DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application No. 18/293,487 filed on January 30, 2024.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, corresponding to claims 1-3, 5, 6, 13, 15, and 22-26, in the reply filed on June 15, 2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) form PTO-1449. The IDS has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 22, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lin et al. (US 2024/0222589).
(Re Claim 1) Lin teaches a light emitting element, comprising (see Figs. 1, 2, 4, 6a-14 and supporting text):
a base substrate (100);
a plurality of light emitting structures (200) located on the base substrate, a filling layer (210) located among the plurality of light emitting structures;
a connecting electrode layer (300) located at a side, away from the base substrate, of the filling layer;
an insulating layer (600) located at a side, away from the filling layer, of the connecting electrode layer; and
a plurality of pads (500) located at a side, away from the connecting electrode layer, of the insulating layer, wherein each of the plurality of light emitting structures comprises a first pole and a second pole (Figs. 6A, unlabeled, on top of 200, each LED has two “poles”);
the connecting electrode layer comprises a plurality of connecting electrodes (301, 302, 303, 3000), and each of the plurality of connecting electrodes is connected to the first pole or the second pole of at least one light emitting structure (e.g. Figs. 4 and 8); and
wherein the light emitting element further comprises a plurality of holes located in the insulating layer, and the plurality of pads are connected to the plurality of connecting electrodes through the plurality of holes (see Figs. 2, 11, 14).
(Re Claim 2) wherein a number of the plurality of light emitting structures is N, and a value range of a number of the plurality of pads is from N+1 to 2N (there are 4 pads for 3 LEDs in Fig. 4).
(Re Claim 3) wherein a height of each of the plurality of pads relative to the base substrate is greater than a height of the insulating layer relative to the base substrate (see Figs. 1 and 2).
(Re Claim 5) wherein an orthographic projection of the connecting electrode on the base substrate is larger than an orthographic projection of the pad connected to the connecting electrode on the base substrate (see Fig. 4).
(Re Claim 6) wherein the plurality of light emitting structures comprise a first light emitting structure, a second light emitting structure, and a third light emitting structure (201-203); the first light emitting structure is configured to emit light of a first color; the second light emitting structure is configured to emit light of a second color; and the third light emitting structure is configured to emit light of a third color (¶65: RGB), wherein the plurality of connecting electrodes comprise a first connecting electrode, a second connecting electrode, a third connecting electrode, a fourth connecting electrode, a fifth connecting electrode, and a sixth connecting electrode (each of the three LEDs have two “poles”, each connected to a 300); the plurality of pads comprise a first pad, a second pad, a third pad, a fourth pad, a fifth pad, and a sixth pad (see Fig. 9: six pads 500 of the 64 pads shown); the first connecting electrode and the second connecting electrode connect the first pole and the second pole of the first light emitting structure to the first pad and the second pad, respectively (the two portions of 300 connecting to each “pole” on 201, each portion 300 eventually connecting to a pad 500); the third connecting electrode and the fourth connecting electrode connect the first pole and the second pole of the second light emitting structure to the third pad and the fourth pad, respectively (the two portions of 300 connecting to each “pole” on 202, each portion 300 eventually connecting to a pad 500); and the fifth connecting electrode and the sixth connecting electrode connect the first pole and the second pole of the third light emitting structure to the fifth pad and the sixth pad, respectively (same for 203, see Fig. 9A, all of the pads are connected to each other through the uncut connecting electrodes 300, six pads may be arbitrarily chosen along with corresponding portions of 300, any two poles may be connected through other pads and connections electrodes).
(Re Claim 22) wherein the first color is green color; the second color is red color; and the third color is blue color (¶65: 201-203 are RGB).
(Re Claim 23) Lin teaches a display substrate, comprising: a driving substrate (1110/1111); and a plurality of light emitting elements (10) arranged in an array on the driving substrate, wherein the plurality of light emitting elements comprise the light emitting element according to claim 1 (see Fig. 17 and ¶¶121-122).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 13, 19, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. as applied above, and further in view of Okada et al. (US 2014/0353697), Qin et al. (US 2022/0384690), and Lee et al. (US 2023/0207743).
(Re Claim 6, alternative rejection) wherein the plurality of light emitting structures comprise a first light emitting structure, a second light emitting structure, and a third light emitting structure (201-203); the first light emitting structure is configured to emit light of a first color; the second light emitting structure is configured to emit light of a second color; and the third light emitting structure is configured to emit light of a third color (¶65: RGB), wherein the plurality of connecting electrodes comprise a first connecting electrode, a second connecting electrode, a third connecting electrode, a fourth connecting electrode, a fifth connecting electrode, and a sixth connecting electrode (each of the three LEDs have two “poles”, each connected to a 300).
