DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1,2,4,5,12,13,17,19,21,26,28,29,35,38,43,44,45 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim(s) 1,2,4,5,12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isgum et al. (US 2019/0318476 A1) in view of Heigl et al. (US 2004/0210403 A1):
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isgum et al. (US 2019/0318476 A1) in view of Heigl et al. (US 2004/0210403 A1) as applied in claims 1,2,4,5,12 further in view of Markova et al. (US 2011/0158491 A1):
Claim(s) 17,19,21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isgum et al. (US 2019/0318476 A1) in view of Heigl et al. (US 2004/0210403 A1) as applied in claims 1,2,4,5,12 further in view of Markova et al. (US 2011/0158491 A1) and Buckler et al. (US 2019/0159737 A1):
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isgum et al. (US 2019/0318476 A1) in view of Heigl et al. (US 2004/0210403 A1) as applied in claims 1,2,4,5,12 further in view of Itu et al. (US 2019/0336096 A1):
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isgum et al. (US 2019/0318476 A1) in view of Heigl et al. (US 2004/0210403 A1) as applied in claims 1,2,4,5,12 further in view of Itu et al. (US 2019/0336096 A1) as applied in claim 26 further in view of Grady et al. (US 2015/0089337 A1):
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isgum et al. (US 2019/0318476 A1) in view of Heigl et al. (US 2004/0210403 A1) as applied in claims 1,2,4,5,12 further in view of ROTMAN (WO 2011/148340 A1) with SEARCH machine translation:
Claim(s) 35,43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isgum et al. (US 2019/0318476 A1) in view of Heigl et al. (US 2004/0210403 A1) as applied in claims 1,2,4,5,12 further in view of FIESELMANN et al. (US 2023/0090411 A1) with Foreign Application Priority Data Sep. 23, 2021 (EP)………..21198444.8:
Claim(s) 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isgum et al. (US 2019/0318476 A1) in view of Heigl et al. (US 2004/0210403 A1) as applied in claims 1,2,4,5,12 further in view of FIESELMANN et al. (US 2023/0090411 A1) with Foreign Application Priority Data Sep. 23, 2021 (EP)………..21198444.8 as applied in claim 35,43 further in view of WASHBURN et al. (DE 102008013719 A1) with SEARCH machine translation:
Claim(s) 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isgum et al. (US 2019/0318476 A1) in view of Heigl et al. (US 2004/0210403 A1) as applied in claims 1,2,4,5,12 further in view of FIESELMANN et al. (US 2023/0090411 A1) with Foreign Application Priority Data Sep. 23, 2021 (EP)………..21198444.8 as applied in claims 35,43 further in view of MINE et al. (US 2018/0092628 A1):
Claim(s) 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isgum et al. (US 2019/0318476 A1) in view of Heigl et al. (US 2004/0210403 A1) as applied in claims 1,2,4,5,12 further in view of Mintz et al. (US 2017/0084027 A1):
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendment was received 1/26/2024. Claims pending:
1,2,4,5,12,13,17,19,21,26,28,29,35,38,43,44,45 (elected) and 50,51,53,55,58 (withdrawn):
Election/Restrictions
REQUIREMENT FOR UNITY OF INVENTION
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475(a), a national stage application shall relate to one invention only or to a group of inventions so linked as to form a single general inventive concept (“requirement of unity of invention”). Where a group of inventions is claimed in a national stage application, the requirement of unity of invention shall be fulfilled only when there is a technical relationship among those inventions involving one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features. The expression “special technical features” shall mean those technical features that define a contribution which each of the claimed inventions, considered as a whole, makes over the prior art.
The determination whether a group of inventions is so linked as to form a single general inventive concept shall be made without regard to whether the inventions are claimed in separate claims or as alternatives within a single claim. See 37 CFR 1.475(e).
When Claims Are Directed to Multiple Categories of Inventions:
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475 (b), a national stage application containing claims to different categories of invention will be considered to have unity of invention if the claims are drawn only to one of the following combinations of categories:
(1) A product and a process specially adapted for the manufacture of said product; or
(2) A product and a process of use of said product; or
(3) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and a use of the said product; or
(4) A process and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process; or
(5) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process.
Otherwise, unity of invention might not be present. See 37 CFR 1.475 (c).
Restriction is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 and 372.
This application contains the following inventions or groups of inventions which are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.499, applicant is required, in reply to this action, to elect a single invention to which the claims must be restricted.
Group I, claim(s) 1,2,4,5,12,13,17,19,21,26,28,29,35,38,43,44,45 drawn to a labeling coronary artery disease (CAD) analysis system.
Group II, claim(s) 50,51,53,55,58, drawn to a calcium indicium user interface.
The groups of inventions listed above do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons:
Group I is directed to (A) classification while Group II is directed to (B) a scroll bar thus the groups do not share a technical feature.
Groups I and II lack unity of invention because the groups do not share the same or corresponding technical feature.
During a telephone conversation with Jacquelyn Graf, Reg. No. 64,367 on 21 JAN 2026 a provisional election was made with traverse to prosecute the invention of Group I, claims 1,2,4,5,12,13,17,19,21,26,28,29,35,38,43,44,45. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 50,51,53,55,58 withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Priority
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a)1 or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application Nos.:
AUSTRALIA 2021902323 07/28/2021 &
AUSTRAILIA 2021221669 08/25/2021,
fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application.
The claimed “categorize all slices between the start and end slices” of claim 1 is not (“in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms”: 35 USC 112(a)) in:
AUSTRALIA 2021902323 07/28/2021 &
AUSTRAILIA 2021221669 08/25/2021.
Accordingly, claims 1,2,4,5,12,13,17,19,21,26,28,29,35,38,43,44,45 are not entitled
to the benefit of the prior application:
AUSTRALIA 2021902323 07/28/2021 &
AUSTRAILIA 2021221669 08/25/2021.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1,2,4,5,12,13,17,19,21,26,28,29,35,38,43,44,45 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Stp 2A, png 1: The claim(s) recite(s) the abstract idea (mental process and math):
--analyse received patient CT scan data and produce CAD analysis data … identify a start location and an end location …
identifying start and end slices…
categorise all slices between the start and end slices as belonging to the individual stenosis lesion; …
a model …
the model …
identify presence and characterisation of each individual stenosis lesion --:
1. (Original) A coronary artery disease (CAD) analysis system comprising:
a CAD analysis device arranged to analyse received patient CT scan data and produce CAD analysis data indicative of presence and characterisation of coronary artery disease in the patient CT scan data,
the CAD analysis data indicative of at least one individual stenosis lesion on a coronary artery and a characterisation of the stenosis lesion; the CAD analysis system arranged to identify a start location and an end location of the individual stenosis lesion on the coronary artery by identifying start and end slices of the individual stenosis lesion, and
the CAD analysis system arranged to categorise all slices between the start and end slices as belonging to the individual stenosis lesion; and
the CAD analysis system comprising a user interface that displays a model of coronary arteries of a patient based on the patient CT scan data, the model configured to visually indicate an individual stenosis lesion and the individual stenosis lesion characterisation to a user so that the user is able to identify presence and characterisation of each individual stenosis lesion based on the visual indication;
wherein the characterisation of the individual stenosis lesion includes a stenosis level for the individual stenosis lesion.
