DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means”, “step”, or a generic placeholder but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “wet mop rag module” in Claims 1-7 and 11, “module housing” in Claims 1 and 7, “rotary cleaning unit” in Claims 1 and 7, “overheating shut-off device” in Claims 1, 5-7, and 10, and “module battery” in Claims 6, 9, and 10.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oh US 2008/0282490 (hereafter Oh).
Regarding Claim 1, Oh anticipates:
[Claim 1] A wet mop rag module for a cleaner (suction brush of a vacuum cleaner), which cleans a floor surface by wiping away debris (with dusters 71 and 72), the wet mop rag module comprising:
a module housing (brush main body 10);
a water tank (water storage tank 50) coupled to the module housing and configured to store water therein (Figure 1);
at least one rotary cleaning unit (first and second duster rotating plates 41 and 42) disposed at a lower side of the module housing and configured such that a mop rag (dusters 71 and 72) is coupled to the rotary cleaning unit; and
a steam generator (steam generating unit 60) configured to heat water supplied from the water tank,
wherein the steam generator comprises:
a heating chamber (chamber within upper case 64, Figure 7A) having a flow path (path through “U”-shaped guide groove 65a, spray hole 65b, and spray nozzle 65c, Figures 7A and 7B) in which moisture flows;
a heater (heater 66) disposed at a lower side of the heating chamber (below - shown in Figure 7A) and configured to supply heat to the heating chamber; and
an overheating shut-off device (overheat preventing device 83) disposed at one side of the heating chamber (Figures 8A and 8B) and configured to cut off a supply of power to the heater when a temperature of the heating chamber is equal to or higher than a predetermined reference temperature (Paragraph [0059] – “The temperature control device 81, as shown in FIG. 8A, is electrically connected to a power line (not shown) connected to the heater unit 63, and serves to sense the temperature of the heater unit 63 and to interrupt the power being supplied to the heater unit 63 if the sensed temperature is higher than a predetermined temperature” and Paragraph [0060] – “The overheat preventing device 83, as shown in FIG. 8A, is electrically connected to the power line connected to the heater unit 63, and serves as a safety device that uses a bimetal and takes the place of the temperature control device 81 when the temperature control device 81 is out of order”).
Regarding Claim 2, Oh anticipates:
[Claim 2] The wet mop rag module of claim 1, wherein the steam generator (steam generating unit 60) further comprises a temperature detector (temperature control device 81) disposed on a lateral surface (top and side shown in Figure 8A) of the heating chamber (chamber within upper case 64, Figure 7A) and configured to measure the temperature of the heating chamber (Paragraph [0059] – “The temperature control device 81, as shown in FIG. 8A, is electrically connected to a power line (not shown) connected to the heater unit 63, and serves to sense the temperature of the heater unit 63 and to interrupt the power being supplied to the heater unit 63 if the sensed temperature is higher than a predetermined temperature”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 3, 5, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh US 2008/0282490 (hereafter Oh) in view of common design knowledge.
Regarding Claim 3, Oh teaches:
[Claim 3] The wet mop rag module of claim 1, wherein the steam generator (steam generating unit 60) further comprises:
a lower cover (lower case 65) disposed at a lower side of the heater (heater 66) and configured to cover the heater (covers bottom of heater as shown in Figure 7A); and
a lower insulator (see discussion below) disposed between the heater and the lower cover and configured to block heat transferred from the heater.
As shown in Figure 7A, Oh discloses a heater 66 positioned below a fluid path 65a to heat water into steam. Oh does not disclose an insulator located below the heater to block heat loss away from the fluid path. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add an insulator to the Oh device disposed between the heater and the lower cover with the motivation to block heat from being wasted by transferring heat away from the fluid. Additionally, an insulator would beneficial to reduce the temperature of the outer surface of the lower case 65 which appears to be mounted in a plastic enclosure.
Regarding Claim 5, Oh teaches:
[Claim 5] The wet mop rag module of claim 1, wherein the heater (heater 66) is provided as two or more heaters symmetrically (U-shaped heater comprising two straight heating segments joined by a semicircular heating segment added and labeled in attached Figures 7A and 7B below) disposed based on an imaginary symmetric surface (labeled in attached Figures 7A and 7B below), and the overheating shut-off device (overheat preventing device 83) is disposed on the symmetric surface (shown in attached Figures 7A and 7B below).
