DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite and failing to point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention, because the claim language “over a period which could range up to 12 months or more” (emphasis added) renders it impossible to determine the range of time claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Karpinski, et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2013/0255150 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Karpinski discloses a method for the antifungal treatment of a turf, comprising a step consisting in applying blue light on said turf (paragraph 0058).
Regarding claim 2, Karpinski discloses wherein the wavelength of the blue light is comprised between 380 and 500 nm (abstract).
Regarding claim 3, Karpinski discloses wherein the blue light is applied so that the luminous flux per unit area of the turf is comprised between 20 and 50 W/cm^2 (paragraph 0048).
Regarding claim 4, Karpinski discloses wherein the blue light is applied for a time period comprised between 0.3 seconds and 1 hour 29 minutes (paragraph 0019).
Regarding claim 5, Karpinski discloses wherein the blue light is applied during the day and/or during the night (it is always either day or night, therefore the claim does not further limit its parent claim).
Regarding claim 6, Karpinski discloses wherein the blue light is applied at a frequency of 1 to 60 application(s) per month, over one or several days, consecutive or not, over a period which could range up to 12 months or more (paragraph 0058).
Regarding claim 7, Karpinski discloses wherein the blue light is applied by means of light source(s) selected from the group constituted by LEDs and OLEDs (paragraph 0057).
Regarding claim 8, Karpinski discloses wherein the light source(s) are arranged on a support tool, automated or not (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, the particular species of the fungi does not limit the claimed method, as it neither adds a step nor does it modify an existing step.
Regarding claim 10, the particular type of turf that the method is performed upon does not limit the claimed method, as it neither adds a step nor does it modify an existing step.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL MASKELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2878 7 March 2026