Lin is silent regarding the plurality of pads comprise a first pad, a second pad, a third pad, a fourth pad, a fifth pad, and a sixth pad; the first connecting electrode and the second connecting electrode connect the first pole and the second pole of the first light emitting structure to the first pad and the second pad, respectively; the third connecting electrode and the fourth connecting electrode connect the first pole and the second pole of the second light emitting structure to the third pad and the fourth pad, respectively; and the fifth connecting electrode and the sixth connecting electrode connect the first pole and the second pole of the third light emitting structure to the fifth pad and the sixth pad, respectively, since Lin teaches the a four pad configuration wherein a common pad is used. A PHOSITA desiring to improve upon Lin’s device, would be motivated to look to related art to teach alternative configurations which may offer advantages. Related art from Okada teaches the LED modules comprising RGB LEDs may use the four pad/common electrode configuration (e.g. see Figs. 6, 7, 9, 10) or the six pad configuration (e.g. see Figs. 2, 4, 5, 16). Related art from Qin also similarly teaches the LED modules may use the four pad/common electrode configuration (e.g. see Fig. 3) or the six pad configuration (e.g. see Fig. 6). Related art from Lee also similarly teaches the LED modules may use the four pad/common electrode configuration (e.g. see Fig. 1B) or the six pad configuration (e.g. see Fig. 2).
A 6-pad RGB LED configuration separates the anode and cathode for each individual red, green, and blue LED die, eliminating the shared current constraint of a common pin. This independent wiring allows for driving each color at different forward voltages and precise custom currents. Consequently, it prevents color-mixing artifacts and gives you absolute thermal and electrical control over every color channel. Also, if the common electrode in the 4-pad configuration breaks, none of the LEDs will turn on, while in the 6-pad configuration, if one of the wires breaks, two of the three LEDs will most likely still turn on. In view of the prior art, a PHOSITA would be motivated to modify Lin’s pad and connection electrode layout to use six pads and connection electrodes, and in view of Lin’s Fig. 9, the most obvious way to accomplish this would be to use a symmetric layout wherein the LEDs in the center each have a connection electrode extending from each end/pole and each end of each connection electrode is connected to a pad, e.g. similar to Qin’s Fig. 6 or Okada’s Fig. 16, for the advantages noted above. Modified Lin having the plurality of pads comprise a first pad, a second pad, a third pad, a fourth pad, a fifth pad, and a sixth pad; the first connecting electrode and the second connecting electrode connect the first pole and the second pole of the first light emitting structure to the first pad and the second pad, respectively; the third connecting electrode and the fourth connecting electrode connect the first pole and the second pole of the second light emitting structure to the third pad and the fourth pad, respectively; and the fifth connecting electrode and the sixth connecting electrode connect the first pole and the second pole of the third light emitting structure to the fifth pad and the sixth pad, respectively.
(Re Claim 13) Lin, as modified in view of Okada, Lee, and Qin, teaches wherein the first pad, the third pad, and the fifth pad are arranged along a first direction; the second pad, the fourth pad, and the sixth pad are arranged along the first direction; the first pad and the second pad are spaced apart oppositely in a second direction intersecting with the first direction; the third pad and the fourth pad are spaced apart oppositely in the second direction; the fifth pad and the sixth pad are spaced apart oppositely in the second direction; the first light emitting structure is located between the first pad and the second pad; the second light emitting structure is located between the third pad and the fourth pad; and the third light emitting structure is located between the fifth pad and the sixth pad.
(Re Claim 15) Lin, as modified in view of Okada, Lee, and Qin, teaches wherein the first pad is connected to the first pole of the first light emitting structure; the third pad is connected to the first pole of the second light emitting structure; the fifth pad is connected to the first pole of the third light emitting structure; the second pad is connected to the second pole of the first light emitting structure; the fourth pad is connected to the second pole of the second light emitting structure; and the sixth pad is connected to the second pole of the third light emitting structure.
(Re Claim 22) wherein the first color is green color; the second color is red color; and the third color is blue color (¶65: 201-203 are RGB).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. as applied above, and further in view of Lin et al. (US 2022/0093578, Lin’578) and Steckel et al. (US 2018/0190625).
