Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted and was filed after the mailing date of the 01/29/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 23-24, 31, 33-36, 40,42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Qiao (WO 2021007447 A1).
Regarding claim 23, A method of operating a network node in a radio access network (RAN), the method comprising: transmitting system information in a cell served by the network node,
Qiao [00157]; In response to the SIB and/or MIB message received from the base stations of the first PLMN/serving PLMN (e.g. (R)AN 1),
wherein the system information comprises a set of one or more disaster public land mobile networks (PLMNs),
Qiao [0156]; In an example, the SIB and/or MIB message may comprise at least one of: the network fail/ disaster indication, the identifier of the second PLMN, and/or the identifier of the disaster PLMN,
thereby indicating that a user equipment (UE) associated to a disaster PLMN can use the cell in event of a disaster in which the UE is unable to communicate with a PLMN to which the UE may normally connect.
Qiao [00157]; In response to the SIB and/or MIB message received from the base stations of the first PLMN/serving PLMN (e.g. (R)AN 1), the wireless devices (e.g. UE 2) of the second PLMN/disaster PLMN may take one or more actions. In an example embodiment, based on the SIB and/or MIB message received from the (R)AN 1, the UE 2 may determine a serving PLMN (e.g. PLMN 1) during the disaster (PLMN 1= which the UE is unable to communicate with a PLMN to which the UE may normally connect). For example, the UE 2 may determine the serving PLMN based on the network fail/ disaster indication, the identifier of the disaster PLMN and/or the identifier of the serving PLMN. In an example action, based on the SIB and/or MIB message received from the (R)AN 1, the UE 2 may determine a registration request message.
Qiao [00158]; The establishment cause may indicate requesting establishment of an RRC connection to the serving PLMN (e.g. PLMN 1) during the disaster of home PLMN (e.g. PLMN 2).
Regarding claim 24, The method of claim 23, wherein the system information comprises a system information block (SIB) message.
Qiao [00156]; For example, the base station of the first PLMN may transmit a SIB and/or a MIB message to one or more wireless devices in the coverage area.
Regarding claim 31, The method of claim 23, wherein the system information comprises a common set of disaster PLMNs that are associated with a selected set of serving PLMNs of the cell.
Qiao [0191]; In an example, there may be a disaster in an area, and the disaster area may be covered by multiple PLMNs (e.g. PLMN 1, PLMN 2 and PLMN 3), where the multiple PLMNs may be operated by multiple operators. The disaster PLMN ID may be used as a common/general PLMN identifier for all the wireless devices of all PLMNs in the disaster area. The wireless devices may be the wireless devices of all the PLMNs in the disaster area (e.g. PLMN 1, PLMN 2, and PLMN 3).
Qiao [00141 ]; A neighboring PLMN (e.g., first PLMN) may be a supplementary option for a wireless device to access a communication network when a home PLMN (e.g., second PLMN) of the wireless device is not available, for example, due to a disaster. In existing technologies, a wireless device may have a list of predetermined networks (e.g., allowed PLMN list) that is allowed to access (associated with a selected set of serving PLMNs of the cell)
Regarding claim 33, A network node comprising a communication interface and processing circuitry configured to cause the network node to perform the method of claim 23.
Qiao [0004]; 5G core network may comprise functional elements or network functions as in example FIG. 1 and example FIG. 2 where interfaces may be employed for communication among the functional elements and/or network elements.
Qiao [0005]; In an example, a network function may be a processing function in a network, which may have a functional behavior and/or interfaces.
