DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 35-54 are pending in this examination.
2.1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
2.2. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Response to Arguments
3.1. Applicant’s arguments filed 11/13/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
3.2. Applicant’s Response applicant argues, in substance that “… the cited references fail to disclose a wireless communication device "transmitting [a message] as part of a home network parameter update procedure to update the home network with one or more parameters… transmitting, as part of a home network parameter update procedure to update the home network with one or more parameters, a message that includes the one or more parameters…” (remark, pages 9-12).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s arguments; the examiner submits that the combination of Prasad and Tsai discloses above features. For example, Prasad discloses in paragraph 28 UE 20 sends a Subscription update request message to the AMF 22 (S1). The Subscription update request message is a request message for requesting a change or an update of the subscriber information of the UE 20. Subscription update request message includes a UE ID, UE Capabilities, New Service Capabilities, and Old NSSAI. The UE ID is information for identifying the UE 20. The UE ID may be, for example, an IMSI (International Mobile Subscriber Identity), a TMSI (Temporary Mobile Subscriber Identity), a GUTI (Globally Unique Temporary Identifier), or a Temp ID. The UE Capabilities may be, for example, information indicating information about an algorithm used for encryption and integrity assurance performed in the UE 20. Further, the UE Capabilities may include information indicating whether the UE 20 is a single radio supporting one radio frequency band or a dual radio supporting two radio frequency bands. Further, the UE Capabilities may include information indicating whether the UE is a low-cost device, a fixed terminal, or a terminal under a battery constraint. The information indicating the information about the algorithm used for the encryption and the integrity assurance performed in the UE 20 may be referred to as, for example, UE Security Capabilities (also see 0031).
3.3. Applicant argues, “… proposed combination of Prasad and Tsai is legally and technically improper because it lacks a sufficient rationale or reasonable expectation of success for a person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA)… Absent a specific teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine, the prima facie case is legally insufficient…” (remark, pages 11-12).
The Examiner disagrees; Sufficient motivation has been provided that one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to combine the teachings of Prasad and Tsai. Bothe arts are an analogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of applicant’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the applicant was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Prasad with the teaching of Tsai by including the feature of key material, in order for Prasad’s system for wireless networks, providing a safe and fast re-connection protocol. A key management system and method for wireless networks pre-calculates pairwise master keys (generating keying material parameters for the pairwise master keys) for subsequent switched ASNs before actual switching occurs. The keying material parameter is, but is not limited to, a pseudo-random number. Thus, when the mobile station switches to one of the ASNs, required pairwise master keys can be calculated fast according to the pre-calculated keying material parameters and public and private keys for subsequent switches can be accordingly calculated (Prasad, [0019]). By this rationale, the Examiner has provided sufficient motivation for the combination of Prasad and Tsai.
Therefore, in view of the above reasons, the rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4.1. The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action.
4.2. Claims 35-37, 39, 42-44, 47, and 52-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP Patent Application No. EP3576461 to Prasad et al (“Prasad”), in view of US Patent Application No. 20090110196 to Tsai et al (“Tsai”).
As per claims 35 and 44, Prasad discloses a method performed by a wireless communication device/network equipment, the method comprising: transmitting, as part of a home network parameter update procedure to update the home network with one or more parameters (... UE 20 sends a Subscription update request message to the AMF 22 (S1). The Subscription update request message ... includes a UE ID, UE Capabilities, New Service Capabilities, and Old NSSAI. The UE ID is information for identifying the UE 20. The UE ID may be, for example, an IMSI (International Mobile Subscriber Identity), a TMSI (Temporary Mobile Subscriber Identity), a GUTI (Globally Unique Temporary Identifier), or a Temp ID ...", [0028])
a message that includes the one or more parameters and that protects the one or more parameters (figure 2, S2; " ... the AMF 22 verifies integrity of the request message (S2)...", [0031] ).
