Priority
Provisional application 63/225,660 filing date is 07/26/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/24/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s arguments in traversal of restriction filed 4/6/2024, have been fully considered and are persuasive. The restriction requirement has been withdrawn and all claims are examined herein on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1,3-11,13,16,18,24-26,28-32,34,36 and 39-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Independent claims 1, 25, 26 and 40 recite “wherein the area indication . . . does not include coordinates and/or shapes that define a geographical area.” This negative limitation encompasses transmitting a large number of area indicators such as zip codes, geo-hashes, street addresses, states, etc. none of which are positively recited in the written specification. Thus this claim limitation encompasses subject matter which is lacking and not disclosed in a manner to be possessed by the inventors.
Dependent claims 3-11,13,16,18,24,28-32,34,36,39, and 41-42 are rejected for the same reasons.
Dependent Claims 4 and 29 are additionally rejected due to the language “the area indication is smaller than a geographical area configuration defined by a set of coordinates and/or shapes,” which raises a similar issue is it covers a wide variety of undisclosed area indication types that could be smaller than coordinates i.e. zip codes, area codes, name or abbreviation for a state, etc.
Claims 4 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4 and 29 recite “the area indication is smaller than a geographical area configuration defined by a set of coordinates and/or shapes” which is indefinite because “a geographical area configuration defined by a set of coordinates and/or shapes” is not a fixed quantity and the size of which may vary greatly i.e. the size of a 1x1 tile versus a complicated shape. In any event the quantity is undefined and thus the claims are indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 26, 29, 31-32, 34, and 40-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 9961524 B2 Suh; Kyung Joo et al.
Claims 26 and 40. Suh teaches A network node and method performed by a network node (Figs. 3-6 Node B and other network components i.e. RNC, CBC, CBE), the method comprising:
transmitting a public warning system (PWS) message (Col. 9 Lines 46-61, “the eNB, broadcasts a warning message distribution message including the digital signature, key index, and digital signature algorithm or digital signature algorithm index at step 479.”); and
transmitting an area indication that identifies an area to which a PWS message is applicable and does not include coordinates and/or shapes that define a geographical area to which the PWS message is applicable (Col. 8 L22-33 “The CBC stores the public key, key index, Identifier (ID) of CBE transmitting the warning message to the CBC, disaster warning message broadcast area, electronic signature algorithm, and area level at step 417. Here, the area level may correspond to cell level, TA level, or PLMN level. In an embodiment, the public key may be configured differently depending on the area, public key value, and related CBE”; Claim 1 “wherein each of the at least one pair of a public key and a first key index corresponds to a combination of an area where a warning message is transmitted, an area level for the warning message and a transmitter of the warning message”).
Claim 29. Suh teaches The method of claim 26, wherein the area indication is smaller than a geographical area configuration defined by a set of coordinates and/or shapes (Col. 8 L22-33 “The CBC stores the public key, key index, Identifier (ID) of CBE transmitting the warning message to the CBC, disaster warning message broadcast area, electronic signature algorithm, and area level at step 417. Here, the area level may correspond to cell level, TA level, or PLMN level. In an embodiment, the public key may be configured differently depending on the area, public key value, and related CBE”; Claim 1 “wherein each of the at least one pair of a public key and a first key index corresponds to a combination of an area where a warning message is transmitted, an area level for the warning message and a transmitter of the warning message. . . wherein the area level for the warning message is a cell level, a tracking area level, or a public land mobile network (PLMN) level”).
Claim 31. Suh teaches The method of claim 26, wherein the area indication includes a network indication that identifies a network or a part of a network to which the PWS message is applicable (Col. 8 L22-33 “. . .Here, the area level may correspond to cell level, TA level, or PLMN level. In an embodiment, the public key may be configured differently depending on the area, public key value, and related CBE”; Claim 1 “ wherein the area level for the warning message is a cell level, a tracking area level, or a public land mobile network (PLMN) level”).
Claim 32. Suh teaches The method of claim 31, wherein the network indication identifies one or more public land mobile networks (PLMNs) to which the PWS message is applicable (Claim 1 “an area where a warning message is transmitted. . . the area level . . . a public land mobile network (PLMN) level”).