Step 2A,Prong 2:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements (not in bold in claim 1, below) do not improve the functioning of a computer or is not a treatment (prophylaxis) in view of applicant’s disclosure (page 14, annotated below):
1. (Original) A coronary artery disease (CAD) analysis system comprising:
a CAD analysis device arranged to analyse received patient CT scan data and produce CAD analysis data indicative of presence and characterisation of coronary artery disease in the patient CT scan data,
the CAD analysis data indicative of at least one individual stenosis lesion on a coronary artery and a characterisation of the stenosis lesion; the CAD analysis system arranged to identify a start location and an end location of the individual stenosis lesion on the coronary artery by identifying start and end slices of the individual stenosis lesion, and
the CAD analysis system arranged to categorise all slices between the start and end slices as belonging to the individual stenosis lesion; and
the CAD analysis system comprising a user interface that displays a model of coronary arteries of a patient based on the patient CT scan data, the model configured to visually indicate an individual stenosis lesion and the individual stenosis lesion characterisation to a user so that the user is able to identify presence and characterisation of each individual stenosis lesion based on the visual indication;
wherein the characterisation of the individual stenosis lesion includes a stenosis level for the individual stenosis lesion.
Step 2B:
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements considered individually or in combination with the abstract idea adheres to the conventional background of applicant’s disclosure:
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,2,4,5,12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isgum et al. (US 2019/0318476 A1) in view of Heigl et al. (US 2004/0210403 A1):
Re 1. (Original), Isgum teaches A coronary artery disease (CAD) analysis system comprising:
a CAD analysis device (comprising “analysis” “step 204” [0078]: fig. 2:204: “Machine learning based Vessel Obstruction Assessment (VOA) model to predict coronary parameters”) arranged to analyse received2 (&) patient3 (&) CT4 scan5 data (or CT scan body wave-information via “CT scan” “imaging”6 [0062], 1st S: fig. 2:201: “Obtain image dataset”) and produce (via the arrows of fig. 2) CAD analysis data indicative of presence and characterisation of coronary artery disease (“parameter along the axial trajectory within the VOI” [0066] last S) in the patient CT scan data (or CT scan body wave-information via “CT scan” “imaging” [0062], 1st S: fig. 2:201: “Obtain image dataset”),
the CAD analysis data indicative of at least one individual stenosis7 lesion8 (“classified by…luminal narrowing” [0099] last two Ss: fig. 1: “Atherosclerosis”) on a coronary artery (Fig. 1: “Normal coronary artery”) and a characterization (via “ characterizing a CAD related parameter along the axial trajectory within the VOI. For example, the CAD related parameter values may represent at least one of the plaque type, anatomical stenosis severity” [0091, 2nd & 3rd Ss) of the stenosis lesion (“classified by…luminal narrowing” [0099] last two Ss: fig. 1: “Atherosclerosis”: Atherosclerotic plaque”);
the CAD analysis system arranged to identify a start (proximal) location and an end (distal) location (fig. 2:203: “Create MPR”: figs. 4a,4b,4c,4d,4e: fig. 19a: “Start of MPR image (proximal)”9: “End of PMR image (distal)”10: fig. 16:165: “start…position”: 168:”distal…location”) of the individual stenosis lesion (“classified by…luminal narrowing” [0099] last two Ss: fig. 1: “Atherosclerosis”) on the coronary artery (Fig. 1: “Normal coronary artery”) by identifying start and end slices11 (or “the cuboid resampled image” “ ‘slice’ ”:fig. 4b & “the same resampled image” “’slice’”: fig. 4c, [0076] 2nd 3rd Ss; however, these one-slices are—or a full slice cube-set {fig. 4b:403} is—not grammatically modified by “start” “end”. Thus, “identifying start and end slices” is not taught) of the individual stenosis lesion, and
the CAD analysis system arranged to categorise (via fig. 5(a)(iii): slice 503:color-coded “different labels” [0079] 6th S) all slices (a full slice cube-set {fig. 4b:403}) between (fig. 4b “one ‘slice’”- “straight MPR”, [0076] 2nd S, slice shown in a cube between/among/surrounded by other “full 3D straight”, [0076] penult S, slices)1213 the start and end slices14 (or “the cuboid resampled image” “ ‘slice’ ”:fig. 4b & “the same resampled image” “’slice’”: fig. 4c, [0076] 2nd 3rd Ss; however, these one-slices are—or a full slice cube-set {fig. 4b:403} is—not grammatically modified by “start” “end”. Thus, “identifying start and end slices” is not taught) as belonging to the individual stenosis lesion; and
the CAD analysis system comprising a user interface (“module 116” [0061]: fig. 3) that displays (via fig. 28:1202: “operator console and display”) a model (or as a model via an “image”15 [0079]: figs. 5,6) of (“ Superimposed on the rendered “ [0079] 2nd to last S) coronary arteries (fig. 5b:507) of a patient based on the patient CT scan data, the model (or as a model via an “image” [0079]: figs. 5,6) configured to visually indicate an individual stenosis lesion and the individual stenosis lesion characterization (via said “parameter along the axial trajectory within the VOI” [0066] last S) to a user so that the user is able to identify presence and characterization (via said characterization “parameter along the axial trajectory within the VOI” [0066] last S: fig. 2:202: Extract coronary centerline”: fig. 4b:404:fig. 6:603) of each individual stenosis lesion based on the visual indication;
wherein the characterisation (via said characterization “parameter along the axial trajectory within the VOI” [0066] last S: fig. 2:202: Extract coronary centerline”: fig. 4b:404:fig. 6:603) of the individual stenosis lesion includes a stenosis level16 (or “anatomical stenosis severity”17 [0077], penult S) for the individual stenosis lesion (“classified by…luminal narrowing” [0099] last two Ss: fig. 1: “Atherosclerosis”).
Isgum does not teach the difference of claim 1 of:
identifying start and end slices…18
the start and end slices.
