Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2, lines 1-2 recites “the water soluble polymer” and should recite “the water soluble polymers”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rowley (US 2021/0000754) in view of Kawarama et al. (US 2009/0043236) and Morikane et al. (US 2021/0401767).
Regarding claim 1, Rowley discloses a microneedle patch (Figure 1), comprising:
a backing (Figure 1, 110);
an adhesive layer (130) provided on a main surface of the backing (the main surface is the lower surface of 110 that is not visible in figure 1); and
a microneedle array (claim 18 describes microneedles, i.e. a microneedle array in the embossed release liner 120), at least a part of the microneedle array being positioned within the adhesive layer (paragraph 25 describes the adhesive matrix 130 absorbs into the embossed release liner 120), wherein
the adhesive layer comprises a water-soluble polymer (paragraph 28 describes polyacrylic acid, a water-soluble polymer) and water (paragraph 25).
Rowley is silent on the adhesive layer comprises 11 to 20% by mass in total of water soluble polymers, 3.5 to 7% by mass of sodium carboxymethylcellulose, 2% by mass or more and less than 5% by mass of a partially-neutralized polyacrylate, 0.22 to 1% by mass of a crosslinking agent, and
a loss tangent of the adhesive layer under measurement conditions of an environmental temperature of 25°C and a frequency of 1 Hz is 0.20 to 0.41.
Kawarama teaches a loss tangent of the adhesive layer (Table 1) under measurement conditions of an environmental temperature of 25 C (Table 1 shows a wide range of temperatures and a line at 25.12 °C) and a frequency of 1 Hz (paragraph 21 describes the frequency as 6,2832 rad/s, which is 1 Hz) is 0.20 to 0.41 (The table 1 loss tangent value that corresponds to 25.12 °C is 0.294 and the loss tangent value that corresponds to 19.11 °C is 0.337, so the loss tangent at exactly 25 °C would be slightly larger than 0.294 and less than 0.337).
Therefore it would have been obvious to modify Rowley’s invention to include a loss tangent of the adhesive layer under measurement conditions of an environmental temperature of 25 C and a frequency of 1 Hz is 0.20 to 0.41 in order to provide a gentle enough adhesion to the skin to avoid excessive pain and improved water resistance as suggested and taught by Kawarama in paragraphs 9-11.
Rowley in view of Kawarama are silent on the adhesive layer comprises 11 to 20% by mass in total of water soluble polymers, 3.5 to 7% by mass of sodium carboxymethylcellulose, 2% by mass or more and less than 5% by mass of a partially-neutralized polyacrylate, 0.22 to 1% by mass of a crosslinking agent.
Morikane teaches the adhesive layer comprises 11 to 20% by mass in total of water soluble polymers (paragraph 10 describes the adhesive having 3 to 15% of polyacrylic acid and/or partially neutralized product thereof or a salt thereof and paragraph 15 describes the adhesive having 1 to 10% of carboxyvinyl polymer and/or carboxymethylcellulose or a salt thereof and 1 to 10% of polyvinyl alcohol, and paragraph 26 describes the water comprising 70-85 percent of the solution, leaving 15 to 30 percent for water soluble polymers; there are various permutations within these parameters that give a total water soluble polymer mass of 11 to 20%), 3.5 to 7% by mass of sodium carboxymethylcellulose (paragraph 15 describes the adhesive having 1 to 10% of carboxyvinyl polymer and/or carboxymethylcellulose or a salt thereof and paragraph 60 describes sodium carboxymethylcellulose), 2% by mass or more and less than 5% by mass of a partially-neutralized polyacrylate (paragraph 10 describes the adhesive having 3 to 15% of polyacrylic acid and/or partially neutralized product thereof or a salt thereof), 0.22 to 1% by mass of a crosslinking agent (paragraph 10 describes the adhesive having .05 to .3% cross-linking agents).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rowley in view of Kawarama’s invention to include the adhesive layer comprises 11 to 20% by mass in total of water soluble polymers, 3.5 to 7% by mass of sodium carboxymethylcellulose, 2% by mass or more and less than 5% by mass of a partially-neutralized polyacrylate, 0.22 to 1% by mass of a crosslinking agent in order to provide improved drug absorbency while maintaining adhesion in the patch as suggested and taught by Morikane in paragraph 6.
Regarding claim 2, Rowley in view of Kawarama and Morikane teach the invention as claimed and described above. Rowley further teaches wherein the water-soluble polymer comprises a polyacrylic acid (paragraph 25 describes polyacrylic acid).
