DETAILED ACTION
1. This communication is response to the application filed 09/29/2025 havingclaims 1-21 pending and presented for examination, claims 14-16 are cancelled from examination.
Priority
2. Application filed on 1/24/2025 is a has is a 371 of PCT/CN2022/104424 07/07/2022 FOREIGN APPLICATIONS PCTCN2021111843 08/10/2021
are acknowledged.
Drawings
3. The drawings were received on 1/24/2025 and these drawings are accepted.
4. Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/29/2025, 3/10/2025, 1/24/2025, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Oath/Declaration
4. The Oath/Declaration filed on 1/24/2025 is accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10-13, 17-19, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by US Publication US 20250393100 A1 Fard et al. (Hereinafter “Fard ").
As per claim 1, Fard teaches a method performed by a first network function implementing application function, comprising: transmitting, to a second network function implementing network exposure function, a first subscription message comprising at least one of Data Network Name (DNN) of a data network and Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI), for monitoring an event status for a User Equipment (UE) or a group of UEs (para 0228-0029], fig. 20, transmitting a network implementing a function which expose the network comprising a Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI) associated with the request); and receiving, from the second network function, a first notification message comprising information indicating the event status (para 0228-0029], fig. 20 receiving from the network associated with another function associated with request a first notification message comprising information indicating the event status associated with establishment request and session establishment).
As per claim 2, Fard teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first subscription message further comprises at least one of an external group ID indicating the group of UE, an external UE ID indicating a specific UE, a Mobile Subscriber Integrated Services Digital Network Number (MSISDN) indicating a specific UE, a Generic Public Subscription Identifier (GPSI) indicating a specific UE, and an indication indicating any UE (para 0228-0029], fig. 20, comprises at least one of an external group ID indicating the group of UE).
As per claim 3, Fard teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the event status is a Packet Data Network (PDN) connectivity status or a downlink data delivery status ((para 0228-0029], fig. 20 event status encludes the connectivity status such as session establishement).
As per claim 4, Fard teaches a method performed by a second network function implementing network exposure function, comprising: receiving, from a first network function implementing application function, a first subscription message comprising at least one of Data Network Name (DNN) of a data network and Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI), for monitoring an event status for a User Equipment (UE) or a group of UEs(para 0228-0029], fig. 20 receiving from a network a Data Network Name (DNN) of a data network and Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI), for monitoring an event status for a User Equipment (UE) or a group of UEs associated with request); determining a third network function implementing session management function or a fourth network function implementing unified data management function(para 0228-0029], fig. 20 determining based on the received information session management function such as session establishment ); and transmitting, to the determined network function, a second subscription message comprising at least one of the DNN and S-NSSAI(para 0228-0029], fig. 20, transmitting a response back to the determined network function, a second subscription message comprising at least one of the DNN).
As per claim 5, Fard teaches the method according to claim 4, wherein the first subscription message further comprises at least one of an external group ID indicating the group of UE, an external UE ID indicating a specific UE, a Mobile Subscriber Integrated Services Digital Network Number (MSISDN) indicating a specific UE, a Generic Public Subscription Identifier (GPSI) indicating a specific UE, and an indication indicating any UE(para 0228-0029], fig. 20, comprises at least one of an external group ID indicating the group of UE)..
As per claim 6, Fard teaches the method according to claim 5, wherein determining the network function further comprising: querying a fifth network function implementing network repository function for a fourth network function implementing unified data management based on at least one of the external group ID, the external UE ID, the MSISDN, and the GPSI ((para 0228-0029], fig. 20, querying a fifth network function implementing network repository function for a fourth network function implementing unified data management based on at least one of the external group ID, the external UE ID, the MSISDN, and the GPSI ).
As per claim 7, Fard teaches the method according to claim 5, further comprising: performing, based on a local policy, an authorization for at least one of the external group Id, the DNN, the external UE ID, the MSISDN, the GPSI, and the S-NSSAI (para 0047], performing local policy based on user id information received).
As per claim 8, Fard teaches the method according to claim 5, wherein determining the network function further comprising: querying a fifth network function implementing network repository function for one or more third network functions implementing session management functions based on the DNN and the S-NSSAI (((para 0228-0029], fig. 20, querying a fifth network function implementing network repository function for one or more third network functions implementing session management functions based on the DNN and the S-NSSAI).
As per claim 10, Fard teaches the method according to claim 8, further comprising: querying the fifth network function implementing network repository function for a fourth network function implementing unified data management based on the external group ID (para 0227], transmitting a request to the UDR repository fourth network function implementing unified data management based on the external group ID ); transmitting, to the fourth network function implementing unified data management, a request comprising external group ID (para 0227], transmitting, to the fourth network function implementing unified data management, a request comprising external group ID); and receiving, from the fourth network function implementing unified data management, the internal group ID (para 0227],receving information from the unified data management system).
As per claim 11, Fard teaches the method according to claim 4, further comprising: receiving, from the third network function implementing session management function, a second notification message comprising information indicating the event status (para 0227], reveives , a second notification message comprising information indicating the event status); and transmitting, to the first network function, a first notification message comprising information indicating the event status ((para 0227], transmitting notification message comprising information indicating the event status ).