(Re Claim 24) further comprising: a plurality of micro driving chips disposed corresponding to the plurality of light emitting elements, wherein each of the plurality of micro driving chips is configured to drive the corresponding light emitting element to emit light for displaying.
Lin is silent regarding a plurality of micro driving chips disposed corresponding to the plurality of light emitting elements, wherein each of the plurality of micro driving chips is configured to drive the corresponding light emitting element to emit light for displaying. A PHOSITA would understand Lin’s display in Fig. 17 requires additional components to function. Since Lin does not provide further details, a PHOSITA would be motivated to look to related art to teach details of additional display part required for a functional display. Related art from Lin’578 teaches driver chips (Figs. 1 and 4: 121, 410) are required to control the operation of the LEDs in each pixel (¶¶38-63). Related art from Steckel also teaches the use of driver chips (Fig. 7: 111) for controlling the LEDs 101. In view of Lin’578 and Steckel, a PHOSITA would recognize driver chips for driving the LEDs in the display are conventionally used in LED displays to drive the LEDs. A PHOSITA would find it obvious to incorporate driver chips in Lin’s display to drive the LEDs in each pixel.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. Lin’578 et al., and Steckel et al. as applied above, and further in view of Bower et al. (US 2018/0033853).
(Re Claim 25) wherein the driving substrate comprises a ground line; and an orthographic projection of the light emitting element on the driving substrate overlaps with the ground line.
Lin, Lin’578, and Steckel are silent regarding the location of the ground line with respect to the light emitting element. Related art from Bower teaches the light emitting element 30 is over the ground line 16G (Fig. 5-6 and ¶¶86-91). In view of Bower, arranging the light emitting element at locations where the wiring of the driving substrate (wiring including signal, scan, power, and ground lines) intersects, and thereby overlaps the ground line (along with the other wiring lines) is an obvious and efficient layout. Placing the elements elsewhere would require additional real estate for wiring. In view of Bower, a PHOSITA would find it obvious to arrange the Lin’s light emitting elements at locations overlapping the wiring intersections.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. Lin’578 et al., Steckel et al., and Bower et al. as applied above, and further in view of Yue et al. (WO 2022/246602, of record, citations from US 2024/0047363 as an English equivalent), Charisoulis et al. (US 10,395,594), and Iguchi et al. (US 2018/0254226).
(Re Claim 26) Lin lacks details of wherein the driving substrate comprises a first signal line, a second signal line, a working voltage line, and a data line; each of the plurality of micro driving chips comprises a data signal terminal, a working voltage terminal, a ground terminal, a first output terminal, a second output terminal, and a third output terminal; the data signal terminal is connected to the data line through a first connection line; the working voltage terminal is connected to the working voltage line through a second connection line; the ground terminal is connected to the ground line through a third connection line; the first output terminal is connected to the second pole of the first light emitting structure; the second output terminal is connected to the second pole of the second light emitting structure; the third output terminal is connected to the second pole of the third light emitting structure; the first signal line is connected to the first pole of the first light emitting structure through a fourth connection line; and the second signal line is connected to the first pole of the third light emitting structure through a sixth connection line.
A PHOSITA desiring to make and use Lin’s display device would be motivated to look to related art to teach conventional wiring and connections. Related art from Yue discloses the wiring on the substrate includes a first signal line, a second signal line, a working voltage line, and a data line and teaches the corresponding connections to the LEDs (see Figs. 3-6 and ¶¶ 75-99). Noting Yue’s wiring and connections in Figs. 3 and 6 are identical to Fig. 11 of the instant application, Yue’s driving chip, not shown, connects to the terminals 33 in Fig. 3 (¶75). Related art from Charisoulis showing the driver chip 110 includes terminals for a data signal terminal, a working voltage terminal, a ground terminal, a first output terminal, a second output terminal, and a third output terminal (Fig. 1). Related art from Iguchi also similarly shows the driving chip includes a data signal terminal, a working voltage terminal, a ground terminal, a first output terminal, a second output terminal, and a third output terminal (Figs. 2 and 8). A PHOSITA would find it obvious to configure the wiring and connections between the substrate, light emitting structure, and the micro driver of Lin, Lin’578, and Steckel according to Yue, Charisoulis, and Iguchi to provide a functional display.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional cited art teaches related LED modules, displays, driver chips, and corresponding wiring and pads.
/ERIK T. K. PETERSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898