Regarding claim 34, A method of operating a user equipment UE) in a radio access network (RAN), the method comprising: receiving system information in a cell of the RAN,
Qiao [00157]; In response to the SIB and/or MIB message received from the base stations of the first PLMN/serving PLMN (e.g. (R)AN 1),
Qiao [00156]; For example, the base station of the first PLMN may transmit a SIB and/or a MIB message to one or more wireless devices in the coverage area.
wherein the system information comprises a set of one or more disaster public land mobile networks (PLMNs) including a disaster PLMN to which the UE is associated,
Qiao [0156]; In an example, the SIB and/or MIB message may comprise at least one of: the network fail/ disaster indication, the identifier of the second PLMN, and/or the identifier of the disaster PLMN,
thereby indicating that the UE can use the cell in event of a disaster in which the UE is unable to communicate with the disaster PLMN;
Qiao [00157]; In response to the SIB and/or MIB message received from the base stations of the first PLMN/serving PLMN (e.g. (R)AN 1), the wireless devices (e.g. UE 2) of the second PLMN/disaster PLMN may take one or more actions. In an example embodiment, based on the SIB and/or MIB message received from the (R)AN 1, the UE 2 may determine a serving PLMN (e.g. PLMN 1) during the disaster (PLMN 1= which the UE is unable to communicate with a PLMN to which the UE may normally connect).
and communicating with the cell in event of a disaster in which the UE is unable to communicate with the disaster PLMN.
Qiao [00157]; For example, the UE 2 may determine the serving PLMN based on the network fail/ disaster indication, the identifier of the disaster PLMN and/or the identifier of the serving PLMN. In an example action, based on the SIB and/or MIB message received from the (R)AN 1, the UE 2 may determine a registration request message.
Qiao [00158 ] In an example embodiment, the UE 2 may send an message to the (R)AN 1. The AN message may comprise AN parameters and/or a registration request message. The establishment cause may indicate requesting establishment of an RRC connection to the serving PLMN (e.g. PLMN 1) during the disaster of home PLMN (e.g. PLMN 2).
Regarding claim 35, The method of claim 34, wherein the system information comprises a system information block (SIB) message.
Qiao [00156]; For example, the base station of the first PLMN may transmit a SIB and/or a MIB message to one or more wireless devices in the coverage area.
Regarding claim 40, The method of claim 34, wherein the system information comprises a common set of disaster PLMNs that are associated with a selected set of serving PLMNs of the cell.
Qiao [0191]; In an example, there may be a disaster in an area, and the disaster area may be covered by multiple PLMNs (e.g. PLMN 1, PLMN 2 and PLMN 3), where the multiple PLMNs may be operated by multiple operators. The disaster PLMN ID may be used as a common/general PLMN identifier for all the wireless devices of all PLMNs in the disaster area. The wireless devices may be the wireless devices of all the PLMNs in the disaster area (e.g. PLMN 1, PLMN 2, and PLMN 3).
Qiao [00141 ]; A neighboring PLMN (e.g., first PLMN) may be a supplementary option for a wireless device to access a communication network when a home PLMN (e.g., second PLMN) of the wireless device is not available, for example, due to a disaster. In existing technologies, a wireless device may have a list of predetermined networks (e.g., allowed PLMN list) that is allowed to access (associated with a selected set of serving PLMNs of the cell)
Regarding claim 42, A user equipment comprising a communication interface and processing circuitry configured to cause the user equipment to perform the method of claim 35.
Qiao [0030]; As depicted in example FIG. 6A and FIG. 6B, connection management, CM, may comprise establishing and releasing a signaling connection between a UE 100 and an AMF 155 over N1 interface.
Qiao [00213]; According to various embodiments, a device such as, for example, a wireless device, off-network wireless device, a base station, a session management function, a policy control function, an application function, a access and mobility management function, a unified data management, a charging function and/or the like, may comprise one or more processors and memory.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 25- 29, 30, 32, 36-39, and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Qiao in view of 3GPP, "3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Core
Network and Terminals; Study on the support for minimization of service interruption; (Release 17)",
3GPP TR 24.811 V2.0.0, 2021-06, pages 1-112,” hereafter “3GPP TR.”
Regarding claim 25, The method of claim 23, wherein the system information comprises a common set of disaster PLMNs that are common.