Heigl teaches the difference of claim 1:
identifying (via “determines a starting slice plane 30 and an ending slice plane 31” [0045] 2nd S) start and end slices (resulting in an “identified starting slice plane 30 with… likewise …the ending slice plane 31 with the vessel 24” [0045] 3rd 4th Ss: fig. 8)…
(between)19 the start and end slices (as shown in fig. 8:30,31).
Since Isgum teaches a vessel, one of skill in the art of vessels can make Isgum’s be as Heigl’s seeing in the change “a processing method for a volume dataset with which a considerably more comfortable (user-friendly) navigation through the vessel is possible”, Heigl [0005]:
Re 2. (Original), Isgum of the combination of Isgum,Heigl teaches A CAD analysis system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the characterisation also includes:
(A) an indication of vulnerable plaque presence and vulnerable plaque type;
(B)20 an indication of plaque presence (via “Positive21 remodeling refers to the outwards direction of atherosclerotic plaque growth.” [0093] 8th S) and plaque type (via “ the CAD related reference values may represent22 at least one of the plaque type” [0077] penult S);
© a lesion number; and/or
(D) an artery slice number.
Re 4. (Currently Amended) Isgum of the combination of Isgum,Heigl teaches A CAD analysis system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the stenosis level is visually communicated by displaying (via fig. 28:1202: “operator console and display”) a portion of a coronary artery associated with the individual stenosis lesion in a defined colour of a plurality of colours (via fig. 5(a):color-coded “labels” [0079] 6th S) of a stenosis level colour key23 (or “colour legend”24, Isgum: [0079] last S), the defined colour corresponding to the stenosis level of the lesion.
Re 5. (Currently Amended), Isgum of the combination of Isgum,Heigl teaches A CAD analysis system as claimed in claim 1, wherein:
the visual indication of the individual stenosis lesion and the individual stenosis lesion characterisation (via said characterization “parameter along the axial trajectory within the VOI” [0066] last S: fig. 2:202: Extract coronary centerline”: fig. 4b:404:fig. 6:603) are displayed in response to user input (via “scan”25 “operator console input” [0157]) ; or-
the visual indication of the individual stenosis lesion and the individual stenosis lesion characterisation (via said characterization “parameter along the axial trajectory within the VOI” [0066] last S: fig. 2:202: Extract coronary centerline”: fig. 4b:404:fig. 6:603) are displayed in response to user selection (“selected scanning protocol” [0158] 1st S) of a location on a coronary artery (fig. 1: “Normal coronary artery”) considered to correspond to a stenosis lesion (fig. 1: “Atherosclerosis”).
Re 12. (Currently Amended) A CAD analysis system as claimed inclaim 1, wherein the user interface includes a multiplanar reconstruction (MPR) representation (fig. 4b:403) of at least a selected coronary artery (fig. 4a:402: “as an example to create an MPR image” [0075] 3rd S).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isgum et al. (US 2019/0318476 A1) in view of Heigl et al. (US 2004/0210403 A1) as applied in claims 1,2,4,5,12 further in view of Markova et al. (US 2011/0158491 A1):
Re 13. (Currently Amended), Isgum of the combination of Isgum,Heigl teaches A CAD analysis system as claimed in claim 12, wherein the model of coronary arteries includes a first vessel slice identifier arranged to indicate a selected slice of a coronary artery, a second vessel slice identifier arranged to indicate a selected slice of the selected coronary artery, and
the first and second vessel slice identifiers are synchronised such that selection of a vessel slice (fig. 4b:404; fig. 4c:405) using one of the first and second vessel slice identifiers causes a corresponding vessel slice to be selected using the other of the first and second vessel slice identifiers.
Isgum of the combination of Isgum,Heigl does not teach the difference of claim 13 of:
a first vessel slice identifier …26a second vessel slice identifier…
the first and second vessel slice identifiers are synchronised such that selection of (a vessel slice)27 using one of the first and second vessel slice identifiers causes a corresponding vessel slice to be selected using the other of the first and second vessel slice identifiers.
Markova teaches the difference of clain 13 of:
a first vessel slice identifier (via “the system automatically identifies the corresponding slices of the other phases and replaces the slices currently displayed for these phases on a workstation” [0041]: figs.1,8: “segmentation”28) …
a second vessel slice identifier (via “the system automatically identifies the corresponding slices of the other phases and replaces the slices currently displayed for these phases on a workstation” [0041]: figs.1,9: “segmentation”)…
the first and second vessel slice (segmentation) identifiers are synchronized (“through all the phases at the same time” [0041]: fig. 4: corresponding selected slices) such that selection of (“in a certain phase” [0041]) (a vessel slice) … using one of the first and second vessel slice identifiers (figs.8,9: segmentation) causes a corresponding vessel slice (“of the other phases “ [0041]) to be selected (via “particular29… corresponding slices” [0041]) using the other of the first and second vessel slice (segmentation) identifiers.
Since Isgum of the combination of Isgum,Heigl teaches a vessel, one of skill in the art of vessels can make Isgum’s of the combination of Isgum,Heigl be as Markova’s seeing the change “enabling the radiologist to synchronously assess a lesion over all phases and across longitudinal studies, by suggesting delineations obtained via automatic segmentation techniques, which simultaneously exploit the information in all the phases, and by providing accurate 3D measurements, such as the volume of the liver and the individual lesions and its changes in time, the longest diameter in 3D, the liver segment where the lesions are situated etc.”, Markov [0057] penult S.
Claim(s) 17,19,21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isgum et al. (US 2019/0318476 A1) in view of Heigl et al. (US 2004/0210403 A1) as applied in claims 1,2,4,5,12 further in view of Markova et al. (US 2011/0158491 A1) and Buckler et al. (US 2019/0159737 A1):
Claim 17 is rejected like claim 13 in view of Markova:
Re 17. (Currently Amended), Isgum of the combination of Isgum,Heigl teaches A CAD analysis system as claimed in claim 1,wherein the user interface further includes an axial slice representation (via an “axial trajectory” “three-dimensional (3S) multi-planar reformatted (MPR) image” [0066] 3rd S: fig. 4b:403; fig. 4c:405) of a selected coronary artery (fig. 4a:402: “as an example to create an MPR image” [0075] 3rd S: fig. 4b:403; fig. 4c:405) at a selected coronary artery (fig. 1: “Normal coronary artery”) slice and the axial slice (MPR) representation includes inner and outer vessel wall (or “both the outer wall of the vessel as well as the lumen”, [0093] 10th S, as shown in fig. 1) annotations30 (“of different types of coronary plaque such as no-plaque, calcified plaque, non-calcified plaque or mixed plaque” [0081]: fig. 5a(i)(ii)iii): “no-plaque”: since “annotations” is further modified by “inner and outer vessel wall”, Isgum of the combination of Isgum,Heigl does not teach “annotations”).
