DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 5 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities: claims 5 and 16 include two sentences. Claims are limited to a single sentence. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 12 (and their dependent claims) recite the limitation “the gas inlet block assembly is hermetically connected to an upper cover of the process chamber, a gas mixing chamber, a gas transport channel, and a gas mixing channel are formed in the gas inlet lock assembly”. It is not clear if “the gas inlet block assembly is hermetically connected to an upper cover of the process chamber, a gas mixing chamber, a gas transport channel, and a gas mixing channel” or if “a gas mixing chamber, a gas transport channel, and a gas mixing channel are formed in the gas inlet lock assembly”. It is not possible for the “a gas mixing chamber, a gas transport channel, and a gas mixing channel” to be hermetically connected to the gas inlet block assembly and to be in the gas inlet block assembly.
Regarding claims 1 and 12 (and their dependent claims) recite the limitation "the gas inlet lock assembly" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Furthermore, it is not clear what a gas inlet lock assembly is.
Regarding claims 7 and 18, both include the limitation “…parallel to ta radial…” in line 6. It is not clear what the term “ta” is.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 6, 10, 12, 14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al, CN 109706435 A.
Zhang et al teaches:
Regarding claims 1 and 12, a semiconductor process device, comprising a process chamber (Abstract) and a gas inlet apparatus 100 for passing process gases into a process chamber, wherein the gas inlet apparatus comprises: a gas inlet block assembly 120, 110, 170; and a connection assembly 122A, 122B, both being made of anti-corrosion materials (abstract and specification); wherein: the gas inlet block assembly 120, 110, 170 is hermetically connected to an upper cover 180 of the process chamber, a gas mixing chamber 161, a gas transport channel (spraying holes), and a gas mixing channel 123a-c are formed in the gas inlet lock assembly 120, 110, 170, a gas inlet of the gas transport channel is connected to the gas mixing chamber 161, and a gas outlet of the gas transport channel is connected to the process chamber; the gas mixing channel includes a plurality of gas inlets 122 being formed on an outer surface of the gas inlet block assembly 120, 110, 170, and a gas outlet of the gas mixing channel is connected to the gas mixing chamber; and the connection assembly includes a plurality of connection assemblies A, B disposed on the gas inlet block assembly 120, 110, 170, the plurality of connection assemblies are connected to the plurality of gas inlets 122 of the gas mixing channel in a one-to-one correspondence (Figures), the plurality of connection assemblies are used to connect to a plurality of process gas supply sources in a one-to-one correspondence, and each connection assembly is used to selectively introduce or stop the process gases into the gas mixing channel. (Figures)
Regarding claim 3 and 14, the gas inlet block assembly 120, 110, 170 includes a first gas inlet block 170, a second gas inlet block, and a third gas inlet block that are hermetically connected in sequence, and the first gas inlet block 170 is hermetically connected via o-ring 137 to the upper cover 180 of the process chamber; the gas transport channel (spraying holes) is formed in the first gas inlet block 170 and the spraying holes in the uniform flow plate 160 located in the second gas inlet block 110, and the gas mixing chamber 161 is formed between the second gas inlet block 110 and the third gas inlet block 120; and the gas mixing channel 123a-c is formed in the second gas inlet block 110, and the third gas inlet block 120.
Regarding claims 6 and 17, a gas mixing groove 161 is configured on at least one of two opposite-facing sealing surfaces (bottom surface of the third gas inlet block 120 and the top surface of the second gas inlet block 110) of the third gas inlet block 120 and the second gas inlet block 110 to form the gas mixing chamber 161.
Regarding claim 10, each connection assembly 122A, 122B includes a connection piece (pipe to the threaded connector) and inherently includes a valve, one end of the connection piece is hermetically connected to a gas inlet of the gas mixing channel, the other end of the connection piece is hermetically connected to the valve, and the valve is used to connect to a process gas supply source, and selectively connect or disconnect between the gas mixing channel and the process gas supply source.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al, CN 109706435 A, in view of Narushima et al, US 2015/0187593 A1, and Amikura, CN 200580002527 A.
