DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6, 9, 11-12, 14, 16 and 18-21, and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by USPGPUB 20190151965, Fenske (emphasis added below [underlined portions] to highlight amendments to the Claims).
Regarding Claim 1, Fenske discloses a shearing tool (abstract) for shearing a strut channel (workpiece, which may be a strut having a channel, par 0022), the shearing tool comprising:
a housing (122);
a drive casing (158) coupled to the housing (fig 1);
an output (force transmitting apparatus 126/136) movable along a longitudinal axis relative to the drive casing between an extended position and a retracted position (par. 0077);
a die 22’ including a front face (into page, fig 34), a rear face opposite the front face (out of page, fig. 34), a first bore 40 extending through the front and rear faces, a second bore 40 extending through the front and rear faces (fig. 34), a cutout 30 extending through the front and rear faces, the cutout configured to receive the strut channel therethrough (par 0074); and
a die retaining mechanism (126, 128, 190, 192) movable between a locked configuration (fig 38), in which the die retaining mechanism couples the die to the output for movement therewith between the extended position and the retracted position (fig 7), and an unlocked configuration (par. 0087), in which the die is removable from the drive casing, through an open end of the drive casing, the open end disposed opposite the output (see annotated fig 1 below, and response to arguments section below)
wherein the die retaining mechanism is movable from the locked configuration to the unlocked configuration without the use of tools (par 0087),
wherein the die retaining mechanism includes a die retaining pin 190, and
wherein the die is reversible such that the die retaining pin is received in the first bore when the die is in a first orientation and received in the second bore when the die is in a second orientation (fig 34, since the pin 190 is disclosed to be received by either of the opening s 40).
Regarding Claim 2, in Fenske the die [is] removable from the drive casing through an open end (156) of the drive casing (par 0088).
Regarding Claim 6, in Fenske the die retaining pin is withdrawn from the first bore and the second bore when retaining mechanism is in the unlocked configuration (since neither bore is engaged when the part 190 is not in the locked positioning; see par. 0088).
Regarding Claim 9, in Fenske the die retaining pin (190) is supported on an arm 182 pivotally coupled to the output (par 0089).
Regarding Claim 11, in Fenske the cutout 30 includes a back receiving portion (see annotated fig 34 below) configured to receive a back side of the strut channel, side receiving portions extending from the back receiving portion and configured to receive opposite sides of the strut channel (see annotated fig 34 below), and hook-shaped lip receiving portions configured to receive lips of the strut channel (see annotated fig 34 below).
Regarding Claim 12, in Fenske the back receiving portion and the side receiving portions define a first width (see annotated fig 34 below), and wherein the lip receiving portions define a second width greater than the first width (see annotated fig 34 below).
Regarding Claim 14, in Fenske the die includes chamfers formed in the front face of the die on both inner and outer sides of the cutout (see annotated fig 34 below). (see annotated fig 34 below).
Regarding Claim 16, Fenske discloses a shearing tool (abstract) for shearing a strut channel (par 0022), the shearing tool 120 comprising:
a housing 122; a drive casing 158 coupled to the housing (fig 1);
an output (force transmitting apparatus 126/136) movable along a longitudinal axis relative to the drive casing between an extended position and a retracted position (par 0077);
a die 22/22’ including a front face (face facing into page in fig 34), a rear face opposite the front face (face facing out of the page in fig 34), a cutout 30 extending through the front and rear faces (fig 34), the cutout configured to receive the strut channel therethrough (par 0074); and
a die retaining mechanism (126, 128, 190, 192) movable between a locked configuration, in which the die retaining mechanism couples the die to the output for movement therewith between the extended position and the retracted position (fig 38 and par. 0087), and an unlocked configuration, in which the die is removable from the drive casing, through an open end of the drive casing, the open end disposed opposite the output (see annotated fig 1 above, and response to arguments section below)
wherein the die is reversible relative to the drive casing such that the die is coupleable to the output via the die retaining mechanism (par. 0087) in both a first orientation and a second orientation (since either/both of the holes 40 are disclosed as being alternately connectible to the die retaining mechanism and these parts are on different sides of the die).
Regarding Claim 18, in Fenske the die includes a first bore extending through the front face and the rear face (bore 40, on left of fig. 24), and a second bore extending through the front face and the rear face (bore 40, on right of fig. 24), and wherein the first bore and the second bore are symmetrical about the longitudinal axis (fig 34).
Regarding Claim 19, in Fenske the die retaining mechanism includes a die retaining pin 190 received in the first bore 40 when the die retaining mechanism is in the locked configuration and the die is in the first orientation (par. 0087-0088) and received in the second bore when the die retaining mechanism is in the locked configuration and the die is in the second orientation (since either/both of the holes 40 are disclosed as being alternately connectible to the die retaining mechanism and these parts are on different sides of the die).
