DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “collection section,” “support section,” “following section,” and “peeling section” in claim 1; “biasing section” in claim 3; “pressing section” in claim 11; “swinging section” in claim 12; “mounting section,” “swinging section,” and “moving section” in claim 14; “mounting section,” and “moving section” in claim 15; “control section” in claim 16; “holding section” in claim 19; and “cleaning section” in claim 20.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 5 recites “multiple pickup pads disposed along…” which appears to contain a typographical error (i.e. “pads are disposed”). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-8, 10-12, 14-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 4,124,436 (hereinafter “Pettis”).
Regarding claim 1 Pettis discloses an end effector mounted on a mounting section (62- see fig. 1) of a peeling/sticking device configured to peel and move a sticker from a sheet (22) to which one or more stickers (20) are sticked, the end effector comprising:
a collection section (70a) configured to abut on a surface of the sticker (20) and collect the sticker (20);
a support section (100) configured to support the collection section (70a) and incline the collection section (70a) with respect to a vertical direction of the sticker (20);
a following section (82a) configured to cause the collection section (70a) to follow the surface of the sticker (20) when the support section (100) is inclined (via pivoting action caused by 82a); and
a peeling section (48) configured to be inserted between the sheet (22) and the sticker (20) to peel an end portion of the sticker (20).
Regarding claim 2 Pettis discloses the above end effector, and further discloses a fixing section (F; see annotated fig. below) configured to fix the support section (100) at an inclined position where the support section (100) is inclined and/or a vertical position along a vertical direction of the end effector (i.e. the support section 100 can be held at either position).
Regarding claim 3 Pettis discloses the above end effector, and further discloses wherein the fixing section (F, above) includes a biasing section (94a) configured to bias the support section (100) toward a side in the vertical direction of the end effector, and a stopper (64) configured to hold the support section (100) at a position along the vertical direction of the end effector.
Regarding claim 7 Pettis discloses the above end effector, and further discloses wherein the peeling section (air jet 48) is disposed on a (bottom) side opposite to an inclination direction (upwards) in which the support section (100) is inclined.
Regarding claim 8 Pettis discloses the above end effector, and further discloses wherein the peeling section (air jet 48) is inserted between the sheet (22) and the sticker (20) in a state where the collection section (70a) abuts on the sticker (20) and the support section (100) is inclined (see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10 Pettis discloses the above end effector, and further discloses wherein the peeling section (48) is inserted between the sheet (22) and the sticker (20) in order from an end portion side toward a center side of the sticker (see rightward travel shown in figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 11 Pettis discloses the above end effector, and further discloses a pressing section (60) configured to press (see figs. 1-2) the sticker (20) after the sticker (20) is sticked to an sticking target (14).
Regarding claim 12 Pettis discloses the above end effector, and further discloses a base portion (58) mounted (at least indirectly) on the mounting section (62- see fig. 1); and a swinging section (38) fixed to the base portion (58) and pivotally supporting the support section (100) to swing the support section (100) with respect to the base portion (58).
Regarding claim 14 Pettis discloses the end effector according to claim 1 (see above), and further discloses a peeling/sticking device (18) configured to move a sticker (20) from a sheet (22) to which one or more stickers (20) are sticked, the peeling/sticking device (18) comprising:
the end effector (as per claim 1 above)[;]
a mounting section (54) configured to mount the end effector (as per claim 1 above);
a swinging section (S, see annotated fig. 1 below) configured to pivotally support a disposition section (88a) on which the mounting section (54) is disposed and swing the disposition section (54); and
a moving section (94a) configured to move the end effector (see claim 1 above) at least on the sheet (22).
Regarding claim 15 Pettis discloses the end effector according to claim 1 (see above), and further discloses a peeling/sticking device (18) configured to move a sticker from a sheet (22) to which one or more stickers (20) are sticked, the peeling/sticking device (18) comprising:
the end effector (see claim 1 above)[;]
a mounting section (62- see fig. 1) configured to mount the end effector (of claim 1); and
a moving section (94a) configured to move the end effector (of claim 1) at least on the sheet (22).
Regarding claim 16 Pettis discloses the above device (see claim 14, above), and further discloses a control section (64) configured to control (prevent overtravel of) the moving section (94a).
Regarding claim 19 Pettis discloses the above device (see claim 14, above), and further discloses a sheet holding section (driven reel 32) configured to fix the sheet (22) on a placement section (40).
Regarding claim 20 Pettis discloses the above device, and further discloses a cleaning section (60) configured to clean the collection section (70a) (i.e. by taking off the sticker, 20).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 9, 13, and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Such references show various forms of apparatus which comprise at least one similar feature to the present application.
/NATHANIEL L ADAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 3654