DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
The claim set of 22 Jan 2026 has been entered and reviewed.
Claims 1-20 are pending and under consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-9 and 13-20, directed to a core-shell microcapsule, in the reply filed on 22 Jan 2026 is acknowledged. Applicants also elected that the protein is potato protein, the polymeric shell material is polyamide, and the amino acid is L-lysine in response to the species election requirement. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 10-12 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention / species.
Claims 1-9 and 13-20 are under consideration to the extent of the elected species, i.e., that the protein is potato protein, the polymeric shell material is polyamide, and the amino acid is L-lysine.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) as follows: in the prior-filed application, Application No. EP21205885.3 and EP21200666.2, the applicant failed to provide adequate written description support for claims 8 and 20. Accordingly, priority cannot be granted at this time, thus claims 8 and 20 are granted the filing date of PCT/EP22/76819 (27 Sep 2022).
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994)
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. EP21205885.3 and EP21200666.2, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. The applications fail to provide support for the compound groups (vii) to (xi). Accordingly, claims 8 and 20 are not entitled to the benefit of the prior application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 31 Jan 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, except where noted. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 13, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). The phrase three lines from the end of the claim to introduce the amino acids.
Claim 13 recites “the hydrophobic active ingredient” which lacks proper antecedent basis. Claim 1 a “hydrophobic material” but does not recite a “hydrophobic active ingredient.” Claims 16 and 17 are included in this rejection as they depend directly, indirectly, or include all the limitations of independent claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berthier et al. (WO 2020/127743, published 25 June 2020) in view of Nik et al. (WO 2020/154614, published 30 Jul 2020).
Berthier teaches polyamide microcapsules (title). Berthier teaches that a problem faced by the perfumery industry is the rapid loss of olfactive benefit from odoriferous compounds due to their volatility and that microcapsules help contain perfume and protect and later release the core payload when triggered (page 1 lines 10-15). Berthier teaches polyamide core-shell microcapsules comprising an oil based core comprising a hydrophobic material, preferably a perfume, and a polyamide shell comprising an acyl chloride, a first amino compound and a second amino compound (page 2 lines 19-24), and that the perfume is a “perfume oil” (page 7 lines 18-30, rendering obvious claim 18). Regarding claim 4, Berthier teaches reacting an acyl chloride with amino compounds to form the polyamide microcapsules (page 2 lines 3-4, lines 8-14). Regarding claims 6 and 9 and L-lysine, the elected species of amino compound, Berthier teaches the amino compound may be L-Lysine (page 26 lines 21-22). Berthier teaches acyl chloride compounds including benzene-1,3,5-tricarbonyl chloride (page 5 lines 5-8), rendering obvious the acyl chloride of claims 8 and 19 where X is a C6 hydrocarbon and n is 2.
Regarding claim 13, Berthier teaches a perfuming composition comprising the microcapsule comprising a perfume, a perfumery carrier and a perfumery base, and at least one perfumery adjuvant (page 2 line 28 - page 3 line 4). Regarding claims 14 and 16, Berthier teaches a consumer product comprising a personal care active base, the microcapsules or perfuming composition and the product is in the form of a personal care composition (page 3 lines 5-9). Regarding claims 15 and 17, Berthier teaches a consumer product comprising a home care or a fabric care active base and the microcapsules or perfuming composition and where the product is in the form of a home care or a fabric care composition (page 3 lines 10-15).
Berthier teaches the inclusion of a stabilizer, which is a colloidal stabilizer, which can be a molecular emulsifier and is a biopolymer that is a protein such as soy protein, rice protein, whey protein and other proteins (page 26 line 30 to page 27 line 31). Berthier teaches the biopolymer protein as part of the polyamide shell (page 32 line 26 to page 33 line 7).
Berthier does not teach the inclusion of the specific protein of potato protein (the elected species). This deficiency is made up for in the teachings of Nik.
