DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claims 3, 5, 9-10, 15-19, 21-26, 28-34, 36, 39-51, 53 are cancelled.
Claims 54-58 are newly added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 27 includes limitation “”providing a fixed-magnitude power supply to at least one LED subpixel, and providing a variable-magnitude power supply to said at least one LED subpixel” the claim is indefinite because is it not specifically clear if a fixed-magnitude or variable-magnitude power is suppled to said one LED subpixel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6-8, 20, 35, 38, 52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIGETA et al (US Pub 2018/0144715) in view of Takashima et al (US Pub 2005/0156496).
With respect to claim 1, SHIGETA discloses a method of controlling an LED display device comprising a variable-wavelength LED, (par 0002; discloses a display apparatus which is equipped with a display including a plurality of light emitting components and a controlling method thereof) the method comprising the steps of: providing a power supply which supplies drive current pulses to the variable-wavelength LED; and controlling the power supply to vary a peak emission wavelength of the LED within an emission wavelength range (par 0049; discloses if the driving current intensity increases, a wavelength of a light emitting color gets shorter, and if the driving current intensity decreases, the wavelength of the light emitting color gets longer); the method comprising the step of controlling a brightness of each emitted peak emission wavelength by controlling the duration of each drive current pulse (par 0115; discloses the processor 140 may lower the brightness in the first display mode by shortening the time when a current is applied. In addition, the processor 140 may increase the brightness in the second display mode by extending the time when a current is applied);
SHIGETA doesn’t expressly disclose the variable-wavelength LED including a diode having a peak emission wavelength controllable over an emission wavelength range of at least 40 nm and controlling the power supply to vary a peak emission wavelength of the variable -wavelength LED over the emission wavelength range of at least 40 nm;
In the same field of endeavor, Takashima discloses light emitting device and control method (see abstract); Takashima discloses variable-wavelength LED including a diode having a peak emission wavelength controllable over an emission wavelength range of at least 40 nm (par 0013; discloses light emitting device of the present invention contains a light emitting element that emits light with principal emission wavelength in a region ranging from near ultraviolet to blue light (300-490 nm) ) and controlling the power supply to vary a peak emission wavelength of the variable -wavelength LED over the emission wavelength range of at least 40 nm (par 0026; discloses The light emitting device according to the present invention can emit light of desired color with high color rendering property while preventing color deviation and deterioration of color rendering property from occurring in case the drive current density in the light emitting device changes, also when a light emitting element having principal-emission-peak wavelength in blue region (420-490 nm) is used and a YAG fluorescent material is included in the fluorescent material; fig. 15; par 0446; discloses Peak emission wavelength of a semiconductor light emitting element shifts toward shorter wavelengths when the current supplied thereto increases as shown in FIG. 15; par 0022, 0037as well);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by SHIGETA to use the light emitting element disclosed by Takashima in the display device in order to generate lights of different colors with improved light emitting characteristics such that different variation of color is generated by controlling the driving current.
With respect to claim 2, SHIGETA as modified by Takashima discloses in which the emission wavelength range is at least 50 nm, or at least 60 nm, or at least 70 nm, or at least 80 nm (Takashima; par 0013; discloses light emitting device of the present invention contains a light emitting element that emits light with principal emission wavelength in a region ranging from near ultraviolet to blue light (300-490 nm); i.e. 490-300 = 190nm).
With respect to claim 4, SHIGETA as modified by Takashima further discloses in which the power supply is controlled to vary the peak emission wavelength of the variable-wavelength LED by varying a current density provided to the variable-wavelength LED (SHIGETA; par 0049; discloses if the driving current intensity increases, a wavelength of a light emitting color gets shorter, and if the driving current intensity decreases, the wavelength of the light emitting color gets longer.).
With respect to claim 6, SHIGETA as modified by Takashima further discloses in which the power supply is controlled to supply a first current density at which the variable-wavelength LED emits at a first peak emission wavelength, and the power supply is controlled to supply a second current density lower than the first current density, so that the variable-wavelength LED emits at a second peak emission wavelength longer than the first emission wavelength (SHIGETA; par 0049; discloses if the driving current intensity increases, a wavelength of a light emitting color gets shorter, and if the driving current intensity decreases, the wavelength of the light emitting color gets longer.).