Furthermore, Prasad discloses a UE triggered NSSAI update procedure ( D1, figure 2). At least the new capabilities being conveyed in the subscription update request can be construed as a parameter to be updated by all means. The successful performance of a 5G AKA procedure is a prerequisite for performing the method shown in figure 2. Prasad does not explicitly disclose however in the same field of endeavor, Tsai discloses generating key material during an authentication and key agreement procedure with a home network of the wireless communication device; protected message using the generated key material ([0029]-[0030] The mobile station 100 mutually implements authentication to the AAA server 400 therebetween using the EAP-TLS protocol and Remote Authentication Dial-in User Service (RADIUS), as represented by operation (1). The first ASN 200 transmits a neighboring ASN list (NL) and certificates of each ASN to the mobile station 100, as represented by the operation (2). The mobile station 100 generates a keying material parameter X.sub.i required for the next switch operation, as represented by the operation (3). Before the keying material parameter X.sub.i is relayed to the second ASN 300, the mobile station 100 adds a digital signature thereof to the keying material parameter X.sub.i using a private key thereof (PRI_MS) (as represented by the operation (4)), encrypts the keying material parameter X.sub.i using a public key of the second ASN 300 (PUK_ASN.sub.2), and adds the ID of the second ASN 300 to the keying material
parameter X.sub.i, as represented by the operation (5). The first ASN 200 transmit the keying material parameter X.sub.i encrypted by the mobile station 100 to
the second ASN 200 based on the ID of the second ASN 200, as represented by the operation (6), also see [0022]-[0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Prasad with the teaching of Tsai by including the feature of key material, in order for Prasad’s system for wireless networks, providing a safe and fast re-connection protocol. A key management system and method for wireless networks pre-calculates pairwise master keys (generating keying material parameters for the pairwise master keys) for subsequent switched ASNs before actual switching occurs. The keying material parameter is, but is not limited to, a pseudo-random number. Thus, when the mobile station switches to one of the ASNs, required pairwise master keys can be calculated fast according to the pre-calculated keying material parameters and public and private keys for subsequent switches can be accordingly calculated (Prasad, [0019]).
As per claim 36, the combination of Prasad and Tsai discloses the method of claim 35, wherein the home network parameter update procedure is triggered by the wireless communication device (Prasad, [0031] Figure 2, subscription update request).
As per claim 37, the combination of Prasad and Tsai discloses the method of claim 35, further comprising triggering the home network parameter update procedure responsive to: detecting, by the wireless communication device, a change in at least one of the one or more parameters at the wireless communication device; or detecting, by the wireless communication device, a change in an association between a permanent equipment identifier and a subscription permanent identifier associated with the wireless communication device (Prasad, [0013], [0028], also see [0009]-[0012]).
As per claim 39, the combination of Prasad and Tsai discloses the method of claim 35, wherein the one or more parameters include: one or more privacy settings for location services; and/or one or more parameters that govern which location services clients are or are not allowed to access location information for the wireless communication device; and/or one or more capabilities of the wireless communication device; and/or one or more parameters that indicate user consent for a service (Prasad, [0028]-[0031]).
As per claim 42, the combination of Prasad and Tsai discloses the method of claim 35, wherein the message further includes integrity protection information that integrity protects the one or more parameters, and wherein the method further comprises generating the integrity protection information from the one or more parameters and from the key material (Prasad, figure 2, S2; " ... the AMF 22 verifies integrity of the request message (S2)...", [0031] ).
As per claim 43, the combination of Prasad, and Tsai discloses the method of claim 35, further comprising: responsive to transmission of the message, receiving, as part of the home network parameter update procedure, a message acknowledging receipt by the home network of the one or more parameters, wherein the received message also includes one or more parameters to be updated at the wireless communication device, wherein the one or more parameters included in the received message are protected using the generated key material; decrypting, and/or verifying an integrity of, and/or verifying a freshness of, the one or more parameters in the received message using the generated key material; and updating the one or more parameters included in the received message at the wireless communication device responsive to successfully verifying the integrity of the one or more parameters included in the received message (figure 2, S2; " ... the AMF 22 verifies integrity of the request message (S2)...", [0031] ). Furthermore, Prasad discloses a UE triggered NSSAI update procedure ( D1, figure 2). At least the new capabilities being conveyed in the subscription update request can be construed as a parameter to be updated by all means. The successful performance of a 5G AKA procedure is a prerequisite for performing the method shown in figure 2, also see [0013], [0028], also see [0009]-[0012], [0031]-[0035], [0057], [0057]).
Claim 47, is rejected for similar reasons as stated above, and claim 39.
As per claim 52, the combination of Prasad and Tsai discloses the method of claim 44, further comprising, responsive to receiving the message, transmitting, towards the wireless communication device as part of the home network parameter update procedure, a message acknowledging receipt by the home network of the one or more parameters, wherein the transmitted message also includes one or more parameters to be updated at the wireless communication device, wherein the one or more parameters included in the transmitted message are protected using the generated key material (Prasad, [0031]-[0035], [0057], also see [0057], [0013], [0028], also see [0009]-[0012],).
Claims 53, is rejected for similar reasons as stated above, and claim 35.
Claims 54, is rejected for similar reasons as stated above, and claim 35.
4.3. Claims 38, 40, 45-46 and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prasad and Tsai as applied to claim above, and in view of US Patent Application No. 20190373441 to Ryu et al (“Ryu”).
As per claim 38, the combination of Prasad and Tsai discloses the invention as described above. Prasad and Tsai do not explicitly disclose however, In the same field of endeavor, Ryu discloses the method of claim 35, wherein the home network parameter update procedure is independent from, and/or is performable separately from, a user equipment (UE) parameter update (UPU) procedure for updating the wireless communication device with a set of parameters stored at the home network (Ryu, [0161] The procedure is initiated by an UE in either ECM-IDLE state or ECM-CONNECTED state. The decision to perform S-GW change during the tracking area update procedure is made by the MME independently from the triggers above., also see [0590], [0478]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Prasad with the teaching of Tsai/ Ryu by including the feature of an update, in order for Prasad’s system for updating UE configuration which will help system to accessing different network. A network can flexibly change a UE configuration at a time/situation at/in which the network desires (Ryu, [0023]).
