DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3 and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). Claim 1, for instance, recites the broad recitation “A legume composition...”, and the claim also recites “…preferably [emphasis added] containing more than 90% by weight…” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. Analysis of the other instances of “preferably” and “preferentially” clauses in the remaining claims is similar.
The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claims 2 and 4 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2 and 4 depend, or ultimately depend, upon an indefinite claim yet do not relieve the indefiniteness. Dependent claims 2 and 4 are also, therefore, indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by WO 2020/239619 A1, cited in the IDS.
The reference teaches a therapeutic composition (i.e. a pharmaceutical composition) comprising a soluble fiber such as inulin (a plant polysaccharide) and pea, or pulse, protein for the treatment of, for instance, sarcopenia i.e. the age-related loss of skeletal muscle in humans (abstract; page 6, line 10; page 19, line 20; page 20, lines 6 and 22). The pulse may be faba beans (page 20, line 14). The legume protein is preferably non-hydrolyzed with a degree of hydrolysis of 5% or lower, preferably 4%, 3%, 2%, or 1% or lower (page 22, line 9, line 16). That is, the reference teaches a legume protein composition, the degree of hydrolysis of which is less than 10%, for use in the prevention and/or treatment of a disease susceptible to treatment by activation of the synthesis of FGF19 in a subject wherein said disease is sarcopenia.
The examiner notes, with respect to independent claim 7, that the preamble of the claim “…capable of overexpressing the synthesis of FGF19…” can be given no patentable weight because claim language that merely states a problem to be solved or a result obtained, without setting forth well-defined boundaries of the claimed scope (i.e. by not specifying any way to achieve the desired results), is unclear. Typically no patentable distinction (no limit on the claim scope) is made by a recitation of an intended use or result unless some structural difference is imposed by the use or result on the structure or material recited in the claim, or some manipulative difference is imposed by the use or result on the action recited in the claim. Note the discussion at MPEP 2173.05(g). That being the case, claim 7 distills simply to a claim to a pharmaceutical composition comprising legume proteins the degree of hydrolysis of which is less than 10% (since the remaining limitations recited in the claim are merely optional or preferable limitations).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020/239619 A1, cited in the IDS.
Inventor teaches a legume protein composition, the degree of hydrolysis of which is between 6-8%, for use in the prevention and/or treatment of a disease susceptible to treatment by activation of the synthesis of FGF19 in a subject where said disease is sarcopenia.
WO 2020/239619 A1 has been outlined above (102 rejection).
Inventor principally distinguishes over the cited art in that the degree of hydrolysis is just above the preferred range of the cited art. Note, however, that it is well established that consideration of a reference is not limited to the preferred embodiments or working examples, but extends to the entire disclosure for what it fairly teaches to a person of ordinary skill in the art. (Note the discussion at MPEP 2141.02, VI.) One of ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the instant invention, would have found it obvious, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to optimize a results-effective variable, such as the degree of legume protein hydrolysis. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so in order to optimize desirable characteristics of the composition in the near vicinity of the preferred degree of legume protein hydrolysis range of the cited art.
Allowable Subject Matter
The subject matter of claims 6 and 9 would be allowable once the rejections outlined above have been overcome. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The key to the instant invention is the combination of the legume composition with a FXR agonist. The closest representative prior art appears to be WO 2020/239619 cited and outlined above. The reference does not teach, show, suggest or make obvious the instant legume protein composition and FXR agonist combination.
Conclusion
/BRIAN J DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614 8/11/2026