With respect to claim 7, SHIGETA as modified by Takashima discloses in which the first peak emission wavelength is below 570 nm and the second peak emission wavelength is above 610 nm, the LED emits green light in response to the first current density and red light in response to the second current density (fig. 1; discloses green light wavelength is below 530nm and red light wavelength is above 630nm; par 0049; discloses a wavelength of light emitted from the LED in the other colors may be changed according to the driving current intensity);
SHIGETA as modified by Takashima don’t expressly disclose the variable-wavelength LED emits green light and red light;
Takashima discloses the variable-wavelength LED emits green light and red light (par 0022; discloses When three or more kinds of fluorescent material are used, white light of high color rendering property can be emitted by using a first fluorescent material that emits light having at least one peak emission wavelength in a region from blue-purple to blue region, a second fluorescent material that emits light having at least one peak emission wavelength in a region from blue-green to yellow-green region, and a third fluorescent material that emits light having at least one peak emission wavelength in a region from yellow to red region. Wavelengths of the blue region (=pure blue region) are from 455 nm to 485 nm, wavelengths of the blue-green region are from 485 nm to 495 nm, wavelengths of the green region are from 495 nm to 548 nm, wavelengths of the yellow-green region are from 548 nm to 573 nm, wavelengths of the yellow region are from 573 nm to 584 nm, wavelengths of the yellow-red region are from 584 nm to 610 nm, and wavelengths of the red region are from 610 nm to 780 nm; fig. 20 as well);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by SHIGETA as modified by Takashima to incorporate the teachings of Takashima to replace plurality of LEDs with single LED capable of generating multiple light in order to increase the density of pixels in the display device.
With respect to claim 8, SHIGETA as modified by Takashima further discloses in which the power supply is operated in a pulse width modulation (PWM) mode, and/or a pulse amplitude modulation (PAM mode) (SHIGETA; par 0050; discloses If a color in a color gamut is displayed, the displayed color may be determined by so called pulse width modulation (PWM) which changes applying time of a current with regard to the R LED, the G LED and the B LED.).
With respect to claim 20, SHIGETA as modified by Takashima further discloses comprising providing a first drive current so that the variable wavelength LED emits at a first peak emission wavelength, and providing a second drive current having an amplitude different from the first drive current so that the variable wavelength LED emits at a second peak emission wavelength, (SHIGETA; par 0049; discloses a wavelength of light emitted from the LED may be changed by driving current intensity. For example, in the case of the G LED, if the driving current intensity increases, a wavelength of a light emitting color gets shorter, and if the driving current intensity decreases, the wavelength of the light emitting color gets longer. Similarly, a wavelength of light emitted from the LED in the other colors may be changed according to the driving current intensity.; see fig. 5A; discloses amplitude of pulses may be changed in different display modes) in which the first drive current is provided to the variable wavelength LED during a first duty cycle, and the second drive current is provided to the variable wavelength LED during a second duty cycle, (SHIGETA; fig. 5A; discloses pulse with different duty cycle is applied to the LEDs in different display modes) and comprising the step of controlling the duration of the first duty cycle and/or a duration of the second duty cycle in order to control an observed brightness and/or chromaticity produced by the display device (SHIGETA; par 0053; discloses The display driver 120 may adjust the time when a current is applied to the plurality of light emitting components based on color information of the content to be displayed. Par 0115; discloses the processor 140 may lower the brightness in the first display mode by shortening the time when a current is applied. In addition, the processor 140 may increase the brightness in the second display mode by extending the time when a current is applied).
