DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02/12/2024, 02/14/202 and 05/19/20256 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim31 recites “the re-enabling of the first communication configuration”. There is lack of antecedent basis for “the re-enabling of the first communication configuration.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 13, 20, 21, 24-29 and 32-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Elkotby et al. ( U.S. PGPUB 2023/0057994), Elkotby hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 1, Elkotby teaches an energy harvesting wireless device configured to communicate with a network node, the energy harvesting wireless device comprising:
processing circuitry configured to: (fig. 1B and paragraphs 0035 to 0036 - FIG. 28 is a flow chart describing a WTRU’s decision sequence for optimized beamformed energy harvesting when the WTRU is capable of simultaneous reception over two or more beams. [0036] FIG. 29 is a flow chart describing a WTRU’s decision sequence for optimized beamformed energy harvesting when the WTRU is capable of time-switched-based beamformed reception.)
determine a first energy level of the energy harvesting wireless device meets a first threshold of a set of multi-level energy thresholds; and ([0312] on the condition that the joint quality metric falls below a first threshold Qs < T.sub.1, utilizing (3406) P-1 procedure to measure L1-RSRP, determining the optimal information/energy transfer approach, and generating a measurement report; + (3407) transmitting a measurement report including per transmit beam joint performance metrics and corresponding optimization information; [0313] on the condition that the joint quality metric falls between a first and second thresholds T.sub.1 < Q.sub.s < TZ, transmitting (3404) a control message requesting dedicated EH signaling configuration over the serving transmit beam including information/measurements such as current received signal strength for the transmit/receive beam pair, current battery state/level, a considered power splitting/time switching ratio, and/or current experienced average energy harvested E.sub.T , and configuring information and energy transfer circuitry; [0314] otherwise, determining (3405) detectable beams and selecting EH beam pair with best EH performance indicator as described earlier. [0315] updating (3408) transmit/receive beam pair(s) for information and energy transfer, and configuring information transceiver and energy harvesting device.)
send to the network node a reporting indicating one of an enablement and disablement of a first communication configuration for a data flow of an application service based on the determination that the first threshold is met. ([0312] on the condition that the joint quality metric falls below a first threshold Qs < T.sub.1, utilizing (3406) P-1 procedure to measure L1-RSRP, determining the optimal information/energy transfer approach, and generating a measurement report; + (3407) transmitting a measurement report including per transmit beam joint performance metrics and corresponding optimization information; [0313] on the condition that the joint quality metric falls between a first and second thresholds T.sub.1 < Q.sub.s < TZ, transmitting (3404) a control message requesting dedicated EH signaling configuration over the serving transmit beam including information/measurements such as current received signal strength for the transmit/receive beam pair, current battery state/level, a considered power splitting/time switching ratio, and/or current experienced average energy harvested E.sub.T , and configuring information and energy transfer circuitry; [0314] otherwise, determining (3405) detectable beams and selecting EH beam pair with best EH performance indicator as described earlier. [0315] updating (3408) transmit/receive beam pair(s) for information and energy transfer, and configuring information transceiver and energy harvesting device.)
Regarding Claim 13, Elkotby teaches a network node configured to communicate with an energy harvesting wireless device, the network node comprising: processing circuitry configured to: (fig. 1A and 1B and paragraphs 0035 to 0036 - FIG. 28 is a flow chart describing a WTRU’s decision sequence for optimized beamformed energy harvesting when the WTRU is capable of simultaneous reception over two or more beams. [0036] FIG. 29 is a flow chart describing a WTRU’s decision sequence for optimized beamformed energy harvesting when the WTRU is capable of time-switched-based beamformed reception.)
receive a reporting indicating at least a first threshold of a set of multi-level energy thresholds is met at the energy harvesting wireless device; ([0312] on the condition that the joint quality metric falls below a first threshold Qs < T.sub.1, utilizing (3406) P-1 procedure to measure L1-RSRP, determining the optimal information/energy transfer approach, and generating a measurement report; + (3407) transmitting a measurement report including per transmit beam joint performance metrics and corresponding optimization information; [0313] on the condition that the joint quality metric falls between a first and second thresholds T.sub.1 < Q.sub.s < TZ, transmitting (3404) a control message requesting dedicated EH signaling configuration over the serving transmit beam including information/measurements such as current received signal strength for the transmit/receive beam pair, current battery state/level, a considered power splitting/time switching ratio, and/or current experienced average energy harvested E.sub.T , and configuring information and energy transfer circuitry; [0314] otherwise, determining (3405) detectable beams and selecting EH beam pair with best EH performance indicator as described earlier. [0315] updating (3408) transmit/receive beam pair(s) for information and energy transfer, and configuring information transceiver and energy harvesting device.)