Regarding claim 3, Rowley in view of Kawarama and Morikane teach the invention as claimed and described above. Rowley further teaches wherein the adhesive layer further comprises a polyhydric alcohol (paragraph 27 describes the adhesive layer including glycerin, a polyhydric alcohol).
Regarding claim 4, Rowley in view of Kawarama and Morikane teach the invention as claimed and described above. Rowley further teaches wherein the polyhydric alcohol is glycerin (paragraph 27 describes the adhesive layer including glycerin).
Regarding claim 5, Rowley in view of Kawarama and Morikane teach the invention as claimed and described above. Kawarama further teaches wherein the loss tangent is 0.202 to 0.404 (The table 1 loss tangent value that corresponds to 25.12 °C is 0.294 and the loss tangent value that corresponds to 19.11 °C is 0.337, so the loss tangent at exactly 25 °C would be slightly larger than 0.294 and less than 0.337).
Regarding claim 7, Rowley discloses a microneedle patch (Figure 1), comprising:
a backing (Figure 1, 110);
an adhesive layer (130) provided on a main surface of the backing (the main surface is the lower surface of 110 that is not visible in figure 1); and
a microneedle array (claim 18 describes microneedles, i.e. a microneedle array in the embossed release liner 120), at least a part of the microneedle array being positioned within the adhesive layer (paragraph 25 describes the adhesive matrix 130 absorbs into the embossed release liner 120), wherein
the adhesive layer comprises a water-soluble polymer (paragraph 28 describes polyacrylic acid, a water-soluble polymer) and water (paragraph 25).
Rowley is silent on the adhesive layer comprises 11 to 20% by mass in total of water-soluble polymers, 0.5% by mass or more and less than 3.5% by mass of sodium carboxymethylcellulose, 1% by mass or more and less than 5% by mass of a partially-neutralized polyacrylate, 0.18 to 0.7% by mass of a crosslinking agent, and
a loss tangent of the adhesive layer under measurement conditions of an environmental temperature of 25°C and a frequency of 1 Hz is 0.20 to 0.41.
Kawarama teaches a loss tangent of the adhesive layer (Table 1) under measurement conditions of an environmental temperature of 25 C (Table 1 shows a wide range of temperatures and a line at 25.12 °C) and a frequency of 1 Hz (paragraph 21 describes the frequency as 6,2832 rad/s, which is 1 Hz) is 0.20 to 0.41 (The table 1 loss tangent value that corresponds to 25.12 °C is 0.294 and the loss tangent value that corresponds to 19.11 °C is 0.337, so the loss tangent at exactly 25 °C would be slightly larger than 0.294 and less than 0.337).
Therefore it would have been obvious to modify Rowley’s invention to include a loss tangent of the adhesive layer under measurement conditions of an environmental temperature of 25 C and a frequency of 1 Hz is 0.20 to 0.41 in order to provide a gentle enough adhesion to the skin to avoid excessive pain and improved water resistance as suggested and taught by Kawarama in paragraphs 9-11.
Morikane teaches the adhesive layer comprises 11 to 20% by mass in total of water-soluble polymers (paragraph 10 describes the adhesive having 3 to 15% of polyacrylic acid and/or partially neutralized product thereof or a salt thereof and paragraph 15 describes the adhesive having 1 to 10% of carboxyvinyl polymer and/or carboxymethylcellulose or a salt thereof and 1 to 10% of polyvinyl alcohol, and paragraph 26 describes the water comprising 70-85 percent of the solution, leaving 15 to 30 percent for water soluble polymers; there are various permutations within these parameters that give a total water soluble polymer mass of 11 to 20%), 0.5% by mass or more and less than 3.5% by mass of sodium carboxymethylcellulose (paragraph 15 describes the adhesive having 1 to 10% of carboxyvinyl polymer and/or carboxymethylcellulose or a salt thereof), 1% by mass or more and less than 5% by mass of a partially-neutralized polyacrylate (paragraph 10 describes the adhesive having 3 to 15% of polyacrylic acid and/or partially neutralized product thereof or a salt thereof and paragraph 60 describes sodium carboxymethylcellulose), 0.18 to 0.7% by mass of a crosslinking agent (paragraph 10 describes the adhesive having .05 to .3% cross-linking agents).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rowley in view of Kawarama’s invention to include the adhesive layer comprises 11 to 20% by mass in total of water-soluble polymers, 0.5% by mass or more and less than 3.5% by mass of sodium carboxymethylcellulose, 1% by mass or more and less than 5% by mass of a partially-neutralized polyacrylate, 0.18 to 0.7% by mass of a crosslinking agent in order to provide improved drug absorbency while maintaining adhesion in the patch as suggested and taught by Morikane in paragraph 6.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rowley (US 2021/0000754) in view of Kawarama et al. (US 2009/0043236), Morikane et al. (US 2021/0401767) and Hu et al. (US 2024/0100042).
