DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of the preliminary amendment filed on 01/23/2024.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figure 2 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the title is not descriptive. A new title that would include the inventive features of the claimed invention is respectfully requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schenzinger (Pub. No. US 2017/0077991) (hereafter Schenzinger) in view of Kitano et al. (Pat. No. US 10,320,377) (hereafter Kitano).
Regarding claim 1, Schenzinger teaches a signal processing device including a sensor (i.e., position-measuring device 10) (see Fig. Fig. 2A) and a signal converter for converting a signal detected by the sensor (i.e., converter 20) (see Fig. 2A), the device comprising:
an external cable connection part (i.e., first connector 30) (see Fig. 2A) of the sensor comprising a pair of output signal terminals for solid state pulses and a pair of power supply terminals (i.e., line pair 25) (see Fig. 4),
in such a manner as to form superimposed power supply lines such that a current consumed by the power supply terminals of the sensor is superimposed with a current consumed by a pulse output circuit (i.e., four-to-two-wire converter 20 is suitably adapted to introduce, into the mixed signal, data signals that are to be transmitted from position-measuring device 10 to subsequent electronics 100. The mixed signal is a suitable signal capable of transmitting power supply signals and (bidirectional) data signals via line pair 25. The mixed signal may be, for example, a power supply signal having a data signal modulated thereupon) (see paragraph section [0026]),
wherein the sensor and the signal converter are connected to each other using the superimposed power supply lines (i.e., connection cable 65 having two line pairs) (see paragraph section [0035]), and
wherein the signal converter is configured to extract from a superimposed current wave flowing through the superimposed power supply lines only a signal corresponding to a pulse output (i.e., converter 20 is suitably adapted to extract, from a mixed signal received from subsequent electronics 100 via a single line pair 25, the power supply signals as well as the data signals that are to be transmitted from subsequent electronics 100 to position-measuring device 10, and to feed these signals via the corresponding terminals to position-measuring device 10. Further, four-to-two-wire converter 20 is suitably adapted to introduce, into the mixed signal, data signals that are to be transmitted from position-measuring device 10 to subsequent electronics 100. The mixed signal is a suitable signal capable of transmitting power supply signals and (bidirectional) data signals via line pair 25. The mixed signal may be, for example, a power supply signal having a data signal modulated) (see paragraph section [0026]); but does not explicitly teach that one of the pair of output signal terminals is connected via a certain resistance to a positive side of the power supply terminals, while the other of the pair of signal terminals and a negative side of the power supply terminals are short-circuited to each other.
Regarding the certain resistance and the short circuit, Kitano teaches a pair of output signal terminals for solid state pulses (i.e., terminals (+) 12 and (-) 13) (see Fig. 5) and a pair of power supply terminals (i.e., terminals 4 and 3) (see Fig. 5),
wherein one of the pair of output signal terminals is connected via a certain resistance (i.e., thermistor 9) (see Fig. 5) to a positive side of the power supply terminals (i.e., power supply terminal (+) 12 is connected to the signal terminal 4) (see Fig. 5),
while the other of the pair of signal terminals and a negative side of the power supply terminals are short-circuited to each other (i.e., emitter terminal of transistor 14 is connected to negative power supply terminal 3, which in turn is connected to power supply terminal (-) 13) (see Fig. 5) in such a manner as to form superimposed power supply lines such that a current consumed by the power supply terminals of the sensor is superimposed with a current consumed by a pulse output circuit (i.e., the measured instant signal is transmitted outside by changing the draw-in amount of a consumption current within a range of from 4 mA to 20 mA, and the signal is used in, for example, an F/I converter (not shown) and an integrator (not shown)) (see Column 4, line 62, to Column 5, line 21). In view of the teaching of Kitano, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the certain resistance and the short-circuit in order to protect the device from damage when a sensor having more than 2 wires is coupled.
Regarding claim 2, Schenzinger teaches that the signal converter comprises a certain current detecting resistance (i.e., termination resistors) (see paragraph section [0056]) and a frequency filter (i.e., high-pass filters 24, 54 and low-pass filters 22, 52 in four-to-two-wire converter 20 and two-to-four wire converter 50) (see Fig. 4) or a comparator, or both the frequency filter and the comparator, and is configured to extract from a superimposed current wave flowing through the superimposed power supply lines only a signal corresponding to a pulse output (i.e., converter 20 is suitably adapted to extract, from a mixed signal received from subsequent electronics 100 via a single line pair 25, the power supply signals as well as the data signals that are to be transmitted from subsequent electronics 100 to position-measuring device 10, and to feed these signals via the corresponding terminals to position-measuring device 10. Further, four-to-two-wire converter 20 is suitably adapted to introduce, into the mixed signal, data signals that are to be transmitted from position-measuring device 10 to subsequent electronics 100. The mixed signal is a suitable signal capable of transmitting power supply signals and (bidirectional) data signals via line pair 25. The mixed signal may be, for example, a power supply signal having a data signal modulated) (see paragraph section [0026]).