determine one of an enablement and disablement of a first communication configuration for a data flow of an application service at the energy harvesting wireless device based on the first threshold is met; and ([0254] In another embodiment, a WTRU initiates a (sub-)beam (re-)selection procedure periodically or detects that the FOM of its serving beam is above/below a certain threshold. The WTRU, in a first step, receives reference signals from the nearest (sub-)beams, where each (sub-)beam transmits a unique reference signal. In a second step, the WTRU based on the received reference signals, determines the strength of the received signal from each (sub-)beam. ... In a fifth step, the WTRU, according to its capability, will determine the best way to perform the calculation of the FOM such as the examples in the previous section“(Sub-)beam (re-)selection”. In a sixth step, the WTRU, according to the criteria used in the FOM calculations, will select a new (sub-)beam or choose to retain the current serving one. If a new (sub-)beam is selected, the WTRU, in a seventh step, will retrieve the semi-static default EH signal configuration of the selected (sub-)beam from the mapping information, ... )
perform communication with the energy harvesting wireless device based on the determination that the first threshold is met. ([0318] According to an alternative embodiment, a WTRU receives WTRU/UE-specific reference signals that can be utilized for joint RSRP and EH PI measurement/evaluation. The reference signal may be beam specific and have a specific waveform that is dependent on the default EH signaling configuration and that can result in an exact EH PI evaluation and a representative RSRP measurement, a representative EH PI evaluation and exact RSRP measurement, a representative RSRP and EH PI measurement/evaluation, or an exact RSRP and EH PI measurement/evaluation.)
Regarding Claim 20, Elkotby teaches a method implemented by an energy harvesting wireless device that is configured to communicate with a network node, the method comprising: (fig. 34 step 3407)
determining a first energy level of the energy harvesting wireless device meets a first threshold of a set of multi-level energy thresholds; and ([0312] on the condition that the joint quality metric falls below a first threshold Qs < T.sub.1, utilizing (3406) P-1 procedure to measure L1-RSRP, determining the optimal information/energy transfer approach, and generating a measurement report; + (3407) transmitting a measurement report including per transmit beam joint performance metrics and corresponding optimization information; [0313] on the condition that the joint quality metric falls between a first and second thresholds T.sub.1 < Q.sub.s < TZ, transmitting (3404) a control message requesting dedicated EH signaling configuration over the serving transmit beam including information/measurements such as current received signal strength for the transmit/receive beam pair, current battery state/level, a considered power splitting/time switching ratio, and/or current experienced average energy harvested E.sub.T , and configuring information and energy transfer circuitry; [0314] otherwise, determining (3405) detectable beams and selecting EH beam pair with best EH performance indicator as described earlier. [0315] updating (3408) transmit/receive beam pair(s) for information and energy transfer, and configuring information transceiver and energy harvesting device.)
sending to the network node a reporting indicating one of an enablement and disablement of a first communication configuration for a data flow of an application service based on the determination that the first threshold is met (fig. 34 steps 3401, 3404, 3405 and 3408).
Regarding Claim 21, Elkotby teaches claim 20.
Elkotby further teaches wherein the first communication configuration corresponds to: a quality of service, QoS, flow state associated with whether data is allowed to be accepted by a data buffer; or (Alternative)
one of a quality of service, QoS, flow and data radio bearer, DRB; or (Alternative)
data transmission from the energy harvesting wireless device ([0274] In an exemplary embodiment describing the fourth technical realization above and depicted in the simplified flow chart in FIG. 31, a WTRU: [0275] initiating (3100) RRC Connected state, reporting capability, and receiving beam measurement & reporting configuration and mappings to default EH signaling configuration information; [0276] receiving/determining (3101) information/energy (default and/or dedicated) transfer scheduling information while optimizing/maintaining Transmit/Receive beam pair(s) using P-2/P-3 beam sweeping procedures or receiving beam indication after P-1 beam sweeping procedure; [0277] utilizing (3102), based on information/energy scheduled resources configuration, one or combination of the following approaches to optimize information/energy transfer: [0278] a. Power splitting, Frequency domain filtering, or time switching between information and energy transfer using same or different receive beam(s) [0279] configuring (3103) receiving circuitry and decoding/harvesting data/energy; [0280] determining (3104) experienced energy transfer E.sub.T for a configured information transfer quality and evaluating a condition on E.sub.T and current battery state/level B.sub.L; ... [0283] if 2nd condition fails (3108-No), utilizing (3109) P-1 procedure to measure L1-RSRP, evaluate actual EH PI for each beam pair based on current information transfer scheduling information and defined optimization approach, and select an optimal EH receive beam; Otherwise (3108-Yes), continue utilizing the same beam pair(s) for information and energy transfer. [0284] determining (3110) that the new & current EH Transmit/Receive beam pair is the same and reporting (3111) L1-RSRP measurements, corresponding EH)
Regarding Claim 24, Elkotby teaches claim 20.
