DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a first Office Action Non-Final rejection on the merits. The Restriction election received on 03/13/2026 has been acknowledged. Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 7, 9, 12, and 14-16 have been amended, claim(s) 8 and 19-21 have been cancelled, and claims 22-24 have been added. Claims 1-7, 9-18, and 22-24 are now pending and have been considered below.
Election/Restrictions
1. Applicant’s election of Group I (claims 1-18) and Species 1 (figures 1-7)in the reply filed on 03/13/2026 is acknowledged.
2. Claims 8 and 19-21 are withdrawn (now cancelled) from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected invention Group II and Species 2. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/13/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-18, 22, and 24, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Henderson et al. (WO 2021/160987 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Henderson et al. teaches a hand rail (abstract) comprising: an elongate handle (30) and an attachment portion (20), the elongate handle being connected to the attachment portion by a continuous connecting web that extends from a first end (right end) of the hand rail to a second end (left end) of the hand rail (figure 3) to define an elongate channel (41) between the elongate handle and the attachment portion, the elongate channel being open at the first end of the elongate handle and closed at the second end of the elongate handle (figure 1); wherein a base of the elongate channel is sloped relative to the elongate handle (figure 1) such that liquid drains out of the elongate channel when the elongate handle is in a horizontal orientation (col. 6, lines 15-20).
Regarding claim 2, Henderson et al. teaches the elongate handle and the attachment portion collectively comprise a unitary part formed of plastic (it is understood that polyester; col. 7; lines 20-25; is a plastic material).
Regarding claim 3, Henderson et al. teaches a wall plate (24) attached to the attachment portion (figure 6), wherein the elongate handle and the attachment portion collectively comprise a first unitary part (figure 6), and wherein the wall plate comprises a second unitary part attached to the first unitary part (figure 6).
Regarding claim 4, Henderson et al. teaches a hand rail (abstract) comprising: an elongate handle (30), an attachment portion (20), and a wall plate (24) attached to the attachment portion (figure 6), the elongate handle being connected to the attachment portion by a continuous connecting web that extends from a first end (right end) of the hand rail to a second end (left end) of the hand rail (figure 3) to define an elongate channel (41) between the elongate handle and the attachment portion (figure 1), the elongate channel being open at the first end of the elongate handle and closed at the second end of the elongate handle (figure 1); wherein the elongate handle and the attachment portion collectively comprise a first unitary part (figure 6), and wherein the wall plate comprises a second unitary part attached to the first unitary part (figure 6).
Regarding claim 5, Henderson et al. teaches the first unitary part is formed of plastic (it is understood that polyester; col. 7; lines 20-25; is a plastic material).
Regarding claim 6, Henderson et al. teaches a hand rail (abstract) comprising: an elongate handle (30) and an attachment portion (20), the elongate handle being connected to the attachment portion by a continuous connecting web that extends from a first end (right end) of the hand rail to a second end (left end) of the hand rail (figure 3) to define an elongate channel (41) between the elongate handle and the attachment portion, the elongate channel being open at the first end of the elongate handle and closed at the second end of the elongate handle (figure 1); wherein the elongate handle and the attachment portion collectively comprise a unitary part formed of plastic (it is understood that polyester; col. 7; lines 20-25; is a plastic material).
Regarding claim 7, Henderson et al. teaches the elongate handle and the attachment portion are formed as a single piece (figures 1 and 6).
Regarding claim 9, Henderson et al. teaches a top edge and a bottom edge when affixed horizontally along a wall (figure 6), wherein the elongate channel extends below the elongate handle (figure 6).
Regarding claim 10, Henderson et al. teaches an underside of the hand rail slopes downwards towards the wall (figure 6).
Regarding claim 11, Henderson et al. teaches the underside of the hand rail is convex in cross-section (figure 6).
Regarding claim 12, Henderson et al. teaches a top edge of the elongate handle slopes downwards towards the first end (figure 3).
Regarding claim 13, Henderson et al. teaches the length of the hand rail tapers towards a front edge of the elongate handle (figure 2).
Regarding claim 14, Henderson et al. teaches a cross-sectional width of the elongate channel tapers towards the base of the elongate channel (figure 6).
Regarding claim 15, Henderson et al. teaches the elongate channel is V- shaped in cross-section (figure 6).
Regarding claim 16, Henderson et al. teaches the first end and the second end of the of the hand rail are rounded (figure 2).
Regarding claim 17, Henderson et al. teaches threaded inserts (80) embedded into a rear surface of the attachment portion (figure 10).
Regarding claim 18, Henderson et al. teaches the threaded inserts are keyed into the attachment portion (figure 10).
Regarding claim 22, Henderson et al. teaches the hand rail presents no ligature points (abstract).
Regarding claim 24, Henderson et al. teaches an end wall (50) upwardly extending from the continuous connecting web (figure 1), wherein the end wall is connected to both the elongate handle and the attachment portion (figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henderson et al. (WO 2021/160987 A1) in view of Erwin (U.S. Pub. No. 2002/0005511).
Regarding claim 23, Henderson et al. does not specifically disclose the hand rail is hollow and filled with a material.
Erwin discloses an elongated cap (abstract; 10) which is hollow (hollow within 26) and filled with a material (40).
Therefore, from the teaching of Erwin, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the hand rail of Henderson et al. such that it is hollow and filled with a material, as taught by Erwin, in order to provide a more lightweight material to facilitate assembly and reduce shipping and handling costs.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The cited patents listed on the included form PTO-892 further show the state of the art with respect to hand rails in general.
/OMAR F HIJAZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3633