signaling within a telecommunication operator's network.).
Byun, as modified by Wu, and Tamura are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of communicating between base stations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Byun, as modified by Wu, with Tamura to create the method, wherein the first message is received over one of a direct signaling connection between the first network node and the second network node or an indirect signaling connection between the first network node and the second network node.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to coordinate operations between base stations.
Regarding claim 21, Byun, as modified by Wu, fails to disclose the method, wherein the first message is signaled via one of XnAP, X2AP, El AP, Fl AP, W1AP and comprises one of: an XnAP resource state update message, an X2AP resource status update message, an X2AP EN-DC resource status update message, an F1AP resource status update message, and an E1AP resource status update message.
However, Tamura discloses the method, wherein the first message is signaled via one of XnAP, X2AP, El AP, Fl AP, W1AP and comprises one of: an XnAP resource state update message, an X2AP resource status update message, an X2AP EN-DC resource status update message, an F1AP resource status update message, and an E1AP resource status update message ([0134] When a condition for the (H)eNB 800 to send X2AP:RESOURCE STATUS UPDATE is satisfied (S315), the (H)eNB 800 sends X2AP:RESOURCE STATUS UPDATE to the X2-GW 120 (Operation S316).).
Byun, as modified by Wu, and Tamura are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of communicating between base stations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Byun, as modified by Wu, with Tamura to create the method, wherein the first message is signaled via one of XnAP, X2AP, El AP, Fl AP, W1AP and comprises one of: an XnAP resource state update message, an X2AP resource status update message, an X2AP EN-DC resource status update message, an F1AP resource status update message, and an E1AP resource status update message.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to coordinate operations between base stations.
Regarding claim 23, Byun, as modified by Wu, fails to disclose the method, wherein the first message is transmitted over one of a direct signaling connection between the first network node and the second network node or an indirect signaling connection between the first network node and the second network node.
However, Tamura discloses the method, wherein the first message is transmitted over one of a direct signaling connection between the first network node and the second network node or an indirect signaling connection between the first network node and the second network node ([0134] When a condition for the (H)eNB 800 to send X2AP:RESOURCE STATUS UPDATE is satisfied (S315), the (H)eNB 800 sends X2AP:RESOURCE STATUS UPDATE to the X2-GW 120 (Operation S316). [0183] According to the ninth example of the present invention, the number of RNA:DIRECT TRANSFERs sent and received between a HNB and a HNB-GW is reduced, whereby it is possible to reduce signaling within a telecommunication operator's network.).
Byun, as modified by Wu, and Tamura are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of communicating between base stations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Byun, as modified by Wu, with Tamura to create the method, wherein the first message is transmitted over one of a direct signaling connection between the first network node and the second network node or an indirect signaling connection between the first network node and the second network node.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to coordinate operations between base stations.
Claims 10 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byun in view of Wu, and further in view of Yang et al (US20230030473A1) (hereinafter "Yang").
Regarding claim 10, Byun, as modified by Wu, fails to disclose the method, wherein the first network node, the second network node and a third network node each comprise one of: a RAN node, a gNB, eNB, en-gNB, ng-eNB, gNB-CU, gNB-CU-CP, gNB-CU-UP, gNB-DU, eNB-CU, eNB-CU-CP, eNB-CU-UP, eNB-DU, IAB-nodes, IAB-donors, IAB-donor-CU, IAB-donor-CU-CP, IAB-donor-CU-UP, IAB-donor-DU, IAB-MT, O-CU, O-CU-CP, O-CU-UP, O-DU, O-RU, O-eNB.
However, Yang discloses the method, wherein the first network node, the second network node and a third network node each comprise one of: a RAN node, a gNB, eNB, en-gNB, ng-eNB, gNB-CU, gNB-CU-CP, gNB-CU-UP, gNB-DU, eNB-CU, eNB-CU-CP, eNB-CU-UP, eNB-DU, IAB-nodes, IAB-donors, IAB-donor-CU, IAB-donor-CU-CP, IAB-donor-CU-UP, IAB-donor-DU, IAB-MT, O-CU, O-CU-CP, O-CU-UP, O-DU, O-RU, O-eNB ([0049] The UEs 115 described herein may be able to communicate with various types of devices, such as other UEs 115, the base stations 105, or network equipment (e.g., core network nodes, relay devices, integrated access and backhaul (IAB) nodes, or other network equipment), as shown in FIG. 1.).