Regarding Claim 11, Oh teaches:
[Claim 11] A method of controlling a cleaner (suction brush of a vacuum cleaner) comprising a wet mop rag module (assembly shown in Figure 1) configured to supply a pair of mop rags (with dusters 71 and 72) with water heated by a steam generator (steam generating unit 60), the method comprising:
measuring a temperature of the steam generator (Paragraph [0059] – “The temperature control device 81, as shown in FIG. 8A, is electrically connected to a power line (not shown) connected to the heater unit 63, and serves to sense the temperature of the heater unit 63 and to interrupt the power being supplied to the heater unit 63 if the sensed temperature is higher than a predetermined temperature”);
determining whether the temperature of the steam generator is equal to or higher than a preset reference temperature (Paragraph [0059] – “The temperature control device 81, as shown in FIG. 8A, is electrically connected to a power line (not shown) connected to the heater unit 63, and serves to sense the temperature of the heater unit 63 and to interrupt the power being supplied to the heater unit 63 if the sensed temperature is higher than a predetermined temperature”);
determining that overheating occurs when the temperature of the steam generator is equal to or higher than the preset reference temperature, and counting the number of times the overheating occurs (Paragraph [0059] – “The temperature control device 81, as shown in FIG. 8A, is electrically connected to a power line (not shown) connected to the heater unit 63, and serves to sense the temperature of the heater unit 63 and to interrupt the power being supplied to the heater unit 63 if the sensed temperature is higher than a predetermined temperature”); and
ending an operation of the steam generator when the counted number of times is equal to or larger than a preset reference number of times (occurs every time sensed temperature is higher than a predetermined temperature – therefore the count is always equal to one)(Paragraph [0059] – “The temperature control device 81, as shown in FIG. 8A, is electrically connected to a power line (not shown) connected to the heater unit 63, and serves to sense the temperature of the heater unit 63 and to interrupt the power being supplied to the heater unit 63 if the sensed temperature is higher than a predetermined temperature”).
Regarding Claim 12, Oh teaches:
[Claim 12] The method of claim 11, wherein the counted number of times (once) is initialized to zero when the temperature of the steam generator is lower than the preset reference temperature (see discussion below).
Oh discloses multiple over-temperature devices that are configured to supply power to the steam generator when the temperature is below a threshold and interrupt power if a single occurrence (count of 1) of a temperature rise exceeds a predetermined value. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that once the power is interrupted to the heater will cool and the temperature will eventually drop below the threshold. It would be obvious that the Oh device would need to be capable of being reset (count is zero) to allow the heater to return to an operational state once the sensed temperature drops to a predetermined value with the motivation for the device to be usable beyond a single overtemperature shut down since the device is obviously not intended to be disposable.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh US 2008/0282490 (hereafter Oh) in view of No KR 101342567 B1 (hereafter No).
Regarding Claim 4, Oh teaches:
[Claim 4] The wet mop rag module of claim 1, wherein the steam generator further comprising:
a sealer (see discussion below) disposed at an upper side of the heating chamber (chamber within upper case 64, Figure 7A) and configured to seal the upper side of the heating chamber;
an upper insulator (see discussion below) disposed at an upper side of the sealer and configured to block heat transferred from the heating chamber; and
an upper cover (upper case 64) disposed at an upper side of the upper insulator.
As shown in Figures 7A and 7B, Oh shows a bolted connection between upper case 64 and lower case 65 that form a fluid cavity. Oh does not disclose a gasket (sealer) between the two parts to prevent fluid leakage out of the cavity. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a gasket to seal the flange between the two parts since it is common knowledge prior art solution for preventing leakage. The reference No discloses in Figure 6 a steam generating means 130 that includes a concave groove 136a forming a fluid path between heater block 136 and heater block cover 138. No discloses a gasket 139 that “ is installed between the heater block cover 138 and the heater block 136 to prevent water leakage. In addition, by installing one surface of the heater block 136 in which the recess groove 136a is formed to cover the heater block cover 138, the water is covered through the recess groove 136a to cover the recess groove 136a. To form a movable flow path.” Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Oh device to include a gasket as taught by No between the bolted connection between upper case 64 and lower case 65 that form a fluid cavity with the motivation to prevent fluid leakage out of the heating chamber an into the inside of the device.
As shown in Figure 7A, Oh discloses a heater 66 positioned below a fluid path 65a to heat water into steam. Oh does not disclose an insulator located above the fluid path inside the heating chamber to block heat loss away from the fluid path. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add an insulator to the Oh device disposed between the fluid path and the upper cover with the motivation to block heat from being wasted by transferring heat away from the fluid. Additionally, an insulator would beneficial to reduce the temperature of the outer surface of the upper case which appears to be mounted in a plastic enclosure.
Claim 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh US 2008/0282490 (hereafter Oh) in view of Lee et al. KR 100766437 B1 (hereafter Lee et al.) and Yang et al. US 2019/0328193 (hereafter Yang et al.).
