DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “conveyor device” in claim 27 and “movement machine” in claim 37.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 27-29, 33-35, and 37-44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al., CN 205762149 (see also English translation) in view of Butz et al., US 2018/0290633 and in view of Dumont et al., FR 2765502 (see also English translation).
Regarding claim 27, Lin et al. disclose a cleaning device for cleaning a motor vehicle body component, laterally along a wet partial region of the component (vehicle, see Figures 2-5; see English translation of Abstract), comprising: a cleaning station (station of Figure 1), a conveyor device for transporting the component through the cleaning station (not shown, see English translation, “a mechanical transporting device, such as a vehicle body conveying roller or a conveying chain”), a first cleaning apparatus for large-area cleaning of the component (one of brushes 22 shown in Figure 1), and a multiaxial robot (one of robots 21, Figure 1) which carries a second cleaning apparatus (other one of brushes 22 shown in Figure 1) which is adapted to guide the second cleaning apparatus laterally along a partial region of the component (see English translation, particularly the second paragraph under the heading “Preferred Embodiment”). Regarding claims 28-29, the partial region is a wet partial region and/or a partial region with not yet dried-out surface, or a seam with not yet dried-out surface and/or a coating face with not yet dried out surface (see English translation and Figure 1, the partial region of the vehicle that is being cleaned is capable of being the wet partial region, partial region with not yet dried-out surface, a seam with not yet dried-out surface, and/or a coating face with not yet dried out surface; additionally the partial region is the article being worked upon by the cleaning device structure and is not positively recited, see MPEP 2115: “Claim analysis is highly fact-dependent. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935).”). Regarding claim 34, the multiaxial robot comprises at least 5 or at least 6 axes of movement (6 axes, see English translation, second paragraph under the heading “Preferred Embodiment”). Regarding claim 37, the cleaning device comprises an automatic movement machine which carries the first cleaning apparatus (sliding block or robot 20, see English translation, second paragraph under the heading “Preferred Embodiment”). Regarding claim 38, the automatic movement machine comprises a multi-axis robot adapted to move the first cleaning apparatus along the component (other of 21 carrying the first cleaning apparatus 22 in Figure 1, see also English translation). Regarding claim 39, the cleaning device comprises on both sides of the conveyor device at least one of the first cleaning apparatus and at least one of the second cleaning apparatus (Figure 1). Regarding claim 40, the multiaxial robot is adapted to guide the second apparatus laterally along the partial region without the second cleaning apparatus entering the partial region (in that the second cleaning apparatus on one side is moved along the component to a predetermined position, discussed in the English translation, as the first mode/step in the description of “A stepping mode…steps…”; alternatively the sliding block travels along the linear guide rail parallel to the machine direction 20, see English translation describing the “Stepping vehicle system…shown in Fig 1-2…”). Regarding claim 42, the cleaning device comprises a control device for controlling the second cleaning apparatus (see English translation, particularly the Abstract, the discussion of the stepping mode, and claim 1) and/or for controlling the multiaxial robot in order to guide the second cleaning apparatus laterally along the partial region (see English translation, particularly the Abstract, the discussion of the stepping mode, and claim 1). Regarding claim 43, the automatic moving machine (sliding block or robot mentioned previously) is adapted to guide the first cleaning apparatus along the component, with a lateral distance to the partial region and without the first cleaning apparatus entering the partial region (in that the first cleaning apparatus on one side is moved along the component to a predetermined position, discussed in the English translation, as the first mode/step in the description of “A stepping mode…steps…”; alternatively the sliding block travels along the linear guide rail parallel to the machine direction 20, see English translation describing the “Stepping vehicle system…shown in Fig 1-2…”). Regarding claim 44, the multiaxial robot carries only a single second cleaning apparatus (in that each of the first and second robots 21 carry a single cleaning apparatus 22, see Figure 1) and the automatic movement machine carries only a single first cleaning apparatus (in that sliding block or 20 carries only one cleaning apparatus 22, see Figure 1).
Lin et al. does not disclose that the first cleaning apparatus comprises a revolving feather roller or that the second cleaning apparatus is a plastic cleaning brush or plastic cleaning roller. In Lin et al. it is noted that the cleaning brush may comprise ostrich hair/feathers mounted as a sword brush (see English translation, under “Background technology”).
Butz et al., in the same field of endeavor, teach a similar cleaning device to Lin et al. in that it is for use in cleaning vehicles in a painting process (paragraph 0005). Regarding claims 27 and 33, the cleaning apparatus comprises a plastic cleaning brush roller having plastic bristles (18, 20, or 22 and paragraph 0023), the cleaning apparatus is carried by a multiaxial robot (92, Figure 8). The plastic cleaning brush roller is advantageous for cleaning and dust removal before painting (paragraph 0020). Regarding claim 41, the cleaning apparatus comprises at least one lateral shielding device (cover 19, 21, 23; Figures 1-2) capable of preventing the plastic bristles from being deflected beyond the shielding device laterally outward (Figures 1-2), the shielding device is advantageous for connecting the brush to a suction device (paragraph 0071).