Claim 34. Suh teaches The method of claim 31, wherein the network indication includes one or more of:
a set of one or more cell identifiers (IDs) that identify one or more cells to which the PWS message is applicable, a set of one or more physical cell IDs (PCIs) that identify one or more physical cells to which the PWS message is applicable, and a set of one or more identifiers to identify one or more tracking areas to which the PWS message is applicable (Col. 8 L22-33 “. . .Here, the area level may correspond to cell level, TA level, or PLMN level. In an embodiment, the public key may be configured differently depending on the area, public key value, and related CBE”; Claim 1 “ wherein the area level for the warning message is a cell level, a tracking area level, or a public land mobile network (PLMN) level”).
Claim 41. Suh teaches The network node of claim 40, comprising: processing circuitry; and a memory containing instructions executable by said processing circuitry, whereby said network node is operative to transmit the PWS message and the area indication (Figs. 3-6 Node B and other network components i.e. RNC, CBC, CBE implied include memory and processing circuitry).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, 13, 16, 18, 25, 36, 39, and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9961524 B2 Suh; Kyung Joo et al. in view of EP 3852452 A1 LEI XIANTIAO et al.
Claims 1, 25, and 42. Suh teaches A user equipment comprising processing circuitry; and a memory (See suh Fig. 3-5 ‘UE’) and method performed by a user equipment (UE) (Figs. 3-5), the method comprising:
receiving an area indication transmitted by a network node (Col. 9 Lines 46-61, “the eNB, broadcasts a warning message distribution message including the digital signature, key index, and digital signature algorithm or digital signature algorithm index at step 479.”), wherein the area indication identifies an area to which a public warning system (PWS) message is applicable and does not include coordinates and/or shapes that define a geographical area to which the PWS message is applicable (Col. 8 L22-33 “The CBC stores the public key, key index, Identifier (ID) of CBE transmitting the warning message to the CBC, disaster warning message broadcast area, electronic signature algorithm, and area level at step 417. Here, the area level may correspond to cell level, TA level, or PLMN level. In an embodiment, the public key may be configured differently depending on the area, public key value, and related CBE”; Claim 1 “wherein each of the at least one pair of a public key and a first key index corresponds to a combination of an area where a warning message is transmitted, an area level for the warning message and a transmitter of the warning message”);
Suh does not teach determining whether the UE is in the area to which the PWS message is applicable.
Lei teaches determining whether the UE is in the area to which the PWS message is applicable (Lei Pg. 4 “S102. When the terminal apparatus is not in a first area indicated by the first area information, the terminal apparatus does not indicate, to a user, notification content indicated by the first notification information. . .. S103. When the terminal apparatus is moved to the first area within a preset time period, the terminal apparatus indicates, to the user, the notification content indicated by the first notification information.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the invention of Suh to include the noted teachings of Lei in order to provide a notification information presentation system (Lei pg. 1 “technical field”).
Claims 3 and 28. The combination teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the PWS message is an Earthquake and Tsunami Warning System (ETWS) message or a Commercial Mobile Alert System (CMAS) message (Lei Pg. 6 “UE can use "warning type" values, "earthquake", "tsunami", or "earthquake and tsunami" immediately to alert the user.).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the invention of Suh to include the noted teachings of Lei in order to provide a notification information presentation system (Lei pg. 1 “technical field”).
Claim 4. The method of claim 1, The combination teaches wherein the area indication is smaller than a geographical area configuration defined by a set of coordinates and/or shapes (Suh Col. 8 L22-33 disclosed public key and key index may be smaller than undefined “coordinates and/or shapes” entity that may be of any arbitrary size and also claim language is indefinite see 112(b) rejection).
Claim 6. The combination teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the area indication includes a network indication that identifies a network or a part of a network to which the PWS message is applicable (Suh Col. 8 L22-33 “. . .Here, the area level may correspond to cell level, TA level, or PLMN level. In an embodiment, the public key may be configured differently depending on the area, public key value, and related CBE”; Claim 1 “ wherein the area level for the warning message is a cell level, a tracking area level, or a public land mobile network (PLMN) level”), and determining whether the UE is in the area to which the PWS message is applicable comprises determining whether the UE is in the network or the part of the network to which the PWS message is applicable (Lei pg. 6 “If the warning area coordinates are present and the UE determines it is inside the warning area coordinates, the UE indicates content of the "warning information" to the user.” Note: though Lei uses the term “coordinates” it does not define or limit it to be geographical coordinates, and suggests that “warning area coordinates” could be the same as “warning area” as defined “The warning area shall be a list of cell IDs, a list of TAIs, or one or more emergency area IDs.” On page 5).
