DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 08 January 2026 have been entered. Claims 1, 6-8, 10, 13-16, and 18-25 remain pending in the application (claims 2-5, 9, 11-12, and 17 have been cancelled). The Applicant’s amendments to the claims fail to overcome the combination of references previously set forth in the Non-Final Rejection dated 08 October 2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
It can be clearly seen that Tucker teaches different pre-established ranges for different regions within a can (col. 4, lines 11-29, As can BC2 moves along the conveyor belt 110 in the direction of arrow 130, the bottom of the can is sensed by a photo detector 150a which delivers a signal over line 152a to processor P1. Processor P1 then activates camera C1 to capture an image of the moat 50 and chime 70. As can BC2 travels along conveyor belt 110, the bottom of the can will then activate photocell 150b delivering a signal over 152b to processor P2 which causes camera C2 to capture an image of the lower sidewall 40a and the bottom dome 60. Finally, as can BC2 travels along conveyor 110, the neck 30 of the can activates photocell 150c causing a signal to be delivered over line 152c into processor P3. Processor P3 then causes camera C3 to capture an image of the upper sidewall 40b, the neck 30, and the flange 20. Should can BC2 have an unacceptable defect or flaw as determined by processor P1, P2, or P3; an appropriate reject signal is delivered over bus 160 to the reject circuit 140). For the reasons set forth above, the claims remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103, Tucker in view of Brumbaugh and Sakane.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-8, 10, 13, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tucker (U.S. Patent No. 4924107 A) in view of Brumbaugh et al. (USPGPub 20150035970 A1) and Sakane (USPGPub 20220390383 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tucker teaches a method of determining a condition of an interior of a can (10), comprising: illuminating an interior of one can (BC) of a plurality of metal cans (10) on a production line (110) using a first light source (410) (see figure 2; claim 16, wherein said object is a metal can; and col. 5, lines 23-25, Illuminating optics 410 such as a fiber optic ring in camera C1 produces light 420 which illuminates the inside of the can 10); capturing a first image of the interior of the one can (BC) while the interior is illuminated by the first light source (410) (col. 5, lines 37-39, a ring-shaped field view as shown by arrows 460 provide the video image to be captured by camera C1 and analyzed by processor P1); illuminating the interior of the one can (BC) on the production line (110) using a second light source (820) (see figures 2 and 8, second camera C2 having a second light source 820; and col. 6, lines 24-26, The optic ring 820 delivers light 830 into the inside of the can 10 thereby illuminating the sidewalls 40a and the bottom 60); capturing a second image of the interior of the one can (BC) while the interior is illuminated by the second light source (820) (see figure 8; and col. 6, lines 30-32, the area to be inspected is captured by camera C2 and is delivered into processor P2); and determining whether the interior of the one can (BC) has a uniform lacquer coating and one or both of surface defects and contaminates by comparing first and second optical characteristics from the first and second images of the interior of the can to a set of pre-established ranges for the first and second optical characteristics under light illumination from both the first and second light sources (col. 4, lines 64-68 and col. 5, line 1, Rejection of a can occurs when the operator sets a predetermined tolerance in each of the processors P1, P2, and P3. The processors will then count the defects or imperfections in the area of inspection that exceeds the preset tolerances, the processor will cause the can to be rejected; and col. 6, lines 18-21, The types of defects detected include grease spots, regions of no spray, partial spray, or over spray, general flaws, severe dents, internal lithography and internal base coat), wherein the pre-established ranges for the optical characteristics comprises a set of pre-established ranges of values for interior sidewalls of the can and a set of pre-established ranges of values for a dome-shaped bottom of the can (see figure 2; col. 4, lines 11-29, As can BC2 moves along the conveyor belt 110 in the direction of arrow 130, the bottom of the can is sensed by a photo detector 150a which delivers a signal over line 152a to processor P1. Processor P1 then activates camera C1 to capture an image of the moat 50 and chime 70. As can BC2 travels along conveyor belt 110, the bottom of the can will then activate photocell 150b delivering a signal over 152b to processor P2 which causes camera C2 to capture an image of the lower sidewall 40a and the bottom dome 60. Finally, as can BC2 travels along conveyor 110, the neck 30 of the can activates photocell 150c causing a signal to be delivered over line 152c into processor P3. Processor P3 then causes camera C3 to capture an image of the upper sidewall 40b, the neck 30, and the flange 20. Should can BC2 have an unacceptable defect or flaw as determined by processor P1, P2, or P3; an appropriate reject signal is delivered over bus 160 to the reject circuit 140; and col. 4, lines 64-66, Rejection of a can occurs when the operator sets a predetermined tolerance in each of the processors P1, P2, and P3). However, Tucker fails to explicitly teach wherein the first light source is a UV light source that emits light having wavelengths of between 100 nm and 400 nm; determining whether the interior of the one can has a uniform lacquer coating by comparing first optical characteristics from the first image of the interior of the can to a first set of pre-established ranges for the first optical characteristics under UV light illuminance; and wherein the second light source is a visible light source that emits light having wavelengths of between 380 nm and 700 nm.