Isgum of the combination of Isgum,Heigl does not teach the difference of claim 17 of:
A) a selected…slice…
B) annotations31.
Markova teaches/makes obvious difference A) in the rejection of claim 13.
Buckler teach the difference B) of claim 17 of:
annotations32 (“inner lumen…and…outer wall” “annotated analyte regions” [0078] 3rd to last S).
Isgum of the combination of Isgum,Heigl,Markov teaches neural network annotations, one of skill in the art of neural net annotations can make Isgum’s of the combination of Isgum,Heigl,Markov be as Buckler’s seeing the in the change that “radiology datasets annotated to include ex vivo ground truth data (such as histology information) may be advantageously used as input data for the classifier.”, Buckler [0076] penult S.
Re 19. (Currently Amended), Isgum of the combination of Isgum,Heigl,Markova, Buckler teaches A CAD analysis system as claimed in claim 17,wherein, for the axial slice representation, the user interface further includes stenosis lesion (“classified by…luminal narrowing” [0099] last two Ss: fig. 1: “Atherosclerosis”) specific information (via “myocardial ischemia”-“patient specific CCTA datasets” [0129] 2nd to last S) for the stenosis lesion (“classified by…luminal narrowing” [0099] last two Ss: fig. 1: “Atherosclerosis”) with which the selected slice (via the combination of Markova) is associated (via the combination)2 the lesion (“classified by…luminal narrowing” [0099] last two Ss: fig. 1: “Atherosclerosis”) specific information (via “myocardial ischemia”-“patient specific CCTA datasets” [0129] 2nd to last S) associated (via the combination) with the selected slice (via the combination of Markova) including:
A) a stenosis level (or “anatomical stenosis severity”33 [0077], penult S) of the stenosis lesion (“classified by…luminal narrowing” [0099] last two Ss: fig. 1: “Atherosclerosis”) with which the selected slice (via the combination of Markova) is associated (via the combination);
B) plaque type information (via “plaque type” “output units” [0099] 4th to last S) for plaque present on the stenosis lesion with which the selected slice (via the combination of Markova) is associated (via the combination); and/or
C) vulnerable plaque type information for vulnerable plaque present on the stenosis lesion (“classified by…luminal narrowing” [0099] last two Ss: fig. 1: “Atherosclerosis”) with which the selected slice (via the combination of Markova) is associated (via the combination).
Re 21. (Currently Amended), Isgum of the combination of Isgum,Heigl,Markova, Buckler teaches A CAD analysis system as claimed in claim19,wherein the user interface includes a multiplanar reconstruction (MPR) representation of at least a selected coronary artery, and
wherein the stenosis level (or “anatomical stenosis severity”34, Isgum [0077], penult S) of the stenosis lesion (“classified by…luminal narrowing”, Isgum: [0099] last two Ss: fig. 1: “Atherosclerosis”) with which the selected slice (via the combination of Markova) is associated (via the combination) is communicated
A) by displaying a portion of the MPR representation (Isgum: fig. 5(a)(i)(ii)(iii)) corresponding to the stenosis lesion usinga colour (or “colour legend”35, Isgum [0079] last S) used to display the stenosis lesion on the model of the coronary arteries, and/or
B) by displaying text (Isgum: fig. 5(a)(i)(ii)(iii)) indicative of the stenosis level (or “anatomical stenosis severity”36, Isgum [0077], penult S) using the colour (or “colour legend”37, Isgum [0079] last S) used to display the stenosis lesion (“classified by…luminal narrowing”, Isgum: [0099] last two Ss: fig. 1: “Atherosclerosis”) on the model of the coronary arteries, and/or
C) by displaying at least a portion of the selected slice (Isgum: fig. 5(a)(i)(ii)(iii)) using the colour (or “colour legend”38, Isgum [0079] last S) used to display the stenosis lesion on the model of the coronary arteries.
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isgum et al. (US 2019/0318476 A1) in view of Heigl et al. (US 2004/0210403 A1) as applied in claims 1,2,4,5,12 further in view of Itu et al. (US 2019/0336096 A1):
Re 26. (Currently Amended), Isgum of the combination of Isgum,Heigl teaches A CAD analysis system as claimed inclaim 1,wherein the user interface is arranged to display a coronary artery centreline (fig. 4d:407) , the path of the centreline,39 being editable by a user.
Isgum of the combination of Isgum,Heigl does not teach the difference of claim 26 of:
(the user interface is arranged to display a coronary artery centreline , the path of the centreline,40 ) being editable.
Itu teaches the difference:
being editable (via “centerlines…can…be…edited” [0028] 3rd S).
Since Isgum of the combination of Isgum,Heigl teaches a centerline, one of skill in the art of centerlines can make Isgum’s of the combination of Isgum,Heigl be as Itu’s seeing the change “provide an improvement to existing methods for computer-based non-invasive computation of hemodynamic indices, such as FFR, that ensures fast and accurate computation of medical image (e.g., CT) based hemodynamic indices.”, Itu [0030] 1st S.
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isgum et al. (US 2019/0318476 A1) in view of Heigl et al. (US 2004/0210403 A1) as applied in claims 1,2,4,5,12 further in view of Itu et al. (US 2019/0336096 A1) as applied in claim 26 further in view of Grady et al. (US 2015/0089337 A1):
Re 28. (Currently Amended), Isgum of the combination of Isgum,Heigl,Itu teaches A CAD analysis system as claimed in claim 26th S) a new centreline (since Itu teaches adding new branches correcting a centerline, Itu does not teach “a new centerline”) associated with a coronary artery.
Isgum of the combination of Isgum,Heigl,Itu does not teach the difference of claim 29 of “a new centreline”.
Grady teaches the difference of claim 28:
(“update a centerline label with” [0177]) a new centreline.
Since Isgum of the combination of Isgum,Heigl,Itu teaches a centerline, one of skill in the art of centerlines can make Isgum’s of the combination of Isgum,Heigl,Itu be as Grady’s seeing the change more accurate (updated) centerlines.
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isgum et al. (US 2019/0318476 A1) in view of Heigl et al. (US 2004/0210403 A1) as applied in claims 1,2,4,5,12 further in view of ROTMAN (WO 2011/148340 A1) with SEARCH machine translation:
Re 29. (Currently Amended), Isgum of the combination of Isgum,Heigl teaches A CAD analysis system as claimed inclaim 1,wherein the user interface is arranged
to display representations (via figures 4,5,6) of calcified volumes (via “calcified plaque” “MPR image” [0079] 5th S) on the model of coronary arteries in response to user input (via “scan”41 “operator console input” [0157])-, and
to display (“output” [0079] 1st S) information indicative of locations (“along the length of the coronary of interest which corresponds to the x-axis of the MPR image 501” [0079] 6th S) of vulnerable plaque on the (image) model of coronary arteries in response to user input (via “scan”42 “operator console input” [0157]).
