DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/11/26.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of copending Application 18293318. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-17, but for different language, fully encompass the limitations of claims 1-8 of the instant application. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of copending Application 18291924. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-9, fully encompass the limitations of claims 1-8 of the instant application. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The phrase “slow temperature increasing stage” in claim 2 is rejected, as it is a relative term, which renders the claim indefinite. The term “slow” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear as to what is encompassed by the phrase “slow temperature increasing stage”; it is unclear as to what degree of difference is encompassed by this phrase, if not “slow”. It is unclear if the phrase is with respect to a specific type of heating, i.e. microwave or air-frying, if the phrase is with respect to the temperature of the cooking cavity during incrementally increasing at a rate, a minimum temperature of the cooking device, if the phrase is with respect to a rate of temperature increase of the food product itself, if the phrase is with respect to a combination of minimum temperature and increased cooking time, if the phrase is with respect to the food product temperature at its core, with respect to the food product temperature of its surface or something different altogether.
The phrase “rapid temperature increasing stage” in claim 2 is rejected, as it is a relative term, which renders the claim indefinite. The term “rapid” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear as to what is encompassed by the phrase “rapid temperature increasing stage”; it is unclear as to what degree of difference is encompassed by this phrase, if not “rapid”. It is unclear if the phrase is with respect to a specific type of heating, i.e. microwave or air-frying, if the phrase is with respect to the temperature of the cooking cavity during incrementally increasing at a rate, if the phrase is with respect to a maximum temperature of the cooking device, if the phrase is with respect to a rate of temperature increase of the food product itself, if the phrase is with respect to a combination of maximum temperature and decreased cooking time, if the phrase is with respect to the food product temperature at its core, with respect to the food product temperature of its surface or something different altogether.
The phrase “steady heating stage” in claim 2 is rejected, as it is a relative term, which renders the claim indefinite. The term “steady” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear as to what is encompassed by the phrase “steady heating stage”; it is unclear as to what degree of difference is encompassed by this phrase, if not “steady”. It is unclear if the phrase is with respect to a specific type of heating, i.e. microwave or air-frying or combination, if the phrase is with respect to the temperature of the cooking cavity during remaining constant, if the phrase is with respect to a rate of temperature increase of the food product itself increasing at a defined rate, if the phrase is with respect to the food product temperature at its core, with respect to the food product temperature of its surface or something different altogether.
Claim 4 is rejected due to the claimed “a range of [10%t, 20%t]” since it is unclear if the brackets are limiting the range to a specific amount i.e. 10% or 20% +or- .9, if the brackets are to encompass the range between 10-20 or with respect to something different altogether.
Claim 5 is rejected due to the claimed “a range of [15%t, 25%t]” since it is unclear if the brackets are limiting the range to a specific amount i.e. 15% or 25% +or- .9, if the brackets are to encompass the range between 10-20 or with respect to something different altogether.
Claim 6 is rejected due to the claimed “a range of [25%t, 40%t]” since it is unclear if the brackets are limiting the range to a specific amount i.e. 25% or 40% +or- .9, if the brackets are to encompass the range between 10-20 or with respect to something different altogether.
Claim 7 is rejected due to the claimed “a range of [30%t, 50%t]” since it is unclear if the brackets are limiting the range to a specific amount i.e. 30% or 50% +or- .9, if the brackets are to encompass the range between 10-20 or with respect to something different altogether.
Claim 8 is rejected due to the claimed “a range of [140C, 250C]”, [1200W, 1800W], [15 min, 40min.] since it is unclear if the brackets are limiting the range to a specific amount +or- .9, if the brackets are to encompass the range between the numerals or with respect to something different altogether.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lim et al. (20160360578).
With respect to Independent claim 1, Lim teaches a control method for a cooking device, the cooking device comprising an air frying module (par. 0078) and a microwave module (par. 0075), the method comprising:
obtaining a characteristic parameter of a food material (par. 0112; kind of food; par. 0114 weight) and a cooking stage of the cooking device (par. 0112; fry-cooking)
determining a cooking parameter (par. 0116 operation data; par. 0120 microwave power; par. 0122 preset temp; par., 0142 cooking time) of the cooking device according to the characteristic parameter of the food material (par. 0116, 0142); and
controlling at least one of the microwave module (par. 0120, 0138; fig. 15) and air frying module (par. 0125-0127, par. 0138; fig. 15 convection) according to the cooking parameter and the cooking stage (par. 0138; fig. 15), to improve cooking speed of the food material (par. 0126 cooking speed relative cooking of surface of food material vs without; alternatively par. 0127 both air and radiant; fig. 15 second cooking time; concurrently).
