DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirooka [US 6629423] in view of Matsuzaki [US 20120204576] and Nakamura [US 20060023424].
Claim 1: Hirooka teaches a cooling device for a vacuum apparatus [abstract, col 1, ln 15-20] comprising a cooling element having a cooling duct (pipe) [abstract] with an inlet and outlet [Fig. 1]. However, Hirooka does not appear to teach providing a gas via a supply line and spray supply line connected to the supply line, Matsuzaki is provided.
Matsuzaki teaches providing a spray supply line to the supply line, wherein a spray nozzle is connected to the spray supply line [Fig. 5]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the spray nozzle connect to a spray supply line as taught by Matsuzaki so as to improve cooling of the substrate [0003]. However, the prior art does not appear to teach providing a compressed gas supply and nebulizing a liquid coolant and feeding the nebulized coolant into the supply line. Nakamura is provided.
Nakamura teaches a cooling apparatus comprising a compressed gas supply and nebulizing a liquid coolant and feeding the nebulized coolant to the coolant device [abstract]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a compressed gas supply and nebulizing the liquid coolant to be supplied to the coolant device as taught by Nakamura so as to optimize the removal of heat from the substrate [0009].
Claim 2: Hirooka teaches the cooling element is a sample holder [Fig. 1].
Claim 3: Nakamura teaches using a needle valve [0065].
Claims 4-5: Nakamura teaches if the pressure is reduce than the amount of the injected coolant is decreased therefore the liquid is not atomized and sufficiently cooled [0013]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the amount of nebulized liquid by increasing the nebulized liquid coolant in order to lower the temperature of the cooling element.
Claim 6: Matsuzaki teaches the flow rate control valve can be configured to be opened and closed based upon the targeted cooling temperature [0064].
Claim 7: Matsuzaki teaches the spray nozzle is the inlet valve [Fig. 7].
Claim 8: Matsuzaki teaches the coolant supply line is connected to a supply line to the supply the liquid coolant and the cooling element [Fig. 7], wherein the coolant supply line comprises a coolant inlet valve configured to open at a threshold temperature of the cooling element below a temperature and close a temperature above the threshold temperature [0064], wherein Nakamura teaches the threshold temperature is below the boiling point [0009].
Claim 15: Hirooka teaches the sample holder is disposed in the vacuum chamber and deposition module wherein the sample holder comprises a cooling device [Fig. 1] Matsuzaki also teaches a similar arrangement [Fig. 7].
Conclusion
/MANDY C LOUIE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718