Nik teaches microencapsulation with potato proteins (title). Nik teaches that potato proteins are of use as natural and functional wall materials for the encapsulation of volatile compounds and that unhydrolyzed potato protein facilitates emulsification and encapsulation ([0014]). Nik teaches microcapsules having a plurality of oil droplets composed of an active material to be encapsulated and a solid matrix composed of a potato protein ([0014]). Nik teaches that potato protein offers a natural, sustainably produced emulsifier ([0014]). Nik teaches the active material may be a fragrance ([0016]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the
art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used potato protein as the protein in the polyamide microcapsules of Berthier. The microcapsules of Berthier encapsulate perfume oil cores which helps contain the volatile components and the microcapsule shell may contain protein as a stabilizer/emulsifier, as taught by Berthier. Potato proteins are known from Nik for use in forming wall materials for microcapsules as they facilitate emulsification and encapsulation of volatile compounds such as fragrances. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that potato protein is a suitable alternative protein to the proteins of Berthier and it would have thus been obvious to include potato protein in the polymeric shell. One would have a reasonable expectation of success as the microcapsules of Berthier are known to include proteins and the use of potato protein merely represents the use of a alternative prior art element for its known use in encapsulation of volatile compounds such as fragrances.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berthier et al. (WO 2020/127743, published 25 June 2020) in view of Nik et al. (WO 2020/154614, published 30 Jul 2020), as applied to claims 1-9 and 13-19 above and further in view of Ouali et al. (WO 2021/023647, published 1 Feb 2021, filed 31 Jul 2020).
The teachings of Berthier and Nik are described supra.
Berthier and Nik do not teach an acyl chloride of the structure of formula (I) where the R group is a methyl, ethyl or a hydrogen. This deficiency is made up for in the teachings of Ouali.
Ouali teaches core-shell poly(amide-ester) microcapsules formed from combining an acyl chloride with amino compounds (page 5 lines 1-10) and the amino compound may be L-lysine (page 19 lines 1-4). Ouali teaches that the microcapsule has an oil based core comprising ahydrophobic material such as a perfume (page 2 line 20). Ouali teaches acyl chlorides of formula (I) (page 25 lines 20-29 to page 26 line 5)
The structure of formula (I) with group (iii) and R of hydrogen, methyl or ethyl renders obvious the acyl chloride of claim 20.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the
art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used an acyl chloride of formula (I) and group (iii) where the R group is methyl, ethyl or hydrogen, as taught by Ouali, as the acyl chloride for in the polyamide shell of Berthier. Berthier and Ouali teach similar microcapsules comprising polyamide shell structures and containing oil cores with perfume compounds. Thus, one would have a reasonable expectation of success in using the acyl chloride structure taught by Ouali as it is known as suitable for forming polyamide related structures for microcapsules containing perfume. The acyl chloride taught by Ouali thus merely represents an alternative acyl chloride known for the same purpose of forming polyamide related shells for perfume microcapsules.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 and 13-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,486,471 in view of Berthier et al. (WO 2020/127743, published 25 June 2020), Nik et al. (WO 2020/154614, published 30 Jul 2020), and Ouali et al. (WO 2021/023647, published 1 Feb 2021, filed 31 Jul 2020).
The ‘471 patent claims a core-shell microcapsule delivery system comprising a carrier and a perfume formulation (claim 1). The core is oil based and comprises the perfume (claim 6). The shell is a polyamide shell comprising an acyl chloride and an amino acid and a biopolymer such as whey protein (claim 7). The delivery system is part of a consumer product (claim 11).
The ’471 patent does not claim the L-lysine amino acid or the acyl chlorides or the potato protein or the personal care, home care or fabric care products of the instant claims. These deficiencies are made up for in the teachings of Berthier, Nik and Ouali.