Qiao [0200]; In an example, the SIB and/or MIB message may comprise at least one of: the disaster indication, the disaster PLMN ID,
Qiao [00191]; The disaster PLMN ID may be used as a common/general PLMN identifier for all the wireless devices of all PLMNs in the disaster area. The wireless devices may be the wireless devices of all the PLMNs in the disaster area (e.g. PLMN 1, PLMN 2, and PLMN 3).
Qiao does not teach a specified set of serving PLMNs of the cell.
3GPP TR teaches a specified set of serving PLMNs of the cell.
3GPP TR, Page 14, Section 5.3.1, [0002];When a Disaster Condition applies to a particular PLMN or PLMNs, one or more PLMNs in the same country may be able to provide Disaster Roaming service (a specified set of serving PLMNs of the cell) to the UEs of a PLMN with Disaster Condition. In this case, the PLMN providing Disaster Roaming shall indicate that it can accommodate the Disaster Inbound Roamers from a PLMN with Disaster Condition.
In view of 3GPP TR, Qiao is modified such that there is a specified set of serving PLMNs of the cell.
Qiao and 3GPP TR are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, providing coverage to the disastrous PLMNs.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Qiao to include a specified set of serving PLMNs of the cell in the serving cell with the PLMN 1 to be associated to the disaster PLMNs for providing service to them during the disastrous condition.
Regarding claim 26, The method of claim 25, wherein the common set of disaster PLMNs that are available to UEs is provided within a system information block.
Qiao [0200]; In an example, the SIB and/or MIB message may comprise at least one of: the disaster indication, the disaster PLMN ID,
Qiao [00191]; The disaster PLMN ID may be used as a common/general PLMN identifier for all the wireless devices of all PLMNs in the disaster area. The wireless devices may be the wireless devices of all the PLMNs in the disaster area (e.g. PLMN 1, PLMN 2, and PLMN 3).
Qiao does not teach disaster PLMNs associated to the specified set of serving PLMNs of the cell , a top level of a system information block.
3GPP TR teaches disaster PLMNs associated to the specified set of serving PLMNs of the cell, a top level of a system information block.
3GPP TR, Page 14, Section 5.3.1, [0002];When a Disaster Condition applies to a particular PLMN or PLMNs, one or more PLMNs in the same country may be able to provide Disaster Roaming service (a specified set of serving PLMNs of the cell). to the UEs of a PLMN with Disaster Condition. In this case, the PLMN providing Disaster Roaming shall indicate that it can accommodate the Disaster Inbound Roamers from a PLMN with Disaster Condition.
a top level of a system information block.
3GPP TR, page 27, Section 6.4.2 [0005]; PLMN A may broadcast the Disaster Condition information by MIB, SIB 1, or SIBx. If the information are broadcasted in SIBx rather than MIB or SIBl (Considering that the Disaster Condition happens very infrequently, and scarcity of wireless resources), UE shall request the system information in SIBx on demand.
In view of 3GPP TR, Qiao is modified such that disaster PLMNs associated to the specified set of
serving PLMNs of the cell, the SIB transmitted via a top level SIB.
Qiao and 3GPP TR are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, providing coverage to the disastrous PLMNs.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Qiao to include a specified set of serving PLMNs of the cell in the serving cell with the non-disaster PLMN to be associated to the disaster PLMNs for providing service to them during the disastrous condition and transmit the system information with a top level SIB to avoid the overlap of signals when the disaster occurs frequently (3GPP TR, page 27, Section 6.4.2).
Regarding claim 27, The method of claim 25, wherein the common set of disaster PLMNs is provided is or are identified.
Qiao [00191]; The disaster PLMN ID may be used as a common/general PLMN identifier for all the wireless devices of all PLMNs in the disaster area. The wireless devices may be the wireless devices of all the PLMNs in the disaster area (e.g. PLMN 1, PLMN 2, and PLMN 3).
Qiao does not teach the specified set or specified sets of serving PLMNs of the cell, for which the disaster PLMNs is provided is or are identified by a flag associated with the specified set of serving PLMNs of the cell.