Isgum of the combination of Isgum,Heigl does not teach the difference of claim 29: vulnerable (plaque). ROTMAN teaches the difference (“identifying”, pg. 12, 9th txt blk ) vulnerable (plaque)).
Since Isgum of the combination of Isgum,Heigl teaches plaque, one of skill in plaque can make Isgum’s of the combination of Isgum,Heigl be as ROTMAN’s seeing in the change “appropriate treatment prior to rupture, to prevent such events from occurring”, pg. 14, 1st txt blk.
Claim(s) 35,43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isgum et al. (US 2019/0318476 A1) in view of Heigl et al. (US 2004/0210403 A1) as applied in claims 1,2,4,5,12 further in view of FIESELMANN et al. (US 2023/0090411 A1) with Foreign Application Priority Data Sep. 23, 2021 (EP)………..21198444.8:
Re 35. (Currently Amended), Isgum of the combination of Isgum,Heigl teaches A CAD analysis system as claimed inclaim 1,wherein the user interface is arranged to simultaneously display (Isgum: fig. 27:2701) multiple CT volume representations (2701) of a CT volume (via “a volume rendered CCTA image” [0088] penult S: fig. 8b:802) associated with the patient CT scan data (or CT scan body wave-information via “CT scan” “imaging” [0062], 1st S: fig. 2:201: “Obtain image dataset”), each CT volume representation (2701) taken along a plane (via an “axial trajectory” “three-dimensional (3D) multi-planar reformatted (MPR) image” [0066] 3rd S: fig. 4b:403; fig. 4c:405) extending through the CT volume at a different (slice” [0076] 2nd to las S) orientation43 (since Isgun teaches only slice orientation, Isgum does not teach “different orientation”), and the multiple displayed CT volume representations (2701) having a common CT volume location (“resulting from the 2D/3D registration”44, [0090] last S, in the role, status, function of common plates (prints) in photoengraving).
Isgum of the combination of Isgum,Heigl does not teach the difference of claim 35 of:
(each CT volume representation)….at a different orientation45.
FIESELMANN teaches the difference of claim 35, via the Priority Data:
(“a multitude of synthetic X-ray images”, pg. 9,ll. 4-8) (each CT volume representation) ….at a different orientation46 (“with different 3D orientations”, pg. 9, ll 4-8).
Since Isgum of the combination of Isgum,Heigl teaches orientation, one of skill in the art of orientations and machine learning can make Isgum’s of the combination of Isgum,Heigl be as FIESELMANN’s “Advanta-geously” seeing “the data basis for the training data does not need to be very extensive, since synthetic images with different parameters are generated based on a relatively small data basis”, FIESELMANN, Priority Data, pg. 8, ll. 29-33.
Re 43. (Currently Amended), Isgum of the combination of Isgum,Heigl, FIESELMANN teaches A CAD analysis system as claimed in claim 35, wherein the user interface is arranged to display a vessel MPR representation (via “creating a three-dimensional (3D) multi-planer reformatted (MPR) image based on the volumetric image dataset and the axial trajectory of the VOI”, Isgum [0066] 3rd S) of a selected vessel (“in which the right coronary artery 402 is selected as an example to create an MPR image” Isgum: [0075] 3rd S) with the multiple CT volume representations of the CT volume, wherein the common CT volume location (“resulting from the 2D/3D registration”47, Isgum: [0090] last S, in the role, status, function of common plates (prints) in photoengraving: fig. 8: align dots 803,087 to dot 805) is a selected (“right coronary artery 402” “CCTA dataset (FIG. 2, 201)” Isgum [0075] 3rd S: fig. 4:402) location on the (right) vessel MPR (via “creating a three-dimensional (3D) multi-planer reformatted (MPR) image based on the volumetric image dataset and the axial trajectory of the VOI”, Isgum [0066] 3rd S: fig. 4b:403; fig. 4c:405).
Claim(s) 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isgum et al. (US 2019/0318476 A1) in view of Heigl et al. (US 2004/0210403 A1) as applied in claims 1,2,4,5,12 further in view of FIESELMANN et al. (US 2023/0090411 A1) with Foreign Application Priority Data Sep. 23, 2021 (EP)………..21198444.8 as applied in claim 35,43 further in view of WASHBURN et al. (DE 102008013719 A1) with SEARCH machine translation:
Re 38. (Currently Amended), Isgum of the combination of Isgum,Heigl, FIESELMANN teaches A CAD analysis system as claimed in claim 35, wherein the interface is arranged to display (via “ a display screen for visual output” [0064]) plane indicia on a CT volume representation (comprised by a “contrast enhanced volumetric dataset” [0057] 1st S), the plane indicia indicative of a plane (via “creating a three-dimensional (3D) multi-planer reformatted (MPR) image based on the corresponding volumetric image dataset and the axial trajectory of the VO” [0016]) associated with another CT volume representation (comprised by a “contrast enhanced volumetric dataset” [0057] 1st S), and to enable a user (via “ user interface module 116” [0061]) to interact with the plane indicia to modify the plane (via “creating a three-dimensional (3D) multi-planer reformatted (MPR) image based on the corresponding volumetric image dataset and the axial trajectory of the VO” [0016]) associated with the other CT volume representation (comprised by a “contrast enhanced volumetric dataset” [0057] 1st S) and thereby the displayed other CT volume representation (comprised by a “contrast enhanced volumetric dataset” [0057] 1st S).
Isgum of the combination of Isgum,Heigl, FIESELMANN does not teach the difference of claim 38 of:
plane indicia…
the plane indicia…
the plane indicia to modify (the plane).
WASHBURN teaches the difference of claim 38:
(“display only the in-plane”) plane indicia (“without losing the positional data associated with the previously identified structures”, pg. 5, 5th txt blk) …
the plane indicia (or “the in-plane indicia”-:”markings”, pg. 5, 5th txt blk: fig. 4:”186”:, pg. 6 ,last txt blk)…
the plane indicia (fig. 4:186) to modify (resulting in “plane” “displayed, modified” “data”, pg. 9, penult para) (the plane).
Since Isgum of the combination of Isgum,Heigl, FIESELMANN teaches a display and registration, one of skill in the art of displays and registration can make Isgum’s of the combination of Isgum,Heigl, FIESELMANN be as WASHBURN’s seeing in the change an “updated” “volume” “such as MR,PET,CT”, WASHBURN, pg. 15, 2nd txt blk.