With respect to claim 35, SHIGETA as modified by Takashima further discloses the LED display device comprises a plurality of variable-wavelength subpixels (SHIGETA; par 0054; discloses the display driver 120 may generate three types of currents that correspond to each of the R LED, the G LED and the B LED, and apply the generated currents to the corresponding LED respectively; par 0049; discloses a wavelength of light emitted from the LED in the other colors may be changed according to the driving current intensity. Par 0048; discloses the display 110 may be implemented in a state that light emitting components of a plurality of R LED, a plurality of G LED and a plurality of B LED are arranged at regular intervals).
With respect to claim 38, SHIGETA as modified by Takashima further discloses comprising altering the emission wavelengths of the variable wavelength subpixels by altering a magnitude of the drive current pulses applied to the variable-wavelength subpixels at regular intervals (SHIGETA; par 0051; discloses the processor 140 may change the color gamut that the display 110 may realize by changing driving current intensity; par 0093; discloses A plurality of switches 310 positioned on the left side of the display 110 are a configuration for turning on a plurality of light emitting components by row. According to an exemplary embodiment, the plurality of switches 310 are turned on in order according to a predetermined time interval. According to an another exemplary embodiment, the plurality of switches 310 are turned on, only one switch at a time, in order according to a predetermined time interval).
With respect to claim 52, SHIGETA as modified by Takashima further discloses comprising providing, to a first LED subpixel, a first drive current having a first magnitude, and providing, to a second LED subpixel having a same diode structure as the first LED subpixel, a second drive current having a second magnitude different from the first magnitude (SHIGETA; par 0047; discloses The light emitting components may be implemented as one of a Red (R) LED, a Green (G) LED and a Blue (B) LED, and each LED may form a sub pixel. That is, one pixel may be formed by using three sub pixels of the R LED, the G LED and the B LED. par 0054; discloses The display driver 120 may apply a current differently according to the type of an LED. For example, the display driver 120 may generate three types of currents that correspond to each of the R LED, the G LED and the B LED, and apply the generated currents to the corresponding LED respectively).
Claim(s) 11, 13-14, 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIGETA et al (US Pub 2018/0144715) in view of Takashima et al (US Pub 2005/0156496) and Kim et al (US Pub 2020/0312216).
With respect to claim 11, SHIGETA as modified by Takashima don’t expressly disclose wherein an amplitude of the power supply is changed between at least two non-zero values during one display frame;
In the same field of endeavor, Kim discloses display device comprising pixels emitting light at different wavelengths where Kim discloses wherein an amplitude of the power supply is changed between at least two non-zero values during one display frame (par 0140; discloses the PAM driving circuits 920 and 1120 may control the amplitude of the driving current provided to the light emitting element 100 based on an applied PAM data voltage Sig. see fig. 17; disclose one frame period where voltage of signal Sig is varied between at least two non-zero values);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by SHIGETA as modified by Takashima to incorporate the teachings of KIM to use pulse amplitude modulation/pulse width modulation to drive the LED in order to vary the emitted light wavelength of the LED to generate different color gamut within a frame.
With respect to claim 13, SHIGETA as modified by Takashima and Kim discloses comprising the step of varying the amplitude of a drive current during a single display frame by providing a sequence of discrete drive current pulses at discrete amplitudes (Kim; see fig. 17; disclose one frame period where voltage of signal Sig is varied between at least two non-zero values);
With respect to claim 14, SHIGETA as modified by Takashima and Kim discloses comprising varying the drive current between at least two, or at least three, or at least four, or at least five, or at least six, or at least seven non-zero amplitudes during the single display frame (Kim; see fig. 17; disclose one frame period where voltage of signal Sig is varied between at least two non-zero values).