3GPP TR teaches the specified set or specified sets of serving PLMNs of the cell, for which the disaster is provided is or are identified by a flag associated with the specified set of serving PLMNs of the cell.
3GPP TR, Page 14,Section 5.3.1, [0002];When a Disaster Condition applies to a particular PLMN or PLMNs (disaster PLMNs is provided is or are identified), one or more PLMNs in the same country may be able to provide Disaster Roaming service (one or more PLMNs with no disaster = a specified set of serving PLMNs of the cell) to the UEs of a PLMN with Disaster Condition. In this case, the PLMN providing Disaster Roaming shall indicate that it can accommodate the Disaster Inbound Roamers from a PLMN with Disaster Condition.
3GPP TR, Page 53, Section 6.28.3, [0008]; support for handling of the indication broadcast by PLMN A
(e.g. SIB flag = Flag associated with the specified set of serving PLMNs of the cell) that a Disaster
Condition in PLMN D applies;
3GPP TR, page 27, Section 6.4.1, [0002]; In this solution, PLMN D is the PLMN with Disaster Condition
and PLMN A is the PLMN without Disaster Condition ( PLMN A is the one PLMN from one or more
PLMNs in the same country may be able to provide Disaster Roaming service= Flag indication
broadcast by PLMN A is a flag associated with the specified set of serving PLMNs of the cell)
In view of 3GPP TR, Qiao is modified such that disaster PLMNs associated to the specified set of
serving PLMNs of the cell, and the SIB flag transmits the information of the disaster PLMNs.
Qiao and 3GPP TR are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, providing coverage to the disastrous PLMNs.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Qiao to include a specified set of serving PLMNs of the cell in the serving cell with the non-disaster PLMNs to be associated to the disaster PLMNs for providing service to them during the disastrous condition (3GPP TR, page 27, Section 6.4.1).
Regarding claim 28, The method of claim 27, wherein the system information comprises one or more lists of disaster PLMNs.
3GPP TR, page 35, Section 6.12.1. [0002]; In this case if the UE finds no cell of PLMN B but a cell of
PLMN A which is broadcasting the "disaster roaming active" condition, this may lead to the UE assuming that PLMN B is experiencing a disaster condition. To avoid this ambiguity, it is necessary to include in the broadcast information the PLMN ID or a list of PLMN IDs that are subject to the disaster. This information may be broadcast along with the indication of "disaster roaming active" condition or in a separate System Information.
In view of 3GPP TR, Qiao is modified such that the system information comprises one or more lists of disaster PLMNs.
Qiao and 3GPP TR are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, providing coverage to the disastrous PLMNs.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Qiao to include a specified set of serving PLMNs of the cell in the serving cell with the non-disaster PLMNs to be associated to the disaster PLMNs for providing service to them during the disastrous condition (3GPP TR, page 27, Section 6.4.1).
Regarding claim 29, The method of claim 28, wherein the system information indicates a list of disaster PLMNs associated to a set of serving PLMNs of the cell.
3GPP TR, page 35, Section 6.12.1. [0002]; In this case if the UE finds no cell of PLMN B but a cell of
PLMN A which is broadcasting the "disaster roaming active" condition, this may lead to the UE assuming that PLMN B is experiencing a disaster condition. To avoid this ambiguity, it is necessary to include in the broadcast information the PLMN ID or a list of PLMN IDs that are subject to the disaster. This information may be broadcast along with the indication of "disaster roaming active" condition or in a separate System Information.
3GPP TR, Page 14, Section 5.3.1, [0002];When a Disaster Condition applies to a particular PLMN or PLMNs, one or more PLMNs in the same country may be able to provide Disaster Roaming service (a specified set of serving PLMNs of the cell). to the UEs of a PLMN with Disaster Condition. In this case, the PLMN providing Disaster Roaming shall indicate that it can accommodate the Disaster Inbound Roamers from a PLMN with Disaster Condition.
In view of 3GPP TR, Qiao is modified such that the system information comprises one or more lists of disaster PLMNs.
