DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/2/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. See rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramireddy et al (US 2024/0154672 A1) in view of Kim et al (US 2012/0147773 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ramireddy teaches a method, comprising:
transmitting, by a user equipment, channel state information reference signal based channel state information feedback generated according to a configured codebook to a network entity (Ramireddy: Fig. 2; Fig. 4:3; [0009], [0261], UE 202 transmits CSI based on CSI-RS from the eNodeB 200);
wherein the configured codebook comprises at least one of spatial grid-of- beams matrix, frequency domain basis subset matrix, or a matrix of quantized linear combination coefficients (Ramireddy: Fig. 4: 2-3; [0197]-[0199]; [0254]-[0261]; codebook-based CSI reporting; codebook comprising frequency domain basis vectors and/or quantized coefficients);
generating, by the user equipment, precoding matrix indicator feedback according to the configured codebook to a network entity (Ramireddy: Fig. 2; [0009], UE generates PMI);
transmitting, by the user equipment, the precoding matrix indicator feedback to the network entity (Ramireddy: Fig. 2; [0009], UE transmits the PMI to the eNodeB).
Ramireddy does not explicitly disclose that the precoding matrix feedback is a demodulation reference signal based precoding matrix feedback.
Kim teaches demodulation reference signal based precoding matrix feedback (Kim: [105], PMI based on DM-RS).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ramireddy wherein the precoding matrix feedback is a demodulation reference signal based precoding matrix feedback as disclosed by Kim to provide a system for channel state information generation and transmission (Kim: Abstract).
Regarding claim 11, Ramireddy teaches an apparatus (Ramireddy: Fig. 2; UE 202), comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to:
transmit channel state information reference signal based channel state information feedback generated according to a configured codebook to a network entity (Ramireddy: Fig. 2; [0009], UE 202 transmits CSI based on CSI-RS from the eNodeB 200);
wherein the configured codebook comprises at least one of spatial grid-of- beams matrix, frequency domain basis subset matrix, or a matrix of quantized linear combination coefficients (Ramireddy: Fig. 4: 2-3; [0197]-[0199]; [0254]-[0261]; codebook-based CSI reporting; codebook comprising frequency domain basis vectors and/or quantized coefficients);
generate precoding matrix indicator feedback according to the configured codebook to a network entity (Ramireddy: Fig. 2; [0009], UE generates PMI);
transmit the precoding matrix indicator feedback to the network entity (Ramireddy: Fig. 2; [0009], UE transmits the PMI to the eNodeB).
Ramireddy does not explicitly disclose that the precoding matrix feedback is a demodulation reference signal based precoding matrix feedback.
Kim teaches demodulation reference signal based precoding matrix feedback (Kim: [105], PMI based on DM-RS).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ramireddy wherein the precoding matrix feedback is a demodulation reference signal based precoding matrix feedback as disclosed by Kim to provide a system for channel state information generation and transmission (Kim: Abstract).
Regarding claim 17, Ramireddy teaches an apparatus (Ramireddy: Fig. 2; eNodeB 200), comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to:
receive channel state information reference signal based channel state information feedback generated according to a configured codebook from a user equipment (Ramireddy: Fig. 2; [0009], UE 202 transmits CSI based on CSI-RS from the eNodeB 200);
wherein the configured codebook comprises at least one of spatial grid-of- beams matrix, frequency domain basis subset matrix, or a matrix of quantized linear combination coefficients (Ramireddy: Fig. 4: 2-3; [0197]-[0199]; [0254]-[0261]; codebook-based CSI reporting; codebook comprising frequency domain basis vectors and/or quantized coefficients);
generate based upon the channel state information reference signal based channel state information feedback, a downlink precoder and computing at least one demodulation reference signal (Ramireddy: Fig. 2; [0009]).
Ramireddy does not explicitly disclose update the downlink precoder and at least one modulation and coding scheme.
Kim teaches update the downlink precoder and at least one modulation and coding scheme (Kim: [0101; [105], UE recalculates the CSI/PMI).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ramireddy to update the downlink precoder and at least one modulation and coding scheme as disclosed by Kim to provide a system for channel state information generation and transmission (Kim: Abstract).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Ramireddy in view of Kim teaches generating, by the user equipment, at least one demodulation reference signal based channel quality indicator (Kim: [0105], CQI based on DM-RS).
Regarding claim 3 and 13, Ramireddy in view of Kim teaches updating, by the user equipment, at least one of a rank indicator or channel quality indicator (Kim: [0101; [105], UE recalculates/updates the CSI/PMI).
Regarding claim 4 and 14, Ramireddy in view of Kim teaches measuring, by the user equipment, an effective channel of at least one downlink demodulation reference signal channel (Kim: [0120]-[0121], UE measures the channel using DM-RS).
Regarding claim 5 and 15, Ramireddy in view of Kim teaches wherein the configured codebook further comprises a Doppler domain basis subset matrix (Ramireddy: [0110]-[0071]; [0111]; [0246]).
Regarding claim 6 and 16, Ramireddy in view of Kim teaches wherein at least one of a rank indicator and channel quality indicator are updated differentially (Kim: [0101; [105], UE recalculates/updates the CSI/RI, CQI).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Ramireddy in view of Kim teaches transmitting, by the network entity, the demodulation reference signal to the user equipment (Ramireddy: Fig. 2; [0009]).
Regarding claim 10 and 20, Ramireddy in view of Kim teaches receiving, by the network entity, an incremental precoder generated (Kim: [0101; [105], UE recalculates/updates the CSI/PMI).
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramireddy et al (US 2024/0154672 A1) in view of Kim et al (US 2012/0147773 A1) in further view of Tsai et al (US 2011/0110451 A1).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Ramireddy in view of Kim does not explicitly disclose but Tsai teaches wherein the downlink precoder is updated as a function of an older downlink precoder plus a DMRS based feedback (Tsai: [0209]-[0214]).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ramireddy wherein the downlink precoder is updated as a function of an older downlink precoder plus a DMRS based feedback
as disclosed by Kim to provide a system for beamforming (Tsai: Abstract).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KODZOVI ACOLATSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478