The teachings of Berthier, Nik and Ouali are described supra.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the
art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used L-lysine and acyl chlorides of formula (I) and potato protein with the microcapsules and to include the microcapsules in personal/home/fabric care products. Similar microcapsules are known from Berthier and it is known from Berthier to use L-lysine as an amino compound for forming polyamides. As similar microcapsules are known from Berthier as in the reference claims one would have a reasonable expectation of success in using L-lysine in the polyamide shell. Similarly, it is known from Berthier that protein emulsifiers/staiblizers may be used and protein is a known from Nik as an emulsifier for microparticulate systems rendering it obvious to include it in the microcapsule compositions. Additionally, similar microcapsule compositions are known from Ouali and the acyl chlorides of formula (I), taught by Ouali, are known as suitable for forming polyamide components, rendering it obvious to use these acyl chlorides for the polyamide shell. The microcapsules of Berthier are known for containing perfume and use in perfume/personal care/home/fabric care compositions rendering this extension of the microcapsules as obvious as this is a known use for such microcapsules.
Claims 1-9 and 13-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 and 13-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,508,565 in view of Berthier et al. (WO 2020/127743, published 25 June 2020) and Nik et al. (WO 2020/154614, published 30 Jul 2020).
The ‘565 patent claims a polyamide core-shell microcapsule comprising an oil based core comprising a hydrophobic material and a polyamide shell comprising at least one acyl chloride and an amino compound (claim 1). The acyl chloride is of formula (I) which renders obvious the acyl chloride of instant claims 8 and 20. The amino compound may be L-lysine (claim 3). The microcapsule is part of a perfuming composition and a consumer product (claims 13-15).
The ‘565 patent does not claim the L-lysine amino acid or the potato protein or the personal care, home care or fabric care products of the instant claims. These deficiencies are made up for in the teachings of Berthier and Nik.
The teachings of Berthier and Nik are described supra.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the
art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used L-lysine and potato protein with the microcapsules and to include the microcapsules in personal/home/fabric care products. Similar microcapsules are known from Berthier and it is known from Berthier to use L-lysine as an amino compound for forming polyamides. As similar microcapsules are known from Berthier as in the reference claims one would have a reasonable expectation of success in using L-lysine in the polyamide shell. Similarly, it is known from Berthier that protein emulsifiers/staiblizers may be used and protein is a known from Nik as an emulsifier for microparticulate systems rendering it obvious to include it in the microcapsule compositions. The microcapsules of Berthier are known for containing perfume and use in perfume/personal care/home/fabric care compositions rendering this extension of the microcapsules as obvious as this is a known use for such microcapsules.
Claims 1-9 and 13-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 and 12-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,958,030 in view of Berthier et al. (WO 2020/127743, published 25 June 2020) and Ouali et al. (WO 2021/023647, published 1 Feb 2021, filed 31 Jul 2020).
The ‘030 patent claims a coacervate core-shell microcapsule comprising hydrophobic material encapsulated in the core and the shell comprising a plant protein extract (claim 1). The protein is potato (claim 2). The shell comprises an additional polymeric material (claim 7) of polyamide (claim 8). The microcapsule is part of a consumer product comprising a perfume (claims 12-15).
The ‘030 patent does not claim the L-lysine amino acid or the acyl chlorides or the personal care, home care or fabric care products of the instant claims. These deficiencies are made up for in the teachings of Berthier and Ouali.
The teachings of Berthier and Ouali are described supra.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the
art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used L-lysine and acyl chlorides of formula (I) and to include the microcapsules in personal/home/fabric care products. Similar microcapsules are known from Berthier and it is known from Berthier to use L-lysine as an amino compound for forming polyamides. As similar microcapsules are known from Berthier as in the reference claims one would have a reasonable expectation of success in using L-lysine in the polyamide shell. Additionally, similar microcapsule compositions are known from Ouali and the acyl chlorides of formula (I), taught by Ouali, are known as suitable for forming polyamide components, rendering it obvious to use these acyl chlorides for the polyamide shell. The microcapsules of Berthier are known for containing perfume and use in perfume/personal care/home/fabric care compositions rendering this extension of the microcapsules as obvious as this is a known use for such microcapsules.
Claims 1-9 and 13-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 and 12-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,383,881 in view of Berthier et al. (WO 2020/127743, published 25 June 2020), and Ouali et al. (WO 2021/023647, published 1 Feb 2021, filed 31 Jul 2020).
