Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims [1-17] are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ryu (US 20220046745 A1).
In regards to claims 1 Ryu teaches an apparatus comprising at least one processor, and at least one memory including a computer program code, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus to: receive a configuration of a resource associated with sidelink data transmission for a groupcast to a group of terminal devices from an anchoring terminal device, [0108] For resource allocation, sidelink transmission may be configured with two modes of allocation including Mode 1, where sidelink resources are scheduled by a gNB 702, and Mode 2, where a UE 704 may autonomously select sidelink resources from one or more (pre-)configured sidelink resource pools based on a channel sensing mechanism, wherein the sidelink data transmission for the groupcast occurs outside an on-duration of a sidelink discontinuous reception cycle; [0115] FIG. 8 shows a signal diagram 800 illustrating active and inactive time periods during a DRX cycle for a relay UE (e.g., 704) according to some aspects. In this example, the DRX cycle includes inactive time periods 802 and a plurality of active time periods 804, 806, 808 and 810 in which the relay UE may monitor, for example, PDCCH from a gNB (e.g., 702), obtain data related to an event that is to be transmitted for the groupcast; [0112] In the Mode 2 resource allocation, when traffic arrives at a relay UE 704, the relay UE 704 may autonomously select resources for the PSCCH and the PSSCH. To further minimize the latency of the feedback HARQ ACK/NACK transmissions and subsequently retransmissions, the relay UE 704 may also reserve resources for PSCCH/PSSCH for retransmissions, transmit outside the on-duration of the sidelink discontinuous reception cycle, a first indication comprising a notification regarding the event using the resource; [0118] the relay UE 704 knows that active 808 does not overlap with active time period 814 because it has not received any control signal from gNb in active time 814, hence right before the relay active time period 814 begins (e.g., at least one time slot), the relay UE 704 transmits a message 1004 to the relayed UE 706 indicating the relay UE 704 will monitor for SCI from the relayed UE 706, and transmit the data for the groupcast [0109] The relay UE 704 then indicates the time-frequency resources and the transmission scheme of the allocated PSSCH in the PSCCH, and launches the PSCCH and the PSSCH on the allocated resources for sidelink transmissions with the relayed UE 706.
In regards to claims 2 Ryu teaches transmit the data outside the on-duration of the sidelink discontinuous reception cycle. [0115] FIG. 8 shows a signal diagram 800 illustrating active and inactive time periods during a DRX cycle for a relay UE (e.g., 704) according to some aspects. In this example, the DRX cycle includes inactive time periods 802 and a plurality of active time periods 804, 806, 808 and 810 in which the relay UE may monitor, for example, PDCCH from a gNB (e.g., 702).
In regards to claims 3 Ryu teaches transmit the data using physical sidelink control channel and/or physical sidelink shared channel resources indicated by the anchoring terminal device. [0109] the UE may launch the four-message exchange procedure to request sidelink resources from gNB 702 (similar to the case of uplink transmissions). During the resource request procedure, the gNB 702 may allocate a sidelink radio network temporary identifier (SL-RNTI) to the relay UE 704. If this sidelink resource request is granted by the gNB 702, then the gNB 702 may indicate the resource allocation for the PSCCH and the PSSCH in the downlink control information (DCI) conveyed by PDCCH.
In regards to claims 4 and 16 Ryu teaches wherein the resource is a physical sidelink feedback channel resource. [0087] HARQ feedback information may be transmitted in a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) within the slot 310 from the receiving sidelink device to the transmitting sidelink device. In addition, one or more reference signals, such as a sidelink SSB, a sidelink CSI-RS, a sidelink SRS, and/or a sidelink positioning reference signal (PRS) may be transmitted within the slot 310.
In regards to claims 5 Ryu teaches wherein the first indication further comprises information regarding the data. [0121] the message 1104 may include data indicating a duration (e.g., maximum duration) of the potential active time period 812, in order to mitigate that potential active time period 812 overlaps with active time 808.
In regards to claims 6 Ryu teaches wherein the information regarding the data comprises one or more of the following: latency budget for transmitting the data [0110] A configured grant may be utilized in operating environments having traffic with a strict latency requirement, since performing a four-message exchange procedure to request sidelink resources may induce unacceptable latency. In this case, prior to the traffic arrival, the relay UE 704 may perform the four-message exchange procedure with the gNB 702 and request a set of resources. or priority level for transmitting the data. [0050] the scheduling entity may be responsible for scheduling, assigning, reconfiguring, and releasing resources for one or more scheduled entities (e.g., UEs 106).
In regards to claims 7 Ryu teaches wherein the apparatus is further caused to transmit the first indication to the anchoring terminal device [0111] to further obtain resources for the relay UE 704 to send the sidelink HARQ ACK/NACK to the gNB 702, the gNB 702 may allocate one physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) occasion after the last resource in the PSSCH set for initial sidelink transmissions.