Qiao and 3GPP TR are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, providing coverage to the disastrous PLMNs.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Qiao to include a specified set of serving PLMNs of the cell in the serving cell with the non-disaster PLMNs to be associated to the disaster PLMNs for providing service to them during the disastrous condition (3GPP TR, page 27, Section 6.4.1).
Regarding claim 30, The method of claim 23, wherein the system information indicates disasters PLMNs.
Qiao [0156]; In an example, the SIB and/or MIB message may comprise at least one of: the network fail/ disaster indication, the identifier of the second PLMN, and/or the identifier of the disaster PLMN,
Qiao [0191]; In an example, there may be a disaster in an area, and the disaster area may be covered by multiple PLMNs (e.g. PLMN 1, PLMN 2 and PLMN 3), where the multiple PLMNs may be operated by multiple operators. The disaster PLMN ID may be used as a common/general PLMN identifier for all the wireless devices of all PLMNs in the disaster area. The wireless devices may be the wireless devices of all the PLMNs in the disaster area (e.g. PLMN 1, PLMN 2, and PLMN 3).
Qiao does not teach which disasters PLMNs are associated to a set of serving PLMNs of the cell such that UEs associated to the disaster PLMN can use a PLMN in the associated set of serving PLMNs in the event of disaster.
3GPP TR teaches which disasters PLMNs are associated to a set of serving PLMNs of the cell such that UEs associated to the disaster PLMN can use a PLMN in the associated set of serving PLMNs in the event of disaster.
Page 47, Section 6.23.1.2 [0009]; If the UE determines that Disaster Condition applies for several
PLMNs D, as determined in a solution for Key Issue #1 and: UE's RPLMN is one of those PLMNs D, the
UE considers UE's RPLMN as the selected PLMN D; or UE's RPLMN is not one of those PLMNs D, the UE
considers one of PLMNs D as the selected PLMN D based on the priority of the PLMNs,
and in automatic PLMN selection above the UE only considers PLMNs A without Disaster Condition
which can accept Disaster Inbound Roamers from the selected PLMN D.
Page 46, 6.22.1, [0010]; System information broadcast in a PLMN informs UE whether disaster roaming is allowed and whether it is allowed for a specific (set of) PLMN(s) or all PLMNs.
3GPP TR ,Page 14,Section 5.3.1, [0002];When a Disaster Condition applies to a particular PLMN or PLMNs (disaster PLMNs is provided is or are identified), one or more PLMNs in the same country may be able to provide Disaster Roaming service (one or more PLMNs with no disaster = a specified set of serving PLMNs of the cell) to the UEs of a PLMN with Disaster Condition.
In view of 3GPP TR, Qiao is modified such that which disasters PLMNs are associated to a set of serving PLMNs of the cell such that UEs associated to the disaster PLMN can use a PLMN in the associated set of serving PLMNs in the event of disaster.
Qiao and 3GPP TR are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, providing coverage to the disastrous PLMNs.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Qiao to include a specified set of serving PLMNs of the cell in the serving cell with the non-disaster PLMNs to be associated to the disaster PLMNs for providing service to them during the disastrous condition (3GPP TR, page 27, Section 6.4.1).
Regarding claim 32, The method of claim 31, wherein, the system information identifies common set of disaster PLMNs or a set of PLMN-specific disaster PLMNs.
Qiao[0156]; In an example, the SIB and/or MIB message may comprise at least one of: the network fail/ disaster indication, the identifier of the second PLMN, and/or the identifier of the disaster PLMN,
Qiao [0191]; In an example, there may be a disaster in an area, and the disaster area may be covered by multiple PLMNs (e.g. PLMN 1, PLMN 2 and PLMN 3), where the multiple PLMNs may be operated by multiple operators. The disaster PLMN ID may be used as a common/general PLMN identifier for all the wireless devices of all PLMNs in the disaster area. The wireless devices may be the wireless devices of all the PLMNs in the disaster area (e.g. PLMN 1, PLMN 2, and PLMN 3).
