DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 8/6/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that there exists no undue administrative burden for examining all of the claims. This is not found persuasive because this application is a National Stage entry and under 37 CFR 1.475(b) is subject to unity of invention and restriction under 35 USC 121 and 372 and no arguments refuting the lack of unity of invention as stated in the 7/14/2026 office action have been made. As a result, this argument is not found persuasive.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al. (US 2015/0243994) in view of Asai et al. (US 2020/0052301)
Regarding claim 1, Chu et al. discloses a negative electrode composition ([0067]-[0068]) comprising: a thermally crosslinkable ([0060], [0061], [0073]) negative electrode binder solution ([0067]-[0068]) comprising an epoxy resin ([0060]-[0062]) having four or more epoxy functional groups ([0060]-[0062]), and a water-soluble macromolecular polymer containing a carboxyl group ([0036], [0038], [0052], P7/Table 1); a negative electrode active material ([0022]-[0027]); and a negative electrode conductive material ([0022]-[0026], [0073]).
Chu et al. does not explicitly disclose the epoxy resin is included present in an amount of 0.1 part by weight or more and 25 parts by weight or less on the basis of 100 parts by weight of the thermally crosslinkable negative electrode binder solution.
Asai et al. discloses a secondary battery (Abstract) including a negative electrode having a binder slurry composition comprising 0.1 – 20% weight epoxy resin material ([0019], [0067]). This configuration enhances slurry stability and performance ([0019], [0067]).
Asai et al. and Chu et al. are analogous since both deal in the same field of endeavor, namely, batteries and binders.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the epoxy of Chu et al. at the amount disclosed by Asai et al. in the binder slurry solution to enhance slurry stability, solubility, and overall performance.
Regarding claim 2, modified Chu et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the epoxy resin further comprises one or more functional groups selected from the group consisting of a hydroxyl group ([0061]-[0062]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Chu et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the thermally crosslinkable negative electrode binder solution is included present in an amount of 1 part by weight or more and 20 parts by weight or less on the basis of 100 parts by weight of the negative electrode composition ([0067]-[0068], P8/Table 2).
Regarding claim 4, modified Chu et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the water-soluble macromolecular polymer has a weight-average molecular weight of 100,000 g/mol or more and 3,000,000 g/mol or less (P8/Table 2, 450,000 g/mol).
Regarding claim 5, modified Chu et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the water-soluble macromolecular polymer comprises one or more selected from the group consisting of carboxymethylcellulose (CMC) and water- soluble polyacrylic acid (PAA) (both at [0036], [0038], [0052], P7/Table 1).
Regarding claim 6, modified Chu et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the negative electrode conductive material comprises one or more selected from the group consisting of a point-type conductive material, a planar conductive material ([0022]-[0027]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Chu et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the negative electrode active material comprises one or more selected from the group consisting of a silicon-containing active material and a carbon-containing active material ([0022]-[0027], both listed).
Regarding claim 8, modified Chu et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the silicon-containing silicon-based active material comprises one or more selected from the group consisting of SiOx (0<x<2) ([0024]), and comprises 70 parts by weight or more of SiOx (x=0) ([0024]), on the basis of 100 parts by weight of the silicon-containing silicon=based active material.
Regarding claim 9, modified Chu et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the negative electrode active material is present in an amount of 60 parts by weight or more ([0067]-[0068]) on the basis of 100 parts by weight of the negative electrode composition.
Regarding claim 14, modified Chu et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the water-soluble macromolecular polymer is in the form of a copolymer [0036]-[0050]).
Regarding claim 15, modified Chu et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the water-soluble macromolecular polymer comprises a macromolecular resin having at least one carboxyl group ([0056], [0057], [0060], [0061]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kim et al. (US 2007/0059604) discloses in Figs 1-4, a lithium secondary battery (Abstract) including a negative electrode comprising a binder including an epoxy resin ([0015], [0034], [0047]).
Byun et al. (US 2013/0216891) discloses in Figs 1-2, a lithium secondary battery (Abstract) including a negative electrode comprising an epoxy resin binder ([0043]-[0044]).
Yanagisawa et al. discloses in Figs 1-20, a secondary battery (Abstract) including an anode including an epoxy resin at 5 wt% ([0094]).
Lee et al. discloses in Figs 1-10, a secondary battery (Abstract) including a negative electrode containing an epoxy binder at 0.1 – 20 wt% ([0060]-[0061]).
/KENNETH J DOUYETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725