DETAILED ACTION
Claims 37-56 are pending.
Claims 1-36 have been cancelled.
Claim Objections
Claim 46 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 46 recites the acronym “Msg” without initially defining what it stands for.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 50-54 and 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by CHEN et al. (Pub. No.: US 20230030443 A1), hereinafter CHEN.
With respect to claim 50, CHEN teaches A method performed by a network node of a communication network ([0082], BS of a wireless communication), the method comprising:
generating a signaling message indicating restrictions according to which a User Equipment (UE) determines whether given data subsequently incoming to an Uplink (UL) transmission buffer of the UE is restricted from transmission using a Configured Grant Small Data Transmission (CG-SDT) procedure (fig. 1, [0048, 0054, 0073], BS generates/provides configured grant configuration in dedicated signaling to the UE, configured grant configuration indicates restrictions according to which a User Equipment determines whether given data subsequently incoming to an Uplink (UL) transmission buffer of the UE (i.e. the UL data in the buffer of the UE) is restricted from transmission using a Configured Grant Small Data Transmission (CG-SDT) procedure (i.e. allow to transmit small data transmission via CG) ; and
transmitting the signaling message to the UE (fig. 1, [0048, 0054, 0073], BS transmits dedicated signaling to the UE; configured grant configurations may be provided by the BS in dedicated signaling to the UE).
With respect to claim 51, CHEN teaches wherein the signaling message comprises a release message sent to the UE in conjunction with the UE transitioning from a connected mode to an inactive mode ([0038-0039]).
With respect to claim 52, CHEN teaches wherein the release message comprises a RRCReleaseMessage, where RRC denotes Radio Resource Control ([0048]).
With respect to claim 53, CHEN teaches wherein restrictions indicate one or more Logical CHannels (LCHs) or Data Radio Bearers (DRBs) for which associated data is restricted from UL transmission using the CG-SDT procedure ([0041]).
With respect to claim 54, CHEN teaches wherein the network node is a radio network node operating as a serving radio network node with respect to the UE ([0073]).
With respect to claim 56, CHEN teaches A network node configured for operation in a communication network ([0082], BS configured for operation in a wireless communication), the network node comprising:
a communication interface ([0083], transceiver); and
processing circuitry configured to ([0083], processor), the method comprising:
generate a signaling message indicating restrictions according to which a User Equipment (UE) determines whether given data subsequently incoming to an Uplink (UL) transmission buffer of the UE is restricted from transmission using a Configured Grant Small Data Transmission (CG-SDT) procedure (fig. 1, [0048, 0054, 0073], BS generates/provides configured grant configuration in dedicated signaling to the UE, configured grant configuration indicates restrictions according to which a User Equipment determines whether given data subsequently incoming to an Uplink (UL) transmission buffer of the UE (i.e. the UL data in the buffer of the UE) is restricted from transmission using a Configured Grant Small Data Transmission (CG-SDT) procedure (i.e. allow to transmit small data transmission via CG) ; and
transmitting the signaling message to the UE, via the communication interface (fig. 1, [0048, 0054, 0073, 0083], BS transmits dedicated signaling to the UE via transceiver; configured grant configurations may be provided by the BS in dedicated signaling to the UE).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 37, 39-49, and 55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohlsson et al. (Pub. No.: US 20190357296 A1), hereinafter Ohlsson, in view of CHEN.
With respect to claim 37, Ohlsson teaches A method performed by a user equipment (UE) with respect to a communication network ([0060], UE with a wireless network), the method comprising:
receiving data into an uplink (UL) transmission buffer of the UE, while the UE is in an inactive mode ([0078], UE receives uplink (UL) data (i.e., new data arrives in the uplink buffer of the UE), while the UE is in an inactive mode (i.e. idle state).
Ohlsson does not explicitly teach determining whether the data is restricted from transmission on Configured Grant Small Data Transmission (CG-SDT) resources; and responsive to the data not being restricted, initiating a CG-SDT procedure in which at least a portion of the data is transmitted on CG-SDT resources.