With respect to claim 27, SHIGETA as modified by Takashima discloses in which a pixel of the LED display device comprises a plurality of LED subpixels, (SHIGETA; par 0047; discloses one pixel may be formed by using three sub pixels of the R LED, the G LED and the B LED); Takashima discloses the variable-wavelength LED is included in one of the plurality of LED subpixels (par 0531; discloses The light emitting device of the present invention can be used for ordinary illumination such a fluorescent lamp, traffic signal, automobile lighting, backlight for liquid crystal, display, etc);
SHIGETA as modified by Takashima don’t expressly disclose providing a fixed- magnitude power supply to at least one LED subpixel, and providing a variable-magnitude power supply to said at least one LED subpixel;
Kim discloses display device comprising pixels emitting light at different wavelengths where Kim discloses the step of providing a fixed- magnitude power supply to at least one LED subpixel, (par 0113; discloses the first pixel circuit may drive the G light emitting element among the light emitting elements included in the display panel 1000 using a PWM (i.e. pulse width modulation) driving manner.) and providing a variable-magnitude power supply to said at least one LED subpixel (par 0114; discloses the second pixel circuit may drive the R light emitting element and the B light emitting element among the light emitting elements included in the display panel 1000 using a PAM (i.e. pulse amplitude modulation) driving manner);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by SHIGETA as modified by Takashima to incorporate the teachings of Kim to drive at least one subpixel using PWM and drive other sub-pixels using PAM in order to generate wavelength of light according to grayscale while reducing the problem of color reproducibility.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIGETA et al (US Pub 2018/0144715) in view of Takashima et al (US Pub 2005/0156496), Kim et al (US Pub 2020/0312216) and Chikugawa et al (US Pub 2005/0280375).
With respect to claim 12, SHIGETA as modified by Takashima discloses the method comprising: providing a drive current to the variable-wavelength LED (SHIGETA; par 0049; discloses a wavelength of light emitted from the LED may be changed by driving current intensity);
SHIGETA as modified by Takashima don’t expressly disclose varying an amplitude of the drive current between a plurality of non-zero values during a single display frame;
Kim further discloses display device comprising pixels emitting light at different wavelengths where Kim discloses varying an amplitude of the drive current between a plurality of non-zero values during a single display frame;
(par 0140; discloses the PAM driving circuits 920 and 1120 may control the amplitude of the driving current provided to the light emitting element 100 based on an applied PAM data voltage Sig. see fig. 17; disclose one frame period where voltage of signal Sig is varied between at least two non-zero values);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by SHIGETA as modified by Takashima to incorporate the teachings of KIM to use pulse amplitude modulation/pulse width modulation to drive the LED in order to vary the emitted light wavelength of the LED to generate different color gamut;
SHIGETA as modified by Takashima and Kim don’t expressly disclose the variable- wavelength LED produces a plurality of peak emission wavelengths within a single display frame;
In the same field of endeavor, Chikugawa discloses light emitting device and driving method where the variable- wavelength LED produces a plurality of peak emission wavelengths within a single display frame (fig. 9; pixel 30A; par 0095; discloses Referring to FIG. 9, light emitting apparatus 30A is different from light emitting apparatus 30 shown in FIG. 7 in that, light emitting diode 31 emitting light of two colors of blue and green is replaced with light emitting diode 31A emitting light of three colors of blue, green and red);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by SHIGETA as modified by Takashima, Kim to incorporate the teachings of Chikugawa to replace plurality of LEDs with single LED capable of generating multiple light in order to increase the density of pixels in the display device.
Claim(s) 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIGETA et al (US Pub 2018/0144715) in view of Takashima et al (US Pub 2005/0156496), Kim et al (US Pub 2020/0312216) and Liao et al (US Pub 2018/0331161).
With respect to claim 37, SHIGETA as modified by Takashima and Kim don’t expressly disclose comprising rotating, or swapping, the emission wavelengths of the variable-wavelength subpixels at regular time intervals, in order to distribute heating of variable-wavelength sub-pixels caused by high current-density emission wavelengths;
In the same field of endeavor, Liao disclose display device and driving method where Liao discloses the step of rotating, or swapping, the emission wavelengths of the subpixels at regular time intervals, in order to distribute heating of sub-pixels caused by high current-density emission wavelengths (par 0031; discloses when the sub-pixel unit operates, one of the two light-emitting units may be controlled to emit light and the two light-emitting units may be used alternately such that each light-emitting unit has enough time to dissipate heat. Thus, the light-emitting units may be effectively protected);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by SHIGETA as modified by Takashima and Kim to incorporate the teachings of Liao to alternate light emission among the plurality of subpixels in order to dissipate heat and maintain efficiency of the light emitting elements.