Qiao does not teach for each set of serving PLMNs of the cell, whether UEs associated to the set of serving PLMNs should use the set of disaster PLMNs.
for each set of serving PLMNs of the cell, whether UEs associated to the set of serving PLMNs should use the set of disaster PLMNs.
3GPP TR ,Page 47, Section 6.23.1.2 [0009]; If the UE determines that Disaster Condition applies for
several PLMNs D, as determined in a solution for Key Issue #1 and: UE's RPLMN is one of those PLMNs
D, the UE considers UE's RPLMN as the selected PLMN D; or UE's RPLMN is not one of those PLMNs D,
the UE considers one of PLMNs D as the selected PLMN D based on the priority of the PLMNs (should
use the set of disaster PLMNs) and in automatic PLMN selection above the UE only considers PLMNs
A without Disaster Condition which can accept Disaster Inbound Roamers from the selected PLMN D.
In view of 3GPP TR, Qiao is modified such that the disasters PLMNs are associated to a set of serving PLMNs of the cell such that UEs associated to the disaster PLMN can use a PLMN in the associated set of serving PLMNs in the event of disaster.
Qiao and 3GPP TR are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, providing coverage to the disastrous PLMNs.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Qiao to include a specified set of serving PLMNs of the cell in the serving cell with the non-disaster PLMNs to be associated to the disaster PLMNs for providing service to them during the disastrous condition (3GPP TR, page 27, Section 6.4.1).
Regarding claim 36, The method of claim 34, wherein the system information comprises a common set of disaster PLMNs that are common.
Qiao [0200]; In an example, the SIB and/or MIB message may comprise at least one of: the disaster indication, the disaster PLMN ID,
Qiao [00191]; The disaster PLMN ID may be used as a common/general PLMN identifier for all the wireless devices of all PLMNs in the disaster area. The wireless devices may be the wireless devices of all the PLMNs in the disaster area (e.g. PLMN 1, PLMN 2, and PLMN 3).
Qiao does not teach a specified set of serving PLMNs of the cell.
3GPP TR teaches a specified set of serving PLMNs of the cell.
3GPP TR, Page 14, Section 5.3.1, [0002];When a Disaster Condition applies to a particular PLMN or PLMNs, one or more PLMNs in the same country may be able to provide Disaster Roaming service (a specified set of serving PLMNs of the cell) to the UEs of a PLMN with Disaster Condition. In this case, the PLMN providing Disaster Roaming shall indicate that it can accommodate the Disaster Inbound Roamers from a PLMN with Disaster Condition.
In view of 3GPP TR, Qiao is modified such that there is a specified set of serving PLMNs of the cell.
Qiao and 3GPP TR are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, providing coverage to the disastrous PLMNs.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Qiao to include a specified set of serving PLMNs of the cell in the serving cell with the PLMN 1 to be associated to the disaster PLMNs for providing service to them during the disastrous condition.
Regarding claim 37, The method of claim 36, wherein the common set of disaster PLMNs that are available to UEs is provided within a system information block.
Qiao [0200]; In an example, the SIB and/or MIB message may comprise at least one of: the disaster indication, the disaster PLMN ID,
Qiao [00191]; The disaster PLMN ID may be used as a common/general PLMN identifier for all the wireless devices of all PLMNs in the disaster area. The wireless devices may be the wireless devices of all the PLMNs in the disaster area (e.g. PLMN 1, PLMN 2, and PLMN 3).
Qiao does not teach disaster PLMNs associated to the specified set of serving PLMNs of the cell , a top level of a system information block.
3GPP TR teaches disaster PLMNs associated to the specified set of serving PLMNs of the cell, a top level of a system information block.
3GPP TR, Page 14, Section 5.3.1, [0002];When a Disaster Condition applies to a particular PLMN or PLMNs, one or more PLMNs in the same country may be able to provide Disaster Roaming service (a specified set of serving PLMNs of the cell). to the UEs of a PLMN with Disaster Condition. In this case, the PLMN providing Disaster Roaming shall indicate that it can accommodate the Disaster Inbound Roamers from a PLMN with Disaster Condition.
a top level of a system information block.