However, CHEN teaches determining whether the data is restricted from transmission on Configured Grant Small Data Transmission (CG-SDT) resources (fig. 1, [0048, 0064, 0073], determining whether the data / small data is restricted from transmission on Configured Grant Small Data Transmission (CG-SDT) resources / configured grants (e.g., pre-configured PUSCH resources)); and responsive to the data not being restricted, initiating a CG-SDT procedure in which at least a portion of the data is transmitted on CG-SDT resources (fig. 1, [0048, 0064, 0073], the data not being restricted / when the UE determines the size of small data is smaller than or equal to a data volume threshold, the UE performs the small data transmission based on the configured grant).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of CHEN, determining whether the data is restricted from transmission on Configured Grant Small Data Transmission (CG-SDT) resources; and responsive to the data not being restricted, initiating a CG-SDT procedure in which at least a portion of the data is transmitted on CG-SDT resources, into the teachings of Ohlsson, in order to improve data rate, latency, reliability, and mobility in the wireless communication (CHEN, [0003]).
With respect to claim 39, the combination of Ohlsson and CHEN teaches the method of claim 37. Ohlsson does not explicitly teach wherein determining whether the data is restricted comprises determining whether the data belongs to a restricted Data Radio Bearer (DRB) or a restricted Logical Channel (LCH).
However, CHEN teaches wherein determining whether the data is restricted comprises determining whether the data belongs to a restricted Data Radio Bearer (DRB) or a restricted Logical Channel (LCH) (0041).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of CHEN, wherein determining whether the data is restricted comprises determining whether the data belongs to a restricted Data Radio Bearer (DRB) or a restricted Logical Channel (LCH), into the teachings of Ohlsson, in order to improve data rate, latency, reliability, and mobility in the wireless communication (CHEN, [0003]).
With respect to claim 40, the combination of Ohlsson and CHEN teaches the method of claim 37. Ohlsson does not explicitly teach wherein determining whether the data is restricted comprises determining whether the data is restricted in terms of at least one of: size.
However, CHEN teaches wherein determining whether the data is restricted comprises determining whether the data is restricted in terms of at least one of: size (fig. 1, [0073]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of CHEN, determining whether the data is restricted comprises determining whether the data is restricted in terms of at least one of: size, into the teachings of Ohlsson, in order to improve data rate, latency, reliability, and mobility in the wireless communication (CHEN, [0003]).
With respect to claim 41, the combination of Ohlsson and CHEN teaches the method of claim 37. Ohlsson does not explicitly teach receiving a release message from a serving radio network node of the communication network in association with the UE transitioning from an active mode to the inactive mode in advance of receiving the data into the UL transmission buffer of the UE, the release message indicating criteria for determining data restrictions to be applied by the UE with respect to the CG-SDT resources.
However, CHEN teaches receiving a release message from a serving radio network node of the communication network in association with the UE transitioning from an active mode to the inactive mode in advance of receiving the data into the UL transmission buffer of the UE ([0038-0039]), the release message indicating criteria for determining data restrictions to be applied by the UE with respect to the CG-SDT resources ([0048, 0073]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of CHEN, receiving a release message from a serving radio network node of the communication network in association with the UE transitioning from an active mode to the inactive mode in advance of receiving the data into the UL transmission buffer of the UE, the release message indicating criteria for determining data restrictions to be applied by the UE with respect to the CG-SDT resources, into the teachings of Ohlsson, in order to improve data rate, latency, reliability, and mobility in the wireless communication (CHEN, [0003]).
With respect to claim 42, the combination of Ohlsson and CHEN teaches the method of claim 37. Ohlsson does not explicitly teach the release message comprises a RRCReleaseMessage, where RRC denotes Radio Resource Control.
However, CHEN teaches the release message comprises a RRCReleaseMessage, where RRC denotes Radio Resource Control ([0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of CHEN, the release message comprises a RRCReleaseMessage, where RRC denotes Radio Resource Control, into the teachings of Ohlsson, in order to improve data rate, latency, reliability, and mobility in the wireless communication (CHEN, [0003]).
With respect to claim 43, the combination of Ohlsson and CHEN teaches the method of claim 37. Ohlsson does not explicitly teach determining whether the data is restricted comprises determining whether criteria for use of the CG-SDT resources are met.
However, CHEN teaches determining whether the data is restricted comprises determining whether criteria for use of the CG-SDT resources are met ([0048, 0073]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of CHEN, determining whether the data is restricted comprises determining whether criteria for use of the CG-SDT resources are met, into the teachings of Ohlsson, in order to improve data rate, latency, reliability, and mobility in the wireless communication (CHEN, [0003]).
With respect to claim 44, the combination of Ohlsson and CHEN teaches the method of claim 37. Ohlsson does not explicitly teach wherein determining whether the criteria for use of the CG-SDT resources are met comprises the UE determining whether: use of the CG-SDT procedure is available on an involved uplink (UL) carrier, which is a Supplementary UL (SUL) carrier or a Normal UL (NUL) carrier; an associated Timing Advance Timer (TAT) at the UE is in a running state; and a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) as measured by the UE on a downlink reference signal received at the UE from a serving radio network node of the communication network is above a specified threshold.