Elkotby further teaches wherein the first threshold is one of: a quality of service, QoS, flow state enabling threshold; (Alternative)
QoS flow state disabling threshold; (Alternative)
QoS flow enabling threshold; (Alternative)
QoS flow disabling threshold; (Alternative)
transmission enabling threshold; ( [0277] utilizing (3102), based on information/energy scheduled resources configuration, one or combination of the following approaches to optimize information/energy transfer: [0278] a. Power splitting, Frequency domain filtering, or time switching between information and energy transfer using same or different receive beam(s) [0279] configuring (3103) receiving circuitry and decoding/harvesting data/energy; [0280] determining (3104) experienced energy transfer E.sub.T for a configured information transfer quality and evaluating a condition on E.sub.T and current battery state/level B.sub.L; [0281] if condition(s) fail(s) (3105-Otherwise), evaluating (3107) condition on current & neighboring transmit beams’ EH signaling configuration at current received signal strength RSSI.sub.c and battery level B.sub.L, e.g. max{EH PI (beam.sub.i)} < EH PI(beam.sub.c) - f(RSSI.sub.c) ∀i ≠ c and B.sub.th,.sub.min < B.sub.L < B.sub.th, .sub.max for defined function f (.) and thresholds B.sub.th, .sub.min and B.sub.th, .sub.max; [0282] on the other hand (3105 - arrow going left), if experienced energy transfer E.sub.T is determined above a specified threshold and current battery level B.sub.L is determined below another threshold, transmitting (3106) a control message over PUCCH requesting dedicated EH signaling configuration ...) and
transmission disabling threshold. (Alternative)
Regarding Claim 25, Elkotby teaches claim 20. Elkotby further teaches further comprising: determining a second energy level of the energy harvesting wireless device meets a second threshold of the set of multi-level energy thresholds, the second threshold being different from the first threshold; and ([0267] The WTRU then, in a step 2806, utilizes default semi-static/dynamic EH signaling for energy transfer while receiving information on the same or different receive beams. In a step 2807, the WTRU determines the average energy transfer efficiency under a desired/specified information transfer quality over a predetermined/configured period of time. Next (2808), the WTRU evaluates a condition on the determined average energy transfer E.sub.T, e.g. E.sub.T > T.sub.e for predetermined/configured threshold T.sub.e. If the condition is satisfied (2808-Yes), the WTRU repeats steps 2804) through 2807. Otherwise (2808-No), the WTRU in a step 2809 evaluates a condition on current and neighboring transmit beams’ EH signaling configuration at current received signal strength and battery state/level, e.g. max{EH PI (beam.sub.i)} < EH PI(beam.sub.c) -f (RSSIc, B.sub.L) ∀i ≠ c where EH PI(.) is an expected EH performance indication based only on EH signaling configuration, and f (.) is a monotonically decreasing or increasing function of current beam’s received signal strength (RSSI.sub.c) at a fixed value of current battery state/level B.sub.L and monotonically increasing or decreasing function of current battery state/level B.sub.L at a fixed value of RSSI.sub.c. If the previous condition is satisfied (2810-Yes), the WTRU repeats steps 2804 through 2809. Otherwise (2810-No), the WTRU in a step 2811 utilizes the P1 beam sweeping procedure to measure L1-RSRP for each transmit/receive beam pair, evaluate actual (not expected) EH PI/FOM for each beam pair, and select a new receive beam for optimal energy harvesting, which might be different than the current receive beam used for EH and the one used for information transfer.)