Claim 7. The combination teaches The method of claim 6, wherein the network indication identifies one or more public land mobile networks (PLMNs) to which the PWS message is applicable (Suh Col. 8 L22-33 “. . .Here, the area level may correspond to cell level, TA level, or PLMN level. In an embodiment, the public key may be configured differently depending on the area, public key value, and related CBE”; Claim 1 “ wherein the area level for the warning message is a cell level, a tracking area level, or a public land mobile network (PLMN) level”), and determining whether the UE is in the area to which the PWS message is applicable comprises determining whether the UE is in the one or more PLMNs to which the PWS message is applicable.
Claim 8. The combination teaches The method of claim 6, wherein the network indication identifies one or more tracking areas (Suh Col. 8 L22-33 “. . .Here, the area level may correspond to cell level, TA level, or PLMN level. In an embodiment, the public key may be configured differently depending on the area, public key value, and related CBE”; Claim 1 “ wherein the area level for the warning message is a cell level, a tracking area level, or a public land mobile network (PLMN) level”), and determining whether the UE is in the area to which the PWS message is applicable comprises determining whether the UE is in the one or more tracking areas to which the PWS message is applicable (Lei pg. 6 “If the warning area coordinates are present and the UE determines it is inside the warning area coordinates, the UE indicates content of the "warning information" to the user.” Note: though Lei uses the term “coordinates” it does not define or limit it to be geographical coordinates, and suggests that “warning area coordinates” could be the same as “warning area” as defined “The warning area shall be a list of cell IDs, a list of TAIs, or one or more emergency area IDs.” On page 5)..
Claim 9. The Combination teaches The method of claim 6, wherein the network indication includes a set of one or more cell identifiers (IDs) that identify one or more cells to which the PWS message is applicable (Suh Col. 8 L22-33 “. . .Here, the area level may correspond to cell level, TA level, or PLMN level. In an embodiment, the public key may be configured differently depending on the area, public key value, and related CBE”; Claim 1 “ wherein the area level for the warning message is a cell level, a tracking area level, or a public land mobile network (PLMN) level”), and determining whether the UE is in the area to which the PWS message is applicable comprises determining whether the UE is in one of the one or more cells to which the PWS message is applicable (Lei pg. 6 “If the warning area coordinates are present and the UE determines it is inside the warning area coordinates, the UE indicates content of the "warning information" to the user.” Note: though Lei uses the term “coordinates” it does not define or limit it to be geographical coordinates, and suggests that “warning area coordinates” could be the same as “warning area” as defined “The warning area shall be a list of cell IDs, a list of TAIs, or one or more emergency area IDs.” On page 5)..
Claim 10. The combination teaches The method of claim 6, wherein the network indication includes a set of one or more physical cell IDs (PCIs) that identify one or more physical cells to which the PWS message is applicable (Suh Col. 8 L22-33 “. . .Here, the area level may correspond to cell level, TA level, or PLMN level. In an embodiment, the public key may be configured differently depending on the area, public key value, and related CBE”; Claim 1 “ wherein the area level for the warning message is a cell level, a tracking area level, or a public land mobile network (PLMN) level”) (See also Lei pg. 5 “The warning area shall be a list of cell IDs, a list of TAIs, or one or more emergency area IDs. The eNodeB is configured with the TAIs and cell IDs it serves, and the emergency area IDs it belongs to”, and determining whether the UE is in the area to which the PWS message is applicable comprises determining whether the UE is in one of the one or more physical cells to which the PWS message is applicable (Lei pg. 6 “If the warning area coordinates are present and the UE determines it is inside the warning area coordinates, the UE indicates content of the "warning information" to the user.” Note: though Lei uses the term “coordinates” it does not define or limit it to be geographical coordinates, and suggests that “warning area coordinates” could be the same as “warning area” as defined “The warning area shall be a list of cell IDs, a list of TAIs, or one or more emergency area IDs.” On page 5).