However, CHEN teaches wherein determining whether the criteria for use of the CG-SDT resources are met comprises the UE determining whether: use of the CG-SDT procedure is available on an involved uplink (UL) carrier, which is a Supplementary UL (SUL) carrier or a Normal UL (NUL) carrier ([0038]); an associated Timing Advance Timer (TAT) at the UE is in a running state ([0048, 0073]); and a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) as measured by the UE on a downlink reference signal received at the UE from a serving radio network node of the communication network is above a specified threshold ([0048, 0073]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of CHEN, wherein determining whether the criteria for use of the CG-SDT resources are met comprises the UE determining whether: use of the CG-SDT procedure is available on an involved uplink (UL) carrier, which is a Supplementary UL (SUL) carrier or a Normal UL (NUL) carrier; an associated Timing Advance Timer (TAT) at the UE is in a running state; and a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) as measured by the UE on a downlink reference signal received at the UE from a serving radio network node of the communication network is above a specified threshold, into the teachings of Ohlsson, in order to improve data rate, latency, reliability, and mobility in the wireless communication (CHEN, [0003]).
With respect to claim 45, the combination of Ohlsson and CHEN teaches the method of claim 37. Ohlsson does not explicitly teach wherein, in response to the criteria for use of the CG-SDT resources not being met, the method includes, responsive to criteria for Random Access SDT (RA-SDT) being met, the UE initiating a RA-SDT procedure in which at least a portion of the data is transmitted on RA-SDT resources.
However, CHEN teaches wherein, in response to the criteria for use of the CG-SDT resources not being met, the method includes, responsive to criteria for Random Access SDT (RA-SDT) being met, the UE initiating a RA-SDT procedure in which at least a portion of the data is transmitted on RA-SDT resources (fig. 1, [0073]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of CHEN, wherein, in response to the criteria for use of the CG-SDT resources not being met, the method includes, responsive to criteria for Random Access SDT (RA-SDT) being met, the UE initiating a RA-SDT procedure in which at least a portion of the data is transmitted on RA-SDT resources, into the teachings of Ohlsson, in order to improve data rate, latency, reliability, and mobility in the wireless communication (CHEN, [0003]).
With respect to claim 46, the combination of Ohlsson and CHEN teaches the method of claim 37. Ohlsson does not explicitly teach wherein the RA-SDT resources are resources used by the UE for transmission of a Msg3 during the RA-SDT procedure.
However, CHEN teaches wherein the RA-SDT resources are resources used by the UE for transmission of a Msg3 during the RA-SDT procedure ([0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of CHEN, wherein the RA-SDT resources are resources used by the UE for transmission of a Msg3 during the RA-SDT procedure, into the teachings of Ohlsson, in order to improve data rate, latency, reliability, and mobility in the wireless communication (CHEN, [0003]).
With respect to claim 47, the combination of Ohlsson and CHEN teaches the method of claim 37. Ohlsson does not explicitly teach determining whether the criteria for RA-SDT are met includes determining whether the data fits in the RA-SDT resources.
However, CHEN teaches determining whether the criteria for RA-SDT are met includes determining whether the data fits in the RA-SDT resources ([0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of CHEN, determining whether the criteria for RA-SDT are met includes determining whether the data fits in the RA-SDT resources, into the teachings of Ohlsson, in order to improve data rate, latency, reliability, and mobility in the wireless communication (CHEN, [0003]).
With respect to claim 48, the combination of Ohlsson and CHEN teaches the method of claim 37. Ohlsson does not explicitly teach wherein, responsive to the criteria for RA-SDT not being met, the method includes the UE initiating a RA procedure without SDT, for reestablishing a connected mode with the communication network, and subsequent transmission of the data in the connected mode.
However, CHEN teaches wherein, responsive to the criteria for RA-SDT not being met, the method includes the UE initiating a RA procedure without SDT, for reestablishing a connected mode with the communication network, and subsequent transmission of the data in the connected mode ([0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of CHEN, wherein, responsive to the criteria for RA-SDT not being met, the method includes the UE initiating a RA procedure without SDT, for reestablishing a connected mode with the communication network, and subsequent transmission of the data in the connected mode, into the teachings of Ohlsson, in order to improve data rate, latency, reliability, and mobility in the wireless communication (CHEN, [0003]).
