Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 has a square in the place of the degree symbol in the last line and the square should be replaced with the degree symbol.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rowley (US 2021/0000754) in view of Kawarama et al. (US 2009/0043236).
Regarding claim 1, Rowley discloses a microneedle patch (Figure 1), comprising:
a backing (Figure 1, 110);
an adhesive layer (130) provided on a main surface of the backing (the main surface is the lower surface of 110 that is not visible in figure 1); and
a microneedle array (claim 18 describes microneedles, i.e. a microneedle array in the embossed release liner 120), at least a part of the microneedle array being positioned within the adhesive layer (paragraph 25 describes the adhesive matrix 130 absorbs into the embossed release liner 120), wherein
the adhesive layer comprises a water-soluble polymer (paragraph 28 describes polyacrylic acid, a water-soluble polymer) and water (paragraph 25).
Rowley is silent on a loss tangent of the adhesive layer under measurement conditions of an environmental temperature of 25 C and a frequency of 1 Hz is 0.20 to 0.41.
Kawarama teaches a loss tangent of the adhesive layer (Table 1) under measurement conditions of an environmental temperature of 25 C (Table 1 shows a wide range of temperatures and a line at 25.12 °C) and a frequency of 1 Hz (paragraph 21 describes the frequency as 6,2832 rad/s, which is 1 Hz) is 0.20 to 0.41 (The table 1 loss tangent value that corresponds to 25.12 °C is 0.294 and the loss tangent value that corresponds to 19.11 °C is 0.337, so the loss tangent at exactly 25 °C would be slightly larger than 0.294 and less than 0.337).
Therefore it would have been obvious to modify Rowley’s invention to include a loss tangent of the adhesive layer under measurement conditions of an environmental temperature of 25 C and a frequency of 1 Hz is 0.20 to 0.41 in order to provide a gentle enough adhesion to the skin to avoid excessive pain and improved water resistance as suggested and taught by Kawarama in paragraphs 9-11.
Regarding claim 2, Rowley in view of Kawarama teach the invention as claimed and described above. Rowley further teaches wherein the water-soluble polymer comprises at least one of a polyacrylic acid and a partially-neutralized polyacrylate (paragraph 25 describes polyacrylic acid).
Regarding claim 3, Rowley in view of Kawarama teach the invention as claimed and described above. Rowley further teaches wherein the adhesive layer further comprises a polyhydric alcohol (paragraph 27 describes the adhesive layer including glycerin, a polyhydric alcohol).
Regarding claim 4, Rowley in view of Kawarama teach the invention as claimed and described above. Rowley further teaches wherein the polyhydric alcohol is glycerin (paragraph 27 describes the adhesive layer including glycerin).
Regarding claim 5, Rowley in view of Kawarama teach the invention as claimed and described above. Kawarama further teaches wherein the loss tangent is 0.202 to 0.404 (The table 1 loss tangent value that corresponds to 25.12 °C is 0.294 and the loss tangent value that corresponds to 19.11 °C is 0.337, so the loss tangent at exactly 25 °C would be slightly larger than 0.294 and less than 0.337).
Conclusion
/KATHERYN A MALATEK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741