DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on a new reference for teaching matters specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0027330 (Koo), cited by Applicant, in view of U.S. Patent No. 9,293,160 (Mihajlovic) and U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0203379 (Kalitsov).
Koo discloses (Figs. 4A-4E)
Claim 1. (Previously Presented) An electronic system with non-volatile writing by electrical control and with reading by Hall effect, comprising:
an electronic device 120 including a stack of layers 150 (101, 102a, 102b, 103, 207) stacked along a direction of stacking, the stack of layers 150 comprising:
a remanent-state subassembly 103 comprising at least one dielectric layer ([0030]) such that said remanent-state subassembly has at least two remanent states (magnetization, steady, storage, connection) which can be electrically controlled,
a two-dimensional electron gas 207 with a resistance,
a magnetic subassembly comprising at least one magnetic layer 101, 102a, 102b and
a second electrode 160 including two first contacts (one at each end) each extending along a first direction,
a writing device adapted configured to write remanent states of the remanent-state subassembly by applying an electric field ([0034]-[0035]), and
a Hall effect reading device (through 2-DEG channel 107/207) adapted configured to read the remanent state of the remanent-state subassembly by applying a current ([0031]-[0035) between the two first two contacts (one at each end) and by measuring voltage between the second contact and a reference potential ([0031]-[0032]).
Koo fails to disclose
a first electrode;
a second electrode including a second contact extending along a second direction, the second direction being distinct from the first direction, the first and second directions being in a plane perpendicular to the direction of the stack,
a writing device applying an electric field between the first electrode and the second electrode modulating the resistance of the two-dimensional electron gas.
Mihajlovic teaches (at least Fig. 3)
An electronic system with non-volatile writing by electrical control and with reading by Hall effect, comprising:
a first electrode 302,
a second electrode 332 including a second contact extending along a second direction, the second direction being distinct from the first direction, the first and second directions (bias current direction produces an anomalous Hall voltage measurable in a direction orthogonal to bias current direction) being in a plane perpendicular to the direction of the stack (column 6, line 59 to column 7, line 13; column 9, line 23 to column 11, line 3).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a first electrode in an orthogonal direction to a second electrode orthogonal direction in Koo. The motivation would be so that the passage of the bias current through one layer in one direction can create a voltage that is measurable in the direction orthogonal to the bias current direction due to the anomalous Hall effect as taught by Mihajlovic (column 5, lines 6-30). Mihaljlovic teaches such an arrangement provides an electrode configuration for driving current through a Hall-sensitive structure and measuring a transverse hall voltage. The modification would have facilitated Hall-effect readout of Koo’s stored magnetic state.
Kalitsov teaches (at least Fig. 7)
An electronic system with non-volatile writing by electrical control and with reading by Hall effect, comprising:
a first electrode 51 (gate),
a remanent-state subassembly 21 such that said remanent-state subassembly has at least two remanent states which can be electrically controlled (programmable opposite polarization states, [0066]),
a two-dimensional electron gas 40 / 2-DEG 40G with a resistance,
a writing device applying an electric field between the first electrode 51 and the second electrode 21 modulating the resistance (carrier concentration/conductivity) of the two-dimensional electron gas (channel 40 with gate voltage Vg electrically programming the ferroelectric polarization, [0055]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a writing device that modulates the resistance of the 2-D electron gas in Koo. The motivation would be to provide nonvolatile electric-field-controlled writing through resistance modulation of the 2-DEC as taught by Kalitsov ([0033]). Kalitsov teaches electrically programming remanent ferroelectric polarization by an applied gate field and using that polarization to modulate the carrier concentration and resistance of a 2-DEG.
Kalitsov teaches (at least Fig. 9)
Claim 2. (Previously Presented) The electronic system according to claim 1, wherein the first electrode 51 has at least one contact, the writing device applying the electric field (programming bias to gate electrode 51 relative to channel 40) between the at least one contact of the first electrode 51 (having front gate contact 81) and at least one contact (42, 44) of the second electrode 21.
Koo discloses (Figs. 1A, 1B, 3A)
Claim 3. (Previously Presented) The electronic system according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the following properties is verified:
the first electrode is in contact with the remanent-state subassembly,
the first electrode is merged with the remanent-state subassembly,
the second electrode is in contact with the two-dimensional electron gas,
the second electrode is merged with the two-dimensional electron gas,
the second electrode 160 is in contact with the magnetic subassembly 102b (of the stack of layers 150), and
the second electrode is merged with the magnetic subassembly.