Claim(s) 54-55 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIGETA et al (US Pub 2018/0144715) in view of Takashima et al (US Pub 2005/0156496), Tsai et al (US Pub 2008/0191190) and Li et al (US Pub 2008/0079013).
With respect to claim 54, SHIGETA discloses a method of controlling an LED display device comprising a variable-wavelength LED, (par 0002; discloses a display apparatus which is equipped with a display including a plurality of light emitting components and a controlling method thereof) the method comprising the steps of: providing a power supply which supplies drive current pulses to the variable-wavelength LED; and controlling the power supply to vary a peak emission wavelength of the LED within an emission wavelength range (par 0049; discloses if the driving current intensity increases, a wavelength of a light emitting color gets shorter, and if the driving current intensity decreases, the wavelength of the light emitting color gets longer); the method comprising the step of controlling a brightness of each emitted peak emission wavelength by controlling the duration of each drive current pulse (par 0115; discloses the processor 140 may lower the brightness in the first display mode by shortening the time when a current is applied. In addition, the processor 140 may increase the brightness in the second display mode by extending the time when a current is applied);
SHIGETA doesn’t expressly disclose the variable-wavelength LED including a diode having a peak emission wavelength controllable over an emission wavelength range of at least 40 nm and controlling the power supply to vary a peak emission wavelength of the variable -wavelength LED over the emission wavelength range of at least 40 nm;
In the same field of endeavor, Takashima discloses light emitting device and control method (see abstract); Takashima discloses variable-wavelength LED including a diode having a peak emission wavelength controllable over an emission wavelength range of at least 40 nm (par 0013; discloses light emitting device of the present invention contains a light emitting element that emits light with principal emission wavelength in a region ranging from near ultraviolet to blue light (300-490 nm) ) and controlling the power supply to vary a peak emission wavelength of the variable -wavelength LED over the emission wavelength range of at least 40 nm (par 0026; discloses The light emitting device according to the present invention can emit light of desired color with high color rendering property while preventing color deviation and deterioration of color rendering property from occurring in case the drive current density in the light emitting device changes, also when a light emitting element having principal-emission-peak wavelength in blue region (420-490 nm) is used and a YAG fluorescent material is included in the fluorescent material; fig. 15; par 0446; discloses Peak emission wavelength of a semiconductor light emitting element shifts toward shorter wavelengths when the current supplied thereto increases as shown in FIG. 15; par 0022, 0037as well);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by SHIGETA to use the light emitting element disclosed by Takashima in the display device in order to generate lights of different colors with improved light emitting characteristics such that different variation of color is generated by controlling the driving current;
SHIGETA as modified by Takashima don’t expressly disclose a diode containing a plurality of quantum wells which are non-uniform, fragmented or discontinuous;
In the same field of endeavor, Tsai discloses light emitting device where a diode containing a plurality of quantum wells which are non-uniform, fragmented or discontinuous (par 0009; discloses One of objects of the present invention provides an epi-structure with uneven multiple quantum well (uneven MQW) and the formation thereof for improving the efficiency of a LED; par 0028; discloses The active layer 30 are formed with uneven multiple quantum well. It is noted that, in the present invention, the active layer 30 with uneven multiple quantum well is identical to one shown in FIG. 2. That is, a plurality of the grain made from a plurality of the hetero-material are scattered on the first semiconductor conductive layer 20 for forming the uneven multiple quantum well 30);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by SHIGETA as modified by Takashima to incorporate the teachings of Tsai to form light emitting element comprising uneven plurality of quantum wells in order to improve the efficiency of the led;
SHIGETA as modified by Takashima and Tsai don’t expressly disclose a diode containing a plurality of quantum wells which are fragmented or discontinuous;
In the same field of endeavor, Li discloses light emitting diode containing a plurality of quantum wells which are fragmented or discontinuous (par 0030; discloses The light emitting layers 240 are respectively disposed within the openings 232 of the insulating layer 230 and are divided into a plurality of discrete emitting islands separated from each other by the openings 232 of the insulating layer 230, so that the light emitting layers 240 form a discontinuous structure. Therefore, the internal quantum efficiency of the LED structure 200 is increased);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by SHIGETA as modified by Takashima and Tsai to incorporate the teachings of Li to form light emitting element comprising discontinuous structure in order to improve the efficiency of the led;
With respect to claim 55, SHIGETA as modified by Takashima, Tsai and Li further discloses in which the power supply is controlled to vary the peak emission wavelength of the variable-wavelength LED by varying a current density provided to the variable-wavelength LED (SHIGETA; par 0049; discloses if the driving current intensity increases, a wavelength of a light emitting color gets shorter, and if the driving current intensity decreases, the wavelength of the light emitting color gets longer.).