With respect to claim 2, wherein: the characteristic parameter of the food material comprises a type and a weight of the food material (par. 0116; fig. 16)
the cooking parameter comprises a predetermined cooking temperature (par. 0122; fig. 25), a total cooking time (par. 0142; fig. 25), and total cooking power (par. 0120; fig. 16), and
the cooking stage comprises a preheating stage (relative first cooking time and cavity temperature; fig. 15 par. 0152; fig. 18, 25), a slow temperature increasing stage (relative first cooking time, material at lowest temp., increase core temperature; fig. 15 par. 0152; fig. 18, 25), a rapid temperature increasing stage (relative second cooking time and material temperature due to convection; fig. 15 par. 0152; fig. 25), a steady heating stage (relative third cooking time singular heating means; fig. 15 par. 0152; fig. 25) and a crusting and coloring stage (fig. 15 result of third cooking time; progressive increase par. 0152 surface; fig. 25).
Claim 3, wherein said controlling at least one of the microwave module and the air frying module according to the cooking parameter and the cooking stage comprises
Determining (fig. 18) that a cooking temperature at the preheating stage is the predetermined cooking temperature in response to the cooking stage being the preheating stage (fig. 18; first cooking stage) and
controlling the air frying module to preheat the cooking device, such that a cavity temperature of the cooking device reaches the predetermined cooking temperature (fig. 18 first cooking stage with convection; fig. 25).
Claim 4, wherein said controlling at least one of the microwave module and the air frying module according to the cooking parameter and the cooking stage comprises,
determining that a cooking temperature at the slow temperature increasing stage is a first cooking temperature in response to the cooking stage being the slow temperature increasing stage (fig. 18 first cooking stage determined by fig. 25 food type), the first cooking temperature being smaller than or equal to the predetermined cooking temperature (par. 0125 maintain preset target temp)
allocating first microwave heating power and first air frying heating power to the microwave module and the air frying module according to the total cooking power ; and
controlling the microwave module and the air frying module to continuously operate for first cooking time according to the first microwave power and the first air frying power (fig. 18, 25; par. 0125), respectively, to maintain a cavity temperature of the cooking device at the first cooking temperature (par. 0125), the first cooking time being in a range of [10%t, 20%t], where t is the total cooking time (fig. 25; frozen potato chips 4/26=15%; fig. 25 drumsticks)
Claim 5, wherein said controlling at least one of the microwave module and the air frying module according to the cooking parameter and the cooking stage comprises:
determining that a cooking temperature at the rapid temperature increasing stage is a second cooking temperature in response to the cooking stage being the rapid temperature increasing stage (par. 0151; fig. 25), the second cooking temperature being greater than or equal to the predetermined cooking temperature (fig. 25 second heating stage) and smaller than a sum of the predetermined cooking temperature and a first temperature threshold (fig. 25, where the singular temperature is less than a sum of two temperatures)
allocating second microwave heating power and second air frying heating power to the microwave module and the air frying module according to the total cooking power (par. 0151; fig. 25; micro + convection frozen chicken nuggets) and
controlling the microwave module and the air frying module to continuously operate for second cooking time (fig. 25 second cooking time frozen chicken nuggets) according to the second microwave power (fig. 25 second micro heating) and the second air frying power (fig. 25 power relative and to achieve temperature), respectively, to maintain a cavity temperature of the cooking device at the second cooking temperature (fig. 25 second cooking temperature), the second cooking time being in a range of [15%t, 25%t], where t is the total cooking time (frozen chicken nuggets 2/5+2+5=16.6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (20160360578).
Lim is taken as above.
With respect to claim 6, Lim teaches wherein said controlling at least one of the microwave module and the air frying module according to the cooking parameter and the cooking stage comprises:
determining that a cooking temperature at the steady heating stage is a third cooking temperature in response to the cooking stage being the steady heating stage (par. 0137), the third cooking temperature being greater than or equal to the predetermined cooking temperature (fig. 25 equal to set temp.) and smaller than or equal to a sum of the predetermined cooking temperature and a second temperature threshold (fig. 25, where the singular temperature is less than a sum of two temperatures)
allocating microwave heating power and air frying heating power to the microwave module and the air frying module according to the total cooking power (par. 0136; fig. 25)
controlling the microwave module and the air frying module to continuously operate for a cooking time according to a microwave power and the air frying power (par. 0136; fig. 25), respectively, to maintain a cavity temperature of the cooking device at the cooking temperature (par. 0132).
Though silent to the third cooking stage comprising microwave and air-frying. Since Lim teaches a same combination cooking (par. 0135), since the type of cooking is food dependent and the operation being controlled by corresponding operation data (par. 0109) and since the determined food cooking stages include user input selection of food (par. 0116).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to control the same microwave and air frying modules of Lim during a third cooking stage for its art recognized advantage of achieving a food dependent cooking and user desired texture by automatic cooking processes which heat the core of the food and cook the food to a texture and color as preset as taught by Lim (par. 0134)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art the time the invention was filed to further provide a third predetermined cooking stage such as in the instant case relative a flipping time of the food as taught by Lim (par. 0158) thus achieving a same desired cooking to a target degree and more specifically achieve even cooking due to turning the food over a plurality of times as taught by Lim (par. 0158).