3GPP TR, page 27, Section 6.4.2 [0005]; PLMN A may broadcast the Disaster Condition information by MIB, SIB 1, or SIBx. If the information are broadcasted in SIBx rather than MIB or SIBl (Considering that the Disaster Condition happens very infrequently, and scarcity of wireless resources), UE shall request the system information in SIBx on demand.
In view of 3GPP TR, Qiao is modified such that disaster PLMNs associated to the specified set of
serving PLMNs of the cell, the SIB transmitted via a top level SIB.
Qiao and 3GPP TR are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, providing coverage to the disastrous PLMNs.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Qiao to include a specified set of serving PLMNs of the cell in the serving cell with the non-disaster PLMN to be associated to the disaster PLMNs for providing service to them during the disastrous condition and transmit the system information with a top level SIB to avoid the overlap of signals when the disaster occurs frequently (3GPP TR, page 27, Section 6.4.2).
Regarding claim 38, The method of claim 37, wherein the common set of disaster PLMNs is provided is or are identified.
Qiao [00191]; The disaster PLMN ID may be used as a common/general PLMN identifier for all the wireless devices of all PLMNs in the disaster area. The wireless devices may be the wireless devices of all the PLMNs in the disaster area (e.g. PLMN 1, PLMN 2, and PLMN 3).
Qiao does not teach the specified set or specified sets of serving PLMNs of the cell, for which the disaster PLMNs is provided is or are identified by a flag associated with the specified set of serving PLMNs of the cell.
3GPP TR teaches the specified set or specified sets of serving PLMNs of the cell, for which the disaster is provided is or are identified by a flag associated with the specified set of serving PLMNs of the cell.
3GPP TR, Page 14,Section 5.3.1, [0002];When a Disaster Condition applies to a particular PLMN or PLMNs (disaster PLMNs is provided is or are identified), one or more PLMNs in the same country may be able to provide Disaster Roaming service (one or more PLMNs with no disaster = a specified set of serving PLMNs of the cell) to the UEs of a PLMN with Disaster Condition. In this case, the PLMN providing Disaster Roaming shall indicate that it can accommodate the Disaster Inbound Roamers from a PLMN with Disaster Condition.
3GPP TR, Page 53, Section 6.28.3, [0008]; support for handling of the indication broadcast by PLMN A
(e.g. SIB flag = Flag associated with the specified set of serving PLMNs of the cell) that a Disaster
Condition in PLMN D applies;
3GPP TR, page 27, Section 6.4.1, [0002]; In this solution, PLMN D is the PLMN with Disaster Condition
and PLMN A is the PLMN without Disaster Condition ( PLMN A is the one PLMN from one or more
PLMNs in the same country may be able to provide Disaster Roaming service= Flag indication
broadcast by PLMN A is a flag associated with the specified set of serving PLMNs of the cell)
In view of 3GPP TR, Qiao is modified such that disaster PLMNs associated to the specified set of
serving PLMNs of the cell, and the SIB flag transmits the information of the disaster PLMNs.
Qiao and 3GPP TR are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, providing coverage to the disastrous PLMNs.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Qiao to include a specified set of serving PLMNs of the cell in the serving cell with the non-disaster PLMNs to be associated to the disaster PLMNs for providing service to them during the disastrous condition (3GPP TR, page 27, Section 6.4.1).
Regarding claim 39, The method of claim 36, wherein the system information indicates the disaster PLMNs in the common set of disaster PLMNs,
Qiao [0200]; In an example, the SIB and/or MIB message may comprise at least one of: the disaster indication, the disaster PLMN ID,
Qiao [00191]; The disaster PLMN ID may be used as a common/general PLMN identifier for all the wireless devices of all PLMNs in the disaster area. The wireless devices may be the wireless devices of all the PLMNs in the disaster area (e.g. PLMN 1, PLMN 2, and PLMN 3).