sending to the network node a reporting indicating one of an enablement and disablement of a second communication configuration for the data flow of the application service based on the determination that the second threshold is met. ([0280] determining (3104) experienced energy transfer E.sub.T for a configured information transfer quality and evaluating a condition on E.sub.T and current battery state/level B.sub.L; [0281] if condition(s) fail(s) (3105-Otherwise), evaluating (3107) condition on current & neighboring transmit beams’ EH signaling configuration at current received signal strength RSSI.sub.c and battery level B.sub.L, e.g. max{EH PI (beam.sub.i)} < EH PI(beam.sub.c) - f(RSSI.sub.c) ∀i ≠ c and B.sub.th,.sub.min < B.sub.L < B.sub.th, .sub.max for defined function f (.) and thresholds B.sub.th, .sub.min and B.sub.th, .sub.max; [0282] on the other hand (3105 - arrow going left), if experienced energy transfer E.sub.T is determined above a specified threshold and current battery level B.sub.L is determined below another threshold, transmitting (3106) a control message over PUCCH requesting dedicated EH signaling configuration including additional information such as current received signal strength for the transmit/receive beam pair, current battery state/level, a considered power splitting ratio, and/or current experienced average energy harvested. [0283] if 2nd condition fails (3108-No), utilizing (3109) P-1 procedure to measure L1-RSRP, evaluate actual EH PI for each beam pair based on current information transfer scheduling information and defined optimization approach, and select an optimal EH receive beam; Otherwise (3108-Yes), continue utilizing the same beam pair(s) for information and energy transfer. [0284] determining (3110) that the new & current EH Transmit/Receive beam pair is the same and reporting (3111) L1-RSRP measurements, corresponding EH PIs, and optimized parameters (e.g. power splitting or time switching ratio) for each beam pair.)
Regarding Claim 26, Elkotby teaches claim 20. Elkotby further teaches further comprising: determining a first energy level of the energy harvesting wireless device meets a warning threshold of the set of multi-level energy thresholds; and ([0260] … Next 2708, the WTRU evaluates a condition on the determined average energy transfer E.sub.T and current battery state/level B.sub.L, e.g. E.sub.T > T.sub.e and battery level B.sub.L > B.sub.th for predetermined/configured thresholds T.sub.e and B.sub.th. If the condition is satisfied (2709-Yes), the WTRU repeats steps 2704 through 2708. Otherwise (2709-No), the WTRU in a step 2710 transmits a control message over PUCCH requesting dedicated EH signaling configuration over the serving transmit beam where the control message may include additional information/measurements such as current received signal strength for the transmit/receive beam pair, current battery state/level, a considered power splitting ratio, and/or current experienced average energy harvested.)
sending to the network node a reporting indicating one of an enablement and disablement of an energy warning indication based on the determination that the warning threshold is met. ([0260] … Next 2708, the WTRU evaluates a condition on the determined average energy transfer E.sub.T and current battery state/level B.sub.L, e.g. E.sub.T > T.sub.e and battery level B.sub.L > B.sub.th for predetermined/configured thresholds T.sub.e and B.sub.th. If the condition is satisfied (2709-Yes), the WTRU repeats steps 2704 through 2708. Otherwise (2709-No), the WTRU in a step 2710 transmits a control message over PUCCH requesting dedicated EH signaling configuration over the serving transmit beam where the control message may include additional information/measurements such as current received signal strength for the transmit/receive beam pair, current battery state/level, a considered power splitting ratio, and/or current experienced average energy harvested.)
Regarding Claim 27, Elkotby teaches claim 20.
Elkotby further teaches wherein the energy harvesting wireless device is preconfigured with the set of multi-level energy thresholds ([0260] ... Next 2708, the WTRU evaluates a condition on the determined average energy transfer E.sub.T and current battery state/level B.sub.L, e.g. E.sub.T > T.sub.e and battery level B.sub.L > B.sub.th for predetermined/configured thresholds T.sub.e and B.sub.th. If the condition is satisfied (2709-Yes), the WTRU repeats steps 2704 through 2708. Otherwise (2709-No), the WTRU in a step 2710 transmits a control message over PUCCH requesting dedicated EH signaling configuration over the serving transmit beam where the control message may include additional information/measurements such as current received signal strength for the transmit/receive beam pair, current battery state/level, a considered power splitting ratio, and/or current experienced average energy harvested.)
Regarding Claim 28, Elkotby teaches claim 20.
Elkotby further teaches further comprising: receiving one of dynamic and semi-static signaling indicating the set of multi-level energy thresholds; and ([0237] … In 234, the WTRU utilizes the received beam detection configuration to determine detectable beam IDs where detectability might be determined based on beam-specific received reference signal strength greater than a threshold. Then, in 237, it utilizes the received (available) mapping information to retrieve EH signaling configuration, e.g. the semi-static default EH signaling configuration, the support of dynamic EH signaling, and the dynamic EH signaling configuration.. …)
monitoring the energy level of the energy harvesting wireless device using the set of multi-level energy thresholds. ([0260] … In a step 2707, the WTRU determines the average energy transfer efficiency under a desired/specified information transfer quality over a predetermined/configured period of time. Next 2708, the WTRU evaluates a condition on the determined average energy transfer E.sub.T and current battery state/level B.sub.L, e.g. E.sub.T > T.sub.e and battery level B.sub.L > B.sub.th for predetermined/configured thresholds T.sub.e and B.sub.th. If the condition is satisfied (2709-Yes), the WTRU repeats steps 2704 through 2708. Otherwise (2709-No), the WTRU in a step 2710 transmits a control message over PUCCH requesting dedicated EH signaling configuration over the serving transmit beam where the control message may include additional information/measurements such as current received signal strength for the transmit/receive beam pair, current battery state/level, a considered power splitting ratio, and/or current experienced average energy harvested.)