Koo discloses ([0045])
Claim 7. (Previously Presented) The electronic system according to claim 1, wherein the magnetic subassembly comprises at least one ferromagnetic element chosen from a list consisting of selected amongst a ferromagnetic metal alloy, a ferromagnetic oxide, a magnetic semiconductor, a composite ferromagnetic element having a plurality of ferromagnetic and metallic layers, a Heusler alloy, a rare earth alloy and a combination of such materials.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koo in view of Mihajlovic and Kalitsov as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,657,189 (Sandhu).
The combination of references fails to teach
Claim 11. (Previously Presented) The electronic system according to claim 1, wherein the stack of layers extends between two ends, one end being the first electrode and the other end being the second electrode.
Sandhu teaches
An electronic system comprising:
wherein the stack of layers extends between two ends (first barrier layer / quantum well layer / second barrier layer arranged between opposing principal surfaces), one end being the first electrode (first Hall electrode) and the other end being the second electrode (second hall electrode).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a stack of layers extending between two ends in the modified device of Koo. The motivation would be permit detection of a Hall voltage across a layered quantum well structure as taught by Sandhu (column 2, line 65 to column 3, line 9).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koo in view of Mihajlovic and Kalitsov as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of WO Publication No. 2017/034563 (Manipatruni), cited by Applicant.
The combination of references fails to teach
Claim 4. (Previously Presented) The electronic system according to claim 1, wherein the second electrode includes at least an additional contact, the reference potential being the potential of the additional contact.
Manipatruni teaches (Figs. 2A-2C)
An electronic system with non-volatile writing by electrical control and with reading by Hall effect, comprising:
wherein the second electrode 204 includes at least an additional contact 221 / 222, the reference potential being the potential of the additional contact 221 / 222 ([0053]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an additional contact in the modified device of Koo. The motivation would be a matter of routine engineering considerations based on duplication of parts and its suitability for an intended purpose as taught by Manipatruni. See MPEP 2144.04 and 2144.07.
Claim(s) 5 is/are, to the extent taught and understood, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koo in view of Mihajlovic and Kalitsov as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. (Kioussis), cited by Applicant.
The combination of references fails to disclose
Claim 5. (Currently Amended) The electronic system according to claim 1, wherein the at least two remanent states of the remanent-state subassembly, which are electrically controlled, are controlled by a ferroelectric effect, a trapped charge effect, an ion migration effect or a combination of said effects.
Kioussis teaches ([0086]-[0089])
An electronic system with non-volatile writing by electrical control and with reading by Hall effect, comprising:
wherein the at least two remanent states of the remanent-state subassembly, which can be electrically controlled, can be controlled by a ferroelectric effect, a trapped charge effect, an ion migration effect or a combination of said effects.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide electrical control in the modified device of Koo. The motivation would be a matter of routine engineering considerations based on suitability for an intended purpose as taught by Kioussis. See MPEP 2144.07.
Claim 6, 8, 10, 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Koo in view of Mihajlovic and Kalitsov as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0071450 (Attane).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
The combination of references fails to disclose
Claim 6. (Previously Presented) The electronic system according to claim 1, wherein the two-dimensional electron gas has a carrier density greater than 1010 cm-2.
The combination of references fails to disclose
Claim 8. (Previously Presented) The electronic system according to claim 1, wherein the magnetic subassembly comprises at least one ferrimagnetic element chosen from a list consisting of a ferrimagnetic metal alloy, a ferrimagnetic oxide, a composite ferrimagnetic element having a plurality of ferromagnetic layers or ferrimagnetic and metallic layers, a rare earth ferrimagnetic alloy, and a combination of such materials.
The combination of references fails to disclose
Claim 10. (Previously Presented) The electronic system of claim 1, wherein the remanent-state subassembly is non-ferromagnetic and non-ferrimagnetic.
The combination of references fails to disclose
Claim 12. (Previously Presented) The electronic system according to claim 1, wherein the magnetic subassembly comprises at least one magnetic element chosen from a list consisting of selected from a material having an extraordinary Hall effect greater than 0.5% and a material having a magnetoresistance greater than 0.5%.
The combination of references fails to disclose
Claim 13. (Previously Presented) The electronic system according to claim 1, wherein the stack of layers further includes at least one interfacing layer, the interfacing layer including at least one layer selected from a non-magnetic metallic layer and a layer displaying a spin-orbit effect.
