DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22, 23, 26, 27, 29, 30, 33, and 34 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re claim 22, the claim recites within the first limitation “a light emitting diode (LED) of a first wireless communication as a receiver” and “an LED of a second wireless communication”, such that there are two LEDs, and from the current naming of the LEDs to distinguish them. Hence, in the later limitations, when the “the LED” without stating which wireless device is being referred to, such as within the second limitation, it can be confusing and to which one is being referred to. The context of the other portions of the limitation such that the stating of “based on the optical referenced signal as received by the LED”, it would lead one to assume it was the first wireless device and in order to expedite prosecution, the examiner will interpret this to be the LED that is being referred to.
Re claim 23, the claim is based upon claim 22, and additionally recites “wherein the estimating the first channel gain is further based on a characteristic of the LED of the further wireless communication device”. The previously limitation states a first wireless communication device and a second wireless communication device, but does not clarify which of the devices if considered “the further wireless device” or from which point further is being measured from. As the claim stands, it is unclear what is considered “further”, such that the claim scope as it stands is considered indefinite”.
Re claim 26, the claim is dependent upon claim 22, and additionally recites “further comprising:
based on the first channel gain, the first wireless communication device estimating a third channel gain of an optical channel from the LED of the first wireless communication device to a photodetector of the second wireless communication device; and
based on the estimated third channel gain, the first wireless communication device controlling transmission of outgoing optical wireless communication signals from the first wireless communication device to the photodetector of second wireless communication device and to control the transmission of outgoing topical wireless communication signals from the photodetector based on the third gain.”
However, claim 22, which claim 26 depends from, recites “based on the estimated first channel gain, the first wireless communication device estimating a second channel gain of an optical channel from the LED of the first wireless communication device to the LED of the second wireless communication device and; based on the estimated second channel gain, the first wireless communication device controlling transmission of outgoing optical wireless communication signals from the first wireless communication device to the second wireless communication device”.
Hence, the claim scope, when considered as a whole, states that the first wireless communication device controls transmission of outgoing optical wireless signals from the first wireless communication device to the second wireless communication device using the second gain, a the first wireless communication device controlling transmission of outgoing optical wireless communication signals from the first wireless communication device to the photodetector of second wireless communication device and to control the transmission of outgoing topical wireless communication signals from the photodetector based on the third gain.
However, as seen within Fig. 2 showing the two devices is communication with LEDs show that outgoing signals to the second or other wireless device is output from the LEDs, such that it is unclear whether the LED within the first wireless device is operating on both the estimated second and third gains or if these gains are used at different times or different signals or if they are to be used together. This is unclear from the claim scope or the specification such that the claim scope, as it stands, is indefinite.
Re claim 27, 29, 30, 33, and 34, these claims are dependent upon claim 26 and are indefinite for the reasons previously stated. The claim do not remedy how the transmission of signals from the first wireless communication device is using both the second gain and the third gain.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22, 35, 38, and 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Snyder US PG PUB 2011/0305460 and Rojas Calvente et al (herein Rojas) US PG PUB 2021/0171272.
Re claim 22, Snyder discloses a method of controlling optical wireless communication, the method comprising:
using a light emitting diode (LED) of a first wireless communication device as a receiver (portable light device 100 according to the described arrangement includes a LED 20, Fig. 2, wherein an LED 20 is connected to a high resistance load may produce a signal up to two volts in response to relatively high intensity light imagining upon it, e.g. , acting as a photovoltatic device, ¶ [0040] such that I can act as a receiver), the first wireless communication device receiving an optical reference signal from an LED of a second wireless communication device (receiver 100) would typically transmit a data pack light 211 to light 10 ¶ [0041], such that the signal 211 is a communication between the wireless device 100, the second wireless communication device, and wireless device 10, which is the first wireless device).
Snyder discloses that light 10 could receive data that includes instruction as to the operation of light 10 ¶ [0042], but does not explicitly disclose the details of this. Snyder does disclose the use of an amplifier or gain element connected to the LED and used on the received signal. Additionally, Rojas discloses based on the estimated first channel gain, the first wireless communication device estimating a second channel gain of an optical channel from the LED of the first wireless communication device to the LED of the second wireless communication device (wherein the optical receiver 210 comprises a photodiode (PD) 211 and a transimpedance amplifier (TIA) 212. Sometimes a photodiode 211 is also called as a photo detector, a light detector, or a photo sensor. A photodiode may contain optical filters and built-in lenses. Depending on the construction of the device, photodiodes can be classified into different types, such as PN photodiode, Schottky photodiode, PIN photodiode, and Avalanche photodiode. The TIA 212 is configured to amplify an electrical output of the photodiode or photo detector 211. In this example, the controller 204 is further configured to apply the gain setting adjustment to the TIA 212. Thus, the gain of the receiver chain is adjusted accordingly ¶ [0056]).