Regarding claim 3, Schenzinger teaches a pulse signal extracting filter configured to extract from the superimposed current waveform only a pulse signal using the current detecting resistance, the frequency filter (i.e., high-pass filters 24, 54 and low-pass filters 22, 52 in four-to-two-wire converter 20 and two-to-four wire converter 50) (see Fig. 4) or the comparator, or both the frequency filter and the comparator.
Regarding claim 4, Schenzinger as modified by Kitano as disclosed above does not directly or implicitly teach a frequency/current converter configured to extract a pulse signal obtained by the pulse signal extracting filter to a certain current signal. However, Kitano teaches a frequency/current converter configured to extract a pulse signal obtained by the pulse signal extracting filter to a certain current signal (i.e., the measured instant signal is transmitted outside by changing the draw-in amount of a consumption current within a range of from 4 mA to 20 mA, and the signal is used in, for example, an F/I converter (not shown) and an integrator (not shown)) (see Column 4, line 62, to Column 5, line 21). In view of the teaching of Kitano, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the calculation unit in order to control the level of an instant signal value.
Regarding claim 5, Schenzinger as modified by Kitano as disclosed above does not directly or implicitly teach that the sensor is a three-wire type or four-wire type flow meter. However, Kitano teaches that the sensor is a three-wire type or four-wire type flow meter (i.e., A flowmeter, comprising: a positive power supply terminal; a negative power supply terminal; a signal terminal) (see Column 6, lines 64-67). In view of the teaching of Kitano, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used any three-wire type or four-wire type sensor to achieve the same results.
Regarding claim 8, Schenzinger as modified by Kitano as disclosed above does not directly or implicitly teach a frequency/current converter configured to extract a pulse signal obtained by the pulse signal extracting filter to a certain current signal. However, Kitano teaches a frequency/current converter configured to extract a pulse signal obtained by the pulse signal extracting filter to a certain current signal (i.e., the measured instant signal is transmitted outside by changing the draw-in amount of a consumption current within a range of from 4 mA to 20 mA, and the signal is used in, for example, an F/I converter (not shown) and an integrator (not shown)) (see Column 4, line 62, to Column 5, line 21). In view of the teaching of Kitano, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the calculation unit in order to control the level of an instant signal value.
Regarding claim 9, Schenzinger as modified by Kitano as disclosed above does not directly or implicitly teach that the sensor is a three-wire type or four-wire type flow meter. However, Kitano teaches that the sensor is a three-wire type or four-wire type flow meter (i.e., A flowmeter, comprising: a positive power supply terminal; a negative power supply terminal; a signal terminal) (see Column 6, lines 64-67). In view of the teaching of Kitano, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used any three-wire type or four-wire type sensor to achieve the same results.
Regarding claim 10, Schenzinger as modified by Kitano as disclosed above does not directly or implicitly teach that the sensor is a three-wire type or four-wire type flow meter. However, Kitano teaches that the sensor is a three-wire type or four-wire type flow meter (i.e., A flowmeter, comprising: a positive power supply terminal; a negative power supply terminal; a signal terminal) (see Column 6, lines 64-67). In view of the teaching of Kitano, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used any three-wire type or four-wire type sensor to achieve the same results.
Regarding claim 11, Schenzinger as modified by Kitano as disclosed above does not directly or implicitly teach that the sensor is a three-wire type or four-wire type flow meter. However, Kitano teaches that the sensor is a three-wire type or four-wire type flow meter (i.e., A flowmeter, comprising: a positive power supply terminal; a negative power supply terminal; a signal terminal) (see Column 6, lines 64-67). In view of the teaching of Kitano, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used any three-wire type or four-wire type sensor to achieve the same results.