Regarding Claim 20, Fenske discloses: A die 22/22’ for shearing a strut channel (abstract, par 0022), the die comprising:
a front face (face facing into page in fig 34), a rear face opposite the front face (face facing out of the page in fig 34), a cutout 30 extending through the front and rear faces (fig 34), the cutout including a back receiving portion configured to receive a back side of the strut channel, side receiving portions extending from the back receiving portion and configured to receive opposite sides of the strut channel, and lip receiving portions configured to receive lips of the strut channel, wherein the die includes chamfers formed in the front face of the die on both inner and outer sides of the cutout (see annotated figs 34 below, a chamfer is defined in the Oxford Languages Dictionary as “a symmetrical sloping surface at an edge or corner”).
Regarding Claim 21, in Fenske the back receiving portion and the side receiving portions define a first width, and wherein the lip receiving portions define a second width greater than the first width (see annotated fig 34 below).
Regarding Claim 24, in Fenske, wherein the die retaining mechanism is biased toward the locked position (par 0087, via spring 192).
Regarding Claim 25, in Fenske, the output includes a shoulder abutting a drive side of the die (see annotated fig 5 below), and wherein the die retaining mechanism includes an arm (fig. 38, 182) coupled to the output (as seen in fig 1, where part 182 is coupled to part 136) and a die retaining pin extending from the arm (fig 38), and wherein the arm is biased toward the die by a spring (192, par. 0087).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13, 15, 22, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fenske as applied to Claims 12, 14, and 20-21 above, and further in view of the teachings of Fenske.
Regarding Claims 13, 15, and 22-23, Fenske lacks the apparatus wherein the second width is between 45% and 75% greater than the first width (claims 13 and 22), and wherein the chamfers define an included angle relative to the front face of the die between 30 degrees and 60 degrees (claims 15 and 23).
Regarding Claims 13, 15, and 22-23, and specifically, in regards to the widths and the angles of the chamfers, Fenske discloses that the shape of the cutout in the dies of Fenske could be made of various shapes in order to conform to different sized workpieces. Also, the changing of a shape of an element of an invention was held to be in the realm of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art, see In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966), and MPEP 2144.04-IV.B. Thus, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to select various widths and chamfer angles in the cutout portion of Fenske, including the claimed widths and angles of chamfers, in order to accommodate workpieces of different shapes, e.g. those including the claimed angles and chamfers, in view of the teachings of Fenske, to accommodate several differently sized work pieces and since it has been held that such a change in size and shape is in the realm of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6-8-26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Claims 1 and 16 have been amended to incorporate the limitations of Claim 17 (of the claims filed 01-30-25). Claim 20 has not been amended.
With regard to Claims 1 and 16, and the claims which depend therefrom, Applicant argues that “Fenske does not teach or suggest a die that is removable from the drive casing through an ‘open end’ of the drive casing disposed opposite the output, as now recited in amended claims 1 and 16”. Rather, Applicant argues that in Fenske the “shearing apparatus 120 includes an end stop assembly 124 that obstructs the front end 156 of the housing 122-the end that is opposite the ram 132 (i.e., the output) of the force transmitting apparatus 126.”. This is not found persuasive. The limitation at issue requires only that the die be “removable from the drive casing through an open end of the drive casing, the open end disposed opposite the output”. As shown in the annotated figure 1 (as shown above and) reproduced below, the end of the casing opposite to the output is at least partially open to an exterior of the device. Even though the “retaining block” 220 blocks a portion of the open end, there is a significant portion of the end that remains open and unobstructed to an exterior of the device. Thus, Fenske meets this claim limitation. In addition to the embodiment discussed on the claim 1 and 16 rejections, and above in the present Response to Arguments Section, it is noted that other embodiments of Fenske show the same open end being even more open to an exterior of the device (fig 40, showing end which is mostly open except for part 222’), and a configuration where a block portion is completely not present from the casing (fig 40 and 48, and par 0102).
Next, Applicant argues, that per Claim 20, Fenske “does not disclose chamfers on the die. The claimed chamfers are angled surfaces formed in the front face of the die.” Per the remarks, Applicant argues:
“For the purpose of understanding, the specification describes and illustrates chamfers that define angles relative to the front surface and, together with the cutout, form a "funnel shape" to guide deformed strut channel into the cutout. See e.g., paragraphs [0043]-[0044]. In contrast, Fenske's Figure 34 shows cutout 30 with perpendicular profile edges that simply extend through the thickness of the die. As such, the features identified by the Examiner in annotated Figure 34 are simply the profile edges of the cutout 30, not chamfers formed in the front face of the die as required by claim 20.”
This is not found persuasive. While the specification may require the chamfers to have a certain structure, the claims only require that the “die includes chamfers formed in the front face of the die on both the inner and outer sides of the cutout”. The chamfers annotated in figure 34 above (and reproduced below), are chamfers as the term is defined, and are on the die and formed “formed in the front face of the die on both the inner and outer sides of the cutout”. Per Applicant’s own admission “cutout 30 with perpendicular profile edges that simply extend through the thickness of the die”. Thus, the shown chamfers are on both faces of the die.
As such, claims 1-2, 6, 9, 11-12, 14, 16 and 18-20, and 24-25 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as anticipated in view of Fenske.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FERNANDO A AYALA/Examiner, Art Unit 3724
/BOYER D ASHLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724