However, Brumbaugh teaches wherein the first light source (130) is a UV light source that emits light having wavelengths of between 100 nm and 400 nm (¶24, The illumination source may comprise one or more ultraviolet (UV) light emitting diodes (LEDs); and NOTE: ultraviolet light wavelength range is 100 nm to 400 nm); and determining whether the interior of the one can has a uniform lacquer coating by comparing first optical characteristics from the first image of the interior of the can to a first set of pre-established ranges for the first optical characteristics under UV light illuminance (¶23, an image is captured of the inside of a coated can, and the captured image is analyzed to identify characteristics (e.g., consistency, adhesion, thickness, coating voids) of the coating inside the can; ¶66, a template matching technique detects or identifies coating characteristics or defects… The template(s) or reference(s) are then used for comparison (e.g., by image subtraction) to identify characteristics of the suspect; and see remainder of ¶66 for further details).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tucker to incorporate the teachings of Brumbaugh to further include an ultraviolet light source because ultraviolet light can be used to provide a particular degree of contrast between coated and uncoated portions of a container in a captured image (Brumbaugh, ¶48). However, the combination fails to explicitly teach wherein the second light source is a visible light source that emits light having wavelengths of between 380 nm and 700 nm.
However, Sakane teaches wherein the second light source (112f) is a visible light source that emits light having wavelengths of between 380 nm and 700 nm (¶152, an irradiation unit 110 further has a light emitting element (reference light emitting element) 112f (see FIG. 12) capable of irradiating the subject 800 with visible light).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Tucker and Brumbaugh to incorporate the teachings of Sakane to use visible light because of its ability to create multi-color tone images, in which it is easy to detect the contour, allowing for the easy detection of imperfections on the surface of the object (Sakane, ¶166).
Regarding claim 6, Tucker as modified by Brumbaugh and Sakane teaches the method of determining the condition of the interior of the can (Tucker 10 | Sakane 800) of claim 1, further comprising: rejecting the one can (Tucker BC | Sakane 800) upon determining that the interior of the one can (Tucker BC | Sakane 800) does not have a uniform lacquer coating, the one can (Tucker BC | Sakane 800) has one or both of surface defects and contaminates, or the interior of the one can (Tucker BC | Sakane 800) does not have a uniform lacquer coating and the one can (Tucker BC | Sakane 800) has one or both of surface defects and contaminates (Tucker, col. 4, lines 64-68 and col. 5, line 1, Rejection of a can occurs when the operator sets a predetermined tolerance in each of the processors P1, P2, and P3. The processors will then count the defects or imperfections in the area of inspection that exceeds the preset tolerances, the processor will cause the can to be rejected).
Regarding claim 7, Tucker as modified by Brumbaugh and Sakane teaches the method of determining the condition of the interior of the can (Tucker 10 | Sakane 800) of claim 1, wherein: illuminating the interior of the one can (Tucker BC | Sakane 800) and imaging the interior of the one can (Tucker BC | Sakane 800) are performed while the one can (Tucker BC | Sakane 800) is moving down the production line (Tucker 110 | Sakane 300) (Tucker, col. 4, lines 11-25, As can BC2 moves along the conveyor belt 110 in the direction of arrow 130, the bottom of the can is sensed by a photo detector 150a which delivers a signal over line 152a to processor P1. Processor P1 then activates camera C1 to capture an image of the moat 50 and chime 70. As can BC2 travels along conveyor belt 110, the bottom of the can will then activate photocell 150b delivering a signal over 152b to processor P2 which causes camera C2 to capture an image of the lower sidewall 40a and the bottom dome 60. Finally, as can BC2 travels along conveyor 110, the neck 30 of the can activates photocell 150c causing a signal to be delivered over line 152c into processor P3. Processor P3 then causes camera C3 to capture an image of the upper sidewall 40b, the neck 30, and the flange 20).