As per claim 40, the combination of Prasad, Tsai and Ryu discloses the method of claim 35, wherein the key material is generated during authentication and registration of the wireless communication device with the home network, and wherein the home network parameter update procedure is performed after registration of the wireless communication device with the home network (Ryu, [0009] Preferably, it may be determined that the UE needs to perform the registration procedure in order to update the configuration of the UE when negotiation between the UE and the network is required to change the configuration of the UE, also see [0478]). The motivation regarding the obviousness of claim 39 is also applied to claim 40.
As per claim 45, the combination of Prasad, Tsai and Ryu discloses the method of claim 44, wherein the received message is the first message in the home network parameter update procedure (Ryu, [0464]-[00472]). The motivation regarding the obviousness of claim 39 is also applied to claim 45.
Claim 46, is rejected for similar reasons as stated above, and claim 38.
Claim 48, is rejected for similar reasons as stated above, and claim 40.
4.4. Claims 41 and 49-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prasad and Tsai as applied to claim above, and in view of US Patent Application No. 20230262453 to Baskaran et al (“Baskaran”).
As per claim 41, the combination of Prasad and Tsai discloses the invention as described above. Prasad and Tsai do not explicitly disclose however, In the same field of endeavor, Baskaran discloses the method of claim 35, wherein the message is a non-access stratum (NAS) message, wherein the message is transmitted to a network node implementing an access and mobility function (AMF), and wherein the key material used to protect the one or more parameters includes a key Kausf ([0363], also see [0235[, [0242[-[0244]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Prasad with the teaching of Tsai/Baskaran by including the feature of a key Kausf, in order for Prasad’s system to generate further keys that could be bootstrapped to secure different applications. the AUSF stores the root session key KAUSF and further keys are derived from this key. The UE and network derive further keys from the KAUSF. The radio connection between the UE and the base station is secured using the derived access stratum (AS) keys and the connection between the UE and core network is secured using the derived non access stratum (NAS) keys. The availability of the key KAUSF at the AUSF and the UE, as a result of the successful primary authentication has become an advantage since this key could be used to generate further keys that could be bootstrapped to secure different applications
Claim 49, is rejected for similar reasons as stated above, and claim 41.
As per claim 50, the combination of Prasad and Tsai and Baskaran discloses the method of claim 44, wherein: the network node implements an access and mobility function (AMF), wherein the method further comprises forwarding the message towards other network equipment, wherein the other network equipment implements a user data management (UDM) function; or the network equipment implements a user data management (UDM) function (Baskaran, [0065],[ 0111], [0199]).
Claim 50, is rejected for similar reasons as stated above, and claim 41.
As per claim 51, the combination of Prasad and Tsai and Baskaran discloses the method of claim 50, further comprising decrypting, and/or verifying an integrity of, the one or more parameters in the message, wherein the message includes integrity protection information that integrity protects the one or more parameters, wherein verifying the integrity of the one or more parameters in the message comprises: requesting an authentication server for expected integrity protection information and comparing the integrity protection information included in the message with the expected integrity protection information received from the authentication server; or transmitting the received message to an authentication server and receiving, from the authentication server, an indication of whether or not the integrity of the one or more parameters in the message is successfully verified (figure 2, S2; " ... the AMF 22 verifies integrity of the request message (S2)...", [0031] ). Furthermore, Prasad discloses a UE triggered NSSAI update procedure ( D1, figure 2). At least the new capabilities being conveyed in the subscription update request can be construed as a parameter to be updated by all means. The successful performance of a 5G AKA procedure is a prerequisite for performing the method shown in figure 2).
5.1. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
5.2. a). US Patent Application No. 20130324125 to Bachmann et al discloses a method for a handover of a mobile node from a non-3GPP to a 3GPP network, and of a mobile node, which is located in a non-3GPP/3GPP network. The handover is improved by discovering an appropriate MME and registering the mobile node at the discovered mobility management entity (MME), in advance. This includes to first determine the location of the mobile node in the non-3GPP network, so as to be able to detect an MME in the vicinity of the mobile node's location. The 3GPP contexts are then transmitted to the new MME before the handover is performed. Moreover, the Serving-Gateway in the 3GPP network is changed before performing a handover, thereby accelerating the handover. When a handover gets likely, the mobile node's location is determined and a new Serving-Gateway is selected. The data path is changed to go via the new Serving-Gateway
Conclusion
6. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
HARUNUR . RASHID
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2497
/HARUNUR RASHID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2497