DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because in the specification, the phrase “a computer storage medium” is mentioned broadly (open-ended) as different types of “memory” and “storage technologies”. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), “a computer storage medium” covers forms of transitory propagating signals per se, and therefore would not be patent-eligible.
It is suggested that the recitation “A computer storage medium” in claim 9 should be changed to --A non-transitory computer readable storage medium--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6-9, 11, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Weisbrod (US 2022/0182830).
As to claim 1, Weisbrod discloses a method performed by a radio node 110 (see at least figure 1D) for determining the presence of a repeater 106 repeating a signal related to positioning (see paragraph [0054] which discloses “Additionally, or alternatively, to determining the location as a location within the threshold distance of the first location, the communication monitoring system 110 may determine the location associated with the wireless communication repeater 106 based on a ratio of the signal strength and the timing advance distance (e.g., identified in the information regarding the wireless communication)”) or synchronization in a wireless communications network 100, the method comprising: obtaining a respective first characteristic for one or more received signals, which first characteristic is any one or more out of: an autocorrelation of a received signal; and a value representative of a radio channel related to a received signal (see paragraph [0044] which discloses “For example, the communication monitoring system 110 may determine the expected parameter (e.g., the expected signal strength, the expected timing advance, the ratio of the expected signal strength and the expected timing advance, among other examples) for the first location based on receiving the wireless communications information”); and determining the presence of the repeater by detecting an anomaly based on the respective first characteristic (see paragraph [0047] which discloses “For example, the communication monitoring system 110 may detect that the wireless communication repeater 106 is relaying the wireless communication of the UE 102 when the signal strength difference does not satisfy the signal strength difference threshold, when the timing advance difference does not satisfy the timing advance difference threshold, when the ratio difference does not satisfy the ratio difference threshold, among other examples”; see also paragraph [0019] which discloses “As described in more detail below, the communication monitoring system 110 may use the information identifying expected signal strengths associated with a location and/or the information identifying expected timing advances associated with the location to detect the presence of an unauthorized wireless communication repeater in the wireless network”).
As to claim 6, Weisbrod discloses that obtaining the respective first characteristic of the one or more received signals comprises any one out of: calculating the respective autocorrelation of the one or more received signals; and estimating, based on the one or more received signals, a respective value representative of a radio channel related to the one or more received signals (see paragraph [0044] which discloses “For example, the communication monitoring system 110 may determine the expected parameter (e.g., the expected signal strength, the expected timing advance, the ratio of the expected signal strength and the expected timing advance, among other examples) for the first location based on receiving the wireless communications information”).
As to claims 7, 17, Weisbrod discloses receiving a signal related to positioning. See paragraph [0054] which discloses “Additionally, or alternatively, to determining the location as a location within the threshold distance of the first location, the communication monitoring system 110 may determine the location associated with the wireless communication repeater 106 based on a ratio of the signal strength and the timing advance distance (e.g., identified in the information regarding the wireless communication)”.
As to claims 8, 18, Weisbrod discloses that the radio node is represented by any one out of: a wireless device; and a network node 110 (see at least figure 1D).
As to claim 9, it is rejected for similar reasons with respect to independent claim 1 as set forth above. Weisbrod further discloses a computer storage medium storing a computer program comprising instructions. See paragraph [0078] which discloses “Device 300 may perform one or more processes described herein. For example, a non-transitory computer-readable medium (e.g., memory 330 and/or storage component 340) may store a set of instructions (e.g., one or more instructions, code, software code, and/or program code) for execution by processor 320”.
As to claim 11, it is rejected for similar reasons with respect to independent claim 1 as set forth above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 12-16, 19-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As to claims 2-3, 19-21, 12-13, the prior art of record fail to disclose determining the presence of the repeater further comprises comparing the first characteristic of at least two of the one or more received signals, which at least two received signals are received at different times, and wherein the anomaly is represented by a second characteristic appearing with the same delay in the respective first characteristic of the at least two received signals.
As to claims 4-5, 14-16, the prior art of record fail to disclose receiving from another radio node, a signal indicating a third characteristic, which third characteristic is related to a radio channel; and wherein determining the presence of the repeater further comprises comparing the respective first characteristic with the third characteristic, and wherein the anomaly is represented by the first characteristic being different from the third characteristic.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
McDowell (US 7,250,903 B1); and Koji (JP2009194566 A) disclose detecting presence of a repeater.
/NGUYEN T VO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646