Claim(s) 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isgum et al. (US 2019/0318476 A1) in view of Heigl et al. (US 2004/0210403 A1) as applied in claims 1,2,4,5,12 further in view of FIESELMANN et al. (US 2023/0090411 A1) with Foreign Application Priority Data Sep. 23, 2021 (EP)………..21198444.8 as applied in claims 35,43 further in view of MINE et al. (US 2018/0092628 A1):
Re 44. (Original), Isgum of the combination of Isgum,Heigl, FIESELMANN teaches A CAD analysis system as claimed in claim 43, wherein the user interface (“user interface module 116” Isgum: [0061]: fig. 3) is arranged
to enable a user to move the selected (“right coronary artery 402” Isgum [0075] 3rd S) location (since Isgum only teaches a selected right-side artery, Isgum does not teach the claimed “move the…location”) on the vessel MPR (via “creating a three-dimensional (3D) multi-planer reformatted (MPR) image based on the volumetric image dataset and the axial trajectory of the VOI”, Isgum [0066] 3rd S), and
to change4849 the multiple displayed CT volume representations (Isgum: fig. 27:2701) of the CT volume (via “a volume rendered CCTA image” [0088] penult S: fig. 8b:802) in synchronisation with the selected (“right coronary artery 402” Isgum [0075] 3rd S) location on the vessel MPR (via “creating a three-dimensional (3D) multi-planer reformatted (MPR) image based on the volumetric image dataset and the axial trajectory of the VOI”, Isgum [0066] 3rd S) so that the common CT location (“resulting from the 2D/3D registration”50, [0090] last S, in the role, status, function of common plates (prints) in photoengraving: said alignments dots of fig. 8) changes in accordance with the moved location on the vessel MPR (via “creating a three-dimensional (3D) multi-planer reformatted (MPR) image based on the volumetric image dataset and the axial trajectory of the VOI”, Isgum [0066] 3rd S).
Isgum of the combination of Isgum,Heigl, FIESELMANN does not teach the difference of claim 44 of:
move the (selected) location…
to change5152…in synchronization…
(the common CT location) changes in accordance with the moved location.
MINE teaches the difference of claim 44:
move the (selected) location (via “rotational movements and translational movements” [0104] 2nd S: fig. 4:S401: “Coordinate conversion”)…
to change535455 (via “completion of the image alignment” [0081]:”[0009] FIG. 4 is a flowchart illustrating an image alignment process.”: in the past)…in synchronization (i.e., “in an interlocking manner” [0081])…
(the common CT location) changes (“the positions and directions of the images, for example, by the operation panel” [0122] 2nd S) in accordance with the moved location (via “aligned in step S308 of FIG. 7” [0122] 1st S).
Since Isgum of the combination of Isgum,Heigl, FIESELMANN teaches registration, one of skill in the art of registration can make Isgum’s of the combination of Isgum,Heigl, FIESELMANN be as MINE’s seeing in the change “corresponding cross sections of the highly precisely aligned MR image and real-time ultrasonic image can be interlock-displayed (also referred to as “synchronous display”).” MINE [0153] 3rd S.
Claim(s) 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isgum et al. (US 2019/0318476 A1) in view of Heigl et al. (US 2004/0210403 A1) as applied in claims 1,2,4,5,12 further in view of Mintz et al. (US 2017/0084027 A1):
Re 45. (Currently Amended), Isgum of the combination of Isgum,Heigl teaches A CAD analysis system as claimed in claim 1, wherein
the CAD analysis system is arranged to enable a user (via “ [0064] The user interface module 116 interacts with the user” [0064]) to (A) modify and/or (B) add to displayed56 (&) CAD57 analysis58 information (comprised by “myocardium”-“data segment”-“analysis” Isgum:[0105] last three Ss & [0065] 2nd S), and in response the analysis device is arranged to reanalyse the patient59 (&) CT60 scan61 data (or CT scan body wave-information via “CT scan” “imaging”62 [0062], 1st S: fig. 2:201: “Obtain image dataset”) in consideration of the modification and/or addition.
Isgum of the combination of Isgum,Heigl does not teach the difference of claim 45 of:
modify and/or add to (displayed analysis information) (a Markush element)…
reanalyse (the patient (&) CT scan data) in consideration of the modification and/or addition.
Mintz teaches the difference of claim 45:
modify and/or add to (resulting in “additional data points 803” [0088] 3rd S: figs. 8A,8B,8C,8D and “combined” “3D model”: fig. 14A: “Generate 3D model”: fig. 14B:1440: fig. 14C:1460) (displayed analysis information) (a Markush element)…
reanalyse (“In actual surgical operation” [0015] last S) (the patient (&) CT scan data) in consideration of the modification and/or addition (resulting in “additional data points 803” [0088] 3rd S: figs. 8A,8B,8C,8D and “combined” “3D model”: fig. 14A: “Generate 3D model”: fig. 14B:1440: fig. 14C:1460).
Since Isgum of the combination of Isgum,Heigl teaches a “wire”, Isgum:
[0006] Fractional Flow Reserve (FFR) has been used increasingly over the last 10-15 years as a method to identify and effectively target the coronary lesion most likely to benefit from PCI. FFR is a technique used to measure pressure differences across a coronary artery stenosis to determine the likelihood that the stenosis impedes oxygen delivery to the heart muscle. The technique involves percutaneously inserting a pressure-transducing wire inside the coronary artery and measuring the pressure behind (distal to) and before (proximal to) the lesion and is performed in the catheterization laboratory.
one of skill in the art of wires can make Isgum’s of the combination of Isgum,Heigl be as Mintz’s (fig. 1A) seeing the change “more convenient operations by the physician”, Mintz [0015] last S.
Conclusion
The prior art “nearest to the subject matter defined in the claims” (MPEP 707.05) made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The following table lists several references that are relevant to the subject matter claimed and disclosed in this Application. The references are not relied on by the Examiner, but are provided to assist the Applicant in responding to this Office action:
Citation
Relevance
Flack et al. (US 12,484,871 B2): intervening reference via Priority Data of Apr. 21, 2021 (AU…….2021901188)
Flack teaches:
“a coronary artery disease (CAD) analysis device 26”, c. 6,ll.58-63,
as the closest to the claimed “a CAD analysis device” of claim 1.
ZHENG et al. (WO 2015/126736 A1)
ZHENG teaches, [0065] 1st S:
“the probabilities of the candidates along with N.sub.R-configurations of ray length are denoted as label assignments L = {0...N.sub.R-1 }— for every slice N.sub.s and every ray N.sub.A”
as the closest to the claimed “categorise all slices” of claim 1.