Qiao does not teach Which of the disaster PLMN is associated with the specified set of serving PLMNs of the cell.
Which of the disaster PLMN is associated with the specified set of serving PLMNs of the cell.
Page 47, Section 6.23.1.2 [0009]; If the UE determines that Disaster Condition applies for several
PLMNs D, as determined in a solution for Key Issue #1 and: UE's RPLMN is one of those PLMNs D, the
UE considers UE's RPLMN as the selected PLMN D; or UE's RPLMN is not one of those PLMNs D, the UE
considers one of PLMNs D as the selected PLMN D based on the priority of the PLMNs,
and in automatic PLMN selection above the UE only considers PLMNs A without Disaster Condition
which can accept Disaster Inbound Roamers from the selected PLMN D.
In view of 3GPP TR, Qiao is modified such that which disasters PLMNs are associated to a set of serving PLMNs of the cell such that UEs associated to the disaster PLMN can use a PLMN in the associated set of serving PLMNs in the event of disaster.
Qiao and 3GPP TR are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, providing coverage to the disastrous PLMNs.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Qiao to include a specified set of serving PLMNs of the cell in the serving cell with the non-disaster PLMNs to be associated to the disaster PLMNs for providing service to them during the disastrous condition (3GPP TR, page 27, Section 6.4.1).
Regarding claim 41, The method of claim 40, the system information identifies common set of disaster PLMNs or a set of PLMN-specific disaster PLMNs.
Qiao[0156]; In an example, the SIB and/or MIB message may comprise at least one of: the network fail/ disaster indication, the identifier of the second PLMN, and/or the identifier of the disaster PLMN,
Qiao [0191]; In an example, there may be a disaster in an area, and the disaster area may be covered by multiple PLMNs (e.g. PLMN 1, PLMN 2 and PLMN 3), where the multiple PLMNs may be operated by multiple operators. The disaster PLMN ID may be used as a common/general PLMN identifier for all the wireless devices of all PLMNs in the disaster area. The wireless devices may be the wireless devices of all the PLMNs in the disaster area (e.g. PLMN 1, PLMN 2, and PLMN 3).
Qiao does not teach for each set of serving PLMNs of the cell, whether UEs associated to the set of serving PLMNs should use the set of disaster PLMNs.
for each set of serving PLMNs of the cell, whether UEs associated to the set of serving PLMNs should use the set of disaster PLMNs.
3GPP TR ,Page 47, Section 6.23.1.2 [0009]; If the UE determines that Disaster Condition applies for
several PLMNs D, as determined in a solution for Key Issue #1 and: UE's RPLMN is one of those PLMNs
D, the UE considers UE's RPLMN as the selected PLMN D; or UE's RPLMN is not one of those PLMNs D,
the UE considers one of PLMNs D as the selected PLMN D based on the priority of the PLMNs (should
use the set of disaster PLMNs) and in automatic PLMN selection above the UE only considers PLMNs
A without Disaster Condition which can accept Disaster Inbound Roamers from the selected PLMN D.
In view of 3GPP TR, Qiao is modified such that the disasters PLMNs are associated to a set of serving PLMNs of the cell such that UEs associated to the disaster PLMN can use a PLMN in the associated set of serving PLMNs in the event of disaster.
Qiao and 3GPP TR are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, providing coverage to the disastrous PLMNs.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Qiao to include a specified set of serving PLMNs of the cell in the serving cell with the non-disaster PLMNs to be associated to the disaster PLMNs for providing service to them during the disastrous condition (3GPP TR, page 27, Section 6.4.1).
Conclusion
should be directed to Maryam Emadi whose email is Maryam.emadi1@uspto.gov with
telephone number of 703-756-1834.
Joseph Avellino can be reached on 571-272-3905.
Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained
from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available
through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pairdirect.uspto.gov.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center
(EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/M.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2478 /JAY L VOGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478