Regarding claim 8, Tucker teaches a method of determining a condition of an interior of a can (10), comprising: illuminating the interior of one can (BC) of a plurality of metal cans (10) on a production line (110) using a first light source (410) (see figure 2; claim 16, wherein said object is a metal can; and col. 5, lines 23-25, Illuminating optics 410 such as a fiber optic ring in camera C1 produces light 420 which illuminates the inside of the can 10); capturing a first image of the interior of the one can (BC) while the interior is illuminated by the first light source (410) (col. 5, lines 37-39, a ring-shaped field view as shown by arrows 460 provide the video image to be captured by camera C1 and analyzed by processor P1); illuminating the interior of the one can (BC) using a second light source (820) (see figures 2 and 8, second camera C2 having a second light source 820; and col. 6, lines 24-26, The optic ring 820 delivers light 830 into the inside of the can 10 thereby illuminating the sidewalls 40a and the bottom 60); capturing a second image of the interior of the one can (BC) while the interior is illuminated by the second light source (820) (see figure 8; and col. 6, lines 30-32, the area to be inspected is captured by camera C2 and is delivered into processor P2); determining whether the interior of the one can (BC) has a uniform lacquer coating and one or both of surface defects and contaminates by comparing first and second optical characteristics from the first and second images of the interior of the can to a set of pre-established ranges for the first and second optical characteristics under light illumination from both the first and second light sources (col. 4, lines 64-68 and col. 5, line 1, Rejection of a can occurs when the operator sets a predetermined tolerance in each of the processors P1, P2, and P3. The processors will then count the defects or imperfections in the area of inspection that exceeds the preset tolerances, the processor will cause the can to be rejected; and col. 6, lines 18-21, The types of defects detected include grease spots, regions of no spray, partial spray, or over spray, general flaws, severe dents, internal lithography and internal base coat); and rejecting the one can (BC) upon determining that the interior of the one can (BC) does not have a uniform lacquer coating, the one can (BC) has one or both of surface defects and contaminates, or the interior of the one can (BC) does not have a uniform lacquer coating and the one can (BC) has one or both of surface defects and contaminates (col. 4, lines 64-68 and col. 5, line 1, Rejection of a can occurs when the operator sets a predetermined tolerance in each of the processors P1, P2, and P3. The processors will then count the defects or imperfections in the area of inspection that exceeds the preset tolerances, the processor will cause the can to be rejected), wherein the pre-established ranges for the optical characteristics comprises a set of pre-established ranges of values for interior sidewalls of the can and a set of pre-established ranges of values for a dome-shaped bottom of the can (see figure 2; col. 4, lines 11-29, As can BC2 moves along the conveyor belt 110 in the direction of arrow 130, the bottom of the can is sensed by a photo detector 150a which delivers a signal over line 152a to processor P1. Processor P1 then activates camera C1 to capture an image of the moat 50 and chime 70. As can BC2 travels along conveyor belt 110, the bottom of the can will then activate photocell 150b delivering a signal over 152b to processor P2 which causes camera C2 to capture an image of the lower sidewall 40a and the bottom dome 60. Finally, as can BC2 travels along conveyor 110, the neck 30 of the can activates photocell 150c causing a signal to be delivered over line 152c into processor P3. Processor P3 then causes camera C3 to capture an image of the upper sidewall 40b, the neck 30, and the flange 20. Should can BC2 have an unacceptable defect or flaw as determined by processor P1, P2, or P3; an appropriate reject signal is delivered over bus 160 to the reject circuit 140; and col. 4, lines 64-66, Rejection of a can occurs when the operator sets a predetermined tolerance in each of the processors P1, P2, and P3). However, Tucker fails to explicitly teach wherein the first light source emits UV light having wavelengths of between 100 nm and 400 nm; determining whether the interior of the one can has a uniform lacquer coating by comparing first optical characteristics from the first image of the interior of the can to a first set of pre-established ranges for the first optical characteristics under UV light illuminance; and wherein the second light source emits visible light having wavelengths of between 380 nm and 700 nm.