IDS cited Dachille et al. (US 2011/0206247 A1): an x-reference
Dachille teaches a Graphical User Interface (GUI) with slices:
“[0041] FIG. 6 is an exemplary diagram of a GUI according to an embodiment of the invention, which illustrates a layout of a general visualization view (60) for the calcium scoring module.”
as the closest to the claimed “slices” and “user interface” of claim 1.
IDS cited MIN et al. (WO 2021/141921 A1): an x-reference : corresponds to IDS cited MIN et al. (US 2021/0217165 A1): a D2-reference
MIN teaches a user-interface and a CT image is a slice:
[0008] penult S: In some embodiments, the system can be further configured to dynamically and/or automatically generate a visualization of the identified, quantified, and/or classified one or more coronary arteries and/or plaque, for example in the form of a graphical user interface.
[0285] 3rd to last S: Accordingly, the use of the term “CT images” herein may refer to any type of imaging system having any type of imaging source that produces a set of images depicting “slices” of structures within a body, unless otherwise indicated.
as the closest to the claimed “slices” and “user interface” of claim 1.
/DENNIS ROSARIO/ Examiner, Art Unit 2676
/Henok Shiferaw/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2676
1 35 USC 112 Specification: (a) IN GENERAL.—The specification (AUSTRALIA 2021902323 07/28/2021 & AUSTRAILIA 2021221669 08/25/2021) shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor or joint inventor of carrying out the invention.
2 “received” is coordinating adjective modifying “data”
3 “patient” is a coordinating adjective modifying “data”
4 “CT” is cumulative adjective modifying “scan”
5 “scan” is coordinating adjective modifying “data”
6 imaging: Medicine/Medical. the use of computerized axial tomography, sonography, or other specialized techniques and instruments to obtain pictures of the interior of the body, especially those including soft tissues, wherein tomography is defined: A procedure by which waves are sent through an object and computers produce images of cross sections of the object by using information on how the waves are changed. Both ultrasound and CAT scans are medical uses of this technique, but it is also widely used in science and industry. (Dictionary.com)
7 stenosis: a narrowing or stricture of a passage or vessel. (Dictioanry.com)
8 lesion: any structural change in a bodily part resulting from injury or disease (Dictionary.com)
9 proximal: situated toward the point of origin or attachment, as of a limb or bone; anatomy situated close to the centre, median line, or point of attachment or origin Compare distal (Dictionary.com)
10 distal: situated away from the point of origin or attachment, as of a limb or bone; terminal, wherein terminal is defined: situated at or forming the end or extremity of something. (Dictionary.com)
11 “slices” is further limited by “start and end”
12 Regrading “between”: Applicant’s disclosure , last sentence:--Modifications and variations as would be apparent to a skilled addressee are deemed to be within the scope of the present invention.--, where scope is defined: Linguistics, Logic. the range of (claim) words or (claim) elements of an expression (claim 1) over which a modifier (e.g., patent examiner) or operator (or a reader reading this) has control. (Dictionary.com)
13 between: among, wherein among is defined: in, into, or through the midst of; in association or connection with; surrounded by. (Dictionary.com): under the broadest reasonable interpretation of claim 1
14 35 USC 112(a) support: Applicant’s disclosure:
WO 2023/004451: PCT/AU2022/050727, page 18, ll. 22-24;
SUBSTITUTE SPECIFICATION – MARKED, page 19, II. 22-24.
15 image: a physical likeness or representation of a person, animal, or thing, photographed, painted, sculptured, or otherwise made visible, wherein representation is defined: the state of being represented., wherein represent is defined: to portray or depict; present the likeness of, as a picture does, wherein likeness is defined: the semblance or appearance of something; guise, wherein semblance is defined: a likeness, image, or copy, wherein copy is defined: an imitation, reproduction, or transcript of an original, wherein imitation is defined: a result or product of imitating, wherein imitate is defined: to follow or endeavor to follow as a model or example. (Dictionary.com) .
16 BROAD CLAIM LANGUAGE: level: an extent, measure, or degree of intensity, achievement, etc.. (Dictionary.com)
17 severity: intensity or sharpness, as of cold or pain, wherein intensity is defined: the degree or extent to which something is intense. (Dictionary.com)
18 ellipses (…) represent claim limitations already taught
19 (italics) represent claim limitations already taught
20 since (B) is taught (A)(B)(C)(D) is taught under the broadest reasonable interpretation of Markush claim 2
21 positive: Medicine/Medical. (of blood, affected tissue, etc.) indicating the presence of a specified medical condition or substance. (Dictionary.com)
22 represent: to serve to express, designate, stand for, or denote, as a word, symbol, or the like does; symbolize, wherein designate is defined: to mark or point out; indicate; show; specify. (Dictionary.com)
23 BROAD CLAIM LANGUAGE: a systematic explanation of abbreviations, symbols, etc., used in a dictionary, map, etc.. (Dictionary.com)
24 legend: a table on a map, chart, or the like, listing and explaining the symbols used. (Dictionary.com)
25 scan: Medicine/Medical, Biology.
A. examination of the body or an organ or part, or a biologically active material, by means of a technique such as computed axial tomography, nuclear magnetic resonance, ultrasonography, or scintigraphy.
B. the image or display so obtained.
26 ellipses (…) represent claims limitations already taught
27 (italics) represent claim limitations already taught
28 segmentation: to separate or divide into segments, wherein divide is defined: to distinguish the kinds of; classify, wherein distinguish is defined: to recognize as distinct or different; recognize the salient or individual features or characteristics of, wherein recognize is defined: to identify as something or someone previously seen, known, etc.. (Dictionary.com)
29 particular: exceptionally selective, attentive, or exacting; fastidious; fussy. (Dictionary.com)
30 “annotations” is further limited by “inner and outer vessel wall”.
31 “annotations” is further limited by “inner and outer vessel wall”.
32 “annotations” is further limited by “inner and outer vessel wall”.
33 severity: intensity or sharpness, as of cold or pain, wherein intensity is defined: the degree or extent to which something is intense. (Dictionary.com)
34 severity: intensity or sharpness, as of cold or pain, wherein intensity is defined: the degree or extent to which something is intense. (Dictionary.com)
35 legend: a table on a map, chart, or the like, listing and explaining the symbols used. (Dictionary.com)
36 severity: intensity or sharpness, as of cold or pain, wherein intensity is defined: the degree or extent to which something is intense. (Dictionary.com)
37 legend: a table on a map, chart, or the like, listing and explaining the symbols used. (Dictionary.com)
38 legend: a table on a map, chart, or the like, listing and explaining the symbols used. (Dictionary.com)
39 non-restrictive comma phrase under the broadest reasonable interpretatiion
40 non-restrictive comma phrase under the broadest reasonable interpretatiion
41 scan: Medicine/Medical, Biology.
