DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed August 20, 2026, has been entered. Claims 14-19, 23-24, and 32-43 are pending in the application. Applicant has submitted amendments to the claims along with other remarks. Applicant’s amended abstract overcomes the objection. Applicant’s amendments to the drawings do not overcome the objection. Claims 14-19 and 37 are still rejected by prior art references, refer to the following rejection for details.
New claims 38-43 are considered drawn to an unelected invention. Applicant is required to restrict the claims to the invention previously claimed.
Regarding the drawings, Applicant has underlined reference characters, which is improper. Underlines are improper “except for those which indicate the surface or cross section on which they are placed.” 37 CFR 1.84(q). Correction is required for Figs. 2-3.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, see pp. 11-15 of the response, filed August 20, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 14-19 and 37 under § 102 have been fully considered but are not persuasive, please see below for details.
Regarding claim 14, Applicant has two positions. First, Applicant contends that Futaki does not “describe[] the S-SN sending a ‘measurement configuration’ to the MN.” Remarks at 13. Applicant correctly states that [0078] of Futaki describes “the message that the MN constructs and sends to the UE, not a message received from the S-SN.” Remarks at 12. Futaki, however, describes that the MN receives the contents of this message in [0079]. For example, “In step 305, the MN 1 performs additional signaling with the S-SN to obtain one or more updated CPC execution condition information items.” Futaki [0079]. Futaki states that “the S-SN 2 responds by sending an inter-node message to the MN 1 indicating the updated CPC execution condition information item(s) (if necessary),” and therefore, Futaki is viewed as describing the S-SN sending a measurement configuration to the MN. See also [0070-71] (“the MN 1 receives a first inter-node message from the S-SN 2 indicating a request for an SN-initiated inter-SN CPC . . . The candidateCellInfoListSN field may further indicate measurement results of one or more neighbor cells (candidate PSCells) measured by the UE 3.”).
Second, Applicant alleges that Futaki does not disclose “performing the following if. . . .” Remarks at 13. To the extent that this limitation is limiting, Applicant states that “Futaki’s MN sends CPC execution condition information items and PSCell configuration information items—not a ‘measurement configuration’” without providing a basis for the assertion. Remarks at 13. [0078] of Futaki states that “CPC execution condition may be specified by a measurement identifier.” Applicant has not provided a basis for why this disclosure by Futaki would not be considered a “measurement configuration.”
For these reasons, the rejection is maintained.
Drawings
Figs. 2 and 3 of the drawings are objected to because they contain reference characters that are not associated with lead lines. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14-19 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2024/0244493 (hereinafter “Futaki”).
Regarding claim 14, Futaki teaches: A method performed by a first network node that is configured as a master node (Master Node [0064]), the method comprising: receiving, from a second network node that is configured as a source secondary node (Secondary Node [0064]) for dual connectivity for a user device ([0155]), a message including a list of candidate target Primary Secondary Cells (PSCells) for a target secondary node (candidateCellInfoListSN [0071]), an initial measurement configuration (measId [0078]) for the user device based on the list of candidate target PSCells including at least a conditional PSCell change (CPC) execution condition for one or more of the candidate target PSCells ([0078] The condReconfigToAddModList IE may associate the PSCell configuration (e.g., SN RRC Reconfiguration message) of each candidate PSCell with the corresponding CPC execution condition.); receiving, from the target secondary node, a list of accepted target PSCells that are accepted by the target secondary node among the list of candidate target PSCells ([0073] The third inter-node message includes one or more PSCell configuration information items, each indicating a PSCell configuration for a respective one of the one or more accepted candidate PSCells); comparing the list of accepted target PSCells that are accepted by the target secondary node to the list of candidate target PSCells ([0075] comparing the list received from the S-SN 2 with the list received from the T-SN 4.); determining whether the list of accepted target PSCells is the same as or different from the list of candidate target PSCells ([0075] determine whether or not all the candidate PSCells have been accepted); performing the following if the list of accepted target PSCells is the same as the list of candidate target PSCells: sending, the user device, a conditional reconfiguration message including the initial measurement configuration that is based on the list of candidate target PSCells, without waiting to receive an updated measurement configuration ([0076] This list may associate an identifier (PSCell ID) of each accepted candidate PSCell with a corresponding PSCell configuration (e.g., RRC Container, SN RRC Reconfiguration message).); otherwise, performing the following if the list of accepted target PSCells is different from the list of candidate target PSCells: waiting to receive, by the first network node from the second network node, the updated measurement configuration that is based on the list of accepted target PSCells (p0094] Each CPC execution condition information item may contain one or more measurement identifiers (measurement identity (measId)); [0109] This inter-node message may include at least one updated CPC execution condition information item for at least one of the one or more candidate PSCells accepted by the T-SN 4.); and sending, to the user device, a conditional reconfiguration message including the updated measurement configuration that is based on the list of accepted target PSCells ([0076] This list may associate an identifier (PSCell ID) of each accepted candidate PSCell with a corresponding PSCell configuration (e.g., RRC Container, SN RRC Reconfiguration message). [0111]).