Since cooking time is food and weight dependent (par. 0148), since cooking time is dictated by a desired degree of cooking or surface cooking (par. 0126). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to control the same microwave and air frying modules of Lim during a third cooking stage for a third cooking time being in a range of [25%t, 40%t], where t is the total cooking time for its art recognized advantage of achieving a food dependent cooking and user desired texture by automatic cooking processes which heat the core of the food and cook the food to a texture and color as preset as taught by Lim (par. 0126; 0134)
Claim 7, wherein said controlling at least one of the microwave module and the air frying module according to the cooking parameter and the cooking stage comprises:
determining that a cooking temperature at the crusting and coloring stage is a cooking temperature in response to the cooking stage being the crusting and coloring stage (par. 0126), the cooking temperature being greater than or equal to the predetermined cooking temperature (par. 0126 predetermined) and smaller than or equal to a sum of the predetermined cooking temperature and a third temperature threshold (fig. 25, where the singular temperature is less than a sum of two temperatures)
allocating microwave heating power and air frying heating power to the microwave module and the air frying module according to the total cooking power (par. 0136; fig. 25) and
controlling the microwave module and the air frying module to continuously operate for the cooking time according to the microwave power and the air frying power (par. 0136; fig. 25), respectively, to maintain a cavity temperature of the cooking device at the cooking temperature (par. 0132),
Though silent to a fourth cooking stage comprising microwave and air-frying. Since Lim teaches a same combination cooking (par. 0135), since the type of cooking is food dependent and the operation being controlled by corresponding operation data (par. 0109) and since the determined food cooking stages include user input selection of food (par. 0116).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to control the same microwave and air frying modules of Lim during a fourth cooking stage for its art recognized advantage of achieving a food dependent cooking and user desired texture by automatic cooking processes which heat the core of the food and cook the food to a texture and color (par. 0126) as preset as taught by Lim (par. 0134)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art the time the invention was filed to further provide a fourth predetermined cooking stage such as in the instant case relative a flipping time of the food as taught by Lim (par. 0158) thus achieving a same desired cooking to a target degree and more specifically achieve even cooking due to turning the food over a plurality of times as taught by Lim (par. 0158).
Since cooking time is food and weight dependent (par. 0148), since cooking time is dictated by a desired degree of cooking or surface cooking (par. 0126). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to control the same microwave and air frying modules of Lim and the fourth time being in a range of [30%t, 50%t], where t is the total cooking time for its art recognized advantage of achieving a food dependent cooking and user desired texture by automatic cooking processes which heat the core of the food and cook the food to a texture and color as preset as taught by Lim (par. 0126; 0134)
In addition with respect to claims 6 and 7, since Lim teaches controlled and programmed sequence cooking, though silent to a third stage comprising both microwave and air frying or a fourth cooking stage as such. It is not necessary that suggestion or motivation be found within the four comers of the reference(s) themselves. "The obviousness analysis cannot be confined by a formalistic conception of the words teaching, suggestion, and motivation, or by overemphasis on the importance of... the explicit content of issued patents." KSR Int'l. Co. v. Teleflex lnc., 550 U.S. 398, 419. "The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results." KSR, 550 U.S. at 416., The question to be asked is "whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions." KSR, 550 U.S. at 417.
In addition, a conclusion of obviousness can be made from common knowledge and common sense of the person of ordinary skill in the art without any specific hint or suggestion in a particular reference. See In re Bozek, 416 F.2d 1385, 1390 (CCPA 1969). Such as in the instant case providing a number of cooking stages which achieves the desired core cooking and color, texture and taste in accordance with user desires and kind and weight of cooking materials as further taught (par. 0157-0158).
With respect to claim 8, the predetermined cooking temperature and the total cooking power are each determined based on the type of the food material (par. 0112), the predetermined cooking temperature is in a range of [140°C, 250°C] (par. 0125; fig. 25) and
the total cooking time is determined based on the weight of the food material (par. 0114), and the total cooking time is in a range of [15min, 40min] (fig. 25).
Lim teaches a microwave heating unit for its art recognized and applicants intended purpose. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to teach a total cooking power is in a range of [1200W, 1800W] since such is device dependent, thus achieving a same desired microwave output for cooking at a desired power using an inverter as a driving circuit as further taught by Lim (par. 0075).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
20130092682, 20110002677, 20020134778, 20110151072, 20080280000, 20180003687 directed to multiple food type cooking stages including convection/air frying and microwave.
/STEVEN N LEFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1792