DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgment
Claims 1-2, 6, 11, 14, 23, 28, 31 are amended and filed on 6/26/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 31 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 31 recites the limitation “ the said” in line 1. Please delete one of these words. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-7, 11-14, 17, 19-20, 22-25, 28, 31, 34, 36-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lundgaard et al. (US. 20070142785A1) (“Lundgaard”) in view of Andre (US 4505006).
Re claim 1, Lundgaard discloses a conduit securement device (Fig. 1-23, abstract), comprising: a body (body of 50) defining a channel (groove 62 wherein 110 is passing, Fig. 23, ¶0127), for receiving a length of a conduit (110, Fig. 23, ¶0141), extending along the channel (Fig. 23); and a first array of resiliently deformable fins (at least left half of 63, Fig. 23, ¶0121) disposed along the channel extending from at least the first side (lower side of 62, Fig. 23) and an opposite second side of the channel (upper side of 62); and a second array of resiliently deformable fins (at least right half of 63, Fig. 23, ¶0121) disposed along the channel extending Fig. 23) from at least a first side (lower side of 62) and an opposite second side of the channel (upper side of 62), wherein each fin has an orientation that extends at an acute angle to a longitudinal direction along the channel (Fig. 23), and wherein each of the fins of the first array has a first orientation with respect to the said longitudinal direction along the channel (Fig. 23), but it fails to discloses that each of the fins of the second array has an opposite second orientation with respect to the said longitudinal direction along the channel.
However, Andre discloses a clamp device which used in a longitudinal object such as a cable (Fig. 1-7, with fins 12 that are resilient Col. 1, lines 5-10, Col. 1, lines 52-56) and wherein the device comprises a body (1, 7) and a channel (lumen of 1, 7) and a first array of fins (right 12) and a second array of fins (left 12) and each of the fins of the second array has an opposite second orientation ( the second array are directed to the left opposite to the orientation of the first array which are directed to the right) to the left) with respect to the said longitudinal direction along the channel (Fig. 1-7).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify second array of the fins of Lundgaard so that each of the fins of the second array has an opposite second orientation with respect to the said longitudinal direction along the channel as taught by Andre for the purpose of attaching the tubular member firmly from longitudinal motion (Andre, Col. 2, lines 45-68, Note: that both art are related to clamping mechanism for stabilizing a longitudinal member).
Re claim 2, Lundgaard discloses wherein the channel has a length and wherein the length comprises a first portion and second portion (left and right portion of the channel); wherein the first array extends along a first portion of the length of the channel (left half, Fig. 23) and the second array extends along a second portion of the length of the channel (right half, Fig. 23).
Re claim 6, Lundgaard discloses wherein at least a part of the first and second arrays extend along a shared portion of a length, if the channel or an entire length of the channel (share the length of the channel, Fig. 23).
Re claim 7, Lundgaard discloses wherein the channel is curved or convoluted, along at least a part of the length of the channel (at least end portion is convoluted see 61 in Fig. 10).
Re claim 11, Lundgaard discloses wherein the body comprises an inner portion (60, ¶0120) and a support portion (retaining part for 66 ¶0127 and/or base 80, ¶0120) disposed laterally outside of the inner portion along at least the first and second sides of the channel (Fig. 7, ¶0127), wherein the inner portion defines the channel (Fig. 7) and comprises the arrays of resiliently deformable fins (Fig. 7); and wherein the support portion comprises a material having a first stiffness (¶0067and at least the fins of the inner portion comprise a material having a lower second stiffness (rubber , ¶0041).
Re claim 12, Lundgaard discloses wherein inner portion and support portion are removably coupled to one another; or wherein the inner portion is co-moulded within the support portion (Fig. 9-Fig.16, at least support and the inner line 60 can be separated).
Re claim 13, Lundgaard discloses wherein the support portion comprises or define a recess, and the inner portion is located in the recess ( groove for 95 Fig. 19).