Claim 11. The combination teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising, if the UE is determined to be in the area to which the PWS message is applicable, displaying the PWS message (Lei Pg. 4 “S103. When the terminal apparatus is moved to the first area within a preset time period, the terminal apparatus indicates, to the user, the notification content indicated by the first notification information.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the invention of Suh to include the noted teachings of Lei in order to provide a notification information presentation system (Lei pg. 1 “technical field”).
Claim 13. The combination teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the area indication is received in a system information block (SIB) of a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message (Lei pg. 4 “The terminal apparatus receives the first notification information from a network side apparatus. The network side apparatus sends the message in a broadcast manner, for example, broadcasts the first notification information in a 4G network by using a system information block type 12 (System Information Block Type 12) message, or broadcasts the first notification information in a 5G network by using a system information block type 8 (System Information Block Type 8) message. The first notification information includes first area information, the first area information is used to indicate a geographical area or a range, and the first area information may be warning area coordinates (Warning Area Coordinates) information.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the invention of Suh to include the noted teachings of Lei in order to provide a notification information presentation system (Lei pg. 1 “technical field”).
Claim 16. The combination teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising receiving the PWS message, wherein receiving the PWS message comprises receiving the PWS message or a segment of the PWS message in a system information block (SIB) of a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message, and the SIB further includes the area indication (Lei pg. 4 “The terminal apparatus receives the first notification information from a network side apparatus. The network side apparatus sends the message in a broadcast manner, for example, broadcasts the first notification information in a 4G network by using a system information block type 12 (System Information Block Type 12) message, or broadcasts the first notification information in a 5G network by using a system information block type 8 (System Information Block Type 8) message. The first notification information includes first area information, the first area information is used to indicate a geographical area or a range, and the first area information may be warning area coordinates (Warning Area Coordinates) information.”).
Claim 18. The combination teaches The method of claim 1, wherein an access stratum (AS) of the UE determines whether the UE is in the area to which the PWS message is applicable, and the method further comprises, if the AS determines the UE to be in the area to which the PWS message is applicable, the AS forwarding the PWS message to an upper layer of the UE (Lei Pg. 4 “In all the embodiments of this application, the notification content may be presented to the user through voice broadcast, by displaying the notification content by a display of the terminal apparatus, or the like. In addition, vibration, ringing, or the like may be further added. If the terminal apparatus is a chip, the terminal apparatus may instruct a display apparatus of a device controlled by the terminal apparatus, to display the notification content. The notification content indicated by the first notification information may include welcome content, warning content, and other precautions that need to be obtained by the user.” Which require forwarding to an upper layer)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the invention of Suh to include the noted teachings of Lei in order to provide a notification information presentation system (Lei pg. 1 “technical field”).
Claim 36. The combination teaches The method of claim 26, wherein the area indication is transmitted in a system information block (SIB) of a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message.
Lei teaches the area indication is transmitted in a system information block (SIB) of a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message Lei pg. 4 “The terminal apparatus receives the first notification information from a network side apparatus. The network side apparatus sends the message in a broadcast manner, for example, broadcasts the first notification information in a 4G network by using a system information block type 12 (System Information Block Type 12) message, or broadcasts the first notification information in a 5G network by using a system information block type 8 (System Information Block Type 8) message.”
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the invention of Suh to include the noted teachings of Lei in order to provide a notification information presentation system (Lei pg. 1 “technical field”).
Claim 39. The method of claim 26, The combination teaches wherein transmitting the PWS message comprises transmitting the PWS message or a segment of the PWS message in a system information block (SIB) of a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message, and the SIB further includes the area indication (Lei pg. 4 “The terminal apparatus receives the first notification information from a network side apparatus. The network side apparatus sends the message in a broadcast manner, for example, broadcasts the first notification information in a 4G network by using a system information block type 12 (System Information Block Type 12) message, or broadcasts the first notification information in a 5G network by using a system information block type 8 (System Information Block Type 8) message. The first notification information includes first area information, the first area information is used to indicate a geographical area or a range, and the first area information may be warning area coordinates (Warning Area Coordinates) information.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the invention of Suh to include the noted teachings of Lei in order to provide a notification information presentation system (Lei pg. 1 “technical field”).