Regarding Claim 29, Elkotby teaches claim 20.
Elkotby further teaches wherein the reporting indicates at least one of the set of multi-level energy thresholds are met; ([0312] on the condition that the joint quality metric falls below a first threshold Qs < T.sub.1, utilizing (3406) P-1 procedure to measure L1-RSRP, determining the optimal information/energy transfer approach, and generating a measurement report; + (3407) transmitting a measurement report including per transmit beam joint performance metrics and corresponding optimization information; )
a preference regarding at least one threshold of the multi-level energy thresholds; and (Alternative)
at least one of energy harvesting capability, harvesting pattern, and harvesting power per unit of time of the energy harvesting wireless device. (Alternative)
Regarding Claim 32, Elkotby teaches a method implemented by a network node that is configured to communicate with an energy harvesting wireless device, the method comprising: ([0227] In another embodiment, a WTRU equipped with an EH device/ZE receiver utilizes its main transceiver to receive beam detection configuration as well as (beam identifier) to (semi-static default EH signal configuration) mapping over the Uu air interface where the beam identifier might be unique within a single cell or across multiple cells. The semi-static default EH signal configuration may be optimized by the BS to provide efficient energy harvesting for the served WTRUs based on the historical traffic and scheduling statistics of transmitted information signals per beam. ... [0324] ... The WTRU detects, in a second step, a condition that requires measurements for optimizing information and/or energy transfer experience. The WTRU then, in a third step, requests initiation/enablement of on-demand reference signal transmission and receives network confirmation. In a fourth step, the WTRU utilizes the configured reference signal(s) for individually measuring L1-RSRP and evaluating/determining EH PI metric or evaluating a joint service quality metric Q.sub.s. The WTRU might also consider the enabled reference signal(s) for energy harvesting.)
receiving a reporting indicating at least a first threshold of a set of multi-level energy thresholds is met at the energy harvesting wireless device; ([0312] on the condition that the joint quality metric falls below a first threshold Qs < T.sub.1, utilizing (3406) P-1 procedure to measure L1-RSRP, determining the optimal information/energy transfer approach, and generating a measurement report; + (3407) transmitting a measurement report including per transmit beam joint performance metrics and corresponding optimization information; [0313] on the condition that the joint quality metric falls between a first and second thresholds T.sub.1 < Q.sub.s < TZ, transmitting (3404) a control message requesting dedicated EH signaling configuration over the serving transmit beam including information/measurements such as current received signal strength for the transmit/receive beam pair, current battery state/level, a considered power splitting/time switching ratio, and/or current experienced average energy harvested E.sub.T , and configuring information and energy transfer circuitry; [0314] otherwise, determining (3405) detectable beams and selecting EH beam pair with best EH performance indicator as described earlier. [0315] updating (3408) transmit/receive beam pair(s) for information and energy transfer, and configuring information transceiver and energy harvesting device.)
determining one of an enablement and disablement of a first communication configuration for a data flow of an application service at the energy harvesting wireless device based on the first threshold is met; and ([0254] In another embodiment, a WTRU initiates a (sub-)beam (re-)selection procedure periodically or detects that the FOM of its serving beam is above/below a certain threshold. The WTRU, in a first step, receives reference signals from the nearest (sub-)beams, where each (sub-)beam transmits a unique reference signal. In a second step, the WTRU based on the received reference signals, determines the strength of the received signal from each (sub-)beam. ... In a fifth step, the WTRU, according to its capability, will determine the best way to perform the calculation of the FOM such as the examples in the previous section“(Sub-)beam (re-)selection”. In a sixth step, the WTRU, according to the criteria used in the FOM calculations, will select a new (sub-)beam or choose to retain the current serving one. If a new (sub-)beam is selected, the WTRU, in a seventh step, will retrieve the semi-static default EH signal configuration of the selected (sub-)beam from the mapping information, ... )
performing communication with the energy harvesting wireless device based on the determination that the first threshold is met. (fig. 34 steps 3401, 3404, 3405 and 3408)
Regarding Claim 33, Elkotby teaches claim 32.
