DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. When describing that the two paper layers are connected applicant’s specification states that “not connected” specifically means “that they are not glued or tacked together ...” See pg. 4, ll. 14-22. Moreover, it appears that applicant’s invention would not function if the two paper layer were completed disconnected at all times. It appears that, at most, the two paper layers are only disconnected until the two layers are separated to a certain point. See Fig. 4. Further clarification is required.
Claims 3, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Applicant claims that “the two paper layer are not connected to each other to form connected paper layers” - this unclear as paper layers (4) and (8) appear to be at least eventually connected as shown in applicant’s Fig. 4. Further clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 3, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by David (US 2021/0061519).
Regarding claim 3, David discloses a paper sack (20) comprising: a first open end (of sleeve 26; Fig. 1-A); and a closed second end (36 of receptacle 30) opposite the first open end (Fig. 1-A), the first open end and the second closed end being spaced apart from each other by a length of the paper sack (Fig. 1-A), wherein the paper sack is configured such that the second closed end is moveable away from the first open end to increase the paper sack to a second length (Fig. 1-B), further comprises two paper layers ([0041]) arranged such that two paper layers are slidable inside one another, wherein the first open end is formed by a first paper layer (26) of the two paper layers and the second closed end (36) is formed by a second paper layer (30) of the two or more paper layers, the two paper layer (26, 30) are not connected (insofar as disclosed - not tacked or glued) to each other to form connected paper layers (Figs. 1-A and 1-B).
Regarding claim 8, David discloses a first end of the each of the two paper layers face the first open end of the paper sack (Fig. 1-A), and are different distance from the first open end of the paper sack (Fig. 1-B).
Regarding claim 9, David discloses the two paper layers (26, 30) are arranged such that one of the two paper layers (30) is further inside the paper sack than a second of the two paper layers (26; Fig. 1-B), and wherein a first end of the one of the two paper layers (30) is relatively further away from the first open end of the paper sack than a first end of the second of the two paper layers (26; Fig. 1-B).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that David does not disclose “the two paper layer are not connected to each other to form connected paper layers.” The Office respectfully disagrees as it appears that applicant’s invention would not function if the two paper layer were completed disconnected at all times. It appears that, at most, the two paper layers are only disconnected until the two layers are separated to a certain point. See applicant’s Fig. 4. Moreover, applicant’s specification defines “not connected” as “not glued or tacked together ...” See pg. 4, ll. 14-22. As such, it is the Office’s position that David sufficiently discloses the claimed invention.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEREK J BATTISTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734