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9961524 B2 Suh; Kyung Joo et al. and EP 3852452 A1 LEI XIANTIAO et al. further in view of US 20190222331 A1 TAKAHASHI; Kazuyuki
Claim 5. The combination teaches The method of claim 1.
The combination does not teach wherein the area indication includes a county indication that identifies a country to which the PWS message is applicable, and determining whether the UE is in the area to which the PWS message is applicable comprises determining whether the UE is in the country to which the PWS message is applicable.
Takahashi teaches wherein the area indication includes a county indication that identifies a country to which the PWS message is applicable, and determining whether the UE is in the area to which the PWS message is applicable comprises determining whether the UE is in the country to which the PWS message is applicable (Takahashi ¶146 , 152 “in the case where the reception apparatus 30 in standby mode receives emergency warning notice information (EMERGENCY_WARNING=‘1’), and when there is a match not only in country code and region code but also in emergency warning type, the reception apparatus 30 is located in the target region for emergency warning information, and the emergency warning information falls under the target type..:)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the invention of Suh to include the noted teachings of Takahashi in order to improve emergency warning systems (Takashi ¶16).
Claim(s) 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9961524 B2 Suh; Kyung Joo et al. and EP 3852452 A1 LEI XIANTIAO et al. further in view of US 20190222331 A1 TAKAHASHI; Kazuyuki
Regarding Claim 30, Suh teaches The method of claim 26,
Suh does not teach wherein the area indication includes a county indication that identifies a country to which the PWS message is applicable..
Takahashi teaches wherein the area indication includes a county indication that identifies a country to which the PWS message is applicable (Takahashi ¶146 , 152 “in the case where the reception apparatus 30 in standby mode receives emergency warning notice information (EMERGENCY_WARNING=‘1’), and when there is a match not only in country code and region code but also in emergency warning type, the reception apparatus 30 is located in the target region for emergency warning information, and the emergency warning information falls under the target type..:)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the invention of Suh to include the noted teachings of Takahashi in order to improve emergency warning systems (Takashi ¶16).
Claim(s) 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9961524 B2 Suh; Kyung Joo et al. and EP 3852452 A1 LEI XIANTIAO et al. further in view of US 20190380128 A1 Park; Kyungmin et al.
Claim 24. The combination of Suh and Lei teaches The method of claim 1 but does not teach further comprising receiving two or more message segments and assembling the message segments to obtain the PWS message.
Park teaches receiving two or more message segments and assembling the message segments to obtain the PWS message (See Park ¶231 “. . . 3> if segments of a warning message have been received: 4> assemble a warning message from a received warningMessageSegment; . . .”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the invention of Suh to include the noted teachings of Park in order to improve communication reliability and configuration flexibility of the wireless network (Park ¶247).
Pertinent Prior Art(s)
The prior art made of record though not relied upon in the current rejection is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 9961524 B2 Suh; Kyung Joo et al.
Claim 1. A method for determining a transmitter of a warning message by a terminal in a mobile communication system, the method comprising: receiving and storing at least one pair of a public key of a cell broadcast center and a first key index corresponding to the public key in a single message, wherein each of the at least one pair of a public key and a first key index corresponds to a combination of an area where a warning message is transmitted, an area level for the warning message and a transmitter of the warning message; receiving a warning message including a digital signature signed by the cell broadcast center, a second key index, and a digital signature algorithm from a base station; identifying a public key from the stored at least one pair of the public key and the first key index based on the second key index included in the warning message; identifying information on an area corresponding to the identified public key based on the second key index included in the warning message; and determining a transmitter of the warning message by verifying the digital signature included in the warning message based on the identified public key, wherein the area level for the warning message is a cell level, a tracking area level, or a public land mobile network (PLMN) level, and wherein the at least one pair of the public key and the first key index corresponds to a location of the terminal.
EP 3852452 A1 LEI XIANTIAO et al.
Abstract
This application provides a communication method and a terminal apparatus. The communication method includes: receiving, by a terminal apparatus, first notification information, where the first notification information includes first area information; when the terminal apparatus is not in a first area indicated by the first area information, skipping indicating, by the terminal apparatus to a user, notification content indicated by the first notification information; and when the terminal apparatus is moved to the first area within a preset time period, indicating, by the terminal apparatus to the user, the notification content indicated by the first notification information.
Conclusion
UMAIR AHSAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2647
/UMAIR AHSAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647