In regards to claims 8 Ryu teaches wherein the apparatus is further caused to receive another configuration of another resource, [0111] When a NACK is received by the gNB 702, the gNB 702 may further allocate PSCCH and PSSCH resources for sidelink retransmissions, and this resource allocation may be indicated in the DCI in the case of dynamic grant. Alternatively, a transmitting UE can launch the TB retransmission through the reserved the PSCCH and the PSSCH in the case of configured grant, wherein the other resource is associated with the sidelink data transmission for the groupcast from the anchoring terminal device [0108] For resource allocation, sidelink transmission may be configured with two modes of allocation including Mode 1, where sidelink resources are scheduled by a gNB 702, and Mode 2, where a UE 704 may autonomously select sidelink resources from one or more (pre-)configured sidelink resource pools based on a channel sensing mechanism or the other resource is associated with another sidelink data transmission from another anchoring terminal device of the group. [0062] the UEs 238, 240, and 242 may each function as a scheduling entity or transmitting sidelink device and/or a scheduled entity or a receiving sidelink device to schedule resources and communicate sidelink signals 237 therebetween without relying on scheduling or control information from a base station.
In regards to claims 9 Ryu teaches one processor, and at least one memory including a computer program code, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus to: [0015] In some examples, a base station is disclosed, comprising a wireless transceiver; a memory; and a processor communicatively coupled to the wireless transceiver and the memory, wherein the processor and the memory are configured to transmit a discontinuous reception (DRX) mode configuration comprising first inactive time periods and first active time periods allowing a first user equipment (UE) to monitor the receipt of control signals from the base station configure a resource to a group of terminal devices, [0108] For resource allocation, sidelink transmission may be configured with two modes of allocation including Mode 1, where sidelink resources are scheduled by a gNB 702, and Mode 2, where a UE 704 may autonomously select sidelink resources from one or more (pre-)configured sidelink resource pools based on a channel sensing mechanism wherein the resource is associated with sidelink data transmission for a groupcast to the group [0087] The data region 314 of the slot 310 may include a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) including sidelink data traffic transmitted by the initiating (transmitting) sidelink device within resources reserved over the sidelink carrier by the transmitting sidelink device via the SCI. Other information may further be transmitted over various REs 306 within slot 310 and the sidelink data transmission for the groupcast occurs outside an on-duration of a sidelink discontinuous reception cycle; [0119] In some examples, the relay UE (e.g., 704) may be configured with two DRX configurations. A first DRX configuration may include a Uu-based DRX, for example, to monitor PDCCH from the gNB. A second contemporaneous DRX configuration may be used in the relay UE 704 for sidelink communications, such as monitoring PSCCH from the relayed UE (e.g., 706) and monitor the resource for receiving a first indication comprising a notification of an event from at least one requesting terminal device of the group, [0099] The RAN node 504 may then determine the downlink beam (e.g., beam 524) on which to transmit unicast downlink control information and/or user data traffic to the wireless communication device 502. In some examples, the selected downlink beam has the highest gain from the beam measurement report.
In regards to claims 10 Ryu teaches upon receiving the first indication, to transmit a second indication indicating the event to the group, [0015] transmit a discontinuous reception (DRX) mode configuration comprising first inactive time periods and first active time periods allowing a first user equipment (UE) to monitor the receipt of control signals from the base station, and second inactive time periods and second active time periods allowing the first UE to monitor the receipt of sidelink control signals from a second UE or to monitor physical sidelink control channel and/or physical sidelink shared channel resources [0087] In an example of sidelink communication over a sidelink carrier via a proximity service (ProSe) PC5 interface, the control region 312 of the slot 310 may include a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) including sidelink control information (SCI) transmitted by an initiating (transmitting) sidelink device (e.g., Tx V2X device or other Tx UE) indicated by the apparatus for sidelink data transmission for the groupcast to the group [0109] If this sidelink resource request is granted by the gNB 702, then the gNB 702 may indicate the resource allocation for the PSCCH and the PSSCH in the downlink control information (DCI) conveyed by PDCCH for receiving a sidelink data transmission from the at one requesting terminal device of the group for the even [0110] These sampled signals may be stored in the memory, and the relay UE 704 solves CRC of all signals in the memory to detect the PSCCH. If the PSCCH can be detected, the relay UE 704 is able to decode the PSSCH, stored in the memory accordingly.