However, Brumbaugh teaches wherein the first light source (130) is a UV light source that emits light having wavelengths of between 100 nm and 400 nm (¶24, The illumination source may comprise one or more ultraviolet (UV) light emitting diodes (LEDs); and NOTE: ultraviolet light wavelength range is 100 nm to 400 nm); and determining whether the interior of the one can has a uniform lacquer coating by comparing first optical characteristics from the first image of the interior of the can to a first set of pre-established ranges for the first optical characteristics under UV light illuminance (¶23, an image is captured of the inside of a coated can, and the captured image is analyzed to identify characteristics (e.g., consistency, adhesion, thickness, coating voids) of the coating inside the can; ¶66, a template matching technique detects or identifies coating characteristics or defects… The template(s) or reference(s) are then used for comparison (e.g., by image subtraction) to identify characteristics of the suspect; and see remainder of ¶66 for further details).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tucker to incorporate the teachings of Brumbaugh to further include an ultraviolet light source because ultraviolet light can be used to provide a particular degree of contrast between coated and uncoated portions of a container in a captured image (Brumbaugh, ¶48). However, the combination fails to explicitly teach wherein the second light source emits visible light having wavelengths of between 380 nm and 700 nm.
However, Sakane teaches wherein the second light source (112f) emits visible light having wavelengths of between 380 nm and 700 nm (¶152, an irradiation unit 110 further has a light emitting element (reference light emitting element) 112f (see FIG. 12) capable of irradiating the subject 800 with visible light).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Tucker and Brumbaugh to incorporate the teachings of Sakane to use visible light because of its ability to create multi-color tone images, in which it is easy to detect the contour, allowing for the easy detection of imperfections on the surface of the object (Sakane, ¶166).
Regarding claim 10, Tucker as modified by Brumbaugh and Sakane teaches the method of determining the condition of the interior of the can (Tucker 10 | Sakane 800) of claim 8, wherein: the first image is captured by a first camera (Tucker C1 | Brumbaugh 120) and the second image is captured by a second camera (Tucker C2 | Brumbaugh 120) (Tucker, col. 5, lines 37-39, a ring-shaped field view as shown by arrows 460 provide the video image to be captured by camera C1 and analyzed by processor P1; and col. 6, lines 30-32, the area to be inspected is captured by camera C2 and is delivered into processor P2).
Regarding claim 13, Tucker as modified by Brumbaugh and Sakane teaches the method of determining the condition of the interior of the can (Tucker 10 | Sakane 800) of claim 8, wherein: rejecting the one can (Tucker BC | Johler 1 | Sakane 800) comprises automatically removing the one can (Tucker BC | Sakane 800) from the production line (Tucker 110 | Sakane 300) using a removal mechanism (Tucker 140) (Tucker, col. 4, lines 26-30, Should can BC2 have an unacceptable defect or flaw as determined by processor P1, P2, or P3; an appropriate reject signal is delivered over bus 160 to the reject circuit 140 which causes can BC2 to be pushed out from the conveyor belt 110 in the direction of arrow 170).
Regarding claim 25, Tucker as modified by Brumbaugh and Sakane teaches the method of determining the condition of the interior of the can of claim 1, wherein: each of the first optical characteristics and the second optical characteristics comprises at least one of a color, a brightness, or a contrast of the interior of the can (Tucker 10 | Sakane 800) (Brumbaugh, ¶12, The void detection operation may be configured to identify the presence or absence of voids in the sprayed coating… The void detection operation may include one or more of edge-finding, blob-finding, symmetry analysis, pixel counting, segmentation, brightness analysis, or color analysis).