Regarding claim 15, Futaki teaches: sending, by the first network node to the second network node, the list of accepted target PSCells ([0109] This inter-node message may include at least one updated CPC execution condition information item for at least one of the one or more candidate PSCells accepted by the T-SN 4.); wherein the receiving, by the first network node from the second network node, the updated measurement configuration is based on the list of accepted target cells sent to the second network node ([0109] The MN 1 may send a second MN RRC reconfiguration message to the UE 3 containing the at least one updated CPC execution condition information item.).
Regarding claim 16, Futaki teaches: wherein the message further comprises a request to provide a list of accepted target PSCells that are accepted by the target secondary node among the list of candidate target PSCells ([0015] A first aspect is directed to a RAN node configured to operate as an MN associated with a Master Cell Group (MCG) in dual connectivity for a UE. The RAN node includes at least one memory and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory. The at least one processor is configured to receive from an S-SN a first inter-node message indicating a request for an SN-initiated inter-SN CPC.); and wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the first network node to the target secondary node, a secondary node addition request message that includes the list of candidate PSCells for the target secondary node ( [0072] In step 302, the MN 1 sends a second inter-node message to the T-SN 4 indicating a request for an inter-SN CPC and including information on the plurality of candidate PSCells. The second inter-node message may be an SN Addition Request message (e.g., SgNB Addition Request, or S-NODE Addition Request).).
Regarding claim 17, Futaki teaches: wherein the sending a conditional reconfiguration message including the initial measurement configuration comprises: sending, by the first network node to the user device, a conditional reconfiguration message including the initial measurement configuration that is based on the list of candidate target PSCells and PSCell configurations for each of the candidate target PSCells ([0078] The MN RRC reconfiguration message of step 304 may include a ConditionalReconfiguration IE. The ConditionalReconfiguration IE may contain a condReconfigToAddModList IE. The condReconfigToAddModList IE may associate the PSCell configuration (e.g., SN RRC Reconfiguration message) of each candidate PSCell with the corresponding CPC execution condition. This CPC execution condition may be specified by a measurement identifier (measurement identity (measId)). The measurement identifier associates a measurement object (MeasObject) with a report configuration (ReportConfig). The MeasObject indicates information applicable to intra-frequency or inter-frequency (intra/inter-frequency) measurements and specifies the identifiers of one or more candidate PSCells. The ReportConfig specifies criteria for triggering of a CPC event.).
Regarding claim 18, Futaki teaches: wherein the sending, by the first network node to the user device, a conditional reconfiguration message including the updated measurement configuration comprises: sending, by the first network node to the user device, a conditional reconfiguration message including the updated measurement configuration that is based on the list of accepted target PSCells and PSCell configurations for each of the accepted target PSCells ([0078] The condReconfigToAddModList IE may associate the PSCell configuration (e.g., SN RRC Reconfiguration message) of each candidate PSCell with the corresponding CPC execution condition.).