A. examination of the body or an organ or part, or a biologically active material, by means of a technique such as computed axial tomography, nuclear magnetic resonance, ultrasonography, or scintigraphy.
B. the image or display so obtained.
42 scan: Medicine/Medical, Biology.
A. examination of the body or an organ or part, or a biologically active material, by means of a technique such as computed axial tomography, nuclear magnetic resonance, ultrasonography, or scintigraphy.
B. the image or display so obtained.
43 “orientation” is further limited by “different”
44 registration: the group or number registered, wherein register is defined: to enter or cause to be entered formally in a register, wherein register is defined: Photography. proper relationship between two plane surfaces in photography, as corresponding plates in photoengraving, wherein as is defined: in the role, function, or status of, wherein corresponding is defined: identical in all essentials or respects, wherein identical is defined: similar or alike in every way, wherein similar is defined: having a likeness or resemblance, especially in a general way, wherein general is defined: of, relating to, or true of such persons or things in the main, with possible exceptions; common to most; prevalent; usual.,
wherein photoengraving is defined:
A. a photographic process of preparing printing plates for letterpress printing.
B. a plate so produced.
C. a print made from it,
wherein print is defined: Computers. to produce (data) in legible alphanumeric or graphic form, wherein graphic is defined: giving a clear and effective picture; vivid., wherein picture is defined: a visual representation of a person, object, or scene, as a painting, drawing, photograph, etc.., wherein photograph is defined: a picture produced by photography, wherein photography is defined: the process or art of producing images of objects on sensitized surfaces by the chemical action of light or of other forms of radiant energy, as x-rays, gamma rays, or cosmic rays. (Dictionary.com)
45 “orientation” is further limited by “different”
46 “orientation” is further limited by “different”
47 registration: the group or number registered, wherein register is defined: to enter or cause to be entered formally in a register, wherein register is defined: Photography. proper relationship between two plane surfaces in photography, as corresponding plates in photoengraving, wherein as is defined: in the role, function, or status of, wherein corresponding is defined: identical in all essentials or respects, wherein identical is defined: similar or alike in every way, wherein similar is defined: having a likeness or resemblance, especially in a general way, wherein general is defined: of, relating to, or true of such persons or things in the main, with possible exceptions; common to most; prevalent; usual.,
wherein photoengraving is defined:
A. a photographic process of preparing printing plates for letterpress printing.
B. a plate so produced.
C. a print made from it,
wherein print is defined: Computers. to produce (data) in legible alphanumeric or graphic form, wherein graphic is defined: giving a clear and effective picture; vivid., wherein picture is defined: a visual representation of a person, object, or scene, as a painting, drawing, photograph, etc.., wherein photograph is defined: a picture produced by photography, wherein photography is defined: the process or art of producing images of objects on sensitized surfaces by the chemical action of light or of other forms of radiant energy, as x-rays, gamma rays, or cosmic rays. (Dictionary.com)
48 BROAD CLAIM LANGUAGE: MARKUSH ELEMENT: “to change”: infinitive: in English, the simple or basic form of a verb, with no endings to indicate the verb’s subject or tense, such as come, take, eat, be: used after auxiliary verbs or preceded by the word to, and sometimes functioning as a noun, such as He must be, I want to eat, To love is to understand, wherein tense is defined: the time, as past, present, or future, expressed by such a category. (Dictionary.com)
49 I interpret “to change” as past, present, or future
50 registration: the group or number registered, wherein register is defined: to enter or cause to be entered formally in a register, wherein register is defined: Photography. proper relationship between two plane surfaces in photography, as corresponding plates in photoengraving, wherein as is defined: in the role, function, or status of, wherein corresponding is defined: identical in all essentials or respects, wherein identical is defined: similar or alike in every way, wherein similar is defined: having a likeness or resemblance, especially in a general way, wherein general is defined: of, relating to, or true of such persons or things in the main, with possible exceptions; common to most; prevalent; usual.,
wherein photoengraving is defined:
A. a photographic process of preparing printing plates for letterpress printing.
B. a plate so produced.
C. a print made from it,
wherein print is defined: Computers. to produce (data) in legible alphanumeric or graphic form, wherein graphic is defined: giving a clear and effective picture; vivid., wherein picture is defined: a visual representation of a person, object, or scene, as a painting, drawing, photograph, etc.., wherein photograph is defined: a picture produced by photography, wherein photography is defined: the process or art of producing images of objects on sensitized surfaces by the chemical action of light or of other forms of radiant energy, as x-rays, gamma rays, or cosmic rays. (Dictionary.com)
51 BROAD CLAIM LANGUAGE: MARKUSH ELEMENT: “to change”: infinitive: in English, the simple or basic form of a verb, with no endings to indicate the verb’s subject or tense, such as come, take, eat, be: used after auxiliary verbs or preceded by the word to, and sometimes functioning as a noun, such as He must be, I want to eat, To love is to understand, wherein tense is defined: the time, as past, present, or future, expressed by such a category. (Dictionary.com)
52 I interpret “to change” as (A) past, (B) present, or (C) future (the Markush element: [(A),(B) or (C)])
53 BROAD CLAIM LANGUAGE: MARKUSH ELEMENT: [(A),(B) or (C)]: “to change”: infinitive: in English, the simple or basic form of a verb, with no endings to indicate the verb’s subject or tense, such as come, take, eat, be: used after auxiliary verbs or preceded by the word to, and sometimes functioning as a noun, such as He must be, I want to eat, To love is to understand, wherein tense is defined: the time, as past, present, or future, expressed by such a category. (Dictionary.com): [(past), (present), or (future)].
54 I interpret “to change” as past, present, or future
55 Since MINE teaches Markush alternative (A): the past (“completion of the image alignment” [0081]), MINE teaches the Marksuh element [(A),(B), or (C)]-(A) the past, (B) the present, (C) the future-- under the broadest reasonable interpretation of claim 44.
56 “displayed” is a coordinating adjective with no change in meaning: (CAD-analysis & displayed information under the broadest reasonable interpretation
57 “CAD” is a cumulative adjective
58 “analysis” is a coordinating adjective with no change in meaning: displayed & CAD-analysis information under the broadest reasonable interpretation
59 “patient” is a coordinating adjective
60 “CT” is a cumulative adjective
61 “scan” is a coordinating adjective
62 imaging: Medicine/Medical. the use of computerized axial tomography, sonography, or other specialized techniques and instruments to obtain pictures of the interior of the body, especially those including soft tissues, wherein tomography is defined: A procedure by which waves are sent through an object and computers produce images of cross sections of the object by using information on how the waves are changed. Both ultrasound and CAT scans are medical uses of this technique, but it is also widely used in science and industry. (Dictionary.com)