Claims 14-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tucker (U.S. Patent No. 4924107 A) in view of Brumbaugh et al. (USPGPub 20150035970 A1), Sakane (USPGPub 20220390383 A1), and Falgout (USPGPub 20230067525 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Tucker teaches a production line, comprising: a conveyor mechanism (110) that is configured to transport a plurality of metal cans (10) down a portion of the production line (110) (see figure 2, conveyor belt 110; and claim 16, wherein said object is a metal can); a first light source (410) that emits light at a first position of the conveyor mechanism (110) (see figures 2 and 4, first camera C1 at a first location along the conveyor emitting light with first light source 410; and col. 5, lines 23-25, Illuminating optics 410 such as a fiber optic ring in camera C1 produces light 420 which illuminates the inside of the can 10); a first camera (C1) directed toward the first position (see figure 2, first camera C1); a second light source (820) that emits light at a second position of the conveyor mechanism (110) (see figures 2 and 8, light source 820 positioned at C2; and col. 6, lines 24-26, The optic ring 820 delivers light 830 into the inside of the can 10 thereby illuminating the sidewalls 40a and the bottom 60); a second camera (C2) directed toward the second position (see figure 2, second camera C2); one or more processors (P1/P2/P3) (see figure 2, processors P1, P2, and P3); and the one or more processors (P1/P2/P3): illuminate an interior of one can (BC) of the plurality of metal cans (10) using the first light source (410); capture a first image of the interior of the one can (BC) using the first camera (C1) while the interior of the one can (BC) is illuminated by the first light source (410); illuminate the interior of the one can (BC) using the second light source (820); capture a second image of the interior of the one can (BC) using the second camera (C2) while the interior of the one can (BC) is illuminated by the second light source (820) (col. 4, lines 11-25, As can BC2 moves along the conveyor belt 110 in the direction of arrow 130, the bottom of the can is sensed by a photo detector 150a which delivers a signal over line 152a to processor P1. Processor P1 then activates camera C1 to capture an image of the moat 50 and chime 70. As can BC2 travels along conveyor belt 110, the bottom of the can will then activate photocell 150b delivering a signal over 152b to processor P2 which causes camera C2 to capture an image of the lower sidewall 40a and the bottom dome 60. Finally, as can BC2 travels along conveyor 110, the neck 30 of the can activates photocell 150c causing a signal to be delivered over line 152c into processor P3. Processor P3 then causes camera C3 to capture an image of the upper sidewall 40b, the neck 30, and the flange 20); and determining whether the interior of the one can (BC) has a uniform lacquer coating and one or both of surface defects and contaminates by comparing first and second optical characteristics from the first and second images of the interior of the can to a set of pre-established ranges for the first and second optical characteristics under light illumination from both the first and second light sources (col. 4, lines 64-68 and col. 5, line 1, Rejection of a can occurs when the operator sets a predetermined tolerance in each of the processors P1, P2, and P3. The processors will then count the defects or imperfections in the area of inspection that exceeds the preset tolerances, the processor will cause the can to be rejected; and col. 6, lines 18-21, The types of defects detected include grease spots, regions of no spray, partial spray, or over spray, general flaws, severe dents, internal lithography and internal base coat), wherein the pre-established ranges for the optical characteristics comprises a set of pre-established ranges of values for interior sidewalls of the can and a set of pre-established ranges of values for a dome-shaped bottom of the can (see figure 2; col. 4, lines 11-29, As can BC2 moves along the conveyor belt 110 in the direction of arrow 130, the bottom of the can is sensed by a photo detector 150a which delivers a signal over line 152a to processor P1. Processor P1 then activates camera C1 to capture an image of the moat 50 and chime 70. As can BC2 travels along conveyor belt 110, the bottom of the can will then activate photocell 150b delivering a signal over 152b to processor P2 which causes camera C2 to capture an image of the lower sidewall 40a and the bottom dome 60. Finally, as can BC2 travels along conveyor 110, the neck 30 of the can activates photocell 150c causing a signal to be delivered over line 152c into processor P3. Processor P3 then causes camera C3 to capture an image of the upper sidewall 40b, the neck 30, and the flange 20. Should can BC2 have an unacceptable defect or flaw as determined by processor P1, P2, or P3; an appropriate reject signal is delivered over bus 160 to the reject circuit 140; and col. 4, lines 64-66, Rejection of a can occurs when the operator sets a predetermined tolerance in each of the processors P1, P2, and P3). However, Tucker fails to explicitly teach wherein the first light source emits UV light having wavelengths of between 100 nm and 400 nm; determining whether the interior of the one can has a uniform lacquer coating by comparing first optical characteristics from the first image of the interior of the can to a first set of pre-established ranges for the first optical characteristics under UV light illuminance; wherein the second light source emits visible light having wavelengths of between 380 nm and 700 nm; and a memory having instructions stored thereon that, when executed, cause the one or more processors to function.