Zhang et al was discussed above and teaches the use of anti-corrosion material.
Zhang et al differs from the present invention in that Zhang et al does not teach that: the process gases include hydrogen fluoride or the gas inlet block assembly is made of anti-corrosion materials including aluminum; and the connection assembly is made of anti-corrosion materials including Hastelloy alloy.
Narushima et al teaches the use of hydrogen fluoride as a processing gas.
Amikura teaches the use of aluminum or Hastelloy are anti-corrosion resistant material.
The motivation for using hydrogen fluoride in the apparatus of Zhang et al is to selectively etch silicone oxide as taught by Narushima et al.
The motivation for making the gas inlet block assembly is made of anti-corrosion materials including aluminum; and the connection assembly out of anti-corrosion materials including Hastelloy alloy in the apparatus of Zhang et al is to protect the exposed components from corrosion as taught by Amikura and well known in the art. Furthermore. it has been held that: the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obviousness (Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)); and reading a list and selecting a known compound to meet known requirements is no more ingenious that selecting the last piece to put in the last opening in a jig-saw puzzle (325 U.S. at 335, 65 USPQ at 301).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to use hydrogen fluoride in the apparatus of Zhang et al as taught by Narushima et al, make the gas inlet block assembly is made of anti-corrosion materials including aluminum; and the connection assembly out of anti-corrosion materials including Hastelloy alloy in the apparatus of Zhang et al as taught by Amikura and well known in the art.
Claims 4, 8, 9 15, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al, CN 109706435 A, in view of Provencher et al, US 2008/0202416 A1.
Zhang et al was discussed above.
Zhang et al differs from the present invention in that Zhang et al does not teach a temperature control components that include a heating components and a temperature measuring components in each of the gas inlet blocks.
Provencher et al teaches temperature control components that include heating components 180 and temperature measuring components in a plurality of temperature control zones.
The motivation for adding the temperature control components that include heating components and temperature measuring components of Provencher et al to the gas inlet blocks of Zhang et al is to control the temperature in the gas inlet blocks of Zhang et al as taught by Provencher et al.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to add the temperature control components that include heating components and temperature measuring components of Provencher et al to the gas inlet blocks of Zhang et al as taught by Provencher et al.
Claims 5, 7, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al, CN 109706435 A.
Zhang et al was discussed above.
Zhang et al differs from the present invention in that Zhang et al does not teach the claimed shape of the gas transport channel and gas mixing channel.
The motivation for changing the shape of the gas transport channel and gas mixing channel of Zhang et al is to provide the desired shape of the gas transport channel and gas mixing channel. Furthermore, it has been held that a change in shape is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious. (See In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669,149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) MPEP 2144.04.IV.B)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to change the shape of the gas transport channel and gas mixing channel of Zhang et al.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al, CN 109706435 A.
Zhang et al was discussed above and teaches each connection assembly also includes a pressing member 121 and a sealing joint 131, the pressing member includes a semi-annular pressing sub-member surrounding an outer circumference of the connection piece, and is connected to the gas inlet block assembly for pressing the connection piece on the gas inlet block assembly, and the connection piece is hermetically connected to the valve through the sealing joint.
Zhang et al differs from the present invention in that Zhang et al does not include two semi-annular pressing sub-members, the two pressing sub- members butt together to form a closed ring.
The motivation for changing the shape of the pressing member of Zhang et al is to provide an alternate shape for the pressing member Furthermore, it has been held that a change in shape is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious. (See In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669,149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) MPEP 2144.04.IV.B)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to change the shape of the pressing member of Zhang et al.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited art teaches the technological background of the invention. The cited art contains patents that could be used to reject the claims under 35 USC § 102 or 103. These rejections have not been made because they do not provide any additional or different teachings, and if they were applied, would have resulted in an undue multiplication of references. (See MPEP 707.07(g))
Narushima et al, US 20130333768 A1 could be used in place of Zhang et al to reject the claims under 102 and/or 103.
/Jeffrie R Lund/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716