Elkotby further teaches wherein the first communication configuration corresponds to a quality of service, QoS, flow state associated with whether data is allowed to be accepted by a data buffer of the energy harvesting wireless device. ([0178] The BS/eNB/gNB serving the EH device should utilize the served devices’ capability information to figure out the optimal resource efficient allocation of sub-bands to deliver the EH signal to the served devices. The BS needs then to signal the selected configuration parameters to the EH devices. ...)
Regarding Claim 34, Elkotby teaches claim 32.
Elkotby further teaches wherein the first communication configuration corresponds to one of a quality of service, QoS, flow and data radio bearer, DRB ([0307] In another exemplary embodiment depicted as a flow chart in FIG. 34, a WTRU capable of time-switched-based beamformed reception and dedicated EH signaling configuration request: [0308] receiving (3400) beam-specific EH signal configuration, measurement configuration & reporting criteria; [0309] determining (3401) performance optimization information and utilizing transmit/receive beam pair(s) for simultaneous information and energy transfer; [0310] determining (3402) a joint information and energy transfer quality metric based on received signal strength measurements, current battery status, desired/specified information and EH performance quality, EH performance indicator metric, and performance optimization information [0311] evaluating (3403) a condition on the joint information and energy transfer quality metric Qs to determine the appropriate action [0312] on the condition that the joint quality metric falls below a first threshold Qs < T.sub.1, utilizing (3406) P-1 procedure to measure L1-RSRP, determining the optimal information/energy transfer approach, and generating a measurement report; + (3407) transmitting a measurement report including per transmit beam joint performance metrics and corresponding optimization information; [0313] on the condition that the joint quality metric falls between a first and second thresholds T.sub.1 < Q.sub.s < TZ, transmitting (3404) a control message requesting dedicated EH signaling configuration over the serving transmit beam including information/measurements such as current received signal strength for the transmit/receive beam pair, current battery state/level, a considered power splitting/time switching ratio, and/or current experienced average energy harvested E.sub.T , and configuring information and energy transfer circuitry; [0314] otherwise, determining (3405) detectable beams and selecting EH beam pair with best EH performance indicator as described earlier. [0315] updating (3408) transmit/receive beam pair(s) for information and energy transfer, and configuring information) transceiver and energy harvesting device.)
Regarding Claim 35, Elkotby teaches claim 32.
Elkotby further teaches wherein the first communication configuration corresponds to data transmission from the energy harvesting wireless device. ([0274] In an exemplary embodiment describing the fourth technical realization above and depicted in the simplified flow chart in FIG. 31, a WTRU: [0275] initiating (3100) RRC Connected state, reporting capability, and receiving beam measurement & reporting configuration and mappings to default EH signaling configuration information; [0276] receiving/determining (3101) information/energy (default and/or dedicated) transfer scheduling information while optimizing/maintaining Transmit/Receive beam pair(s) using P-2/P-3 beam sweeping procedures or receiving beam indication after P-1 beam sweeping procedure; [0277] utilizing (3102), based on information/energy scheduled resources configuration, one or combination of the following approaches to optimize information/energy transfer: [0278] a. Power splitting, Frequency domain filtering, or time switching between information and energy transfer using same or different receive beam(s) [0279] configuring (3103) receiving circuitry and decoding/harvesting data/energy; [0280] determining (3104) experienced energy transfer E.sub.T for a configured information transfer quality and evaluating a condition on E.sub.T and current battery state/level B.sub.L; ... [0283] if 2nd condition fails (3108-No), utilizing (3109) P-1 procedure to measure L1-RSRP, evaluate actual EH PI for each beam pair based on current information transfer scheduling information and defined optimization approach, and select an optimal EH receive beam; Otherwise (3108-Yes), continue utilizing the same beam pair(s) for information and energy transfer. [0284] determining (3110) that the new & current EH Transmit/Receive beam pair is the same and reporting (3111) L1-RSRP measurements, corresponding EH)
Regarding Claim 36, Elkotby teaches claim 32. Elkotby further teacheswherein the first threshold is one of: a quality of service, QoS, flow state enabling threshold; (Alternative)
QoS flow state disabling threshold; (Alternative)
QoS flow enabling threshold; (Alternative)
QoS flow disabling threshold; (Alternative)
transmission enabling threshold; ([0253] ... The WTRU, in a first step, utilizes the mapping information associated with beam (i) to determine that current serving beam supports dynamic EH enhancement. The WTRU, in a second step, decodes/detects the control signal transmitted over the default EH signaling channel and determine the configuration of the optimized EH signal, e.g. a sub-band hopping pattern and a hop duration. In a third step, the WTRU configures its EH circuitry and initiates energy harvesting utilizing the optimized EH signal configuration. The WTRU then, in a fourth step, keep tracking the harvested energy level till it falls below a pre-configured or periodically signaled threshold. In a fifth step, the WTRU utilizes the common signaling channel in EH sub-band (1) to detect the beam identifier of a new serving beam (0). In a final step, the WTRU utilizes the mapping information to determine that the new serving beam only supports default EH signaling and determine the semi-static configuration of that default EH signal, configures its EH circuitry, and initiates energy harvesting) and
transmission disabling threshold. (Alternative)
Regarding Claim 37, Elkotby teaches claim 32.