However, Brumbaugh teaches wherein the first light source (130) emits UV light having wavelengths of between 100 nm and 400 nm (¶24, The illumination source may comprise one or more ultraviolet (UV) light emitting diodes (LEDs); and NOTE: ultraviolet light wavelength range is 100 nm to 400 nm); and determining whether the interior of the one can has a uniform lacquer coating by comparing first optical characteristics from the first image of the interior of the can to a first set of pre-established ranges for the first optical characteristics under UV light illuminance (¶23, an image is captured of the inside of a coated can, and the captured image is analyzed to identify characteristics (e.g., consistency, adhesion, thickness, coating voids) of the coating inside the can; ¶66, a template matching technique detects or identifies coating characteristics or defects… The template(s) or reference(s) are then used for comparison (e.g., by image subtraction) to identify characteristics of the suspect; and see remainder of ¶66 for further details ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tucker to incorporate the teachings of Brumbaugh to further include an ultraviolet light source because ultraviolet light can be used to provide a particular degree of contrast between coated and uncoated portions of a container in a captured image (Brumbaugh, ¶48). However, the combination fails to explicitly teach wherein the second light source emits visible light having wavelengths of between 380 nm and 700 nm; and a memory having instructions stored thereon that, when executed, cause the one or more processors to function.
However, Sakane teaches wherein the second light source (112f) emits visible light having wavelengths of between 380 nm and 700 nm (¶152, an irradiation unit 110 further has a light emitting element (reference light emitting element) 112f (see FIG. 12) capable of irradiating the subject 800 with visible light).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Tucker and Brumbaugh to incorporate the teachings of Sakane to use visible light because of its ability to create multi-color tone images, in which it is easy to detect the contour, allowing for the easy detection of imperfections on the surface of the object (Sakane, ¶166). However, the combination fails to explicitly teach a memory having instructions stored thereon that, when executed, cause the one or more processors to function.
However, Falgout teaches a memory (76) having instructions stored thereon that, when executed, cause the one or more processors to function (¶19, A controller 76, such as a programmable logic controller or other programmable processor executing program steps in a program memory, controls the timing and receives imaging information from the visual inspection system 46. The controller 76 also turns on and off the white-light source 60, 61 for the white-light imaging. The controller 76 activates each of the air-jet valves 74, 75 over control lines 78, 79).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Tucker, Brumbaugh, and Sakane to incorporate the teachings of Falgout to include a memory for operating the elements of the inspection device in order to control the multiple elements of the device from one controller, preventing any possible conflicting messages from multiple controllers.
Regarding claim 15, Tucker as modified by Brumbaugh, Sakane, and Falgout teaches the production line of claim 14, further comprising: a removal mechanism (Tucker 140 | Falgout 26) configured to remove the one can (Tucker BC | Sakane 800) upon determining that the interior of the one can (Tucker BC | Sakane 800) does not have a uniform lacquer coating, the one can (Tucker BC | Sakane 800) has one or both of surface defects and contaminates, or the interior of the one can (Tucker BC | Sakane 800) does not have a uniform lacquer coating and the one can (Tucker BC | Sakane 800) has one or both of surface defects and contaminates (Tucker, col. 4, lines 26-30, Should can BC2 have an unacceptable defect or flaw as determined by processor P1, P2, or P3; an appropriate reject signal is delivered over bus 160 to the reject circuit 140 which causes can BC2 to be pushed out from the conveyor belt 110 in the direction of arrow 170).
Regarding claim 16, Tucker as modified by Brumbaugh, Sakane, and Falgout teaches the production line of claim 14, wherein: the first light source (Tucker 410 | Brumbaugh 130 | Sakane 112a | Falgout 38) is coupled with the first camera (Tucker C1 | Brumbaugh 120) (Tucker, see figure 4, illuminating optics 410 coupled with first camera C1); and the second light source (Tucker 820 | Sakane 112f | Falgout 40) is coupled with the second camera (Tucker C2 | Brumbaugh 120) (Tucker, see figure 8, optic ring 820 coupled to second camera C2).
Regarding claim 18, Tucker as modified by Brumbaugh, Sakane, and Falgout teaches the production line of claim 14, wherein: the first position is positioned upstream of the second position (Tucker, see figure 2, C1 at first position is upstream of C2 at second position).
Regarding claim 19, Tucker as modified by Brumbaugh, Sakane, and Falgout teaches the production line of claim 14, wherein: the first light source (Tucker 410 | Brumbaugh 130 | Sakane 112a | Falgout 38) and the second light source (Tucker 820 | Sakane 112f | Falgout 40) are positioned above the conveyor mechanism (Tucker 110 | Sakane 300 | Falgout 20) (Tucker, see figure 2, first and second cameras C1 and C2 (having light sources 410 and 820 coupled respectively) located above conveyor belt 110).