Regarding Claim 6, Oh teaches:
[Claim 6] The wet mop rag module of claim 1, further comprising:
a module battery (see discussion below) configured to supply power (through power line (not shown), Paragraph [0059]) to the heater (heater 66),
wherein the overheating shut-off device (overheat preventing device 83) cuts off a supply of power from the module battery to the heater when the temperature of the heating chamber is equal to or higher than the reference temperature (Paragraph [0059] – “The temperature control device 81, as shown in FIG. 8A, is electrically connected to a power line (not shown) connected to the heater unit 63, and serves to sense the temperature of the heater unit 63 and to interrupt the power being supplied to the heater unit 63 if the sensed temperature is higher than a predetermined temperature” and Paragraph [0060] – “The overheat preventing device 83, as shown in FIG. 8A, is electrically connected to the power line connected to the heater unit 63, and serves as a safety device that uses a bimetal and takes the place of the temperature control device 81 when the temperature control device 81 is out of order”).
Oh discloses a suction head in Figure 1 with rotating dusters 71 and 72 configured with a connection tube 10a to be connected a cleaner main body (not illustrated) in which a suction motor (not illustrated) and a dust-collecting unit (not illustrated) are installed. Oh discloses a power source to supply power heat water from a water tank into steam and supply power to rotate the dusters. Oh, however, does not disclose the type of power source.
The reference Lee et al. discloses a steam cleaner device that includes a heating element 1a powered by a battery 14 located in main body 1 as shown in Figure 2. Therefore, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Oh device to locate a battery within the suction head body to specifically power the heater as taught by Lee et al. with the motivation to provide a power source for creating steam.
The reference Yang et al. discloses a suction head 1 in Figure 6 with rotating dusters 40 and 41 configured with a connection tube 50 to be connected a cleaner main body (not illustrated) in which a suction motor (not illustrated) and a dust-collecting unit (not illustrated) are installed. Yang et al. discloses in Paragraph [0097] that the suction head 1 can have a battery to supply power, or can be operated by receiving power from the cleaner. That being said, Yang et al. appears to be referring to a battery powered cleaner since an AC powered cleaner would not benefit from a suction head mounted battery. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Oh device to employ a main battery to power the non-illustrated main cleaner, as taught by Yang et al, and also include a module battery, as taught by Lee et al., inside the suction head. with the motivation to provide additional power capacity specifically to the heater to create steam, since the amount of power to heat water to steam is significant and would otherwise greatly reduce the operational life of a main battery operating the cleaner device.
Regarding Claim 7, Oh teaches:
[Claim 7] A cleaner comprising:
a cleaner main body (a cleaner main body (not illustrated) in which a suction motor (not illustrated) and a dust-collecting unit (not illustrated) are installed, Paragraph [0041]) comprising a main battery (see discussion below); and
a wet mop rag module (suction brush of a vacuum cleaner) connected to the cleaner main body (through connection tube 10a) and configured to clean a floor surface by wiping away debris (with dusters 71 and 72),
wherein the wet mop rag module comprises:
a module housing (brush main body 10);
a water tank (water storage tank 50) coupled to the module housing and configured to store water therein (Figure 1);
at least one rotary cleaning unit (first and second duster rotating plates 41 and 42) disposed at a lower side of the module housing and configured such that a mop rag (dusters 71 and 72) is coupled to the rotary cleaning unit;
a drive motor (turbine fan 20) accommodated in the module housing and configured to provide a rotational force (through power transfer unit 30) to the rotary cleaning unit; and
a steam generator (steam generating unit 60) configured to heat water supplied from the water tank, and
wherein the steam generator comprises:
a heating chamber (chamber within upper case 64, Figure 7A) having a flow path (path through “U”-shaped guide groove 65a, spray hole 65b, and spray nozzle 65c, Figures 7A and 7B) in which moisture flows;
a heater (heater 66) disposed at a lower side of the heating chamber (below - shown in Figure 7A) and configured to supply heat to the heating chamber; and
an overheating shut-off device (overheat preventing device 83) disposed at one side of the heating chamber (Figures 8A and 8B) and configured to cut off a supply of power to the heater when a temperature of the heating chamber is equal to or higher than a predetermined reference temperature (Paragraph [0059] – “The temperature control device 81, as shown in FIG. 8A, is electrically connected to a power line (not shown) connected to the heater unit 63, and serves to sense the temperature of the heater unit 63 and to interrupt the power being supplied to the heater unit 63 if the sensed temperature is higher than a predetermined temperature” and Paragraph [0060] – “The overheat preventing device 83, as shown in FIG. 8A, is electrically connected to the power line connected to the heater unit 63, and serves as a safety device that uses a bimetal and takes the place of the temperature control device 81 when the temperature control device 81 is out of order”).