based on the estimated first channel gain, the first wireless communication device estimating a second channel gain of an optical channel from the LED of the first wireless communication device to the LED of the second wireless communication device;
and based on the estimated second channel gain, the first wireless communication device controlling transmission of outgoing optical wireless communication signals from the first wireless communication device to the second wireless communication device (Thus, the local communication device is an optical transceiver supporting bi-directional optical communication, which comprises both the apparatus and the optical transmitter in a same housing. Such a gain adjustment mechanism assumes that the bi-directional optical link is symmetrical, and the two remote devices may use a same or similar output power level. In practice, this is a very common scenario, especially for point-to-point optical wireless communication. Therefore, upon a gain setting adjustment derived based on a first signal received from a remote device by the apparatus, the controller may apply the gain adjustment to the co-located transmitter for sending a second signal to the remote device ¶ [0021]).
Snyder and Rojas are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, wireless optical communication. At the time filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Snyder and Rojas before him or her, to modify the processor of the transmission system of Snyder to include the power management of Rojas because it combines prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield predictable results, in this case, enables the system to better manage or control of the power within a bi-directional communication system.
Re claim 35, Snyder and Rojas disclose all the elements of claim 22, which claim 35 is dependent. Furthermore, Snyder discloses wherein the first wireless communication device is a mobile station (Snyder discloses that first wireless communication device is a portable light ¶ [0019], such that it is a mobile device if it is portable).
Re claim 38, Snyder and Rojas disclose all the elements of claim 22, which claim 38 is dependent. Furthermore, Snyder discloses wherein the second wireless communication device is a mobile station (Fig. 2 is a block diagram of the example portable light and receiver therefor ¶ [0022], such that the receiver is also mobile. Additionally, the receiver is be connected to a portable computer and or laptop ¶ [0037], such as to additionally state its portability as it connects to other portable elements).
Re claim 39, the claim scope share many limitations of claim 22, such that the prior art of Snyder and Rojas disclose specifically the limitation of:
“using a light emitting diode (LED) of the wireless communication device as a receiver, receive an optical reference signal from an LED of a further wireless communication device (Snyder discloses portable light device 100 according to the described arrangement includes a LED 20, Fig. 2, wherein an LED 20 is connected to a high resistance load may produce a signal up to two volts in response to relatively high intensity light imagining upon it, e.g. , acting as a photovoltaic device, ¶ [0040] such that I can act as a receiver), the first wireless communication device receiving an optical reference signal from an LED of a second wireless communication device (receiver 100) would typically transmit a data pack light 211 to light 10 ¶ [0041], such that the signal 211 is a communication between the wireless device 100, the second wireless communication device, and wireless device 10, which is the first wireless device); and
based on the optical reference signal as received by the LED, estimate a first channel gain of an optical channel from the LED of the further wireless communication device to the LED of the wireless communication device (Rojas discloses wherein the optical receiver 210 comprises a photodiode (PD) 211 and a transimpedance amplifier (TIA) 212. Sometimes a photodiode 211 is also called as a photo detector, a light detector, or a photo sensor. A photodiode may contain optical filters and built-in lenses. Depending on the construction of the device, photodiodes can be classified into different types, such as PN photodiode, Schottky photodiode, PIN photodiode, and Avalanche photodiode. The TIA 212 is configured to amplify an electrical output of the photodiode or photo detector 211. In this example, the controller 204 is further configured to apply the gain setting adjustment to the TIA 212. Thus, the gain of the receiver chain is adjusted accordingly ¶ [0056]) ;
based on the estimated first channel gain, estimate a second channel gain of an optical channel from the LED of the wireless communication device to the LED of the further wireless communication device; and
based on the estimated second channel gain, control transmission of outgoing optical wireless communication signals from the wireless communication device to the further wireless communication device (Rojas discloses instead of or in additional to applying the gain adjustment to the receiver chain, such as to the TIA, it may also be beneficial to apply the gain adjustment to the transmitter chain, such as to an optical transmitter that is locally connected to the apparatus. Thus, the local communication ¶ [0021], such as to be applied to signals to be output to the further or other device).”
Additionally the prior art discloses at least one processing circuit and a memory comprising program code executable by the at least one processing circuit (Snyder discloses processor 50 may respond to actuations of switch 60 to initiate (start) transmission of the data stored in memory 70 and/or to end (stop) such transmissions, and may further respond to select the data stored in memory 70 that is to be transmitted, which are operations and operating modes not found in conventional lights, ¶ [0027]. Rojas discloses the methods according to the invention may be implemented on a computer as a computer implemented method, or in dedicated hardware, or in a combination of both. Executable code for a method according to the invention may be stored on computer/machine readable storage means. Examples of computer/machine readable storage means include non-volatile memory devices, optical storage medium/devices, solid-state media, integrated circuits, servers, etc. Preferably, the computer program product comprises non-transitory program code means stored on a computer readable medium for performing a method according to the invention when said program product is executed on a computer. ¶ [0068]-[0069], such as to teach through combination the application of the method to be put upon a memory to be carried out by a processor).