Regarding claim 20, Tucker as modified by Brumbaugh, Sakane, and Falgout teaches the production line of claim 14, wherein: the first camera (Tucker C1 | Brumbaugh 120) is positioned to image an additional can (Tucker BC2) of the plurality of metal cans (Tucker 10) while the second camera images (Tucker C2 | Brumbaugh 120) the one can (Tucker BC3) (Tucker, see figure 2, while can BC3 is being inspected by camera C2, can BC2 is being inspected by camera C1).
Claims 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tucker (U.S. Patent No. 4924107 A) in view of Brumbaugh et al. (USPGPub 20150035970 A1), Sakane (USPGPub 20220390383 A1), and Falgout (USPGPub 20230067525 A1) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Scholey et al. (USPGPub 20220362832 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Tucker as modified by Brumbaugh, Sakane, and Falgout teaches wherein the conveyor mechanism (Tucker 110 | Sakane 300 | Falgout 20) is configured to transport the plurality of metal cans (Tucker 10) to a subsequent station of the production line (Tucker, claim 16, wherein said object is a metal can; and col. 3, lines 48-49, a conventional conveyor belt 110 carrying a plurality of cans 10 in the direction of arrow 130). However, the combination fails to explicitly teach a necker that is configured to shape a neck of each of the plurality of cans.
However, Scholey teaches a necker (10) that is configured to shape a neck of each of the plurality of cans (1) (¶3, Some can bodies after being formed in a bodymaker are further formed in a die necking machine, commonly referred to as simply a necker machine).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Tucker, Brumbaugh, Sakane, and Falgout to incorporate the teachings of Scholey to further provide a necker in order to properly shape the can to provide ease of use to the consumer, as well as preventing sharp edges.
Regarding claim 22, Tucker as modified by Brumbaugh, Sakane, Falgout, and Scholey teaches the production line of claim 21, wherein: the subsequent station comprises a palletizer (Scholey, ¶2, The bodymaker, typically, includes a ram/punch that moves the blanks through a number of dies to form the can body. The can body is ejected from the ram/punch for further processing such as, but not limited to, trimming, washing, printing, flanging, and inspecting, before being placed on pallets which are then shipped to a filler. At the filler, the cans are taken off of the pallets, filled, have ends placed on them, and then are typically repackaged in various quantities (e.g., six packs, twelve pack or other multi-can cases, etc.) for sale to the consumer).
Regarding claim 23, Tucker as modified by Brumbaugh, Sakane, and Falgout teaches the conveyor mechanism (Tucker 110 | Sakane 300 | Falgout 20) configured to transfer a plurality of metal cans (Tucker, claim 16, wherein said object is a metal can; and col. 3, lines 48-49, a conventional conveyor belt 110 carrying a plurality of cans 10 in the direction of arrow 130). However, the combination fails to explicitly teach an unloading mechanism that is configured to transfer the plurality of cans from a pallet to the conveyor mechanism.
However, Scholey teaches an unloading mechanism that is configured to transfer the plurality of cans from a pallet to the conveyor mechanism (¶2, The bodymaker, typically, includes a ram/punch that moves the blanks through a number of dies to form the can body. The can body is ejected from the ram/punch for further processing such as, but not limited to, trimming, washing, printing, flanging, and inspecting, before being placed on pallets which are then shipped to a filler. At the filler, the cans are taken off of the pallets, filled, have ends placed on them, and then are typically repackaged in various quantities (e.g., six packs, twelve pack or other multi-can cases, etc.) for sale to the consumer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Tucker, Brumbaugh, Sakane, and Falgout to incorporate the teachings of Scholey to further provide a pallet of cans for transfer in order to transfer a large number of cans at once, increasing the flow of cans being made and filled.
Regarding claim 24, Tucker as modified by Brumbaugh, Sakane, Falgout, and Scholey teaches the production line of claim 23, further comprising: a filling station that is configured to receive acceptable cans of the plurality of metal cans from the conveyor mechanism (Scholey, ¶2, The bodymaker, typically, includes a ram/punch that moves the blanks through a number of dies to form the can body. The can body is ejected from the ram/punch for further processing such as, but not limited to, trimming, washing, printing, flanging, and inspecting, before being placed on pallets which are then shipped to a filler. At the filler, the cans are taken off of the pallets, filled, have ends placed on them, and then are typically repackaged in various quantities (e.g., six packs, twelve pack or other multi-can cases, etc.) for sale to the consumer).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIN R GARBER/Examiner, Art Unit 2878
/GEORGIA Y EPPS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2878