Regarding claim 6, Rowley discloses a microneedle patch (Figure 1), comprising:
a backing (Figure 1, 110);
an adhesive layer (130) provided on a main surface of the backing (the main surface is the lower surface of 110 that is not visible in figure 1); and
a microneedle array (claim 18 describes microneedles, i.e. a microneedle array in the embossed release liner 120), at least a part of the microneedle array being positioned within the adhesive layer (paragraph 25 describes the adhesive matrix 130 absorbs into the embossed release liner 120), wherein
the adhesive layer comprises a water-soluble polymer (paragraph 28 describes polyacrylic acid, a water-soluble polymer) and water (paragraph 25).
Rowley is silent on the adhesive layer comprises 11 to 20% by mass in total of water-soluble polymers, 0.5% by mass or more and less than 3.5% by mass of sodium carboxymethylcellulose, 1% by mass or more and less than 5% by mass of a partially-neutralized polyacrylate, 1 to 9% by mass of a crosslinking agent, and
a loss tangent of the adhesive layer under measurement conditions of an environmental temperature of 25°C and a frequency of 1 Hz is 0.20 to 0.41.
Kawarama teaches a loss tangent of the adhesive layer (Table 1) under measurement conditions of an environmental temperature of 25 C (Table 1 shows a wide range of temperatures and a line at 25.12 °C) and a frequency of 1 Hz (paragraph 21 describes the frequency as 6,2832 rad/s, which is 1 Hz) is 0.20 to 0.41 (The table 1 loss tangent value that corresponds to 25.12 °C is 0.294 and the loss tangent value that corresponds to 19.11 °C is 0.337, so the loss tangent at exactly 25 °C would be slightly larger than 0.294 and less than 0.337).
Therefore it would have been obvious to modify Rowley’s invention to include a loss tangent of the adhesive layer under measurement conditions of an environmental temperature of 25 C and a frequency of 1 Hz is 0.20 to 0.41 in order to provide a gentle enough adhesion to the skin to avoid excessive pain and improved water resistance as suggested and taught by Kawarama in paragraphs 9-11.
Morikane teaches the adhesive layer comprises 11 to 20% by mass in total of water-soluble polymer (paragraph 10 describes the adhesive having 3 to 15% of polyacrylic acid and/or partially neutralized product thereof or a salt thereof and paragraph 15 describes the adhesive having 1 to 10% of carboxyvinyl polymer and/or carboxymethylcellulose or a salt thereof and 1 to 10% of polyvinyl alcohol, and paragraph 26 describes the water comprising 70-85 percent of the solution, leaving 15 to 30 percent for water soluble polymers; there are various permutations within these parameters that give a total water soluble polymer mass of 11 to 20%)s, 0.5% by mass or more and less than 3.5% by mass of sodium carboxymethylcellulose (paragraph 15 describes the adhesive having 1 to 10% of carboxyvinyl polymer and/or carboxymethylcellulose or a salt thereof and paragraph 60 describes sodium carboxymethylcellulose), 1% by mass or more and less than 5% by mass of a partially-neutralized polyacrylate (paragraph 10 describes the adhesive having 3 to 15% of polyacrylic acid and/or partially neutralized product thereof or a salt thereof), and a crosslinking agent (paragraph 10 describes the adhesive a cross-linking agent).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rowley in view of Kawarama’s invention to include the adhesive layer comprises 11 to 20% by mass in total of water-soluble polymers, 0.5% by mass or more and less than 3.5% by mass of sodium carboxymethylcellulose, 1% by mass or more and less than 5% by mass of a partially-neutralized polyacrylate, a crosslinking agent in order to provide improved drug absorbency while maintaining adhesion in the patch as suggested and taught by Morikane in paragraph 6.
Rowley in view of Kawarama and Morikane are silent on 1 to 9% by mass of a crosslinking agent.
Hu teaches 1 to 9% by mass of a crosslinking agent (paragraph 7 describes 2% of a cross-linking agent).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rowley in view of Kawarama and Morikane’s invention to include 1 to 9% by mass of a crosslinking agent in order to provide a stable mixture for the patch as suggested and taught by Hu in paragraph 39.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHERYN A MALATEK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741