The combination of references fails to disclose
Claim 14. (Previously Presented) The device according to claim 13, wherein the interfacing subassembly includes at least one element chosen from a list consisting of a metal, a Weyl semi-metal, a two-dimensional material, a transition metal dichalcogenide and a topological insulator.
Attane teaches ([0125])
An electronic system with non-volatile writing by electrical control and with reading by Hall effect, comprising:
wherein the two-dimensional electron gas has a carrier density greater than 1010 cm-2,
wherein the magnetic subassembly comprises at least one ferrimagnetic element ([0033]-[0037]),
wherein the remanent-state subassembly is non-ferromagnetic and non-ferrimagnetic ([0033]),
wherein the magnetic subassembly comprises at least one magnetic element chosen from a list consisting of selected from a material having an extraordinary Hall effect greater than 0.5% and a material having a magnetoresistance greater than 0.5% ([0090]),
wherein the stack of layers further includes at least one interfacing layer, the interfacing layer including at least one layer selected from a non-magnetic metallic layer and a layer displaying a spin-orbit effect ([0087]-[0120]), and
wherein the interfacing subassembly includes at least one element chosen from a list consisting of a metal, a Weyl semi-metal, a two-dimensional material, a transition metal dichalcogenide and a topological insulator ([0113]-[0120]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a carrier density, ferrimagnetic material, non-ferromagnetic and non-ferrimagnetic material, extraordinary Hall effect or a magnetoresistance, and an interface layer in the modified device of Koo. The motivation would be a matter of routine engineering considerations based on routine optimization and suitability for an intended purpose as taught by Attane. See MPEP 2144.05 and 2144.07.
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koo in view of Mihajlovic and Kalitsov as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 10,686,127 (Wu).
The combination of references fails to disclose
Claim 9. (Previously Presented) The electronic system according to claim 1, wherein the magnetic subassembly comprises at least one antiferromagnetic element chosen from a list consisting of selected from an antiferromagnetic metal alloy, an antiferromagnetic oxide, a composite antiferromagnetic element with a plurality of magnetic and metallic layers antiferromagnetically coupled to each other, and a combination of such materials.
Wu teaches (Figs. 6A-6C)
An electronic system with non-volatile writing by electrical control and with reading by Hall effect, comprising:
wherein the magnetic subassembly comprises at least one antiferromagnetic element.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an antiferromagnetic material in the modified device of Koo. The motivation would be a matter of routine engineering considerations based on suitability for an intended purpose as taught by Wu. See MPEP 2144.07.
Claim(s) 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koo in view of Mihajlovic and Kalitsov as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 2007/0046287 (Vervaeke).
The combination of references fails to disclose
Claim 15. (Previously Presented) The electronic system according to claim 1, wherein the electronic system includes at least another electronic device, all of the electronic devices being arranged in cascade or in a form of an array, each other electronic device including a stack of layers stacked along the direction of stacking.
The combination of references fails to disclose
Claim 16. (Previously Presented) The electronic system according to claim 15, wherein the first electrode of the electronic device is connected to a second electrode of an adjacent electrical device.
The combination of references fails to disclose
Claim 17. (Previously Presented) The electronic system according to claim 16, wherein one of the contacts of the second electrode of the electronic device is connected to one of the contacts of the second electrode of an adjacent electronic device.
Vervaeke teaches (Figs. 1, 2a, 4, 5a, 6, 8, 20)
An electronic system with non-volatile writing by electrical control and with reading by Hall effect, comprising:
wherein the electronic system includes at least another electronic device, all of the electronic devices being arranged in cascade or in a form of an array, each other electronic device including a stack of layers stacked along the direction of stacking (Summary, [0088], [0194]),
wherein the first electrode of the electronic device is connected to a second electrode of an adjacent electrical device ([0092]-[0097]), and
wherein one of the contacts of the second electrode of the electronic device is connected to one of the contacts of the second electrode of an adjacent electronic device ([0092]-[0097]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an array of electronic devices, interconnected electrodes, and interconnected contacts in the modified device of Koo. The motivation would be a matter of routine engineering considerations based on duplication of parts, to allow for interchanging the role of rows and columns, which has proven useful for e.g. offset compensating read-out techniques ([0099]), and so more detailed images can be made of spatially varying and time-dependent magnetic fields as taught by Vervaeke ([0178]). See MPEP 2144.04.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Patent Application Publication Nos. 2005/0006639 (Dupuis), 2009/0137066 (Imai), and U.S. Patent No. 11,719,771 (Campiglio) teach an electronic system with non-volatile writing by electrical control and with reading by Hall effect.
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/TERESA M. ARROYO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893