The ‘881 patent recites a microcapsule slurry comprising a coacervate core-shell microcapsule comprising a hydrophobic material in the core and a shell comprising at least one plant protein extract and a non-protein polymer (claim 1). The protein may be potato (claim 2). The shell may comprise polyamide (claim 8). The microcapsule is part of a consumer product and the hydrophobic material is perfume (claims 12-15).
The ‘881 patent does not claim the L-lysine amino acid or the acyl chlorides or the personal care, home care or fabric care products of the instant claims. These deficiencies are made up for in the teachings of Berthier and Ouali.
The teachings of Berthier and Ouali are described supra.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the
art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used L-lysine and acyl chlorides of formula (I) with the microcapsules and to include the microcapsules in personal/home/fabric care products. Similar microcapsules are known from Berthier and it is known from Berthier to use L-lysine as an amino compound for forming polyamides. As similar microcapsules are known from Berthier as in the reference claims one would have a reasonable expectation of success in using L-lysine in the polyamide shell. Additionally, similar microcapsule compositions are known from Ouali and the acyl chlorides of formula (I), taught by Ouali, are known as suitable for forming polyamide components, rendering it obvious to use these acyl chlorides for the polyamide shell. The microcapsules of Berthier are known for containing perfume and use in perfume/personal care/home/fabric care compositions rendering this extension of the microcapsules as obvious as this is a known use for such microcapsules.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-9 and 13-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12-18 of copending Application No. 18/290,365 in view of Berthier et al. (WO 2020/127743, published 25 June 2020), Nik et al. (WO 2020/154614, published 30 Jul 2020), and Ouali et al. (WO 2021/023647, published 1 Feb 2021, filed 31 Jul 2020).
The ’365 application claims a polyamide based core-shell microcapsule comprising a core with a hydrophobic material and a polyamide shell comprising an acyl chloride, an amino compound and a carbohydrate (claim 12). The microcapsule is part of a perfuming composition with a perfume, perfumery carrier and base and perfumery adjuvant (claim 14). The microcapsule is part of consumer products that are personal care compositions and home/fabric care compositions (claims 15-18).
The ‘365 application does not claim the L-lysine amino acid or the acyl chlorides or the potato protein of the instant claims. These deficiencies are made up for in the teachings of Berthier, Nik and Ouali.
The teachings of Berthier, Nik and Ouali are described supra.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the
art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used L-lysine and acyl chlorides of formula (I) and potato protein with the microcapsules. Similar microcapsules are known from Berthier and it is known from Berthier to use L-lysine as an amino compound for forming polyamides. As similar microcapsules are known from Berthier as in the reference claims one would have a reasonable expectation of success in using L-lysine in the polyamide shell. Similarly, it is known from Berthier that protein emulsifiers/staiblizers may be used and protein is a known from Nik as an emulsifier for microparticulate systems rendering it obvious to include it in the microcapsule compositions. Additionally, similar microcapsule compositions are known from Ouali and the acyl chlorides of formula (I), taught by Ouali, are known as suitable for forming polyamide components, rendering it obvious to use these acyl chlorides for the polyamide shell.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-9 and 13-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11-13 of copending Application No. 18/290,476 in view of Berthier et al. (WO 2020/127743, published 25 June 2020), Nik et al. (WO 2020/154614, published 30 Jul 2020), and Ouali et al. (WO 2021/023647, published 1 Feb 2021, filed 31 Jul 2020).
The ’476 application claims a polyamide based core-shell microcapsule comprising a core with a hydrophobic material and a polyamide based shell comprising a reaction product between a functional carbohydrate and an amino compound where the functionalized carbohydrate is a reaction product between an acyl chloride with a carbohydrate (claim 11). The microcapsule is part of consumer products with a personal care active base for personal care compositions and home/fabric care base for a home/fabric care composition (claims 12-13).