With respect to claim 49, the combination of Ohlsson and CHEN teaches the method of claim 37. Ohlsson does not explicitly teach wherein the CG-SDT resource reoccur periodically and, in response to determining that the data is restricted from transmission on the CG-SDT resources, the method includes selecting, for transmission of the data, between a Random Access SDT (RA-SDT) procedure or a RA procedure without SDT, based on at least one of the following items: a size of the data.
However, CHEN teaches wherein the CG-SDT resource reoccur periodically and, in response to determining that the data is restricted from transmission on the CG-SDT resources, the method includes selecting, for transmission of the data, between a Random Access SDT (RA-SDT) procedure or a RA procedure without SDT, based on at least one of the following items: a size of the data ([0039, 0073]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of CHEN, wherein the CG-SDT resource reoccur periodically and, in response to determining that the data is restricted from transmission on the CG-SDT resources, the method includes selecting, for transmission of the data, between a Random Access SDT (RA-SDT) procedure or a RA procedure without SDT, based on at least one of the following items: a size of the data, into the teachings of Ohlsson, in order to improve data rate, latency, reliability, and mobility in the wireless communication (CHEN, [0003]).
With respect to claim 55, Ohlsson teaches A user equipment (UE) configured for operation with respect to a communication network ([0060], UE configured for operation with a wireless network), the UE comprising:
a communication interface comprising a radio transmitter and a receiver configured for transmitting signals for and receiving signals from the communication network ([0070], interface 30); and
processing circuitry configured to ([0060], processor):
receive data into an uplink (UL) transmission buffer of the UE, while the UE is in an inactive mode ([0078], UE receives uplink (UL) data (i.e., new data arrives in the uplink buffer of the UE), while the UE is in an inactive mode (i.e. idle state).
Ohlsson does not explicitly teach determine whether the data is restricted from transmission on Configured Grant Small Data Transmission (CG-SDT) resources; and responsive to the data not being restricted, initiate a CG-SDT procedure in which at least a portion of the data is transmitted on CG-SDT resources, via the communication interface.
However, CHEN teaches determine whether the data is restricted from transmission on Configured Grant Small Data Transmission (CG-SDT) resources (fig. 1, [0048, 0064, 0073], determining whether the data / small data is restricted from transmission on Configured Grant Small Data Transmission (CG-SDT) resources / configured grants (e.g., pre-configured PUSCH resources)); and responsive to the data not being restricted, initiate a CG-SDT procedure in which at least a portion of the data is transmitted on CG-SDT resources, via the communication interface (fig. 1, [0048, 0064, 0073, 0083], the data not being restricted / when the UE determines the size of small data is smaller than or equal to a data volume threshold, the UE performs the small data transmission based on the configured grants via the communication interface).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of CHEN, determining whether the data is restricted from transmission on Configured Grant Small Data Transmission (CG-SDT) resources; and responsive to the data not being restricted, initiating a CG-SDT procedure in which at least a portion of the data is transmitted on CG-SDT resources, into the teachings of Ohlsson, in order to improve data rate, latency, reliability, and mobility in the wireless communication (CHEN, [0003]).
Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohlsson, in view of CHEN, in view of Wu (Pub. No.: US 20110292894 A1), hereinafter Pub.
With respect to claim 38, the combination of Ohlsson and CHEN teaches the method of claim 37. Ohlsson does not explicitly teach after initiating the CG-SDT procedure, and in response to determining that the further data is restricted.
However, CHEN teaches after initiating the CG-SDT procedure (fig. 1, [0073]), and in response to determining that the further data is restricted (fig. 1, [0073]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of CHEN, after initiating the CG-SDT procedure, and in response to determining that the further data is restricted, into the teachings of Ohlsson, in order to improve data rate, latency, reliability, and mobility in the wireless communication (CHEN, [0003]).
The combination of Ohlsson and CHEN does not explicitly teach receiving further data into the UL transmission buffer, and performing a random access procedure for the purpose of transmitting a Buffer Status Report (BSR).
However, Wu teaches receiving further data into the UL transmission buffer, and performing a random access procedure for the purpose of transmitting a Buffer Status Report (BSR) ([0038]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wu, receiving further data into the UL transmission buffer, and performing a random access procedure for the purpose of transmitting a Buffer Status Report (BSR), into the teachings of Ohlsson and CHEN, in order for efficiently using radio resources and promptly resolving collisions among user equipments (Wu, [0001]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pub. No.: US 20180091968 A1; “Ly”, ([0054])
/KIET TANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469