Further regarding claim 27, Dumont et al., in the same field of endeavor as Lin et al. and Butz et al., teach a cleaning device that is within a cleaning station (see Figures) comprising a revolving feather roller configured for surface cleaning of the component (10, Figures 2 and 4), the feather roller is flexible, does not scratch, and wipes well (see English translation). Regarding claim 35, the first cleaning apparatus comprises an emu feather roller (see English translation).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second cleaning apparatus of Lin et al. so that it comprises a plastic cleaning brush roller having at least one shielding device, as taught by Butz et al., as plastic brush rollers are effective at cleaning a workpiece being readied for painting and the shielding device allows for use with suction to remove debris after cleaning and additionally it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a first cleaning apparatus of Lin et al. to comprise a revolving feather roller comprising an emu feather roller, as taught by Dumont et al., as emu feathers are flexible, do not scratch and are therefore desirable for cleaning a motor vehicle body.
Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al., CN 205762149 (see also English translation), Butz et al., US 2018/0290633 and Dumont et al., FR 2765502 as applied to claim 27, in view of Roncaglione, US 4,628,562.
Lin et al., Butz et al., and Dumont et al. disclose all elements previously described above and fail to disclose a specific diameter for the cleaning roller, specifically that the plastic roller has a roller outer diameter of less than 35 cm, less than 32 cm, or less than 29 cm and greater than 10 cm.
Regarding claim 32, Roncaglione teach a cleaning roller for vehicles (Title, see Figures) that has an outer diameter of less than 35 cm, less than 32 cm, or less than 29 cm and greater than 10 cm (35 cm and 10 cm convert to 13.77 inches and 3.94 inches, respectively; column 8 lines 8-11 give a preferable range from 6 inches to 24 inches). Roncaglione teaches that brushes of this range efficiently wash or clean a vehicle without damage (column 8 lines 12-20).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaning roller brush of Lin et al., Butz et al., and Dumont et al. so that it has a diameter of less than 35 cm, less than 32 cm, or less than 29 cm and greater than 10 cm, as taught by Roncaglione, as a desirable diameter for a roller brush that cleans vehicle surfaces to efficiently wash without damage.
Claim(s) 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al., CN 205762149 (see also English translation) Butz et al., US 2018/0290633 and Dumont et al., FR 2765502 as applied to claim 34 in view of JP 6493139 (see also English translation).
Lin et al., Butz et al., and Dumont et al. disclose all elements previously described above, however fail to disclose that the first cleaning apparatus is a cleaning roller with a first outer diameter and the second cleaning apparatus is a cleaning roller with a second roller outer diameter, the first roller outer diameter is larger than the second roller outer diameter by a factor of at least 1.5 or 2.
Regarding claim 36, JP 6493139 teach a cleaning device having a first cleaning apparatus of a cleaning roller with a first outer diameter (5, diameter best shown in Figures 3-4 and 6) and a second cleaning apparatus of a cleaning roller with a second roller outer diameter (6, diameter best shown in Figures 3-4 and 6), the first roller outer diameter is larger than the second roller outer diameter, preferably by a factor of at least 1.5 or 2 (as it appears in Figures 3-4 and 6). The first and second cleaning apparatus of cleaning rollers each work together to clean one side of the vehicle (Figures 3-4 and 6) and are of different diameters as they have different cleaning functions (see English translation, 5 is a side brush and 6 is a rocker brush).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first cleaning roller and second cleaning apparatus of a plastic roller of Lin et al., Butz et al., and Dumont et al. so that the first roller outer diameter is larger than the second roller outer diameter by a factor of at least 1.5 or 2, as taught by JP 6493139, so that there are two rollers working together in an arrangement as a pair on a single side of the vehicle, one as side cleaning brush and the other as a rocker brush to clean one side of the vehicle.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that claim 27 requires a first cleaning apparatus for large-area surface cleaning and a second cleaning apparatus configured for seam or edge cleaning of small area regions. The examiner acknowledges this language in claim 27, however this does not impart any functional limitations to the claimed cleaning apparatus. The examiner finds the applicant’s arguments to be unpersuasive. The cleaning apparatus taught by Lin et al., Butz et al., and Dumont et al. are capable of cleaning large areas and small area regions. Furthermore, the terms “large” and “small” are relative terms and only relate to the component area being cleaned, not the cleaning apparatus. In response to applicant's argument that that Lin does not disclose edge-directed cleaning along a defined partial region, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA C GUIDOTTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723
lcg