Claims 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schenzinger (Pub. No. US 2017/0077991) (hereafter Schenzinger) in view of Kitano et al. (Pat. No. US 10,320,377) (hereafter Kitano) and in further view of Kameyama et al (Pat. No. US 8,970,124) (hereafter Kameyama)
Regarding claim 6, Schenzinger as modified by Kitano as disclosed above does not directly or implicitly teach that, on the basis of a number of pulses and frequency information of a pulse signal obtained by the pulse signal extracting filter, a volume and a flow rate are calculated, and a display provided in advance indicates a volume and a flow rate or an abnormality alarm depending upon a volume/flow rate state. However, Kameyama teaches that, on the basis of a number of pulses and frequency information of a pulse signal obtained by the pulse signal extracting filter, a volume and a flow rate are calculated (i.e., a flow rate pulse output signal, which is an output regarding the flow rate measured by the Coriolis flowmeter 1, is output to the distributed control system (DCS) computer 10, the batch counter 11, the integrator 12) (see Column 13, lines 37-40), and a display (i.e., display) (see Fig. 3) provided in advance indicates a volume and a flow rate (i.e., display modes, which are to be selectively displayed on the data display screen 26, include an instantaneous mass flow rate, an instantaneous volume flow rate, a density, a temperature, an integrated value (mass or volume), maintenance information display, status information display, and mode selection (parameter setting)) (see Column 14, lines 48-62). In view of the teaching of Kameyama, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a display in order to present important data and information to the user.
Regarding claim 12, Schenzinger as modified by Kitano as disclosed above does not directly or implicitly teach that, on the basis of a number of pulses and frequency information of a pulse signal obtained by the pulse signal extracting filter, a volume and a flow rate are calculated, and a display provided in advance indicates a volume and a flow rate or an abnormality alarm depending upon a volume/flow rate state. However, Kameyama teaches that, on the basis of a number of pulses and frequency information of a pulse signal obtained by the pulse signal extracting filter, a volume and a flow rate are calculated (i.e., a flow rate pulse output signal, which is an output regarding the flow rate measured by the Coriolis flowmeter 1, is output to the distributed control system (DCS) computer 10, the batch counter 11, the integrator 12) (see Column 13, lines 37-40), and a display (i.e., display) (see Fig. 3), and a display (i.e., display) (see Fig. 3) provided in advance indicates a volume and a flow rate (i.e., display modes, which are to be selectively displayed on the data display screen 26, include an instantaneous mass flow rate, an instantaneous volume flow rate, a density, a temperature, an integrated value (mass or volume), maintenance information display, status information display, and mode selection (parameter setting)) (see Column 14, lines 48-62). In view of the teaching of Kameyama, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a display in order to present important data and information to the user.
Claims 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schenzinger (Pub. No. US 2017/0077991) (hereafter Schenzinger) in view of Kitano et al. (Pat. No. US 10,320,377) (hereafter Kitano) and in further view of Veil et al. (Pat. No. US 11,592,467) (hereafter Veil)
Regarding claim 7, Schenzinger as modified by Kitano as disclosed above does not directly or implicitly teach that an alarm output is transmitted when a frequency of a pulse signal obtained by the pulse signal extracting filter exceeds or falls below a predetermined frequency threshold. However, Veil teaches that an alarm output is transmitted (i.e., If the deviation exceeds a predetermined or predeterminable limit value that indicates a fault of the current-measuring apparatuses 20a, 20b, then the testing apparatus 30 can make a corresponding error signal available to the evaluation and control unit 4) (see Column 10, lines 30-44) when a frequency of a pulse signal obtained by the pulse signal extracting filter exceeds or falls below a predetermined frequency threshold (i.e., If input signals are detected that are outside the actual working range between 4 mA and 20 mA, then the input signals are rated as faults) (see Column 6, line 57, to Column 7, line 3). In view of the teaching Veil, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have generated a signal when a fault is detected in order to further protect the device from damage and to perform maintenance if necessary.
Regarding claim 13, Schenzinger as modified by Kitano as disclosed above does not directly or implicitly teach that an alarm output is transmitted when a frequency of a pulse signal obtained by the pulse signal extracting filter exceeds or falls below a predetermined frequency threshold. However, Veil teaches that an alarm output is transmitted (i.e., If the deviation exceeds a predetermined or predeterminable limit value that indicates a fault of the current-measuring apparatuses 20a, 20b, then the testing apparatus 30 can make a corresponding error signal available to the evaluation and control unit 4) (see Column 10, lines 30-44) when a frequency of a pulse signal obtained by the pulse signal extracting filter exceeds or falls below a predetermined frequency threshold (i.e., If input signals are detected that are outside the actual working range between 4 mA and 20 mA, then the input signals are rated as faults) (see Column 6, line 57, to Column 7, line 3). In view of the teaching Veil, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have generated a signal when a fault is detected in order to further protect the device from damage and to perform maintenance if necessary.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see PTO-892.
/Tran M. Tran/Examiner, Art Unit 2855