The ’476 application does not claim the L-lysine amino acid or the acyl chlorides or the potato protein of the instant claims. These deficiencies are made up for in the teachings of Berthier, Nik and Ouali.
The teachings of Berthier, Nik and Ouali are described supra.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the
art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used L-lysine and acyl chlorides of formula (I) and potato protein with the microcapsules. Similar microcapsules are known from Berthier and it is known from Berthier to use L-lysine as an amino compound for forming polyamides. As similar microcapsules are known from Berthier as in the reference claims one would have a reasonable expectation of success in using L-lysine in the polyamide shell. Similarly, it is known from Berthier that protein emulsifiers/staiblizers may be used and protein is a known from Nik as an emulsifier for microparticulate systems rendering it obvious to include it in the microcapsule compositions. Additionally, similar microcapsule compositions are known from Ouali and the acyl chlorides of formula (I), taught by Ouali, are known as suitable for forming polyamide components, rendering it obvious to use these acyl chlorides for the polyamide shell.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-9 and 13-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10-17 of copending Application No. 18/578,404 in view of Berthier et al. (WO 2020/127743, published 25 June 2020), Nik et al. (WO 2020/154614, published 30 Jul 2020), and Ouali et al. (WO 2021/023647, published 1 Feb 2021, filed 31 Jul 2020).
The ’404 application claims a polyamide-based core-shell microcapsule comprising a core with a hydrophobic material and a polyamide shell comprising a reaction product of an acyl chloride, an amino compound and a protein (claims 10-12). The microcapsules are part of a perfuming composition with a perfumery base and perfumery adjuvant (claim 13) and a consumer product with a personal care or home/fabric care base (claim 14-17).
The ’404 application does not claim the L-lysine amino acid or the acyl chlorides or the potato protein of the instant claims. These deficiencies are made up for in the teachings of Berthier, Nik and Ouali.
The teachings of Berthier, Nik and Ouali are described supra.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the
art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used L-lysine and acyl chlorides of formula (I) and potato protein with the microcapsules. Similar microcapsules are known from Berthier and it is known from Berthier to use L-lysine as an amino compound for forming polyamides. As similar microcapsules are known from Berthier as in the reference claims one would have a reasonable expectation of success in using L-lysine in the polyamide shell. Similarly, it is known from Berthier that protein emulsifiers/staiblizers may be used and protein is a known from Nik as an emulsifier for microparticulate systems rendering it obvious to include it in the microcapsule compositions. Additionally, similar microcapsule compositions are known from Ouali and the acyl chlorides of formula (I), taught by Ouali, are known as suitable for forming polyamide components, rendering it obvious to use these acyl chlorides for the polyamide shell.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-9 and 13-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-9 and 11-20 of copending Application No. 18/993,185 in view of Berthier et al. (WO 2020/127743, published 25 June 2020) and Ouali et al. (WO 2021/023647, published 1 Feb 2021, filed 31 Jul 2020).
The ‘185 application claims a core-shell microcapsule comprising a core comprising a hydrophobic material and a polymeric shell comprising a polymeric material and a coacervate comprising a plant protein (claim 1). The plant protein may be potato (claims 3, 4). The core comprises perfume oil (claim 8). The microcapsule is part of a consumer product with a consumer product base (claim 11) and fabric softener compositions (claim 12). The consumer product may be a home care or personal care product (claim 15).
The ’185 application does not claim the L-lysine amino acid or the acyl chlorides of the instant claims. These deficiencies are made up for in the teachings of Berthier and Ouali.
The teachings of Berthier and Ouali are described supra.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the
art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used L-lysine and acyl chlorides of formula (I). Similar microcapsules are known from Berthier and it is known from Berthier to use L-lysine as an amino compound for forming polyamides. As similar microcapsules are known from Berthier as in the reference claims one would have a reasonable expectation of success in using L-lysine in the polyamide shell. Additionally, similar microcapsule compositions are known from Ouali and the acyl chlorides of formula (I), taught by Ouali, are known as suitable for forming polyamide components, rendering it obvious to use these acyl chlorides for the polyamide shell.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-9 and 13-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11-15 of copending Application No. 19/138,430 in view of Berthier et al. (WO 2020/127743, published 25 June 2020), Nik et al. (WO 2020/154614, published 30 Jul 2020), and Ouali et al. (WO 2021/023647, published 1 Feb 2021, filed 31 Jul 2020).