Regarding claim 19, Futaki teaches: wherein the message further comprises an indication that the user device may release ([0256] The RAN node according to any one of Supplementary Notes 26 to 28, wherein the at least one processor is configured to send an SN Release Request message or an SN Change Confirm message to the source SN during a procedure that is for preparing the inter-SN CPC and is performed before receiving the second MN RRC reconfiguration completion message. [0258]) a measurement gap if the list of accepted target PSCells do not include an inter-frequency cell associated with the measurement gap; wherein the sending, by the first network node to the user device, a conditional reconfiguration message including the updated measurement configuration comprises: sending, by the first network node to the user device, a conditional reconfiguration message including the updated measurement configuration that is based on the list of accepted target PSCells, PSCell configurations for each of the accepted target PSCells, and the indication that the user device may release a measurement gap if the list of accepted target PSCells does not include an inter- frequency cell associated with the measurement gap ([0012] However, if the T-SN rejects some of the plurality of candidate PSCells specified by the S-SN, the MN may need to perform additional signaling with the S-SN to obtain updated one or more CPC execution conditions for only a subset of the candidate PSCells accepted by the T-SN. Additionally, in some implementations, the MN may not be able to determine whether the one or more PSCell configurations received from the T-SN match all of the candidate PSCells specified by the S-SN. In this case, the MN may need to perform additional signaling with the S-SN to obtain updated one or more CPC execution conditions, regardless of whether the T-SN has rejected some of the multiple candidate PSCells specified by the S-SN. Such additional signaling may increase the delay in CPC preparation.).
Regarding claim 37, Futaki teaches: A first network node that is configured as a master node (Master Node [0064]), comprising at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code; the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the first network node at least to perform (FIG. 16): receiving, from a second network node that is configured as a source secondary node (Secondary Node [0064]) for dual connectivity for a user device ([0155]), a message including a list of candidate target Primary Secondary Cells (PSCells) for a target secondary node (candidateCellInfoListSN [0071]), an initial measurement configuration (measId [0078]) for the user device based on the list of candidate target PSCells including at least a conditional PSCell change (CPC) execution condition for one or more of the candidate target PSCells ([0078] The condReconfigToAddModList IE may associate the PSCell configuration (e.g., SN RRC Reconfiguration message) of each candidate PSCell with the corresponding CPC execution condition.); receiving, from the target secondary node, a list of accepted target PSCells that are accepted by the target secondary node among the list of candidate target PSCells ([0073] The third inter-node message includes one or more PSCell configuration information items, each indicating a PSCell configuration for a respective one of the one or more accepted candidate PSCells); comparing the list of accepted target PSCells that are accepted by the target secondary node to the list of candidate target PSCells ([0075] comparing the list received from the S-SN 2 with the list received from the T-SN 4.); determining whether the list of accepted target PSCells is the same as or different from the list of candidate target PSCells ([0075] determine whether or not all the candidate PSCells have been accepted); performing the following if the list of accepted target PSCells is the same as the list of candidate target PSCells: sending, the user device, a conditional reconfiguration message including the initial measurement configuration that is based on the list of candidate target PSCells, without waiting to receive an updated measurement configuration ([0076] This list may associate an identifier (PSCell ID) of each accepted candidate PSCell with a corresponding PSCell configuration (e.g., RRC Container, SN RRC Reconfiguration message).); otherwise, performing the following if the list of accepted target PSCells is different from the list of candidate target PSCells: waiting to receive, by the first network node from the second network node, the updated measurement configuration that is based on the list of accepted target PSCells (p0094] Each CPC execution condition information item may contain one or more measurement identifiers (measurement identity (measId)); [0109] This inter-node message may include at least one updated CPC execution condition information item for at least one of the one or more candidate PSCells accepted by the T-SN 4.); and sending, to the user device, a conditional reconfiguration message including the updated measurement configuration that is based on the list of accepted target PSCells ([0076] This list may associate an identifier (PSCell ID) of each accepted candidate PSCell with a corresponding PSCell configuration (e.g., RRC Container, SN RRC Reconfiguration message). [0111]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Non-patent Literature entitled, "3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 Meeting #112-e, R3-212833, (TP to CPAC TS 37.340 BL CR) Consideration on conditional PSCell change/addition”
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAB/ Examiner, Art Unit 2643
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643