Elkotby further teaches further comprising: receiving a reporting indicating a second threshold of the set of multi-level energy thresholds is met, the second threshold being different from the first threshold; ([0280] determining (3104) experienced energy transfer E.sub.T for a configured information transfer quality and evaluating a condition on E.sub.T and current battery state/level B.sub.L; [0281] if condition(s) fail(s) (3105-Otherwise), evaluating (3107) condition on current & neighboring transmit beams’ EH signaling configuration at current received signal strength RSSI.sub.c and battery level B.sub.L, e.g. max{EH PI (beam.sub.i)} < EH PI(beam.sub.c) - f(RSSI.sub.c) ∀i ≠ c and B.sub.th,.sub.min < B.sub.L < B.sub.th, .sub.max for defined function f (.) and thresholds B.sub.th, .sub.min and B.sub.th, .sub.max; [0282] on the other hand (3105 - arrow going left), if experienced energy transfer E.sub.T is determined above a specified threshold and current battery level B.sub.L is determined below another threshold, transmitting (3106) a control message over PUCCH requesting dedicated EH signaling configuration including additional information such as current received signal strength for the transmit/receive beam pair, current battery state/level, a considered power splitting ratio, and/or current experienced average energy harvested. [0283] if 2nd condition fails (3108-No), utilizing (3109) P-1 procedure to measure L1-RSRP, evaluate actual EH PI for each beam pair based on current information transfer scheduling information and defined optimization approach, and select an optimal EH receive beam; Otherwise (3108-Yes), continue utilizing the same beam pair(s) for information and energy transfer. [0284] determining (3110) that the new & current EH Transmit/Receive beam pair is the same and reporting (3111) L1-RSRP measurements, corresponding EH PIs, and optimized parameters (e.g. power splitting or time switching ratio) for each beam pair.)
determining one of enablement and disablement of a second communication configuration for the data flow of the application service at the energy harvesting wireless device based on the second threshold being met; and ([0280] determining (3104) experienced energy transfer E.sub.T for a configured information transfer quality and evaluating a condition on E.sub.T and current battery state/level B.sub.L; [0281] if condition(s) fail(s) (3105-Otherwise), evaluating (3107) condition on current & neighboring transmit beams’ EH signaling configuration at current received signal strength RSSI.sub.c and battery level B.sub.L, e.g. max{EH PI (beam.sub.i)} < EH PI(beam.sub.c) - f(RSSI.sub.c) ∀i ≠ c and B.sub.th,.sub.min < B.sub.L < B.sub.th, .sub.max for defined function f (.) and thresholds B.sub.th, .sub.min and B.sub.th, .sub.max; [0282] on the other hand (3105 - arrow going left), if experienced energy transfer E.sub.T is determined above a specified threshold and current battery level B.sub.L is determined below another threshold, transmitting (3106) a control message over PUCCH requesting dedicated EH signaling configuration including additional information such as current received signal strength for the transmit/receive beam pair, current battery state/level, a considered power splitting ratio, and/or current experienced average energy harvested. [0283] if 2nd condition fails (3108-No), utilizing (3109) P-1 procedure to measure L1-RSRP, evaluate actual EH PI for each beam pair based on current information transfer scheduling information and defined optimization approach, and select an optimal EH receive beam; Otherwise (3108-Yes), continue utilizing the same beam pair(s) for information and energy transfer. [0284] determining (3110) that the new & current EH Transmit/Receive beam pair is the same and reporting (3111) L1-RSRP measurements, corresponding EH PIs, and optimized parameters (e.g. power splitting or time switching ratio) for each beam pair.)
