DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This is the initial Office action based on the 18293362 application filed 01/30/24
The Amendment filed 01/30/24 has been entered and fully considered
Claim(s) 9,10,11,12,13,14,15,16 are pending, the new claim(s) 9 ,10,11,12,13,14,15,16 is supported by the originally filed disclosure
Double Patenting
Claim 9 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 10,11,21 of copending Application No. 18293364 (US 2024/0337211; herein known as FIORINI364; reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because a person of ordinary skill in the art would conclude that the automotive electric liquid pump module as recited in the co-pending application claims clearly envisages the automotive electric liquid pump module of the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9, 10, 11, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over DE 38 13 654 A1 (herein known as SIEGFRIED).
With regard to claim 9, SIEGFRIED sufficiently teaches an electric liquid pump module capable of pumping a coolant liquid in a coolant circuit of an automobile, the electric liquid pump module comprising, especially at abstract, claim 9, para 1,2; Apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art in terms of structure, not function. The manner of operating an apparatus does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim (see MPEP § 2114 & § 2173.05(g))
a first electrical flow pump unit comprising a flow pump "impeller" (wheel) which is directly driven by an electric motor, especially at claim 9, para 1,2,4
a passive deaerator unit 1 comprising a liquid inlet 2, especially at abstract, claim 9, para 1,2, fig 1
a liquid outlet 8, especially at claim 9, para 1,2,4,11 fig 1
a deaerator housing 10 which defines a first "bulge" (widened deceleration chamber), especially at claim 9, para 1,2,4,11 fig 1
a deaeration opening 4 which is arranged at a vertical top of the first widened deceleration chamber, especially at claim 9, para 1,2,4,11 fig 1
wherein, the deaerator housing is mechanically directly and stiffly connected to the electrical flow pump unit, especially at wherein, the deaerator housing is mechanically directly and stiffly connected to the electrical flow pump unit (considering that room 6 has the impeller), especially at claim 9, para 1,2,4,11 fig 1;
in an alternative, assuming SIEGFRIED does not specifically state wherein, the deaerator housing is mechanically directly and stiffly connected to the electrical flow pump unit
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (or at the time the invention was made; if pre-AIA ) to combine the deaerator housing and electrical flow pump unit of SIEGFRIED such that the deaerator housing is mechanically directly and stiffly connected to the electrical flow pump unit of SIEGFRIED since it has been held that making separate parts of a device integral involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 (V-B))
With regard to claim 10, SIEGFRIED sufficiently teaches
wherein the passive deaerator unit is arranged fluidically upstream of the first electrical flow pump unit (as indicated by intake 2, prior to impeller room 6), especially at claim 9, para 1,2,4,11 fig 1
With regard to claim 11, SIEGFRIED sufficiently teaches
wherein, the deaerator housing comprises a deaerator housing main body 10, especially at claim 9, para 1,2,4,11,13 fig 1
the deaerator housing main body defines an axial liquid pump inlet opening 7 which is axially adjacent to the "impeller" (flow pump wheel), especially at claim 9, para 1,2,4,11,13 fig 1
With regard to claim 12, SIEGFRIED sufficiently teaches
wherein, the flow pump wheel is an impeller wheel, and, especially at claim 9, para 1,2,4,11,13 fig 1
the deaerator housing main body defines an outlet ring channel 6 which radially surrounds the flow pump wheel, especially at claim 9, para 1,2,4,11,13 fig 1
Claim(s) 13, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 38 13 654 A1 (herein known as SIEGFRIED)
With regard to claim 13, SIEGFRIED does not specifically teach a second electrical flow pump unit which is fluidically separated from the first electrical flow pump unit,
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (or at the time the invention was made; if pre-AIA ) to duplicate the first electrical flow pump unit of SIEGFRIED with a second electrical flow pump unit which is fluidically separated from the first electrical flow pump unit, of SIEGFRIED since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. (MPEP 2144.04 VI-B)
SIEGFRIED does not specifically teach wherein, the passive deaerator unit further comprises a second widened deceleration chamber which is substantially separated from the first widened deceleration chamber
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (or at the time the invention was made; if pre-AIA ) to duplicate the first widened deceleration chamber of SIEGFRIED such that the passive deaerator unit further comprises a second widened deceleration chamber which is substantially separated from the first widened deceleration chamber, and of SIEGFRIED since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. (MPEP 2144.04 VI-B)
SIEGFRIED does not specifically teach the deaerator housing is further mechanically directly and stiffly connected to the second electrical flow pump unit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (or at the time the invention was made; if pre-AIA ) to combine the deaerator housing and the second electrical flow pump unit of SIEGFRIED such that the deaerator housing is further mechanically directly and stiffly connected to the second electrical flow pump unit. of SIEGFRIED since it has been held that making separate parts of a device integral involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 (V-B))
With regard to claim 16, SIEGFRIED of does not specifically teach wherein the deaeration opening is provided for both the first widened deceleration chamber and for the second widened deceleration chamber
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (or at the time the invention was made; if pre-AIA ) to omit a second deaeration opening of SIEGFRIED such that the deaeration opening is provided for both the first widened deceleration chamber and for the second widened deceleration chamber of SIEGFRIED since it has been held that an omission of an element and its function is obvious if the function of the element is not desired (MPEP 2144.04 PART II-A); and since it has been held that making separate parts of a device integral involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 (V-B))
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 14,15 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims; and As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
/ANTHONY SHUMATE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776