Re claim 14, Lundgaard discloses wherein at least the fins of the inner portion comprise or consist of an elastomeric material (rubber , ¶0041), and/or wherein at the support portion, or at least a part thereof, is rigid or semi- rigid and is formed from a moulded or machined plastics material (¶0067).
Re claim 17, Lundgaard discloses wherein the body further comprises a retention arrangement for resisting or preventing movement of a conduit laterally of out the channel (85, 82, ¶0132).
Re claim 19, Lundgaard discloses wherein the retention arrangement comprises one of more straps (85), which can be releasably secured across the channel, or wherein the retention arrangement comprises a lid or cover, for attaching over at least a part of the length of the channel (Fig. 18-19).
Re claim 20, Lundgaard discloses one or more barriers or ribs (68, Fig. 4)extending along at least a part of the channel, between ends of the fins extending from the channel to opposed sides of the channel (Fig. 4).
Re claim 22, Lundgaard discloses when the fins are in an undeformed state, the channel defines a void pathway between opposed fins (Fig.4).
Re claim 23, Lundgaard discloses wherein, when the fins are undeformed, in cross section through the channel the ends of the opposed fins define two, three or four sides of a square, rectangular or diamond shaped in cross section void pathway, or wherein the ends of the array of fins facing the channel may define a part of a circle, oval or polygon (rectangle shape Fig. 6-7).
Re claim 24, Lundgaard discloses wherein, in an undeformed state, the fins are substantially straight, between their fixed and free ends; or wherein the fins curved or J-shaped between their fixed and free ends (straight Fig. 6).
Re claim 25, Lundgaard discloses wherein the securement device is be reconfigurable, between at least a first configuration (Fig. 6) and a second configuration (Fig. 23), to change an angle of at least some of the fins in relation to the channel, change a width of the void pathway along at least a part of a length of the channel, change a curvature of the channel, or change the orientation of at least some of the fins, or the like (Fig.6, Fig. 23, change the curvature or change the orientation of at least some of the fins).
Re claim 28, Lundgaard discloses wherein the securement device is reconfigurable by removing and replacing one or more fin components, by removing a fin component and recoupling the fin component with the fins thereof in an opposite orientation, or by rotating a rotatably fin component to reverse the orientation of the fins thereof ( two or more of 60 can be added by connecting 65 and 66 of two from 60, ¶0127).
Re claim 31, Lundgaard discloses comprising wherein the said channel is a first channel (top channel 62) and wherein the conduit securement device comprises a second channel (lower channel 62, Fig. 23), wherein the first and second channels may share a common first end and/or a common second end (Fig. 23).
Re claim 34, Lundgaard discloses an external attachment( 82, Fig. 20, ¶0003), for attaching the securing device to a patient or structure, wherein the external attachment is coupled to the body (¶0028).
Re claim 36, the modified Lundgaard discloses a medical system comprising a medical conduit secured (110) to a conduit securement device (50, Fig. 23) according to any preceding claim 1 ( see claim 1 rejection),wherein the conduit extends along a length of a channel of the securement device (Fig. 23).
Re claim 37, the modified Lundgaard discloses a method of securing a conduit comprising: providing a conduit securing device in accordance with any one of claim 1 ( see the ejection of claim 1); and inserting a conduit (110) laterally into a channel thereof (Fig. 23).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that “holding fingers” of Lundgaard cannot be called a fin or blade. This is found not persuasive as naming is not necessarily has to be identical. Moreover, the fingers of Lundgaard are similar structure with a conduit holding function compare to the ones of the current application’ fins.
The applicant argues that Andre has clamping the cable in the center. This is found not persuasive as Andre has two oriented fingers/ fins and it was introduce so that some of the fins of Lundgaard has an opposite second orientation with respect to the said longitudinal direction along the channel for the purpose of attaching the tubular member firmly from longitudinal motion.
The applicant argues that Andre has some disadvantage with regards to outward centrally oriented fins. This is found not persuasive as the base of combination is in order to have two opposite orientation of the fins wherein the benefit of having two opposite directionally fins is to prevent motion of the conduit with regards to the conduit.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAMZA A DARB/Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /CHELSEA E STINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783