Byun, as modified by Wu, and Yang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of determining telecommunications architectures with regards to network nodes and functional splits.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Byun, as modified by Wu, with Yang to create the method, wherein the first network node, the second network node and a third network node each comprise one of: a RAN node, a gNB, eNB, en-gNB, ng-eNB, gNB-CU, gNB-CU-CP, gNB-CU-UP, gNB-DU, eNB-CU, eNB-CU-CP, eNB-CU-UP, eNB-DU, IAB-nodes, IAB-donors, IAB-donor-CU, IAB-donor-CU-CP, IAB-donor-CU-UP, IAB-donor-DU, IAB-MT, O-CU, O-CU-CP, O-CU-UP, O-DU, O-RU, O-eNB.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to optimize traffic, reduce latency, or handle flexible wireless network deployments.
Regarding claim 11, Byun as modified by Wu, discloses the method, wherein the first network node and the second network node comprise two functions of a radio access node in a distributed architecture ([0055] Alternatively, the access network device may be a radio controller, a central unit (central unit, CU), and/or a distributed unit (distributed unit, DU) in a cloud radio access network (cloud radio access network, CRAN) scenario, or the network device may be a relay station, a vehicle-mounted device, a network device in a future evolved PLMN network, or the like.).
Regarding claim 24, Byun, as modified by Wu, fails to disclose the method, wherein the first network node, the second network node and a third network node each comprise one of: a RAN node, a gNB, eNB, en-gNB, ng-eNB, gNB-CU, gNB-CU-CP, gNB-CU-UP, gNB-DU, eNB-CU, eNB-CU-CP, eNB-CU-UP, eNB-DU, IAB-nodes, IAB-donors, IAB-donor-CU, IAB-donor-CU-CP, IAB-donor-CU-UP, IAB-donor-DU, IAB-MT, O-CU, O-CU-CP, O-CU-UP, O-DU, O-RU, O-eNB.
However, Yang discloses the method, wherein the first network node, the second network node and a third network node each comprise one of: a RAN node, a gNB, eNB, en-gNB, ng-eNB, gNB-CU, gNB-CU-CP, gNB-CU-UP, gNB-DU, eNB-CU, eNB-CU-CP, eNB-CU-UP, eNB-DU, IAB-nodes, IAB-donors, IAB-donor-CU, IAB-donor-CU-CP, IAB-donor-CU-UP, IAB-donor-DU, IAB-MT, O-CU, O-CU-CP, O-CU-UP, O-DU, O-RU, O-eNB ([0049] The UEs 115 described herein may be able to communicate with various types of devices, such as other UEs 115, the base stations 105, or network equipment (e.g., core network nodes, relay devices, integrated access and backhaul (IAB) nodes, or other network equipment), as shown in FIG. 1.).
Byun, as modified by Wu, and Yang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of determining telecommunications architectures with regards to network nodes and functional splits.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Byun, as modified by Wu, with Yang to create the method, wherein the first network node, the second network node and a third network node each comprise one of: a RAN node, a gNB, eNB, en-gNB, ng-eNB, gNB-CU, gNB-CU-CP, gNB-CU-UP, gNB-DU, eNB-CU, eNB-CU-CP, eNB-CU-UP, eNB-DU, IAB-nodes, IAB-donors, IAB-donor-CU, IAB-donor-CU-CP, IAB-donor-CU-UP, IAB-donor-DU, IAB-MT, O-CU, O-CU-CP, O-CU-UP, O-DU, O-RU, O-eNB.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to optimize traffic, reduce latency, or handle flexible wireless network deployments.
Regarding claim 25, Byun as modified by Wu, discloses the method, wherein the first network node and the second network node comprise two functions of a radio access node in a distributed architecture ([0055] Alternatively, the access network device may be a radio controller, a central unit (central unit, CU), and/or a distributed unit (distributed unit, DU) in a cloud radio access network (cloud radio access network, CRAN) scenario, or the network device may be a relay station, a vehicle-mounted device, a network device in a future evolved PLMN network, or the like.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1-25 and 29 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ng et al (WO2019070095A1) discloses a method for improving coexistence performance by measurements in an advanced wireless communication system.
Yaacoub et al (US20150382290A1) discloses methods for dynamically switching a base station in ON/OFF mode by determining traffic load information of BSs and exchanging the traffic load information between BSs.
/D LITTLE/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419