In regards to claims 11 Ryu teaches wherein the second indication causes the group to remain active [0113] When the relay UE 704 receives control signal in active time, it may also be configured to extend active time to receive further control signals. During extended active time, the relay UE 704 will stay awake for a longer time duration, known to gNB 702, even if the relay UE 704 is scheduled to go back to sleep mode and monitor for sidelink data transmission regarding the event [0122] The relay UE 704 may be configured to send a message (e.g., 1104) to the relayed UE 706 indicating that the relay UE 704 will monitor for PSCCH from the relayed UE 706 during a sidelink active time for the DRX configuration outside the on-duration of the sidelink discontinuous reception cycle [0119] In some examples, the relay UE (e.g., 704) may be configured with two DRX configurations. A first DRX configuration may include a Uu-based DRX, for example, to monitor PDCCH from the gNB. A second contemporaneous DRX configuration may be used in the relay UE 704 for sidelink communications, such as monitoring PSCCH from the relayed UE (e.g., 706).
In regards to claims 12 Ryu teaches wherein the apparatus is further caused to receive the first indication [0111] To obtain resources of the PSSCH for subsequent retransmissions, a relay UE 704 may forward the sidelink HARQ ACK/NACK message to the gNB 702 when a feedback message is received on the PSFCH from multiple requesting terminal devices of the group [0062] t wo or more UEs (e.g., UEs 238, 240, and 242) may communicate with each other using sidelink signals 237 without relaying that communication through a base station.
In regards to claims 13 Ryu teaches wherein the apparatus is further caused to extend the on-duration of the sidelink discontinuous reception cycle, [0113] When the relay UE 704 receives control signal in active time, it may also be configured to extend active time to receive further control signals. During extended active time, the relay UE 704 will stay awake for a longer time duration, known to gNB 702, even if the relay UE 704 is scheduled to go back to sleep mode
In regards to claims 14 Ryu teaches wherein the apparatus is further caused to configure a plurality of the resource [0111] When a NACK is received by the gNB 702, the gNB 702 may further allocate PSCCH and PSSCH resources for sidelink retransmissions, and this resource allocation may be indicated in the DCI in the case of dynamic grant and allocate different resources to different requesting device terminals of the group, [0062] In some examples, the UEs 238, 240, and 242 may each function as a scheduling entity or transmitting sidelink device and/or a scheduled entity or a receiving sidelink device to schedule resources and communicate sidelink signals 237 therebetween without relying on scheduling or control information from a base station
In regards to claims 15 Ryu teaches wherein the apparatus is further caused to indicate to the group physical sidelink control channel and/or physical sidelink shared channel resources that are not to be used for the sidelink data transmission [0112] Since the relay UE 704 in sidelink transmissions should autonomously select resources using resource selection procedures (e.g., resource sensing, resource (re-) selection to prevent different transmitting UEs from selecting the same resources by the apparatus for the groupcast outside the on-duration of the sidelink discontinuous reception cycle [0118] hence right before the relay active time period 814 begins (e.g., at least one time slot), the relay UE 704 transmits a message 1004 to the relayed UE 706 indicating the relay UE 704 will monitor for SCI from the relayed UE 706
In regards to claims 17 Ryu teaches receiving a configuration of a resource associated with sidelink data transmission for a groupcast to a group of terminal devices from an anchoring terminal device, [0115] The relay UE may also be configured with potential active time periods 812, 814 for the relayed UE (e.g., 706) for monitoring SCI from the UE, for example, when the relayed UE (e.g., 706) has uplink traffic for the relay UE (e.g., 704) to transmit to the gNB (e.g., 702) wherein the sidelink data transmission for the groupcast occurs outside an on-duration of a sidelink discontinuous reception cycle; [0115] FIG. 8 shows a signal diagram 800 illustrating active and inactive time periods during a DRX cycle for a relay UE (e.g., 704) according to some aspects. In this example, the DRX cycle includes inactive time periods 802 and a plurality of active time periods 804, 806, 808 and 810 in which the relay UE may monitor obtaining data related to an event that is to be transmitted for the groupcast; [0109] Mode 1 supports both dynamic grants and configured grants. For dynamic grants, when the traffic to be sent over sidelink arrives at a relay UE 704, the UE may launch the four-message exchange procedure to request sidelink resources from gNB 702 (similar to the case of uplink transmissions) transmitting, outside the on-duration of the sidelink discontinuous reception cycle, a first indication comprising a notification regarding the event using the resource;[0118] UE 704 knows that active 808 does not overlap with active time period 814 because it has not received any control signal from gNb in active time 814, hence right before the relay active time period 814 begins (e.g., at least one time slot), the relay UE 704 transmits a message 1004 to the relayed UE 706 indicating the relay UE 704 will monitor for SCI from the relayed UE 706 and transmitting the data for the groupcast. [0109] The relay UE 704 then indicates the time-frequency resources and the transmission scheme of the allocated PSSCH in the PSCCH, and launches the PSCCH and the PSSCH on the allocated resources for sidelink transmissions with the relayed UE 706.
Conclusion
/SHEHAB A ALAWDI/Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/JAY P PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466