The ’430 application claims a polyamide based core-shell microcapsule comprising an oil based core of perfume and a polyamide based shell comprising a reaction product of an acyl chloride, an amino compound a carbohydrate and a protein (claim 11). The microcapsule is part of a perfuming composition with a perfumery base and adjuvant (claim 13) and a consumer product with a personal care active base or home/fabric care bae as part of personal care or home/fabric care compositions (claims 14, 15).
The ’430 application does not claim the L-lysine amino acid or the acyl chlorides or the potato protein of the instant claims. These deficiencies are made up for in the teachings of Berthier, Nik and Ouali.
The teachings of Berthier, Nik and Ouali are described supra.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the
art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used L-lysine and acyl chlorides of formula (I) and potato protein with the microcapsules. Similar microcapsules are known from Berthier and it is known from Berthier to use L-lysine as an amino compound for forming polyamides. As similar microcapsules are known from Berthier as in the reference claims one would have a reasonable expectation of success in using L-lysine in the polyamide shell. Similarly, it is known from Berthier that protein emulsifiers/staiblizers may be used and protein is a known from Nik as an emulsifier for microparticulate systems rendering it obvious to include it in the microcapsule compositions. Additionally, similar microcapsule compositions are known from Ouali and the acyl chlorides of formula (I), taught by Ouali, are known as suitable for forming polyamide components, rendering it obvious to use these acyl chlorides for the polyamide shell.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-9 and 13-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 and 13-15 of copending Application No. 19/138,482 in view of Berthier et al. (WO 2020/127743, published 25 June 2020), Nik et al. (WO 2020/154614, published 30 Jul 2020), and Ouali et al. (WO 2021/023647, published 1 Feb 2021, filed 31 Jul 2020).
The ‘482 application claims a core-shell microcapsule comprising a core with perfume oil and a polymeric shell comprising a protein (claim 1). The shell comprises polyamide (claim 3) obtained from reaction between an acyl chloride and at least one amino compound (claims 5, 6). The amino compound may be L-lysine (claims 7, 9). The acyl chloride is of formula (I) (claim 8) rendering obvious the acyl chlorides of instant claims 8 and 20. The microcapsules are part of perfuming and consumer products with perfumery carriers and base (claim 13) and personal care active base (claim 14) and a home/fabric care active base (claim 15).
The ’482 application does not claim the L-lysine amino acid or the potato protein of the instant claims. These deficiencies are made up for in the teachings of Berthier and Nik.
The teachings of Berthier and Nik are described supra.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the
art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used L-lysine and potato protein with the microcapsules. Similar microcapsules are known from Berthier and it is known from Berthier to use L-lysine as an amino compound for forming polyamides. As similar microcapsules are known from Berthier as in the reference claims one would have a reasonable expectation of success in using L-lysine in the polyamide shell. Similarly, it is known from Berthier that protein emulsifiers/staiblizers may be used and protein is a known from Nik as an emulsifier for microparticulate systems rendering it obvious to include it in the microcapsule compositions.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-9 and 13-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 and 16-20 of copending Application No. 18/550,549 in view of Berthier et al. (WO 2020/127743, published 25 June 2020), Nik et al. (WO 2020/154614, published 30 Jul 2020), and Ouali et al. (WO 2021/023647, published 1 Feb 2021, filed 31 Jul 2020).
The ‘549 application claims a core-shell microcapsule slurry comprising a oil core and a polymeric shell and a coating and deposition aid (claim 1). The deposition aid is a biopolymer (claims 4 and 9) and may be a protein (claim 10). The microcapsule is part of a perfumed home/fabric care consumer product (claims 12-14).