the communication with the energy harvesting wireless device being based on the determination that the second threshold is met. ([0280] determining (3104) experienced energy transfer E.sub.T for a configured information transfer quality and evaluating a condition on E.sub.T and current battery state/level B.sub.L; [0281] if condition(s) fail(s) (3105-Otherwise), evaluating (3107) condition on current & neighboring transmit beams’ EH signaling configuration at current received signal strength RSSI.sub.c and battery level B.sub.L, e.g. max{EH PI (beam.sub.i)} < EH PI(beam.sub.c) - f(RSSI.sub.c) ∀i ≠ c and B.sub.th,.sub.min < B.sub.L < B.sub.th, .sub.max for defined function f (.) and thresholds B.sub.th, .sub.min and B.sub.th, .sub.max; [0282] on the other hand (3105 - arrow going left), if experienced energy transfer E.sub.T is determined above a specified threshold and current battery level B.sub.L is determined below another threshold, transmitting (3106) a control message over PUCCH requesting dedicated EH signaling configuration including additional information such as current received signal strength for the transmit/receive beam pair, current battery state/level, a considered power splitting ratio, and/or current experienced average energy harvested. [0283] if 2nd condition fails (3108-No), utilizing (3109) P-1 procedure to measure L1-RSRP, evaluate actual EH PI for each beam pair based on current information transfer scheduling information and defined optimization approach, and select an optimal EH receive beam; Otherwise (3108-Yes), continue utilizing the same beam pair(s) for information and energy transfer. [0284] determining (3110) that the new & current EH Transmit/Receive beam pair is the same and reporting (3111) L1-RSRP measurements, corresponding EH PIs, and optimized parameters (e.g. power splitting or time switching ratio) for each beam pair.)
Regarding Claim 38, Elkotby teaches claim 32.
Elkotby further teaches further comprising: causing transmission of one of dynamic and semi-static signaling indicating the set of multi-level energy thresholds for implementation by the energy harvesting wireless device. ([0237] … In 234, the WTRU utilizes the received beam detection configuration to determine detectable beam IDs where detectability might be determined based on beam-specific received reference signal strength greater than a threshold. Then, in 237, it utilizes the received (available) mapping information to retrieve EH signaling configuration, e.g. the semi-static default EH signaling configuration, the support of dynamic EH signaling, and the dynamic EH signaling configuration.. …)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 30 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elkotby et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2023/0057994), Elkotby hereinafter, in view of Dao et al. (U.S. PGPub 2018/0199240), Dao hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 30, Elkotby teaches claim 20.
Yet, Elkotby does not expressly teach further comprising suspending a N3 tunnel based on the first communication configuration having been disabled for a predefined period of time.
However, in the analogous art, Dao explicitly discloses further comprising suspending a N3 tunnel based on the first communication configuration having been disabled for a predefined period of time (Release of RRC/DRB resources and transition of a PDU session to Session-IDLE disclosed in paragraphs [0155]–[0157], [0241]–[0244]. Session-IDLE/deactivated state in which the UP connection is not established, no data radio bearer is active, and the UPF lacks RAN N3 connectioninformation. Discloses a Session Inactive Timer. If no uplink or downlink data is detected for the timer duration, the AN may initiate a session-connection state transition disclosed in paragraph [0138]. It further states that the Session-Activity-Timeout monitors UL/DL activity, and if no packets occur longer than the timeout, the AN informs the SMF, which can release the session or transition it from Session-ACTIVE to Session-IDLE. [0143]–[0144]. See also [0212]–[0214] (Session-Monitor-Timeout).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Elkotby’s Method of network-assisted beamformed energy harvesting signaling and corresponding apparatus to include Dao‘s N3 tunnel suspension and resumption to achieve power saving on the terminal device.
Regarding Claim 31, Elkotby in view of Dao teaches claim 30.
Dao further teaches further comprising resuming the N3 tunnel based on the re-enabling of the first communication configuration (Resuming the N3 tunnel - reestablishing/updating N3 tunnel information when a session transitions from Session-IDLE to Session-ACTIVE. For example, when a session becomes active, the SMF requests the UPF to add the AN IP address for the NG3/N3 tunnel information disclosed in paragraph [0190].Resuming after an inactive/deactivated state - RC resume and Session-ACTIVE transition procedures. The SMF sends the UPF a Session-ACTIVE transition request; the UPF prepares resources and updates the session state disclosed in paragraphs [0201]–[0207]. It also describes resuming a suspended DRB after a UL grant request in paragraph [0219]. Restoring N3 tunnel information -- a late path-switch procedure triggered by UL data, where N3 tunnel information is unavailable, the RAN sends a path-switch request; the SMF sends an N4 Session Modification Request to the UPF with RAN N3 address and tunnel-endpoint information; and the UPF updates the tunnel information. [0341]–[0344]. A corresponding DL-triggered procedure is disclosed at [0345]–[0348].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Elkotby’s Method of network-assisted beamformed energy harvesting signaling and corresponding apparatus to include Dao‘s N3 tunnel suspension and resumption to achieve power saving on the terminal device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This includes:
U.S. PGPUB 2024/0266872 which describes channel reporting for energy harvesting at a device
U.S. PGPUB 2021/0020012 which describes wireless identification tag with varying identity
/A.L.O./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472