With respect to claim 57, SHIGETA as modified by Takashima further discloses the LED display device comprises a plurality of variable-wavelength subpixels (SHIGETA; par 0054; discloses the display driver 120 may generate three types of currents that correspond to each of the R LED, the G LED and the B LED, and apply the generated currents to the corresponding LED respectively; par 0049; discloses a wavelength of light emitted from the LED in the other colors may be changed according to the driving current intensity. Par 0048; discloses the display 110 may be implemented in a state that light emitting components of a plurality of R LED, a plurality of G LED and a plurality of B LED are arranged at regular intervals).
Claim(s) 56 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIGETA et al (US Pub 2018/0144715) in view of Takashima et al (US Pub 2005/0156496), Tsai et al (US Pub 2008/0191190), Li et al (US Pub 2008/0079013) and Kim et al (US Pub 2020/0312216).
With respect to claim 56, SHIGETA as modified by Takashima, Tsai and Li don’t expressly disclose wherein an amplitude of the power supply is changed between at least two non-zero values during one display frame;
In the same field of endeavor, Kim discloses display device comprising pixels emitting light at different wavelengths where Kim discloses wherein an amplitude of the power supply is changed between at least two non-zero values during one display frame (par 0140; discloses the PAM driving circuits 920 and 1120 may control the amplitude of the driving current provided to the light emitting element 100 based on an applied PAM data voltage Sig. see fig. 17; disclose one frame period where voltage of signal Sig is varied between at least two non-zero values);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by SHIGETA as modified by Takashima, Tsai and Li to incorporate the teachings of KIM to use pulse amplitude modulation/pulse width modulation to drive the LED in order to vary the emitted light wavelength of the LED to generate different color gamut within a frame.
Claim(s) 58 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIGETA et al (US Pub 2018/0144715) in view of Takashima et al (US Pub 2005/0156496), Tsai et al (US Pub 2008/0191190), Li et al (US Pub 2008/0079013) and Kim et al (US Pub 2020/0312216) and Liao et al (US Pub 2018/0331161).
With respect to claim 37, SHIGETA as modified by Takashima, Tsai, Li and Kim don’t expressly disclose comprising rotating, or swapping, the emission wavelengths of the variable-wavelength subpixels at regular time intervals, in order to distribute heating of variable-wavelength sub-pixels caused by high current-density emission wavelengths;
In the same field of endeavor, Liao disclose display device and driving method where Liao discloses the step of rotating, or swapping, the emission wavelengths of the subpixels at regular time intervals, in order to distribute heating of sub-pixels caused by high current-density emission wavelengths (par 0031; discloses when the sub-pixel unit operates, one of the two light-emitting units may be controlled to emit light and the two light-emitting units may be used alternately such that each light-emitting unit has enough time to dissipate heat. Thus, the light-emitting units may be effectively protected);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by SHIGETA as modified by Takashima, Tsai, Li and Kim to incorporate the teachings of Liao to alternate light emission among the plurality of subpixels in order to dissipate heat and maintain efficiency of the light emitting elements.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to new reference being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
/SUJIT SHAH/ Examiner, Art Unit 2624