DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims and Other Notes
Claims 1–12 are pending.
The paragraph numbers cited in this Office Action in reference to the instant application are referring to the paragraph numbering of the PG-Pub of the instant application. See US 2025/0096302 A1.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 17 July 2026 was filed after the mailing date of the non-final Office Action on 12 June 2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 18 September 2026 was filed after the mailing date of the non-final Office Action on 12 June 2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 14 September 2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Applicants' amendments have overcome the objections to the drawings.
Specification
Applicants' amendments have overcome the objections to the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, and 8–12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (CN 103730691 A, hereinafter Chen).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a battery cell pressing jig (FIG. 1, [0032]) for assembling a battery cell (11, [0032]), the battery cell pressing jig comprising:
a lower plate (115) having an upper surface is provided with a first pressing member (117) for seating and arranging a plurality of battery cells (11) thereon (FIG. 1, [0032]);
an upper plate (118) above the lower plate (115) and having a lower surface provided with a second pressing member (14) thereon (FIG. 1, [0033]);
a pressing part (12) configured to press the upper plate (118) and the lower plate (115) toward the plurality of battery cells (11, [0033]); and
a plurality of sensing members (142) coupled onto the upper plate (118) to be electrically connected to the plurality of battery cells (11, [0005]).
Regarding claim 3, Chen discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell pressing jig:
wherein a plurality of first seating grooves (143), in which a lower outer periphery of each of the plurality of battery cells (11) are seated, are formed in an upper surface of the first pressing member (118, [0035]), and
wherein a plurality of second seating grooves (112), in which an upper outer periphery of each of the plurality of battery cells (11) are seated, are formed in a lower surface of the second pressing member (115, [0033]).
Regarding claim 5, Chen discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell pressing jig:
wherein a plurality of sensing holes (FIG. 4, [0040]) in which the plurality of sensing members (310) are inserted and installed pass through the upper plate (101, [0050]).
Regarding claim 6, Chen discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell pressure jig:
wherein each of the plurality of sensing members (142) is disposed in a vertical direction corresponding to a position of an electrode terminal (111) of a corresponding one of the plurality of battery cells (11) seated on the first pressing member (115) and the second pressing member (118, [0041]).
Regarding claim 8, Chen discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses further discloses a battery cell pressing jig:
wherein each of the plurality of sensing members (142) is a measurement pin (142) including a tip made of a conductive material to be electrically connected to an electrode terminal (111) of a corresponding one of the plurality of battery cells (11, [0039]).
Regarding claim 9, Chen discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell pressing jig, further comprising:
a measurement device configured to measure a current or voltage of a battery cell (11) of the plurality of battery cells (11) electrically connected to a sensing member (142) of the plurality of sensing members (142, [0005]).
Regarding claim 10, Chen discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell pressing jig, further comprising:
a charge/discharge device configured to charge or discharge a battery cell (11) of the plurality of battery cells (11) electrically connected through a sensing member (142) of the plurality of sensing members (142, [0004]).
Regarding claim 11, Chen discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell pressing jig:
wherein each of the first pressing member (115) and the second pressing member (118) has a plurality of projections (117) around a plurality of seating grooves (FIG. 1, [0033]).
Regarding claim 12, Chen discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell pressing jig:
wherein each of the plurality of projections (117) has four flat side surfaces (FIG. 1, [0033]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 103730691 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Narbonne et al. (US 2012/0003508 A1, hereinafter Narbonne).
Regarding claim 2, Park discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose a battery cell pressing jig:
wherein the plurality of battery cells are cylindrical battery cells.
It is well known in the art that the batteries can have a variety of shapes or configurations, including cylindrical (as evidenced by Narbonne, [0064]). The change in configuration or shape of a device is obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the battery of Chen to include a variety of cylindrical shapes, as taught by Narbonne. An ordinary skilled artisan at the time of the invention would have been motivated to do the foregoing in order to optimize the space usage.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 103730691 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hsu et al. (US 2019/0067759 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Chen discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose a battery cell pressing jig:
wherein each of the plurality of sensing members is a pogo pin having a conductive tip electrically connected to an electrode terminal of a corresponding one of the plurality of battery cells and is movable upwardly and downwardly by an embedded elastic member.
Hsu discloses a sensing member (30) that is a pogo pin (30) having a conductive tip (30) electrically connected to an electrode terminal of a battery cell (2) and is movable upwardly and downwardly by an embedded elastic member (30, [0019]) to enhance the compatibility of the battery cell pressing jig (FIG. 4, [0026]). Chen and Hsu are analogous because they are directed to battery cells. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the sensing member of Chen with the pogo pin of Hsu in order to improve the safety of the battery cell.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The cited references, alone or in combination, do not disclose, teach, or suggest the following distinguishing feature:
A battery cell pressing jig comprising a first and second pressing members made of foam.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen (CN 202930492 U) discloses a battery cell pressing jig (FIG. 1, [0037]) for assembling a battery cell (11, [0037]), the battery cell pressing jig comprising a lower plate (115) having an upper surface is provided with a first pressing member (117) for seating and arranging a plurality of battery cells (11) thereon (FIG. 1, [0037]); an upper plate (118) above the lower plate (115) and having a lower surface provided with a second pressing member (14) thereon (FIG. 1, [0038]); a pressing part (12) configured to press the upper plate (118) and the lower plate (115) toward the plurality of battery cells (11, [0038]); and a plurality of sensing members (142) coupled onto the upper plate (118) to be electrically connected to the plurality of battery cells (11, [0007]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725