Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: in para. 57, the text reference error should be removed. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 41 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim does not end with a period. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 31, the first and second IAB nodes are recited as being the same but in parent claim 30 the topology of the nodes is inter-donor which means more than one donor node must be present as noted in para 7 of the specification of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 28, 37 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US 2021/0168798) in view of Ghanbarinejad et al. (US 2023/0247574). For dependent claims herein, the motivation to combine is the same as the parent claim unless otherwise noted.
Regarding claim 28, Xu discloses a method performed by an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) donor node for synchronized activation of a resource configuration (figs. 1 and 10-13; note: time slot resources), the method comprising: determining, by the IAB-donor node, a synchronized update time (paras. 112-113, 129 and 132; note: update starting time to change a slot format) for performing a synchronized configuration update in a
However, Xu fails to disclose a plurality of parent IAB-nodes and wherein the child IAB-node is dual-connected to the plurality of parent IAB-nodes. Ghanbarinejad discloses these features (fig. 2B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a plurality of parent IAB-nodes and wherein the child IAB-node is dual-connected to the plurality of parent IAB-nodes in the invention of Xu. The motivation to have the modification and/or well-known benefits of the modification include, but are not limited to, providing a network layout coverage as is known in the art (Ghanbarinejad, fig. 2B and paras. 60, 70, 95 and 99; MPEP 2143(I)(A)(B)(C)(D) - note: e.g., applying known techniques having predictable results).
Regarding claim 37, Xu in view of Ghanbarinejad teaches and makes obvious the method of claim 28, wherein transmitting the synchronized update time to each parent IAB-node comprises transmitting an activation delay to each parent IAB-node (Xu, figs. 10-13; step S1001; paras. 112-113, 118, 122, 129 and 132; note: the update start time is an activation delay) before performing the synchronized configuration update (step S1007).
Regarding claim 40, Xu in view of Ghanbarinejad teaches and makes the method of claim 28, wherein transmitting the synchronized update time to each parent IAB-node to activate the synchronized configuration update comprises one of: .
Claims 38 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Ghanbarinejad as applied to claim 28 above, and further in view of Park et al. (US 2018/034525).
Regarding claim 38, Xu in view of Ghanbarinejad teaches and makes obvious the method of claim 28, wherein the synchronized update time comprises an indication (para. 112-113) but fails to disclose the synchronized update time as a system frame number and a slot number. Park discloses a time is indicated by a system frame number and a time slot number (paras. 233 and 466-467). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the synchronized update time as a system frame number and a slot number in the invention of Xu in view of Ghanbarinejad. The motivation to have the modification and/or well-known benefits of the modification include, but are not limited to, provide a specific value of time as is known in the art (Park, paras. 233 and 466-467; MPEP 2143(I)(A)(B)(C)(D) - note: e.g., applying known techniques having predictable results).
Regarding claim 40, Xu in view of Ghanbarinejad and Park teaches and makes the method of claim 28, wherein transmitting the synchronized update time to each parent IAB-node to activate the synchronized configuration update comprises one of: transmitting a specific slot (Park, paras. 233 and 466-467), .
Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu ‘798 in view of Ghanbarinejad as applied to claim 28 above, and further in view of Xu et al. (US 2021/0258244).
Claims 41-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu ‘798 in view of Ghanbarinejad (or Xu ‘798 in view of Ghanbarinejad and Park) as applied to claim 40 above, and further in view of Xu et al. (US 2021/0258244). For dependent claims herein, the motivation to combine is the same as the parent claim unless otherwise noted.
Regarding claim 39, Xu ‘798 in view of Ghanbarinejad fails to teach and make obvious the method of claim 28, wherein transmitting the synchronized update time to each parent IAB-node comprises transmitting the synchronized update time in an F1 Application Protocol (F1AP) message. However, Xu ‘244 discloses transmitting signaling from an IAB-donor to parent IAB-nodes using F1-AP messages (para. 69 and 75; fig. 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein transmitting the synchronized update time to each parent IAB-node comprises transmitting the synchronized update time in an F1 Application Protocol (F1AP) message in the invention of Xu ‘798 in view of Ghanbarinejad. The motivation to have the modification and/or well-known benefits of the modification include, but are not limited to, provide a data format for a transmission as is known in the art (Xu ‘244, para. 69 and 75; fig. 2; MPEP 2143(I)(A)(B)(C)(D) - note: e.g., applying known techniques having predictable results).
Regarding claim 41, Xu ‘798 in view of Ghanbarinejad (and Park) and Xu ‘244 teaches and makes obvious the method of claim 40, wherein the synchronized update time or the activation delay are provided
Regarding claim 42, Xu ‘798 in view of Ghanbarinejad (and Park) and Xu ‘244 teaches and makes obvious the method of claim 41, wherein the message from the IAB-donor node to the child IAB-node comprises an F1 message or a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message (Xu ‘798, paras. 112-113; Xu, ‘244, fig. 2 and paras. 69 and 75).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 29-36 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Additionally, for claim 31 to be allowable the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112 must be overcome.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Yemane Mesfin, can be reached at 571-272-3927. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. For non-official communications, the examiner’s e-mail address is kevin.harper@uspto.gov (MPEP 502.03 – A copy of all received emails relating to an application including proposed amendments and excluding scheduling information for interviews will be placed informally into the application file).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Kevin C. Harper/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462