Oh discloses a suction head in Figure 1 with rotating dusters 71 and 72 configured with a connection tube 10a to be connected a cleaner main body (not illustrated) in which a suction motor (not illustrated) and a dust-collecting unit (not illustrated) are installed. Oh discloses a power source to supply power heat water from a water tank into steam and supply power to rotate the dusters. Oh, however, does not disclose the type of power source.
The reference Lee et al. discloses a steam cleaner device that includes a heating element 1a powered by a battery 14 located in main body 1 as shown in Figure 2. Therefore, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Oh device to locate a battery within the suction head body to specifically power the heater as taught by Lee et al. with the motivation to provide a power source for creating steam.
The reference Yang et al. discloses a suction head 1 in Figure 6 with rotating dusters 40 and 41 configured with a connection tube 50 to be connected a cleaner main body (not illustrated) in which a suction motor (not illustrated) and a dust-collecting unit (not illustrated) are installed. Yang et al. discloses in Paragraph [0097] that the suction head 1 can have a battery to supply power, or can be operated by receiving power from the cleaner. That being said, Yang et al. appears to be referring to a battery powered cleaner since an AC powered cleaner would not benefit from a suction head mounted battery. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Oh device to employ a main battery to power the non-illustrated main cleaner, as taught by Yang et al, and also include a module battery, as taught by Lee et al., inside the suction head. with the motivation to provide additional power capacity specifically to the heater to create steam, since the amount of power to heat water to steam is significant and would otherwise greatly reduce the operational life of a main battery operating the cleaner device.
Regarding Claim 8, Oh teaches:
[Claim 8] The cleaner of claim 7, wherein when the temperature of the heating chamber is equal to or higher than the reference temperature, the drive motor (turbine fan 20) receives power, and a supply of power to the heater is cut off (in all cases the temperature control device 81, overheat preventing device 83, and temperature fuse 85 specifically disclose that they are configured to interrupt the power being supplied to the heater unit 63 if the sensed temperature is higher than a predetermined temperature. There is no mention that any of these devices interrupt power to the turbine fan 20)(see discussion below).
As previously presented in Claim 7, Oh discloses a suction head in Figure 1 with rotating dusters 71 and 72 configured with a connection tube 10a to be connected a cleaner main body (not illustrated) in which a suction motor (not illustrated) and a dust-collecting unit (not illustrated) are installed. As presented, it would have been obvious that the main body of the cleaner is battery powered and could possibly be configured to drive different suction heads such as a typical motor driven vacuum brush head. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Oh device to provide power to the turbine fan 20 to rotate the dusters 70 and 71 using power to from the main device and provide user controlled signal to switch the power of the battery inside the suction head to provide power to the heater through the module battery as desired by a user.
That being said, it would have been obvious to modify the Oh device to have the overheating shut-off device to only shut off the power to the heater without shutting off power provided by the main cleaner to the rotating dusters.
Regarding Claim 9, Oh teaches:
[Claim 9] The cleaner of claim 7, further comprising:
a module battery (see discussion in Claim 7) configured to supply power (through power line (not shown), Paragraph [0059]) to the steam generator (steam generating unit 60),
wherein the main battery supplies power to the drive motor, and the module battery supplies power to the heater (see discussion below).
As previously presented in Claim 7, Oh discloses a suction head in Figure 1 with rotating dusters 71 and 72 configured with a connection tube 10a to be connected a cleaner main body (not illustrated) in which a suction motor (not illustrated) and a dust-collecting unit (not illustrated) are installed. As presented, it would have been obvious that the main body of the cleaner is battery powered and could possibly be configured to drive different suction heads such as a typical motor driven vacuum brush head. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Oh device to provide power to the turbine fan 20 to rotate the dusters 70 and 71 using power to from the main device and provide user controlled signal to switch the power of the battery inside the suction head, as taught by Lee et al. to provide power to the heater through the module battery as desired by a user.
Regarding Claim 10, Oh teaches:
[Claim 10] The cleaner of claim 9, wherein the overheating shut-off device (overheat preventing device 83) cuts off a supply of power from the module battery to the heater when the temperature of the heating chamber is equal to or higher than the reference temperature (Paragraph [0059] – “The temperature control device 81, as shown in FIG. 8A, is electrically connected to a power line (not shown) connected to the heater unit 63, and serves to sense the temperature of the heater unit 63 and to interrupt the power being supplied to the heater unit 63 if the sensed temperature is higher than a predetermined temperature” and Paragraph [0060] – “The overheat preventing device 83, as shown in FIG. 8A, is electrically connected to the power line connected to the heater unit 63, and serves as a safety device that uses a bimetal and takes the place of the temperature control device 81 when the temperature control device 81 is out of order”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in form PTO-892 Notice of References Cited. Specifically, the prior art references include pertinent disclosures of steam cleaners.
/MARC CARLSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723