DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “one passive dispersive element” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16, 17, 21, 22, 25, & 28-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by PANDEY US 20180059552.
With respect to claim 16, Pandey teaches a metrology device comprising:
an illumination branch (fig 3, 11-14) operable to propagate measurement radiation to a sample (fig 3, W);
a detection branch (fig 3, 18-19) operable to propagate one or more components (fig 3, +1 & -1) of scattered radiation, scattered from the sample as a result of illumination of the sample by the measurement radiation; and
a dispersive arrangement (fig 3c, 24) in either of the illumination branch or the detection branch (fig 3, W), wherein the dispersive arrangement is arranged to maintain the one or more components of the scattered radiation at
substantially a same respective location “on first sensor” in a detection pupil plane “forms a diffraction spectrum (pupil plane image)” (0044, lines 3-5) over a range of wavelength values for the measurement radiation “normalizing intensity measurements” (0044, lines 10-11).
With respect to claim 17 according to claim 16, Pandey teaches the metrology device wherein the dispersive arrangement comprises at least one passive dispersive element (fig 3a, objective lens).
With respect to claim 21 according to claim 16, Pandey teaches the metrology device wherein the one or more components of the scattered radiation comprise at least a pair of complementary diffraction orders (fig 3, +1 & -1) (0042, lines 4-7) of the scattered radiation.
With respect to claim 22 according to claim 16, Pandey teaches the metrology device wherein the one or more components of the scattered radiation comprise at least two pairs of complementary diffraction orders “2nd, 3rd and higher order beams…addition to the first order beams” (0047, lines 5-8) of the scattered radiation.
With respect to claim 25 according to claim 16, Pandey teaches the metrology device wherein:
the dispersive arrangement (fig 3c, 24) comprises at least one diffractive optical element (fig 3c, 25a-d) operable to generate at least one illumination diffraction order (fig 3, +1 & -1), and
the metrology device is operable to use the at least one illumination diffraction order as the measurement radiation “normalizing intensity measurements” (0044, lines 10-11).
With respect to claim 28 according to claim 16, Pandey teaches the metrology device wherein the dispersive arrangement comprises at least one non-diffractive dispersive element, the non-diffractive dispersive arrangement comprising one or more prism (fig 13, 15 & 17) “beam splitter” (0043, lines 1-2).
With respect to claim 29 according to claim 16, Pandey teaches the metrology device wherein the dispersive arrangement further comprises:
an optical element operable (fig 3, objective) to translate any change in beam angle imposed by the diffractive optical element or non-diffractive optical element to a displacement in an illumination pupil plane or the detection pupil plane.
With respect to claim 30, Pandey teaches a method comprising:
propagating measurement radiation (fig 3, 11-14) to a sample (fig 3, W);
capturing one or more components of scattered radiation (fig 3, +1 & -1), scattered from the sample as a result of illumination of the sample by the measurement radiation; and
dispersing (fig 3c, 24) the measurement radiation or the scattered radiation so as to maintain the one or more components (fig 3, +1 & -1) of the scattered radiation at substantially a same respective location “on first sensor” in a detection pupil plane over a range of wavelength values “forms a diffraction spectrum (pupil plane image)” (0044, lines 3-5) for the measurement radiation “normalizing intensity measurements” (0044, lines 10-11).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-20, 23, 24, 26, & 27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims or to include the limitation(s) and any intervening claims into the base claim. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 18, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious “a fixed detection aperture stop; wherein the dispersive arrangement is arranged such that the one or more components of the scattered radiation are maintained within at least one detection region defined by the fixed detection aperture stop”, in combination with the rest of the limitations of claim 18.
As to claim 24, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious “
and the dispersive arrangement is arranged to receive the input radiation and generate at least one beam of the measurement radiation at a location in the illumination pupil plane which varies with the wavelength, such that the one or more components of the scattered radiation are maintained at substantially a same respective location in the detection pupil plane”, in combination with the rest of the limitations of claim 24.
As to claim 26, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious “the diffractive optical element comprises an adjustable pitch modulation element, wherein the adjustable pitch modulation element comprises an acousto-optical modulator, an electro-optical modulator or a spatial light modulator”, in combination with the rest of the limitations of claim 26.
As to claim 27, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious “the diffractive optical element is operable to generate two complementary illumination diffraction orders; and the metrology device is operable to use each of the two complementary illumination diffraction orders as a respective beam of measurement radiation of a pair of beams of measurement radiation for simultaneous measurement of the sample from two different directions”, in combination with the rest of the limitations of claim 27.
As to claim 30, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious “the diffractive optical element comprises an adjustable pitch modulation element, wherein the adjustable pitch modulation element comprises an acousto-optical modulator, an electro-optical modulator or a spatial light modulator”, in combination with the rest of the limitations of claim 30.
Conclusion
/MAURICE C SMITH/Examiner, Art Unit 2877