The ‘549 application does not claim the polyamide shell with the acyl chloride group, L-lysine amino acid or the potato protein of the instant claims. These deficiencies are made up for in the teachings of Berthier and Nik.
The teachings of Berthier and Nik are described supra.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the
art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the shell with polyamide used an acyl chloride group of formula (I) and L-lysine and potato protein with the microcapsules. Similar microcapsules are known from Berthier which contain polyamide shells rendering this an obvious shell material and it is known from Berthier to use L-lysine as an amino compound for forming polyamides. As similar microcapsules are known from Berthier as in the reference claims one would have a reasonable expectation of success in using L-lysine in the polyamide shell. Similarly, it is known from Berthier that protein emulsifiers/staiblizers may be used and protein is a known from Nik as an emulsifier for microparticulate systems rendering it obvious to include it in the microcapsule compositions. Forming the polyamide form acyl chloride is known from Berthier and additionally, similar microcapsule compositions are known from Ouali and the acyl chlorides of formula (I), taught by Ouali, are known as suitable for forming polyamide components, rendering it obvious to use these acyl chlorides for the polyamide shell.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-9 and 13-20 are directed to an invention not patentably distinct from claims 1-17 of commonly assigned U.S. Patent No. 12,486,471. Specifically, see above.
Claims 1-9 and 13-20 are directed to an invention not patentably distinct from claims 1-9 and 13-17 of commonly assigned U.S. Patent No. 12,508,565. Specifically, see above.
Claims 1-9 and 13-20 are directed to an invention not patentably distinct from claims 1-8and 12-16 of commonly assigned U.S. Patent No. 11,958,030. Specifically, see above.
Claims 1-9 and 13-20 are directed to an invention not patentably distinct from claims 1-8 and 12-16 of commonly assigned U.S. Patent No. 12,383,881. Specifically, see above.
Claims 1-9 and 13-20 are directed to an invention not patentably distinct from claims 10-17 of commonly assigned Application No. 18/578,404 . Specifically, see above.
Claims 1-9 and 13-20 are directed to an invention not patentably distinct from claims 1-9 and 11-20 of commonly assigned Application No. 18/993,185. Specifically, see above.
Claims 1-9 and 13-20 are directed to an invention not patentably distinct from claims 1-14 and 16-20 of commonly assigned Application No. 18/550,549. Specifically, see above.
The U.S. Patent and Trademark Office may not institute a derivation proceeding in the absence of a timely filed petition. The USPTO normally will not institute a derivation proceeding between applications or a patent and an application having common ownership (see 37 CFR 42.411). Commonly assigned U.S. Patent No. 12,486,471; 12,508,565; 11,958,030; 12,383,881; and application No 18/578,404; 18/993,185 and 18/550,549, discussed above, may form the basis for a rejection of the noted claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 if the commonly assigned case qualifies as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) and the patentably indistinct inventions were not commonly owned or deemed to be commonly owned not later than the effective filing date under 35 U.S.C. 100(i) of the claimed invention.
In order for the examiner to resolve this issue the applicant or patent owner can provide a statement under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) and 37 CFR 1.104(c)(4)(i) to the effect that the subject matter and the claimed invention, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, were owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person. Alternatively, the applicant or patent owner can provide a statement under 35 U.S.C. 102(c) and 37 CFR 1.104(c)(4)(ii) to the effect that the subject matter was developed and the claimed invention was made by or on behalf of one or more parties to a joint research agreement that was in effect on or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and the claimed invention was made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of the joint research agreement; the application must also be amended to disclose the names of the parties to the joint research agreement.
A showing that the inventions were commonly owned or deemed to be commonly owned not later than the effective filing date under 35 U.S.C. 100(i) of the claimed invention will preclude a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 based upon the commonly assigned case. Alternatively, applicant may take action to amend or cancel claims such that the applications, or the patent and the application, no longer contain claims directed to patentably indistinct inventions.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Correspondence
/E.C.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1619
/ANNA R FALKOWITZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1600