As per claim 12, Fard teaches the method according to claim 4, wherein the event status is a Packet Data Network (PDN) connectivity status or a downlink data delivery status((para 0228-0029], fig. 20 event status encludes the connectivity status such as session establishement)..
As per claim 13, Fard teaches a first network function implementing application function, comprising: at least one processor; and a non-transitory computer readable medium coupled to the at least one processor, the non-transitory computer readable medium contains instructions executable by the at least one processor, whereby the at least one processor is configured to perform the following steps: transmitting, to a second network function implementing network exposure function, a first subscription message comprising at least one of Data Network Name (DNN) of a data network and Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI), for monitoring an event status for a User Equipment (UE) or a group of UEs (para 0228-0029], fig. 20, transmitting a network implementing a function which expose the network comprising a Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI) associated with the request); and receiving, from the second network function, a first notification message comprising information indicating the event status (para 0228-0029], fig. 20 receiving from the network associated with another function associated with request a first notification message comprising information indicating the event status associated with establishment request and session establishment).
As per claim 17, Fard teaches the first network function according to claim 13, wherein the first subscription message further comprises at least one of an external group ID indicating the group of UE, an external UE ID indicating a specific UE, a Mobile Subscriber Integrated Services Digital Network Number (MSISDN) indicating a specific UE, a Generic Public Subscription Identifier (GPSI) indicating a specific UE, and an indication indicating any UE (para 0228-0029], fig. 20, comprises at least one of an external group ID indicating the group of UE)..
As per claim 18, Fard teaches the first network function according to claim 13, wherein the event status is a Packet Data Network (PDN) connectivity status or a downlink data delivery status((para 0228-0029], fig. 20 event status encludes the connectivity status such as session establishement)..
As per claim 19, Fard teaches the method according to claim 7, wherein determining the network function further comprising: querying a fifth network function implementing network repository function for one or more third network functions implementing session management functions based on the DNN and the S-NSSAI ((para 0228-0029], fig. 20, querying a fifth network function implementing network repository function for one or more third network functions implementing session management functions based on the DNN and the S-NSSAI)..
As per claim 21, Fard teaches the method according to claim 19, further comprising: querying the fifth network function implementing network repository function for a fourth network function implementing unified data management based on the external group ID(para 0227], transmitting a request to the UDR repository fourth network function implementing unified data management based on the external group ID (para 0227], transmitting, to the fourth network function implementing unified data management, a request comprising external group ID);; transmitting, to the fourth network function implementing unified data management, a request comprising external group ID; and receiving, from the fourth network function implementing unified data management, the internal group ID(para 0227],receving information from the unified data management system).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 9, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fard further view of US PG Pub US 20150245162 A1 to Chao et al (hereinafter Chao).
As per claim 9, Fard teaches the method according to claim 8, Chao teaches further comprising one of: translating the external group ID to an internal group ID based on a local policy; or translating the MSISDN or the external UE ID to GPSI based on a local policy (para 0091], translating the external group ID to an internal group ID based on a local policy). 20150245162
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify the combination system of Fard by translating the external group ID to an internal group ID based on a local policy; or translating the MSISDN or the external UE ID to GPSI based on a local policy as suggested by Chao, this modification would benefit Fard for providing a better secure data transaction in a mobile communication network.
As per claim 20, Fard teaches the method according to claim 19, Chao teaches further comprising one of: translating the external group ID to an internal group ID based on a local policy; or translating the MSISDN or the external UE ID to GPSI based on a local policy(para 0091], translating the external group ID to an internal group ID based on a local policy)..
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 9.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's argument regarding claim 1, applicant argues that, "Claim 1 is allowable over Fard because Fard fails to teach all features of claim 1. Specifically, Fard fails to teach at least "transmitting, to a second network function implementing network exposure function, a first subscription message comprising at least one of Data Network Name (DNN) of a data network and Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S- NSSAI), for monitoring an event status for a User Equipment (UE) or a group of UEs." In an attempt to show this feature, the Patent Office referred to paragraphs 0228-0029 and Figure 20 of Fard. 5 Applicant respectfully disagrees". Fard in para 0228-0029], fig. 20, teaches a mechanism in which transmitting a network implementing a function which expose the network comprising a Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI) and based on the transmission receives associated with another function associated with request a first notification message comprising information indicating the event status associated with establishment request and session establishment.
Applicant's argument regarding claim 1, applicant argues that, "Claim 1 is about sending to the NEF a subscription for event monitoring. Paragraph 229 of Fard (Figure 20) is about SMF signaling the AMF (N1/N2 context). Those are architecturally and functionally distinct in 5G core design. Therefore, claim 1 is allowable over Fard". Applicant doesn't claim that in the claim language, applicant doesn’t mention NEF in the claim language.
Conclusion
Prior arts made of record, not relied upon: US Patent Publication US 20230359492 A1; US Patent Publication US 20230388788 A1, US Patent Publication US 20230379830 A1
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANEZ EBRAHIM whose telephone number is (571)270-7153. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 8 AM to 5 PM If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Hassan Phillips can be reached on (571) 272-3940. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ANEZ C EBRAHIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467