Claim(s) 36 and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Snyder and Rojas as applied to claim 22 above, and further in view of Polaganga et al (herein Polaganga) US PG PUB 2023/0319660.
Re claim 36 and 37, Snyder and Rojas discloses all the elements of claim 22, which claim 36 and 37 are dependent. Additionally, while Snyder and Rojas disclose the operation of wireless communication elements, the system does not explicitly disclose wherein the second wireless communication device of the first wireless communication device is an access node of a wireless communication network.
However, Polaganga discloses UE 101 and wireless access nodes 111-112 wirelessly communicates over radio channels or some other wireless communication media. Wireless access nodes 111-112 and network controller 113 communicate over network connections that comprise metallic wiring, glass fibers, radio channels, or some other communication media. Wireless UE 101 and wireless access nodes 111-112 comprise radios. UE 101, nodes 111-112, and controller 113 comprise microprocessors, software, memories, transceivers, bus circuitry, and the like. The microprocessors comprise Digital Signal Processors (DSP), Central Processing Units (CPU), Graphical Processing Units (GPU), Application-Specific Integrated Circuits (ASIC), and/or the like. The memories comprise Random Access Memory (RAM), flash circuitry, disk drives, and/or the like. The memories store software like operating systems, user applications, relay applications, network applications, radio applications, and network functions. The microprocessors retrieve the software from the memories and execute the software to drive the operation of wireless communication network 100 ¶ [0022].
Snyder, Rojas, and Polaganga are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, free or wireless communication elements. At the time filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Snyder, Rojas, and Polaganga before him or her, to modify the transceiver elements of Snyder and Rojas to include the ability to have a processor to carry out operating systems, user applications, relay applications, network applications, and network functions and operate as an access node to communicate overall to a network of Polaganga because it combines prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield predictable results, in this case, enabling the transceiver elements to access communications through devices through a larger network.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 24, 25, 28, 31, 32 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Re claim 24, the claim the dependent upon claim 22 and additionally recite and additionally recites “further comprising:
based on the estimated first channel gain, the first wireless communication device estimating an angle of emission of the optical channel from the LED of the second wireless communication device to the LED of the first wireless communication device; and
wherein the estimating of the second channel gain is further based on the estimated angle of emission”.
While the prior art (Bernet US PG PUB 2022/0037314) discloses the idea of a gain at the receiver, using the geometry of the system can be estimated in relation to the angle of emergence ¶ [0343], such that the system is able to estimate, knowing the gain, the angle of emission or emergence. However, the additional step of calculation or estimating the second gain, wherein the second gain is understood as the communication from the first wireless communication device to the second transmission device, according to the determined calculated angle of emission, is not disclosed, such that when the claim scope is considered as a whole, the claim is considered allowable.
Re claim 25, the claim is dependent upon claim 22 and additionally recites “further comprising:
based on the estimated first channel gain, the first wireless communication device estimating a distance from the LED of the second wireless communication device to the LED of the first wireless communication device; and
wherein the estimating of the second channel gain is further based on the estimated distance.
While the prior art (Bernet US PG PUB 2022/0037314) discloses the idea of a gain at the receiver, using the geometry of the system can be estimated in relation to the angle of emergence with respective to the angle, the angel of incidence with respect to the receiver and the distance between the transmitter and the receiver, ¶ [0343], such that the system is able to estimate, knowing the gain, the distance, if the parameters where known. However, the additional step of calculation or estimating the second gain, wherein the second gain is understood as the communication from the first wireless communication device to the second transmission device, according to the determined calculated distance, is not disclosed, such that when the claim scope is considered as a whole, the claim is considered allowable.
Re claim 28, the claim is dependent upon claim 22 and additionally recites “further comprising:
the first wireless communication device further receiving the optical reference signal using a photodetector of the first wireless communication device as a receiver;
based on the optical reference signal as received by the photodetector of the first wireless communication device, the first wireless communication device estimating a fourth channel gain of an optical channel from the LED of the second wireless communication device to the photodetector of the first wireless communication device; and
based on a comparison of the fourth channel gain to the first channel gain, the first wireless communication device sending, to the second wireless communication device, a second indication that an optical channel from the LED of the second wireless communication device to the LED of the first wireless communication device is similar to an optical channel from the LED of the second wireless communication device to the photodetector of the first wireless communication device”.
The examiner could not find within the prior art, alone or in combination, that discloses the use of both the LED and a photodetector within the first wireless communication device are both each estimate a channel gain of the reference signal, and then comparing both of the channel gains from both of these elements within the first wireless communication device to compare the and indicative of the signals being transmitted to two elements within the same communication devices.
Re claim 31 and 32, the claim are dependent upon claim 28, and is allowable for the reasons previously stated.
Conclusion
TANYA MOTSINGER
Examiner
Art Unit 2637
/TANYA T MOTSINGER/Examiner, Art Unit 2635