DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
In light of applicant’s amendments and the results of initial searches, the restriction requirement of 6/18/26 is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 40-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 47 recites. “designating qubits loaded in the first zone as data qubits and designating qubits loaded in the second zone as ancilla qubits.” Support for such designating cannot be found in the original disclosure. Accordingly, the limitation is new matter and the claims are rejected for failing the written description requirement.
Claims 47-53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 47 recites. “one controller configured to: encode…move…entangle…move…and measure…” Claim 52 recites, “one controller is configured to generate mobile traps.” Support for such a controller cannot be found in the original disclosure. Accordingly, the limitations are new matter and the claims are rejected for failing the written description requirement.
Claims 54-61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 54 recites. “assigning, depending on a zone of the plurality of static optical traps, the qubits a type, the assigning comprising: designating qubits loaded in the first zone as data qubits; and designating qubits loaded in the second zone as ancilla qubits; and scheduling operations of the qubits, depending on the assigned type of each qubit.” Claims 55-58 and 60 all describe “generating [ordinal number] control signals. Claim 61 describes a “CNOT gate.” Support for such assigning, designating, scheduling, control signals, or a CNOT gate cannot be found in the original disclosure. Accordingly, the limitations are new matter and the claims are rejected for failing the written description requirement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 55 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 55 recites “a static light modulator (SLM).” Everywhere else in the disclosure an SLM refers to a “spatial light modulator.” The redefinition makes it unclear whether the SLM of claim 55 is a static spatial light modulator, or simply a light modulator that is static. Further, it is unclear if the claim 55 re-definition is intentional, or a typo. Accordingly, the claim is rejected as indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 54-61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0175411 A1 [King] in view of Cohen, Sam R., and Jeff D. Thompson. "Quantum computing with circular Rydberg atoms." PRX Quantum 2.3 (2021): 030322 [hereinafter Cohen].
Regarding Claim 54:
King teaches a method for performing a quantum information processing operation using a quantum computer (abstract), the method comprising:
generating a plurality of static optical traps, the plurality of static optical traps comprising a first zone and a second zone (paras 6-7, Fig. 3c-d showing different zones );
loading the plurality of static optical traps with qubits, wherein the qubits comprise neutral atom qubits (as shown in Fig. 3c-d, and described in para 75);
and
scheduling operations of the qubits, depending on the type of each qubit (paras 7, 59, 114).
However, King fails to teach assigning, depending on a zone of the plurality of static optical traps, the qubits a type, the assigning comprising:
designating qubits loaded in the first zone as data qubits, and designating qubits loaded in the second zone as ancilla qubits.
Cohen teaches assigning, depending on a zone of the plurality of static optical traps, the qubits a type (Fig. 1 – compute array vs ancilla array), the assigning comprising:
designating qubits loaded in the first zone as data qubits (Fig. 1 - compute array), and designating qubits loaded in the second zone as ancilla qubits (Fig. 1 – ancilla array).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to implement the array designating of Cohen in King. One would have been motivated to do so in order to arrange and manipulate trapped atoms in an organized fashion.
Regarding Claim 55:
The above modified invention teaches the method of claim 54, wherein generating the plurality of static optical traps comprises generating first control signals to drive a static light modulator (SLM) to generate the plurality of static optical traps. King paras 59,66, 95-97.
Regarding Claim 56:
The above modified invention teaches the method of claim 54, wherein scheduling operations of the qubits comprises generating second control signals to drive a 2D acousto-optic deflector (AOD) to generate mobile optical traps to transport qubits between regions depending on the assigned type of the qubits. King paras 66, 106, 107.
Regarding Claim 57:
The above modified invention teaches the method of claim 56, wherein transporting qubits comprises generating third control signals to control the AOD to transport ancilla qubits in mobile optical traps between the first zone and the second zone (King claim 31).
Regarding Claim 58:
The above modified invention teaches the method of claim 54, wherein scheduling operations of the qubits comprises generating fourth control signals to perform single-qubit operations, depending on the assigned type of qubits (King paras 7, 59, 114).
Regarding Claim 59:
The above modified invention teaches the method of claim 54, wherein performing single-qubit operations comprises preparing the qubits in a mF=0 clockstate. King Para 7 describe setting the atoms to Rydberg states, which corresponds to the mF=0 clockstate described in the instant specification.
Regarding Claim 60:
The above modified invention teaches the method of claim 54, wherein scheduling operations of the qubits comprises generating fifth control signals to perform multi-qubit operations between the data qubits and the ancilla qubits. King para 114 – two-qubit gate operations.
Regarding Claim 61:
The above modified invention teaches the method of claim 60, wherein performing the multi-qubit operations comprises performing, between a data qubit of the data qubits and an ancilla qubit of the ancilla qubits, at least one of a CNOT gate, a CZ gate, or a Rydberg gate. King Para 39.
Conclusion
WYATT STOFFA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2881
/WYATT A STOFFA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881